Saru won’t stand in Jake’s way
27 Jun 2006
Regan Hoskins says Jake White is free to take up the director of coaching job with England if that’s what he wants.
The Bok coach has apparently been promised the RFU post (worth R20 million over four years), but is willing to stay in South Africa if his contract is extended until the 2009 Lions series. However, Saru doesn’t seem too concerned.
“Jake asked us for permission to apply and we said we would not stand in his way. It would be like restricting someone’s right to employment if he told you that he had applied elsewhere and you did not allow him to go. We live in a constitutionally sensitive society,” Hoskins told Cape Times rugby writer Stephen Nell.
But Hoskins added he would like White to stay on as Bok coach: “I think I speak for everyone when I say we don’t want him to go.”
Saru’s presidents council is to meet on July 3 to discuss White’s contract. Hoskins said there had not been a recommendation by the board to the council that White’s contract should be extended.
“It’s not a recommendation. It’s more a feeling of the Presidents Council’s view on the matter. It’s about testing the waters and hearing their views. We must be guided (by them). I’ve learnt in my four months as president of SA Rugby that things seem perfect today, and tomorrow they can become hot spots,” he said.
“What our country needs is to put rugby first and personal agendas second. We have a tendency to be hot-headed.”

146 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All
27 Jun 2006, 09:21 am
Dis waar, as ek nog een keer die woord “conditioning” moet **** gaan ek mal raak. Ek hoop almal het nou gesien hoe pateties Eddie Andrews is.
27 Jun 2006, 09:25 am
JW soon to move into the emotional minefield previously reserved for Rattlebones.
Loyalty is for dogs.
Freedom of choice is Jake’s. Given the freedom and support he enjoyed until Oregan Pine’s arrival, he did well. The villains of South African rugby are still the 14 PC members and SARU. It is highly unlikely this all came as a surprise to any of the participants in the drama.
The decision to let it drag on until the media became involved is hardly surprising, given SARU’s history. Yesterday the pat answer was Heybecke Meyer with overtones from Peter de Villiers would ride the tiger. Claims that Jake ejoyed all this marvelous support and confidence of the PC 14 and SARU happily overlook any of the events of the past two years.
The muppit histrionics are mirrored in the press and the ‘maak almal bokke’ mentality. Hardly professional and between this and the changes being made within our competitors either Jake or our structures are wrong. Pick Jake as wrong by all means, he is hardly perfect, but for God’s sake recognise that he will be the only material change from Brain van Ruins day. Selecting from the current coaches of the major unions is hardly the answer.
27 Jun 2006, 09:27 am
Also, the difference between JW and Henry is that Henry acknowledges his mistakes and moves on. I see that after he refused to pick Rueben Thorne to cover flanker after a great Super 14, he has now decided to include him in the Tri-Nations squad because his original choices didn’t perform against Ireland and Argentina. Can’t see JW doing that with some of his obvious ommissions.
27 Jun 2006, 09:30 am
I have not read through all the posts, but I want to say one or two things.
Do not be disillusioned to think we will get an overseas coach – no coach that is not a saffa will stand for the **** our coaches have to i.e. quotas and transformation and the political and personal vendetta’s as found in Saru. Coaches talk to one another people, do not for one second think other coaches do not know what is happening in our rugby.
Secondly, Jake might not be the answer for us now, and he might not be able to take the team further as a coach as some of you say – but tell me, who do we have that is better than him?
The only candidates good enough to take over from Jake will be ex-Bok coaches. The guys that have been there and done that. And do any of you for one second think Saru will approach Mallet, Carel or Markgraaff?
Stroolie said after the World Cup fiasco he was not ready, and it was probably to early in his coaching career to take on teh pressure of coaching the national team. Stroolie did a great job for the Sharks Super 12 team and CC teams, the next step would logically have been national coach not so? And he admitted he was not ready.
So, do you think ****, Rassie, Chester, Peter, Heyneke is ready?
**** and Rassie are in their first seasons, Chester has failed with all teams he coached in the 15 man code.
Peter has only coached age group level successfully.
