Trouble in paradise?
26 Jun 2006
The Springbok squad announcement has been delayed to later this week sometime.
This is the second time the squad announcement has been pushed back after it was initially supposed to be made public on Saturday following the Test against France at Newlands.
However, the manner of the defeat to the french added to injuries to key players meant that Jake White and fellow selectors Pieter Jooste and Ian McIntosh probably needed more time to decide on the composition of the 28-man squad.
The press were told the team would be announced today, although no time was ever given.
But, today it was decided to delay the announcement indefinitely, with SA Rugby spokesman Rayaan Adriaanse telling keo.co.za: “The announcement will take place later this week.”
It seems that White’s carefully constructed world though is starting to crash down around him. First rib injuries to star midfield pair Jean de Villiers and Jaque Fourie cause disruption. This was further compounded by the shock loss of Schalk Burger to a neck injury, followed closely by White’s contract dispute with SA Rugby.
Then on Saturday at Newlands White suffered his first defeat in 14 Tests on home soil and lost winger Bryan Habana to a fractured rib. His doctor’s have told him to rest and a decision on whether he can perhaps tour with the Boks will only be taken next week Monday, creating more uncertainty
Also several of his key players are in terrible form and the time might be right for drastic changes as occurred after the 30-12 thrashing by the Wallabies in Sydney last year.
The Boks play Australia in Brisbane on July 15 and New Zealand in Wellington the following weekend.
By Andrew Hollely

281 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] Show All
26 Jun 2006, 18:07 pm
O kak
Rooi kaart vir n Italianer.
Ek moet vokof.
26 Jun 2006, 18:07 pm
Hoop so Staal!!
26 Jun 2006, 18:22 pm
Where have all of you gone???
26 Jun 2006, 18:33 pm
Dear Santa,
Please let the following team play in the next test:
1. Os
2. Smit
3. CJ
4. Bakkies
5. Matfield
6. Luke Watson
7. Juan Smith
8. Joe vN
9. Fourie dP (but let him practice his passing 8 hours a day before then)
10. Ruan
11. Habana
12. Jean dV
13. Jaque Fourie
14. Ndungane (any version preferably the Shark(
15. Percy
Reserves
BJ Botha, Schalk Brits, Danie Rossouw/AJ Venter/Ackers, P3 Wannenburg, Januarie (but let him please get his form back), Brent Russell, Wynand Olivier.
26 Jun 2006, 18:46 pm
I dunno John Smit doesn’t inspire me with much confidence lately.
Matfield has also been off.
26 Jun 2006, 19:19 pm
grootblousmile
We wus watching the aussies getting booted out of the world cup. Lekker.
26 Jun 2006, 19:22 pm
JH,
Welcome to the blog, I understand you’re new!!
Where are you based and what are your provincial loyalties?
26 Jun 2006, 19:26 pm
rockspider
Yes looks good except for the front row. No disrespect to Os but he is getting on a bit but where are all our so called talent scouts and how come they cannot find any new tough props-
Anyone got any news as to why Whitey doesn’t dig Cheeky and his offspring? I gotta know
26 Jun 2006, 19:33 pm
Socceroos lost to a shocking refereeing blunder. Now why would South Africans find that familiar.
Maybe what goes around, comes around?
26 Jun 2006, 19:35 pm
Fact is the Ozziez are OUT!!!
26 Jun 2006, 19:35 pm
grootblousmile
Thanks I am based in Cape Town, ex zimbo chased out in 2001.
My loyalties have always been blue bulls and basically back any good provincial team, like the sharks under **** muir should win currie cup. The Cheetahs winning currie cup was also cool they really deserved that boost.
26 Jun 2006, 19:37 pm
I used to be married to an ex-zimbo…..fark she was as mad as a hatter!!
Got nothing against zimbo’s though!
26 Jun 2006, 19:42 pm
yeah most of them are mad. We are cowboys and we don’t cry we jus change the blerrie horse. viva the bloubulle and the springboks. Where are you based
26 Jun 2006, 19:45 pm
Found a beautiful woman in Brakpan of all places, so have been living here for 5 years.
Still do most of my business in Pretoria though. Believe in good service and keeping my clients forever, have therefor kept my client base there!!
26 Jun 2006, 19:48 pm
grootblousmile
Logging out for a while as have to watch E ring and the yanks kick *** from the pentagon – all in one hour!. I will be back to try and figure out live feeds for this new blogging excercise.
26 Jun 2006, 19:57 pm
Just a quickie before i go but going back to my last blog 261 what I mean is the sharks have a good shot at winning the currie cup but won’t B.Bulls too strong. W.P as much as I love this place (especially stellenbosch) have too many ballerinas in the side.
Glad you have a beautiful and good woman hard to find these days. Does she follow rugby as well as she would really be good when they get the timing right to dish up the sizzling boierewors rolls exactly on half time or when Naas starts to talk!
Gotta go right now chat later
26 Jun 2006, 19:59 pm
White made it to the short list of the Engeland position and immediately tried to cash in. I can’t think that any administrator who saw the Boks’ last two attempts against the Frogs will take a serious look at Jake.
26 Jun 2006, 21:28 pm
Keo
Start a thread for the Muppits to pick JW’s replacement.
Confirm for me that the same idiots that can’t win a S14 title are the backbone of the club of 14 that Oregan Pine will approach as a matter of urgency. This to get a successful coach an extension?
