Juniors kings of Pacific
24 Jun 2006
New Zealand’s Junior All Blacks throttled Japan to be crowned Pacific Five Nations champions.
The Juniors, who had already won the tournament after hammering Fiji, Tonga and Samoa were too strong for Japan in Tokyo.
The Juniors scored six tries to one in a one-sided 38-8 victory to confirm their dominance in the tournament. The Kiwis led 19-3 at halftime.
Scarily, all the teams they hammered will probably go to the World Cup in France next year.
Scorers
Junior All Blacks – Tries: Anthony Tuitavake 3, Caleb Ralph 2 and Cameron McIntyre tries
Conversions: McIntyre (4)
Japan
Try: Takashi Miyake
Pen: Wataru Ikeda

43 Comments
24 Jun 2006, 10:39 am
1ste
24 Jun 2006, 10:41 am
Did they actually have to play a game to figure this out?
24 Jun 2006, 10:43 am
Jeez Keo now you want me to add up tries and stuff to get a final score so early in the morning!
I have a question though – can anyone explain the relevance of this tournament to me?
Or perhaps why, a New Zealand team who apart from Japan (who physically will always struggle to compete on the world scene) has proper structures and money and then they compete against teams who not only struggle financially, but also to hang onto players of quality?
Can this thing not be re-structured to include Island teams, Japan and maybe countries like Russia or African countries – hey even Argie (but they will also walk these teams I think) so that the developing nations at least comepete on equal footing or make some money they can use to develop and keep players?
I honestly fail to see the relevance, maybe a Kiwi can explain this to me and how they see this tournament as-well.
24 Jun 2006, 10:44 am
How impressive to beat Japan.
24 Jun 2006, 10:45 am
Lol, and i’m a bid confused?? Was this the All Black A-team, or First team or A1-team or what?? They have so many world class teams nowadays it makes one scarred to think of next years worldcup.
24 Jun 2006, 10:46 am
More Stan
Morning PA
24 Jun 2006, 10:46 am
Hallo KP en gesuipte Mier.
24 Jun 2006, 10:48 am
More Blou bul en KP
24 Jun 2006, 10:48 am
Morning all!
24 Jun 2006, 10:50 am
My apologies … 38-8. Have put that in now.
Where does this team rank
All Blacks group is 39 players — and those guys played against Ireland and today against Pumas.
Then there’s another 30 who played as the Junior All Blacks in the Pacific Five Nations. They won that.
And then there’s another 30 who played in the Churchill Cup as the Maoris and they beat USA, Ireland ‘A’ and Scotland ‘A’ to win that one.
24 Jun 2006, 10:51 am
PA, I agree, I saw an article about how Argentina’s rugby union is on the verge of going bankrupt, the IRB needs to catch a wake up and get these fella’s into the 3N’s.
24 Jun 2006, 10:51 am
Is hier al filters aan, want ek het nou net ‘n lang comment getik, en fokkol kom deur??
24 Jun 2006, 10:53 am
Oeps, sorry Ig, sallie weer vloek, maar ek baie opgewonde oor vandag se game
grootblousmile, what do you mean, morning all, it’s nearly afternoon. I thought the Keo team would never wake up!
Helllooooooo, I said MORNING alllllll!!
24 Jun 2006, 10:54 am
Keo, what is this **** on the front page of the Burger about Jake wanting to quit after todays game??
24 Jun 2006, 10:56 am
Maybe they all had a late nite out. LOL.
More Bluecap, bietjie gesukkel gisteraand??
24 Jun 2006, 10:57 am
King, I recon these papers are just trying to get sales. You know what they say, don’t beliave anything you read in the papers.
24 Jun 2006, 10:59 am
More King, ja nee, ‘n man het bietjie gesweet by die einde.
24 Jun 2006, 10:59 am
Cheers Keo.
Now see this is what I have a problem with.
I am sure we can also put a squad of about 60 or 80 players together – but what the hell do they do and who do they play against and in whish tournaments?
It is all good and well to admire NZ for having 100 players that play international rugby – but at least they have tournaments to play in – we have nothing.
We can bleat all we want on the size of Jake’s squad, or the lack thereof, but it is not viable for us to have the same thing – I mean once the elite guys get chosen for the early internationals and 3N what the hell happens to the 40 odd players left not in the elite group?
There are no tournaments or anything.
We have an ‘A’ team coach in Chester Williams, but he has no games for this year!!!
He is somewhere off in Africa to help some African country which is all novel and nice and stuff, but it helps us bugger-all!
If we are serious about developing our own players and the game worldwide, why does tournaments like this not take place in Africa where we put in a junior, or amatuer team?
I know there was such a team at a time, but what the hell happened to them and what did they do?
Why not organise a tournament with our “A” team who already has a full time coach and gets paid to tour Argie, the Islands, and Japan every year?
Why don’t we have an ‘A’ team tournament with Aus, NZ and Argi and include the Islands?
24 Jun 2006, 11:00 am
I makes me think about that game the Stormers had to play, and then went on strike the morning before kickoff. Andy Marinos was also the lead man in that strike. And then Stormers lost that game. Ek was daai daf op Nuweland. Ons het f-en lekker geboe. Eks vandag weer daar en hoop nie dit is nodig om weer te boe nie.
24 Jun 2006, 11:02 am
more grootblousmile.
bluecap,
it is a disgrace to be honest.
this is why i wish with all my heart they beat NZ this weekend.
24 Jun 2006, 11:03 am
Lol, you dudes enjoy your booing down there eh, one would think it’s the last French outpost, heh,heh.