Heyneke has been compared to Jake in the sense that many Bulls supporters even believe he has done a great job lifting the Bulls out of their piss-poor state a couple of years ago – but he has reached a stage where he can do noe more – same as what people are saying about Jake.
So, for those who say he must go, please tell me who will take over?
Lastly, a senior player was qouted saying that they too are waiting to see what happens to Jake before they make long-term commitments. Senior players my dear friends, are John Smit, Victor, Bakkies, Schalla, Jean, Jaque, Os, Monty and the likes. They have had offers from overseas teams, so we won’t lose them to another country, but we will lose S14 players by the dozen.
It is strange how people simply lose perspective.
27 Jun 2006, 09:31 am
The truth is now starting to emerge, the reason Jake has been making the stupid selections and playing such a kak gameplan is that he’s had a secret agreement with England to ensure the boks are demoralised and lacking in confidence by the time we play england in the pool stages at the WC next year.
Otherwise he would be selecting players like Visage, Halstead, Watson and Brits and they would be performing a hell of a lot better than the encumbents.
It’s sabotage and treason folks!!
27 Jun 2006, 09:32 am
Well posted Sarky
The only real hope I cling to as a Bok supporter is that one fine day SARU will restructure itself into a professional and well run body, that the Bok coach be given the freedom to run the national team as he deems fit and that the many fans be treated with a little respect.I believe the poor turnouts for Test matches and palpable tension amongst fans is a sure sign that all is not in order.My guess is that till any of this happens we will continue to suffer the embarassment that our national body is so keen to embrace.
27 Jun 2006, 09:33 am
Does Jake want to jump ship because:
1. His gun is shooting blanks.
2. There is no other gun, and bullets are all defective?
27 Jun 2006, 09:56 am
Regan,
If we lose Jake, I’ll hold you personally responsible.
Now is not the time for diplomacy and facilitation but instead initiative and ambition. Come-on get your finger out!
27 Jun 2006, 09:57 am
Dumb Supporter. I rest my case!
You are the one!
27 Jun 2006, 09:58 am
Why is everybody refering to Hoskins as Regan, I thought his mane was Oregan?
Stupid question I know, just curious . . . .
27 Jun 2006, 10:04 am
Sorry dudes, Jake has hit his ceiling, if I was asked last week to sighn the petition I would have done it, not this week, not because we lost to the Frogs(again)but Whites blackmail antics have now become ludicrus. Now I believe he’ll only sighn an extension if he is allowed to dictate how the Boks are played in their provinces. Ridiculous.
The AB’s are quietly building a war machine, the Frogs are starting to look awesome(my opinion) Even the Ozzies are putting the pieces back together.
We have a team struggling under the shear weight of the dead wood that Jake insist on keeping with him. Blaming transformation is ridiculous, White has kept players like Andrews (who was never good and certainly not a tighthead) an aging Paulse(although I still rate him highly) And Solly. (I only mention black players here cause of the so called transformation problem)
We have wonderfull players in the Ndungane brothers, Chilli, Habana, Januarie(not fit) and others. Our local comps are also suffering as they have no carrot to play for with Whites closed door policy and what seem to be personal problems with certain players (ala Britz ,Watson)
Our try count has never been high under Jake and is getting worse. We seriously are not playing constructively, I mean, In all honesty, when did you last see the Boks park a beautifully worked try?
I’ve alwys supported White with a passion while I thought our team was improving, but as I said, he has nothing further to offer the Boks.
I am and always will be a Bok supporter, not always a Jake supporter.
What must happen must happen now, whichever way it goes, he must sort out his issues and “personal security” rubbish and be done with it, or leave.
I, for one could’nt give a **** wheather he has a contract after 2007, if he does his job he’ll have one, if not, well then, he’ll be like any other businessman and get turfed out, or maybe not. I care about my team, not whites petty problems.
27 Jun 2006, 10:07 am
pale_toe, I rate Jan de Konings articles, where did you see it?
27 Jun 2006, 10:15 am
rugby 365
27 Jun 2006, 10:20 am
Go Jake GO …. Just reading some of the comments on this blog …. the poor guy is in LOOSE LOOSE POSITION … SA rugby will ever be no 1 in the world not because of player quality but because of internal politics ….