Muppits are supposed to be brutal, emotional, provincial and over the top. Our smooth new lawyer was at the Sharks when JW was appointed. How come, after getting the big silver spoon, he has not worked out under what terms his major media figure is working? Stupid muppits I can accept, I guess I am one of them. SARU looks just as well run to me as ever!
If we have a coach or coaching staff and players in crisis, look no further than the leaders of the 14 tribes and SARU. They dictate who coaches and how long for, nobody else.
Personally, I’m with Cab. Rather than put up with half wits and abus from the ugly masses, take the money and go to where you may be treated as a self respecting professional.
26 Jun 2006, 22:34 pm
Jack White and the Boks have been found out. The tactics are simple: rush defence, wait for mistake, score. In otherwords brainless and dumb.
SA to win the WC…I dont think so!
26 Jun 2006, 23:28 pm
Kies vir Andre Joubert op heelagter; James Small en Jona Lomoh op vleuels, Danie Gerber en Ryk van Schoor op senters; Naas Botha en Joost de Doost as skakels; Morne, Jan Ellis en Doug Hopwood as die los trio, Frikka en Gawie Carelse as slotpaar; Mof, John Smit die moer, en Eddie Anrews in die voorry. Laat Frik agter Eddie druk dat die kak spat! Arme Frik!
26 Jun 2006, 23:40 pm
After Reading the comments on this blog …. I know see why Jake wants to leave south african rugby ….
27 Jun 2006, 00:21 am
Jake White’s tenure as Bok coach:
Year One 2004 — Boks come first in the 3N.
Year Two 2005 — Boks come second in 3N.
Year Three 2006 — Boks come ??? in 3N.
Year Four 2007 — Boks go out of RWC in ??? stage.
Look at the scoreboard.
27 Jun 2006, 01:37 am
Last year the NZ media did it’s best to bag Australia rugby as also rans specially at forward. But they have come back strongly this year and from what I have seen they have the makings of crowning the Tri-nations specially if they are lucky enough to have firm playing surfaces. I have always admired to Wallabies as being”smart”rugby players as apposed to some of the dumbest on the other side of the ditch.
Hamba Kahle
27 Jun 2006, 05:46 am
Shame on you Dooster. Gawie Carelse and Doug Hopwood passed away in 2002!
27 Jun 2006, 06:00 am
I better be seeing Johan Ackerman and Luke Watson.
Pretorius, Pienaar, Butch and BJ should all be in the squad too.
I am a bit fan of Schalk Brits but after seeing our scrum going back 100m against the French there is no way he can play hooker.
27 Jun 2006, 06:17 am
bit=big
27 Jun 2006, 06:33 am
Dickie, Rassie, Campo & Straulie
From what I hear Rodolf has done good worh at the Sharkies
27 Jun 2006, 08:18 am
JW is a smart man .. he took a look at the schedule for 2006 … a look at his injuries and what he actually has in his golden boys (JS, Jaco, Snyman, De Wet, Marius ext), they are just not up to scratch. Suddenly he realized he made a big mistake by not building some depth while he had a chance, that his game plan of rush defense has been found out and that he has no plan B, and saw that 2006/2007 is going to be a disastrous year that is going to tarnish his bok record and therefore his Rands/Pounds worth as a couch.
We thank JW for bringing some pride back to the boks, but he is the architect of his own demise with his shortsighted selections and obsession with size, strength and caps. I personally think that JW has bought the boks as far as he can, he has reached the ceiling. He was a good enough coach to take us to No2, and restore some pride, but alas no further.
He is getting out while his record is still good.
27 Jun 2006, 08:19 am
Yup, trouble in die land.
27 Jun 2006, 08:29 am
Mallet is now a legend, but when he got the boot, people wanted to crucify him. Its people like the mongoloids on this blog that contribute to this. Its pathetic, and the reason why we are the laughing stock of world rugby.
Now White, two weeks before Tri Nations, is flying to the UK to look at his new contracts? What impact does this have on our players? They have already said that a few of our key players could hand in their caps if Jake goes. You may as well write this tri nations off now. Its a goner
WE ARE BACK TO SQUARE ONE YOU FOOLS! ITS GOING TO TAKE MONTHS TO BUILD UP TO A LEVEL WHERE WE ARE COMPETITVE AGAIN.
White instilled a lot of pride in the jersey again. 68% is not superb, but its not bad considering what he inherited.
I have no doubt in a few years people will look back at this time as an era where we were a good side. Pity we are too stupid to see it when we were in the middle of it
I also want to see attractive running rugby. Unfortunatly, we are conservative because our coaches are under so much pressure to win, they cant experiment.
I cant believe the level of stupidy in this blog. Ruan Pienaar has not played first class rugby at flyhalf this entire season, yet you want him to debut against Aus in the position!!!!!
27 Jun 2006, 08:43 am
My problem is not so much with Jake – I cannot but agrtee with cab – one need look after oneself financially – Jake is not getting younger and your tenure a top level coach is only that long.
What troubles me however, are the rumours of certain players threatening to leave if Jake’s contract is not extended. If this is true, then I say Jake must go, and please take those players with him. Look at what happpened to our cricket where the players determine who the coach is. Now we have Mickey Arthur who will always first consult with the players model dating schedule before coaching them properly – and our cricket is going downhill. Players are employees, they should not be calling the shots…
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] Show All