Habana out

Habana out

Springbok wing Bryan Habana could miss the away leg of the Vodacom Tri-Nations after picking up a rib injury.

Habana was replaced at half-time against France at Newlands after becoming the third player in two weeks to suffer a chest injury and is in doubt to be included in the Bok squad for the Tri-Nations.

The squad was due to be announced this evening, but SA Rugby bannounced it has been pushed back to Monday.

The extent of the injury was not immediately known, but the player was in considerable pain in the changeroom. He was sent immediately for X-rays and the results will only be known on Sunday.

Gaffie du Toit replaced the Blue Bulls speedster and then failed to have the pace to reach a ball he had chipped through and was also beaten by Vincent Clerc for the match-clinching try moments later.

“Bryan has picked up a rib injury and depending on whether it is just bruised or broken we will be able to make an assessment on Sunday if he will be included in the squad or not,” Coetzee told keo.co.za.

Coetzee said that if the rib is cracked then he would be out for four to six weeks. He would then miss the trip to Australasia and would only return to Bok duty against New Zealand at Loftus Versfeld on August 26.

“We are awaiting medical opinion either tomorrow or Monday.”

By Andrew Hollely

50 Comments

• 1.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

Ofok

• 2.Here Be Springboks: Reply to this comment

No comment

• 3.Icey: Reply to this comment

amazing… I wonder if those injuries don’t come from that Aussie ENFORCER machine.

Maybe it’s the Aussie way of depeting our team before the tri-nations

• 4.rimpels: Reply to this comment

Wat de kots.Hoeveel ouens nou nog.Bokke kan ma by di huis bly!!!Jaco SUIG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    BARRY SUIG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    EDDIE SUIG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    OS IS “N MONSTER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 5.rimpels: Reply to this comment

BOKKE VIR DERDE PLEK IN DIE 3 NASIES!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
    HIER KOM GROOT TOS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 6.skip pass: Reply to this comment

Don’t worry we have the players! Jake is just not choosing them.

We have
    Ndungane (both of them), Human, Pietersen etc to spare.

the main thing is that Jake is to proud and blind and stubborn to choose the best we have available. He;ll probs go and look for slap chips as all his current selection is of that era!

• 7.Icey: Reply to this comment

sad sad sad, same thing happend to Eddie Moans last year.

But we are in safe hands with Jake, knowing that we have players like Watson and the Ndongani brothers, that never get picked !!!

Go Jake, the further the better !!!

• 8.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

Julle wat kan moet die Laeveld Leeu in vandag se Burger gaan lees.

• 9.oom: Reply to this comment

Habana is so kak and scared. Now Henno Mendtz can get his oppurtunity to play! Shark supporter!

• 10.oom: Reply to this comment

hey icey, i think the enforcer should play the SPRINGBOKS next weekend in a friendly match.

• 11.kamate: Reply to this comment

Tough luck, but he like most of team was averaged.

• 12.ebay addict: Reply to this comment

i think all these injuries are screaming out to jake to change his narrow minded ways and start picking some players who are going to fill the boots f the injured boks

• 13.sjb: Reply to this comment

Poor ald Gaffie is always blamed, it started with Mallet. HOWEVER, he is a talented player and should be given a chance to play in the Bok team. Not the reserve k&k, a proper chance, to play game for game in the starting line-up.

• 14.Lemoen: Reply to this comment

Habana need this rest to think about his own game because the last 12 months he has not done much to be selected above the Odwa and his brother

• 15.Skim: Reply to this comment

I really like pie.

• 16.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Habana suck big time! I think he is scared to play. What is he doing while he’s on the field? He tried to intercept 2 times, and both times the Frence went way over the advantage line. His injurie is a blessing!

• 17.Skim: Reply to this comment

Jou idioot!

• 18.John_Psycho: Reply to this comment

I think there is somthing fishy going on with all
    these injuries… All of a sudden everyone is having rib injuries??? I just don;t buy it!

• 19.oxfordshark: Reply to this comment

It is sad that Russel gets treated like a yo-yo,gets his chance and plays his *** off only to get shafted again.Every time the oke got the ball he got some go forward.

• 20.BrumbyIV: Reply to this comment

Eddie Jones belted the wallabies at training last year. one of the reasons why henjak and dell went off the rails. maybe it’s to do with to much circuit training and not enough time spent on skills

Ice, conspiracy theory but Habana doesn’t use those machines.