27 Jun 2006, 10:21 am
BLUE CAP
WHO DO YOU THINK WILL DO A BETTER JOB ? HENEKE ? THAT WOULD BE LIKE TAKING 5 STEPS BACKWARDS
27 Jun 2006, 10:42 am
Deutsche_bok, Heyneke is the best forwards coach in this country, but as a complete coach? no. If the Meyer did accept the post (which he turned down once before) It would have to be with a recognised backline coach.
Being a good coach is about being a good manager, in other words, if you can’t do the entire job yourself, hire the right people to do the job.
I feel we are falling short on the managerial skills. We need a first class manager first and let him build a team that will build our Springbok team. He is the one who should have Carte blanche on who he gets as forward coach, backline coach, kicking etc.
Doing it this way you don’t have one head coach but rather you are taking the best from each coach. This manager would really need to know his people, his coaches, not the players. He has nothing to do with the players. The same as an engineer has nothing to do with the welder.
Most probably Morne would be good, I’m not sure.
Er, in my case I’d hire a guy to find the best manager. Lol.
27 Jun 2006, 10:43 am
jakes leaving????? THAT IS GREAT NEWS!!!
27 Jun 2006, 10:45 am
Lol, van_mangs
27 Jun 2006, 10:46 am
All is crucifying JW, me included as I don’t think he has any vision, but what about the other two culprits, ian Mac and one Pieter Jooste. As far as I understand they are also responsible for some of the pathetic selections or are they just their to say ja and amen to all JW want. When he openly critisised Schalk Brits and Luke Watson I didn’t hear a peep from any of them.
I mean if I am part of the selection process and the coach keep picking Has beens like Barry I will definately open my mouth otherwise it will make me look like a areshole too.
If JW go so shoeld the rest of the selectors, his many co coaches and management setup so that a new person can start with a clean slate. If some of the “senior” players want to leave then as well, let them but do not cancel their contracts, just don’t select them and they will stop behaving like the spoiled brats our players are.
All involved from Oregan Hoskins to the guy that cleans the Sprinbok bus are responsible for this mess and should be allowed to fall on their own swords, if they are honourable enough.
27 Jun 2006, 10:46 am
Francois Pienaar did a helluva job on the world cup bid, he did a great managing job there.
27 Jun 2006, 10:50 am
We need:
Heyneke Meyer as forward coach
**** Muir as backline coach
Campo as skills coach
Thats all otherwise we have coaches to coach the coaches. bring in Naas Botha or Morne Du Plessis as manager and we are on the right track.
27 Jun 2006, 10:51 am
myler, hear hear but I don’t think Hoskins should be punished as he is trying to clean up the L.Lyut appretices’ (BvR) mess. Those fat provincial mother… know nothing about putting rugby interests first. Roll on the free lunches and expense accounts.
27 Jun 2006, 10:53 am
Blue cap
you have some really good points and I agree on most of them but Jake was a good coach , so he does not turn into a bad coach overnight.
I also think alon solomans would be a great manager for the boks and foriegn head coach … Why …. because then he can perhaps get rid of the transformation problems and pick the best team
27 Jun 2006, 10:57 am
Francois Pienaar now thats a good one. He would be ideal for the job but I don;t think he’ll relish the thought of eventually being fired again
27 Jun 2006, 11:08 am
Alan Solomons ignored Stuart Abbot at the Stormers, so he’s useless.
27 Jun 2006, 11:15 am
henri
everyone makes mistakes , but I said that he would make a good manager not coach !
27 Jun 2006, 11:15 am
Deutsche_bok, Jake has done wonders,but I think he’s reached his limit, at the very least he needs competent help, but it seems he has this power thing.
**** Muir is a better coach in my opinion than Jake, not necessarily because he knows his rugby better(although I think he does) but because **** got the people in who do know their job, Campese.
The abillity to get the right people in for the job is what will make Muir a great coach.
27 Jun 2006, 11:20 am
JH, you see, Pienaar will be doing the hiring and firing. Not the coaching. The beauty is he’d know what to look for in a coach having worked with the great Christie.
