Watson’s Sharks slayers
26 Jun 2006
Having seen off the Pumas in Witbank, Vodacom Western Province aim to upset the Sharks at Newlands this Saturday.
“I was very happy to come away with a victory,” WP captain Luke Watson told keo.co.za, “but we weren’t as precise as we wanted to be. It will take a few games for our combinations to settle.”
Watson was the star of 25-18 win over the Pumas, scoring two of WP’s three tries. The homeside fought bravely and were only let down by some some poor goal-kicking.
“I was particularly impressed with the way the WP youngsters performed on Friday,” said Watson. “All of them stood accountable under huge pressure. As a side we need a bit more time to gel, but we have made steady progress over the past few months.”
WP face a huge challenge against the Sharks, who are tipped to take the Currie Cup title this year.
“They are good side and have done a lot of good work in rebuilding their team over the past few years. Even at the youth academy level, their has been a lot of talent coming through. The loss of the Springboks will also do little to effect their team as they have great depth in the squad,” said Watson.
Having been a member of the Sharks team two years ago, Watson will be mindful of his old team-mates tricks, but believes that Butch James in particular could be a handful.
“I’ve played a lot with Butch, and he just brings another dimension to the game. He was a Springbok awhile ago but is still one of the best flyhalves in this country.”
By Jon Cardinelli

49 Comments
26 Jun 2006, 10:46 am
How much will tickets be?
26 Jun 2006, 10:48 am
lukes got nothing on aj
26 Jun 2006, 10:49 am
where is butch james on the national seen, he was jakes first choice 10 before he got injured, a legend in his own mind
26 Jun 2006, 10:50 am
is actually spelled ‘scene’, not ‘seen’ u idiot
26 Jun 2006, 10:54 am
Province will not beat the Sharks , Sharks are to good this year. Alot of youngsters in the province team and they haven’t gel yet. But lets see what happens , two nice games on Saturday , day to spend at home , having a few beers and biltong mmmm
26 Jun 2006, 10:55 am
xsaffa, did u not read ig’s article regarding being offensive? even if it is to yourself, heh heh.
26 Jun 2006, 10:56 am
Andre I’ll give my left nut to do the same on Saturday
26 Jun 2006, 10:58 am
‘Sharks tipped to take the Currie Cup’ by whom?
26 Jun 2006, 11:03 am
Sharks are going to be in the finals , they have shown us in the S14 what a good team they are. Alot of young tallent and with James back i am sure they going to be outstanding this year. Cheetha’s are also going to go out all the way to defend the title. Bulls are stuggeling without there power houses that’s out of there team. So my money will be on the sharks this year.
26 Jun 2006, 11:03 am
and Hottie Louw joined the Bulls
26 Jun 2006, 11:07 am
youngsters? how old is Watson? he cant be much older than the youngsters.
26 Jun 2006, 11:08 am
Only by the writer of this piece.
The Cheetahs have also been “tipped” to defend the CC. And news from Tshwane is that the Bulls have been tipped to take it back. In my special world, the Lions have been tipped to get it together under Eloff and storm to a convincing CC crown (I know it’s brave, out of the box thinking).
26 Jun 2006, 11:11 am
I’m a die hard Lion supporter but my choice for CC stays with the Cheetahs’. Seldom in the limelight but they just consistently show their worth week after week also Rassie is a thinking coach. His play on using colour cards to communicate with his players just reinforces that IMO
26 Jun 2006, 11:14 am
Ek hoop die bulle vat die ccup, maar ek is bevrees ons het te veel spelers verloor. Ek twyfel of al die nuwelinge dadelik die mas sal opkom. Bulle het afgelope 3 jaar basies dieselfde ouens gehad, nou skielik het ons n totale nuwe span. Hoop maar daar word nuwe legends gemaak die ccup…
26 Jun 2006, 11:21 am
Daar is n beter kans op n volkstaat as wat daar n kans is dat Willy Watson se ####### die Sharks gaan wen….
26 Jun 2006, 11:25 am
*15 ..Willy Watson #########…Pricless
26 Jun 2006, 11:28 am
Sharks to get a klap.
Cant wait, and from then on a downsliral into a mire of poor confidence and pressure.
The sharks have never really been a great team.
26 Jun 2006, 11:31 am
Snoop
Sharks to beat province and with there u/21′s coming back into the squad all teams are going to struggle against them.
26 Jun 2006, 11:34 am
quin
Bulle het ook n groot klomp wat terugkom!
26 Jun 2006, 11:38 am
Fair enough but they did struggle against the Falcons.
The point I am trying to make is that nobody can really truly believe that province have a chance of winning.
26 Jun 2006, 11:45 am
ROFL Stan…
26 Jun 2006, 11:55 am
Kietie – I know the Cats suck, the Lions too…
26 Jun 2006, 11:56 am
I’m sure that the Sharks will have a special warm welcom for the Loquacious Luke.
Sharks to win this one.
26 Jun 2006, 11:56 am
snoop’s been smoking his underpants again.
26 Jun 2006, 11:57 am
Quin
Bulle het gestruggle maar ons weet nie rerig hoe kompeterend die Valke is nie. Dink GW is vrot, pumas OK maar Valke gaan taai wees vir al die spanne. Na die eerste rondte as beserings by die Valke intree gaan hulle heelwat makliker wees. Neem ook in ag Valke speel al 13+ wedstryde saam. Die nuwelinge bulle nie veel nie. Maar ja, ek stem saam, WP het nie ‘n realistiese kanse nie. Bulle, OVS en Sharks gaan dit uitspook.
26 Jun 2006, 11:59 am
Suparugby
Agreed those are the only teams that have a realistic chance of winning.