• 21.HarryD: Reply to this comment

Habana is no loss,if he cannot get an intercept he is stuffed. Everytime it is a one on one with his opposite number he looks to put the ball on his boot and chip and chase.There are better wingers in SA than that.

• 22.BrumbyIV: Reply to this comment

Harry D , harsh he was one of the reasons why you won games last year. you would have been rooted without him

• 23.HarryD: Reply to this comment

The fact is Brumby that he has not got the skills for a top class international wing.All he can do is run fast.

You need more than that and the opposition has worked him out , he did nothing in the Super 14 this year apart from try his telegraphed chip and chase. SA must find a real winger.

• 24.BrumbyIV: Reply to this comment

i know. he is limited. but he is the only back you have that can score tries regularly. Oz has at least 3 younger players with excellent try to match ratios (rathbone, gerrard, mitchell) that are up there with habana.

• 25.HarryD: Reply to this comment

No Brumby their skill level is above Habana’s.

Habana runs fast but that is all. There is nothing else in his bag. Did you notice where the French wing Heymans popped up , he was looking for the ball everywhere , plus he can side step , swerve and has speed. Habana just stays where he is and hopes for a clear run or intercept.

• 26.BrumbyIV: Reply to this comment

you don’t have anyone else and your fly half is not good enough to put your wings into space. the ndungane twins will get bullied by lote. our wings started off in other positions apart from tuquiri so they are comfortable with getting involved without stuffing the play up.

• 27.wolfman2006: Reply to this comment

Brumby, what do you think about Gerrard being the next Wallaby fly-half after Larkham retires?

• 28.Steel Shark: Reply to this comment

I think some of you are being overly harsh about Habana, he isn’t as limited as you think he has shown before he can step and make a break. But he has had a bad year in 06 admittedly. He needs to leave the Bulls they are hampering his creativity.

Anyway hopefully this opens up the chance for JP Pietersen or one of the Nduganes to play in the TN…

• 29.BrumbyIV: Reply to this comment

wolfman, i am not sure about next wallaby flyhalf needs to develop a good passing game but he should get a chance at the brumbies (Christain Lelifanio is the long term hope). Berrick Barnes will get a chance and everyone in sydney rugby circles are raving about Kurtley Beale.

• 30.wolfman2006: Reply to this comment

Yeah, I’ve heard a lot about this Kurtley Beale fellow, but I also heard a lot about Scott Daruda before his no show for the Force this past season!

I reckon Gerrard has what it takes to be an awesome number 10. His try yesterday was pure class, as was some of his passing when he came into first receiver. He also has an excellent kicking game, and great understanding of running angles etc.!

• 31.BrumbyIV: Reply to this comment

Gerrard in his try was running at two forwards and little Stringer.

Daruda was in our under 21s squad but Leifaanio started.

• 32.Stan: Reply to this comment

rimpels,
    Hou op skree. Dis n Sondag oggend.

Replaced by Gaffie? **** me, how comforting to know.

• 33.kevin w: Reply to this comment

No major loss in my opinion – he has been nothing more than average in the last few games. Never looks for work old Bryan “lucky bounce” Habana has sheer pace and little else.

Should be replaced by Odwa Ndungane who looked for and found more work in one game on friday night than Habana has done in two seasons.

• 34.ddrek: Reply to this comment

It has been ba year for Habs and he is a little shy on the work rate,but why oh why do we not play to his strengths. get him early ball,free him up.His confidence goes through the roof if he gets a good early touch.He also only had two tough defensive moments before he went off (in fairness his inside backs did nothing to assist him ) and he took 2 heavy hits after a brave effort on the 1st one to get out of trouble…which he did.
    We must beack these guys,do you all really want him to fail and be a one season wonder.
    Back him and he will be back.
    Its not like we dont need someone with his obvious skills. he could become more complete yes,but put him in a good backline like Oz or France and he will terrorise. We expect so much from him coz of last years heroics….but we dont expect much from WO who has offered little at center too.But he also needs us to give him a chance.
    Its easy to be short-hindsighted and say Habs is one dimensiona, but then you are forgetting the promise he has shown iver the pat 2 seasons.
    Something is wrong with our back play. Its not Habana (yes he’s made mistakes) but dont blame him for the ineptitude inside him.Sure these guys have ability but we are playing the wrong type of game.We are asking few questions and not backing ourselves by keeping up the prssure and ball in hand phases.
    There were so many one off runners this last game and few offloads,we were trying to break tackles as usual.
    We are in our rightful place now at No 3 ,but if we dont pull finger and change our ways soon,Oz will take our spot too.
    If we think we canbeat OZ like this we are in for a moersa pakslae. We will take the AB’s seriously but if we think the Ozmob will play like last year,we’ll get hidings away AND at home.

