Loffie: We can win

The derby clash between the Lions and Blue Bulls on Saturday could make or break both teams’ Absa Currie Cup campaigns.

Far from deciding who will or won’t make it to the semi-finals the outcome will decide who takes the high road and who takes the low.

The Lions suffered a loss in their first match against the Sharks in Durban and failed to secure what could become a vital second bonus point. The Bulls meanwhile were pushed all the way before eventually holding out against the impressive Valke outfit.

The Bulls are among the favourites for the title, while the Lions are the dark horses at best. Despite this coach Eugene Eloff is adamant his team can win at Ellis Park on Saturday.

“I have no doubt it is possible. We have been training very well this week. I can see the team also believes we can win,” Eloff told keo.co.za. “I would admit that the Bulls along with the Cheetahs and Sharks are favourites, but there is no reason that if we play like we have practiced we can’t get a win.”

Since Eloff took over from Frans Ludeke, changes have been made. The team no longer trains all week at Joburg Stadium and instead enjoys the more comfortable surrounds of Mark’s Park. “I just had to get the guys out of the city and I can already see the lift it has given them.”

Eloff said the Lions were not too worried about what the Bulls will do as their recipe for success is well documented. “We are just focussing on ourselves. The proof must come in the pudding. We can’t keep talking, we need to win,” he said.

And Saturday seems like a good place to start – against a team they thumped 46-17 at the same venue last year.

Recent Absa Currie Cup results between the two teams (home team listed first):

2005:
Lions 46 Blue Bulls 17
Blue Bulls 31 Lions 23 (semi-final)

2004:
Lions 36 Blue Bulls 33
Blue Bulls 47 Lions 38
Blue Bulls 40 Lions 33 (semi-final)

2003:
Lions 23 Blue Bulls 28
Blue Bulls 52 Lions 40

2002:
Lions 20 Blue Bulls 33
Lions 7 Blue Bulls 31 (final)

By Andrew Hollely

25 Comments

• 1.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Boerwors, Chops , biltong , en die dop.

• 2.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Dream on Loffie…

• 3.Tacitus: Reply to this comment

The Lions always raise their game against their neighbours and close rivals from the north.

They remain difficult opponents for the Bulls.

It seems of late the Bulls have found the southern teams – W.P. and the Sharks easy meat, while the northern teams – Cheetahs and Lions – seem to match the Bulls physicality to a certain degree.

Of course, the Lions will put up a good showing against the Bulls – and then go and lose to Griquas.

The Bulls will win on Saturday, but it will be a tough encounter. It’s a pity that Spies and Ndungane won’t be there. I’m just glad that Jake didn’t rob us of Frikkie Welsch as well.

27-20 to the Bulls.

• 4.Spook: Reply to this comment

So the Lions have only won 2 games out the last 9!!

And they say Province are the Bulls bunnies!! Kak idea!

• 5.suparugby: Reply to this comment

jeez that final in 2002 was GRRRREAT!

• 6.big g: Reply to this comment

lets hope the lions beat the bull andrew!

• 7.JUSM: Reply to this comment

we can win… lol that sounds like something out of ‘more is nog ‘n dag’.

• 8.suparugby: Reply to this comment

bulle met 10+

• 9.RedCard: Reply to this comment

They did get a bonus point Andrew they missed out on the second one.

• 10.Andrew: Reply to this comment

Draw 3-3.

• 11.katman: Reply to this comment

Spook,

“So the Lions have only won 2 games out the last 9!!”

Aren’t statistic wonderful things to manipulate?

Here’s another way to look at it: the Lions have won 2 of the last 3 encounters. Sounds a little different, doesn’t it?

• 12.Andrew: Reply to this comment

RedCard – correct.

• 13.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

I’m calling for all Johannesburg & Pretoria Bulls supporters attention:

I have an extra “Losie ” Ticket available for Saturday’s game.

Plan is to have drinks & good food at Kickoff Restaurant (at the Stadium), then watch the game, halftime drinks, watch the second half, then drinks again!!

I am deadly serious!!!!!!!

Who wants it!!

• 14.sarky: Reply to this comment

Loffie, Can we really win without Jorrie?

• 15.Spook: Reply to this comment

Katman

Point taken.

Good luck for the game none the less.

• 16.katman: Reply to this comment

Should be a cracker. Looking forward to seeing Thabang Molefe partner Jaco Pretorius in the midfield. Lions to win a tight game – by no more than 30 or 40 points.

• 17.katman: Reply to this comment

Thanks Spook. And to your team too.

• 18.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Now I know why the Lions are struggling so much………I have an extra ticket For Kickoff Restaurant & The Grand Stand, offered it mahala to anybody…….

Nobody wants to go to EllisPark, f@rking nobody, noooooooo reaction whatsoever!!

If this ticket was for Loftus, I wouln’t have been able to cope with the demand for it…..

Lions, you only have yourselves to blame, sigh, sigh!!

The ticket is still up for grabs….

• 19.xpat: Reply to this comment

Blou
    Does that include a plane ticket if so Im in like Flynn
    Lions by 7 too many Bulls doing Bokke duty.

• 20.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Grootblou, normally I would give my left tescticle to jump at the oppurtunity but the missus is really ill so I’ll unfortunately wont take you up on the offer.

Very kind of you though.

• 21.JUSM: Reply to this comment

janee grootblou, i went to ellis for the world 15 match and it was the last time. fck it. i’d rather drive through to loftus. and i do.

• 22.RedCard: Reply to this comment

JUSM,

Keep perspective. The World XV match was a kak game. Anybody who was at the AB game in 2004, the Oz game last year or the 2002 CC final wil tell you differently.

BTW apparently security, parking etc is being jacked up.

• 23.St.Petersburgbok: Reply to this comment

Looks like those statistics say that the Bulls only win the ones that count.

Lions have won 2 of the last 3……….:lol:

• 24.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Mouth off you plonkers! Going to be very sweet indeed.

• 25.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Once again Grrr for president.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.