26 Jun 2006, 12:06 pm
Quine
Alhoewel ek wonder of die bulle en ovs nie dalk met ware diepte sal sukkel nie.
26 Jun 2006, 12:15 pm
Suparugby
That I believe is where the Sharks do have an advantage they have great depth and when ever somebody got injured and they used a “second string player” they performed superbly.
As for the freestate I think they are skating on thin ice as there really isn’t any depth there. With that said they are the CC champions and should not be taken lightly at all.
The bulls have always had great depth and I still think they do. They will be in the final again this year.
26 Jun 2006, 12:21 pm
Quine
Kan nie glo hoe dinge in 1 seisoen kan verander nie! **** Muir het wondere verrig! Laas jaar was die Haaie swak! Nou kan hy omtrent 35 kies wat enige tyd kan kompeteer sonder dat die span ontwrig word. Wonder of dit net net **** was en of Brown, Campo en selfs Straueli nie oo groot rolle gespeel het nie. Sal graag wil weet wat elkeen se invloed op die herlewing van Sharks rugby was.
26 Jun 2006, 12:36 pm
Do the Sharks still have Tony Brown?
If not, then its bye bye time.
26 Jun 2006, 12:38 pm
Suparugby
Yes it is amazing how things change so quickly. Same thing happend at the Bulls.
I think it is a combination of Muir, Campo and some great talent that has turned it around. But it is only the start of the CC and they have to still perform well.
26 Jun 2006, 12:39 pm
Snoop
We have Butch James and he plays just fine for me (if he doesn’t get injured).
26 Jun 2006, 12:54 pm
whenever watson talks he seems to be unable to back it up on the field.
26 Jun 2006, 13:07 pm
ebay 33. And you base this insight on what?
26 Jun 2006, 13:12 pm
pussycat,
look at all the **** he spoke about last year, and he played kak.
i am basing it on that…
26 Jun 2006, 13:32 pm
This game is on Sky Sports on Sat
26 Jun 2006, 13:34 pm
ebay addict. You had better bite down and get used to Watson talking ‘****’, no matter how ‘kak’ he plays (how erudite I have to say). He is now captain and has to make comment. Further, to me, it looks like he is playing fine.
26 Jun 2006, 13:44 pm
pussycat,
calm down…
i only want him to continue playing well so jake will have to pick him because we need a fetcher, and out of the fetchers, he has the most mongrel and pushes himself all the time
i just don’t want him to start talking a big game like he did before and then not be able to back it up. captains comments are fine.
26 Jun 2006, 13:58 pm
WP to win?
Yoh!
Did they bribe the ref?
26 Jun 2006, 14:51 pm
ebay…
Watson talks big only because he thinks big and dreams big! It has nothing to do with arrogance or show, the boy has high hopes and is very confident – no one can achieve their goals 100% of the time, what matters is he expects alot of himself and he works bladdy hard. So dont knock him for believing in himself and his team!!
26 Jun 2006, 15:00 pm
girl6,
where on earth did you sum up that conclusion?????
why don’t you have a look in the archives and see what the general concensus was to his big mouth last year, he talked up a huge game in the media and was unable to play up to his standard.
i am not knocking the guy, far from it, i just don’t want him to lose the plot, believe it or not i think he should be playing for the boks, because we sure as hell do need a fetcher.
26 Jun 2006, 15:03 pm
ebay addict – I’m perfectly calm. Tell us, what particular comment did Luke make last year (and now) that has riled you up so much?
26 Jun 2006, 15:23 pm
pussycat,
i don’t remember what he said exactly, i just remember him talking up the game, and the stormers and then the entire team underperformed, he lost the plot and couldn’t make the currie cup bench.
he seems to have his spark back
what makes you think i am riled?
26 Jun 2006, 17:21 pm
My friend… I’m afraid you ar completely missing my point, as you men often do, I was simply saying that no body ever got any place worth being in by talking negative. I agree, their performance last year was disappointing to say the least, but they should not be EXPECTING to do badly, that would be the real disappoinment – a team with no conviction. Let Luke talk away, at least the man is passionate. Watch, with him as captain that team will knock the socks van jou veldskoene uit. seriously.
26 Jun 2006, 17:58 pm
Ebay
So what, we all know Luke was off form last year you ……iijet.
This year he has been on fire, your point exactly?
Watch him against the toothless guppies on sat.
26 Jun 2006, 18:20 pm
Huh snoop, at the end of the day the ‘guppies’ will chow on the WP’s for dinner. But either way it’ll be a great game to watch..
26 Jun 2006, 20:21 pm
come on people, all i meant was that i hope the guy plays well this season…ffs
girl6, i am not a man
27 Jun 2006, 08:22 am
Why is everybody making predictions of Currie Cup wins already? Only one game has been played. What are you guys, fortune tellers?
How come nobody can talk about the game of rugby itself instead of who’s going to klap who? Does it even matter who wins?
What matters to me, is to see good innovative rugby being played. The dinosaur-I’m-going-to-moer-you attitude is obviously not working, in any competition.
27 Jun 2006, 08:34 am
I’d rather want to see a development side play against the Springboks in 3 games during the ‘off time’ for the Boks, instead of seeing a talent like Pierre Spies being eaten up by Jerry Collins and Richie Mccaw.
This would be my development team:
15.) JP Pietersen
14.) Tonderai Chavanga
13.) Ronnie Cooke
12.) Wynand Olivier
11.) Odwa Ndungane
10.) Meyer Bosman
9.) Ruan Pienaar
8.) Keegan Daniel
7.) Pierre Spies
6.) Luke Watson
5.) Ross Skeate
4.) Andries Bekker
3.) BJ Botha
2.) Chilliboy Rallepele
1.) Deon Carstens