• 35.BrumbyIV: Reply to this comment

forgot to mention sam norton knight he has a good passing game but he has only started one game at flyhalf and that was for the brumbies. not sure why the tahs picked Halangahu over him.

• 36.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

no great loss these days if we lose a winger…they never get the ball anyways.
    we should instead start with 3 fullbacks who can call kick the ball 100m.
    habana is wasted. and no…he shouldnt be playing center. he doesnt have the physique. he will get stuffed in the midfield.

• 37.sarky: Reply to this comment

Nice balance brumby.

No point in kicking a major try scorer whe he’s down! A bit like your lot that boot King George when OZ goes south.

What may be good, is to extend the circle of capable wingers to make Brian compete more for his place.

I am not sure if the Ndungane twins can make it at top flight but I’d certainly like to see them, Memetsa, Mkize, Mentz and Russell get a start or two.

• 38.BrumbyIV: Reply to this comment

no point putting an inexperienced wing up against lote. you need a wing with pace as he gets burnt on the outside (varndell did that in the first test).

• 39.HarryD: Reply to this comment

Bryan Habana is the Paul Adams of Springbok rugby. Excellent when everyone allowed themselves to be dazzled by his speed. Utterly useless when everyone cottoned on to the fact that he really hasn’t got the required skills for a world class winger.

• 40.kevin w: Reply to this comment

HarryD

Classic chirp and pretty much spot on … same could be said for Jake now that his rush defence has been worked out he’s been rather exposed!

• 41.Viper6: Reply to this comment

Oh great another (rib) injury. As if we are not depleted enough at the moment…

Last year it was the Aussies with the injury problems and boy did I enjoy giving it to them then. Karma I guess… this year the joke is on us.

And even better news, Boks lost their 2nd place work ranking to France.

• 42.leeanthonyw: Reply to this comment

White needs to bring in Butch, NOW!! That means Paulse and Russel will the wings with JDV/Fourie at centres or they can put JDV on the wing and bring in Wynand with Fourie. I garantuee that will b ethe backline

10. ???? ( needs to be Butch)
    11. Russel
    12. Wynand(This boy is ready)
    12. Fourie
    14. JDV
    15. Monty

Watch the Boks do well in the tri-nations. This is just the result they needed to get boot up the backside.

• 43.leeanthonyw: Reply to this comment

White needs to show some balls probably and play Julies/Fourie they r a tried and tested combo. Put JDV and Russel on the wing. We can’t have 2 lighties on the wing, Paulse and Russel. I personally would put Russel at flyhalf again and see how he goes:-
    10. Russel
    11. JDV
    12. Julies
    13. Fourie
    14. JDV
    15. Monty

White has also Gaffie he could put in at flyhalf. It’s time now for the guys to step up to the mark. But whatever White does he can’t put Jaco at flyhalf, ITS NOT WORKING.

• 44.leeanthonyw: Reply to this comment

sjb – i agree it is maybe time to put Gaffie back at flyhalf. He is looking pretty fris now. His punting is the best in the country. He also has go forward in him. That run down the wing was awesome. He seems to have great vision. He has got good at dropgoals too. Come on White you have the players, take a chanceon Gaffie

• 45.leeanthonyw: Reply to this comment

I hope the French reach the finals next year. They really do have a good squad, but with a few tweaks the Boks could have beaten them

• 46.coldwatershark: Reply to this comment

Sorry chaps but I think the Ndunganes are in the same mold as Habanna. I don’t see them being any good on defence and can only run fast. We need someone who is fast, creative and good on defence (Mentz). Plus we need a back line coach who has some flair and brains, i.e campo.

• 47.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

gaffie let in the last try, his defense has always been absolutely rubbish. to pick gaffie in the first channel is signing away any chance of defending carter or larkham this season.

gaffie shouldnt even be in the squad.

• 48.Sampioenman: Reply to this comment

True. Neither should Jaco or Barry. At least Brent was better than Breyten.

• 49.Mistral: Reply to this comment

10 Butch
    11 JDV
    12 P Spies
    13 J Fourie
    14 Odwa N
    15 Percy

• 50.snoop: Reply to this comment

Chaps, dont panic

Jaco for pretorius
    Bakkies back
    CJ and guthro back
    Schalk back before RWC
    Habana back
    Jean back
    Jacque back

Thats 8 players!

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.