27 Jun 2006, 11:22 am
Keo
Does SARU already have a “favorite” lined up should Jake White decide to resign?
27 Jun 2006, 11:23 am
Bluecap
**** has a great rugby brain but maybe a but a little inexperienced and I think if he was offered the job , he would not take it . would you ?
27 Jun 2006, 11:23 am
The debate on the issue of Delicious and Rawsonville has pick up again. Its under the heading..RUGBY CLAIMS ANOTHER LIFE
27 Jun 2006, 11:25 am
yip, we can kiss the world cup goodbye, be lucky to make it to the quarter finals.
27 Jun 2006, 11:26 am
ok
27 Jun 2006, 11:32 am
Deutsche_bok, As a manager maybe, then I could blame the coach, Lol.
27 Jun 2006, 12:11 pm
Jake should honestly feck off….
hopefully watson, visagie, brits will then get their chance to play at next year’s world cup!
27 Jun 2006, 12:13 pm
Ikey
I have had some nice positive feedback from a few clubs.
The ball is now rolling.
You might even see us on TV.
27 Jun 2006, 12:16 pm
Jomar
The private feedback I’ve received from clubs on that thread is very encouraging.
Like I said, we are now on the road to achieve something.
27 Jun 2006, 12:25 pm
Meyer & **** + DeVilliers,the latter is not bad [ as long as he does not make the speeches] — this trio should have equal responsibility and if
27 Jun 2006, 13:01 pm
modawg – that is a caveman’s name. R u a neanderthal type looking fellow? Were you educated in a cave? Do you wear clothes or lion clothes? Coz that is where your comment belongs my poor friend
27 Jun 2006, 13:03 pm
SA Rugby should call Jake’s bluff. I think he’s only in the race for the job in Engeland. We can respond once he can prove he’s got an offer.
27 Jun 2006, 13:38 pm
hey van mangs stop speaking ****…….jake is an awesome coach its just he doesnt get the support that all the other coaches around the world have. Lets stand up for jake and stop moaning. we can do it
GO BOKKE!!!!!!!!!!!
27 Jun 2006, 14:39 pm
Jake has been crying about a lot of things since he got the job. A few ultimatum situations has resulted.
He did take us from 6th to 2nd…..but losing one game to France put us back to 3rd.
Maybe he is busy having a burnout. New scrum machine does not work either…..
27 Jun 2006, 14:41 pm
To all you idiots out there who thinks Jake is a traitor: Are you f#@$%ng braindead, or do you enjoy looking stupid?
Jake said he will stay if his contract is extended. Like any employee he has to look out for his future. Even if successful he will most probably be fired after the world cup, because the whole SA rugby scene is run by people that does not care for anything but themselves.
27 Jun 2006, 15:18 pm
xsaffa Jake White started off great. After all we were at rock bottom and couldn’t get any lower after Straeuli. Since the first Tri Nations win the team’s performance has been on the decline.
Jake White has proven himself to be an arrogant, money hungry prick who only cares about himself. He sticks with his out of form players with 5000 caps, when infact they all need to be sent to Kamp Staaldraad and locked up. In the case of Eddie, De Wet, Marious Joubert, Andre Snyman, Bretyon Paulse, Shimange you can throw away the keys too.
27 Jun 2006, 20:57 pm
JW has missed a trick in not selecting new players for the Boks vs World 15 and Scotland. Look at New Zealand, three different teams played three different tests.
Its too late to make radical changes to the Bok team. Remember what happened to von Hoeslin? Selecting from the U21 side is ok against teams such as Italy or Scotland, but selecting them to debut against the likes of the AB’s or Wallabies is not too bright.
JW is a one-trick pony and methinks he sees the writing on the wall and wants to bail before the SHTF.
28 Jun 2006, 07:39 am
“Jake, you can leave if u want. Thanks for taking the Boks to 2nd on the IRB rankings; thanks for winning 13/14 @ home; thanks for winning the 2004 3N title; thanks for turning victor, bakkies, JdV and others into world-class players; thanks for fielding more black players than any other Bok coach; thanks for piloting a high-performance programme for black players. Thank u Jake bye-bye.”
Totally unbelievable statement coming from SARU.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All