24 Jun 2006, 11:05 am
Come to think of it, I cannot think this trophy means anything to NZ…
It is like your team winning the VC – no disrespect to the smaller unions I am referring to the big 5.
24 Jun 2006, 11:05 am
Man, ek het nog nooit onodig geboe nie. hahaha. Maar ek sal nie sommer die Bokke boe nie, al speel hulle k@k. Maar ou Stewart ******** kan die erste verwag, ek wonder of mens nog erens ‘n sak vrot naartjies in die hande kan kry.
24 Jun 2006, 11:07 am
King,
Wynberg treinstasie – hulle het gewoonlik daar.
24 Jun 2006, 11:07 am
Apart from the fact that the Argies play with real passion, I like their style of play – very direct, in your face with the forwards, straight running backs, quite impressive!!
I hope they beat the pompous NZ!!
24 Jun 2006, 11:09 am
PA, when you consider what these guys have done over the last five years, they can teach a lot of players about passion. Can you imagine if they were to get a proper financial structure in place. To see these fella’s going to play in the six nations would be a huge loss to the southern hemisphere. But they’re getting desperate. So much for the IRB wanting to make this a world sport.
24 Jun 2006, 11:11 am
Oh No! not Dickheadson, is he the ref?
24 Jun 2006, 11:12 am
GBS, i don’t think the Argies have wat it takes to beat the ABs. I would also love to see the team the ABs chose for tonights game. me think its a better one than the one that kick arse against the Irish.
24 Jun 2006, 11:12 am
Yup Dickenson is ref with two poms on the side-lines.
BC,
So much for WC vote promises by NZ and SA…
24 Jun 2006, 11:15 am
KP,
New Zealand: 15 Leon MacDonald, 14 Rico Gear, 13 Isaia Toeava, 12 Sam Tuitupou, 11 Scott Hamilton, 10 Dan Carter, 9 Piri Weepu, 8 Mose Tuiali’i, 7 Chris Masoe, 6 Jerry Collins (captain), 5 Ali Williams, 4 Jason Eaton, 3 Greg Somerville, 2 Anton Oliver, 1 Tony Woodcock.
Replacements: 16 Andrew Hore, 17 Neemia Tialata, 18 Troy Flavell, 19 Craig Newby, 20 Jimmy Cowan, 21 Luke McAlister, 22 Ma’a Nonu.
24 Jun 2006, 11:16 am
That’s it, we’re done for.
24 Jun 2006, 11:17 am
in 1985 NZ drew with the Agrie’s 21 all in Buenos Aires
In 2001 they won 24-20 at the same place.
24 Jun 2006, 11:18 am
KingPaul,
NZ Team is: 15-Leon MacDonald; 14-Rico Gear, 13-Isaia Toeava, 12-Sam Tuitupou, 11-Scott Hamilton; 10-Dan Carter, 9-Piri Weepu; 8-Mose Tuiali’i, 7-Chris Masoe, 6-Jerry Collins (capt), 5-Ali Williams, 4-Jason Eaton, 3-Greg Somerville, 2-Anton Oliver, 1-Tony Woodcock.
Argentina: 15-Juan Hernandez; 14-Jose Nunez Piossek, 13-Gonzalo Tiesi, 12-Felipe Contemponi, 11-Federico Martin Aramburu; 10- Federico Todeschini, 9-Agustin Pichot (captain); 8-Gonzalo Longo, 7-Juan Fernandez Lobbe, 6-Martin Durand, 5-Rimas Alvarez, 4-Ignacio Fernandez Lobbe, 3-Omar Hasan, 2-Mario Ledesma, 1-Rodrigo Rochero.
Referee: Nigel Whitehouse (Wales)
24 Jun 2006, 11:20 am
Thanks PA
Awesome team. And to think that Jack, Ricchie etc. must still join these okes to play 3nations!!
Maybe the will have 3 teams in this 3nations. One bassed in NZ, one in Ozzie ans one over here. Hehehe
24 Jun 2006, 11:28 am
Guys,
Today, 11 years ago, the Boks won the WC.
24 Jun 2006, 11:44 am
I stayed pissed for a week.
24 Jun 2006, 11:58 am
I’m surprised to see that 26.8% of people on the voting poll say that Jake’s contract should not be extended. I’d very much to hear these peoples reasons and who they would have replace him. I for one remember the dark days befor him and am very loath to go back there.
It’s not so much the Jake factor, but who in this country is good enough to replace him? Muir? Maybe some day, but at this point he has yet to prove himself. Meyer? If he was just going to coach the forwards then yes, but a Bok coach’s job is a hell of a lot more than that. Fester,Heh,heh. Maybe Loffie, he has the creds but lets see the Lions first.
Jake has to stay, at least for now. He’s the best we’ve had since Christie and above all the players play for him, and support him.
24 Jun 2006, 11:59 am
Very much like
24 Jun 2006, 14:00 pm
Suprise suprise.
24 Jun 2006, 20:12 pm
Our 2nd best shud have been playing in some sort of competition building capacity in case of emergency like we have now that our 1st choice – in Jake’s eyes – came unstuck. The AB’s r playing the Argies with an entirely different team. Food 4 thought!
25 Jun 2006, 04:08 am
NZRU have demonstrated their willingness to help Pacific Island rugby with this tournament. Seeing as the “Junior All Blacks” (probably the national D team after the two interchangeable AB test teams and the NZ Maori team) were just a tad too good for any of their opponents, it wouldn’t make sense to use any more powerful team and to crush Islander spirit with walk-over cricket-score wins.
NZRU is obviously “growing the game” in the Pacific zone. What is SARU doing as an equivalent in the Africa zone?