Bosman back with Boks

Meyer Bosman’s Springbok roller coaster ride continued on Friday when he replaced Andre Pretorius in the Vodacom Tri-Nations squad.

Pretorius, who does not even have a Springbok contract, only resumed jogging this week and has not kicked a ball since his operation. According to Beeld newspaper, no one bothered to find out if he was fit to be selected for the Bok squad.

Bosman played two Tests on the 2005 end-of-year tour and was supposed to play No 10 for the Baby Boks at the U21 World Championships when he was not required again by Jake White.

However, Bosman was left out of the U21 squad and sent back to play for the Cheetahs. Now, with Pretorius having been ruled out, he is back.

Because Pretorius isn’t contracted by Saru, the Lions will handle his rehabilitation. He won’t even be able to do a fitness test next week.

“André won’t be fit for the Springbok tour,” Lions CEO Turner told Beeld’s Hennie Brandt. “He will not undergo a fitness test next week and won’t leave with the Springboks. He should be ready to start playing in three or four weeks’ time. We aim to have him fit in time for South Africa’s home fixtures in the Tri-Nations.”

Dr Gerhard Jordaan, the biokineticist who is responsible for the player’s recovery programme, said the next few weeks would be extremely important.

“He has recovered well since the operation and has completed the physiotherapy programme. He has now embarked on a four-week recovery programme to gradually get him fit. When he resumes playing, it will be at a low (club rugby) level.”

138 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

• 101.mas_sehare: Reply to this comment

Cab – ek stem saam. Dai klein mannetjie like soos Castengnaide nou, hy ios baie vinnig.

• 102.Chuck Norris: Reply to this comment

Simon

Can I give a 3N Fantasy League link on this blog?

• 103.Vetkoek: Reply to this comment

Koos,

I fear you’re right- a pity though, because I reckon Bosman is still young enough to mould into a class flyhalf.

Cab, I enjoy Russell, but I don’t believe he’s our solution at 10. If you look at Larkham, Carter, Mcallister etc, they are able to stand up in the tackle, which is why they are able to unleash their outside backs. They create the space by effectively passing in the tackle. Honiball was the best we’ve had in this regard.

Russell, whilst very nippy, is not able to stand up in the tackle like that.

• 104.Ig: Reply to this comment

Chuck – i just answered your email.

• 105.cab: Reply to this comment

mas_sehara…ahahaha bloody funny nick.

ja Castegnaide is damn fast…tho Traile played well hey?

• 106.Chuck Norris: Reply to this comment

Thanks

• 107.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Cape,

Post #84. Very true – fully agree.

Andrew Merthens was small. The All Blacks played a game which took into account his strenghts and weaknesses. No need to explain how good he was.

• 108.saffa_guy: Reply to this comment

Merhten used to stand at flyhalf on attack and full back on defense. Worked wonders for the All Blacks.

• 109.cab: Reply to this comment

vetkoek,

yes, that inside channel is pretty busy these days, take your point, but would prefer a flyhalf general and distributor to control the game, a 12 that is robust and a 13 playmaker. The flyhalf can decide whether to pass to 12 if congested or skip to 13 if a bit of space exists.

Like a flyhalf that injects some pace on the ball. Jaco does thius, but not sure he really has the vision for this position. Russell makes things happen and he’s such a good ball player.

in fairness your theory of a robust no 10 was well supported by Traile last sat.

• 110.Ig: Reply to this comment

Chuck – your mail gives me a bounce back – my reply goes as follows

Its all laid out in the terms and conditions – the comments may not be used to promote any other websites.

• 111.bonehead: Reply to this comment

Mistral, If Bosman was available for the u21 would he have replaced It’s my eel, the crazy egg?
    JW had the perfect opportunity to include one of the Rose brother for additional exposure and blew it.

• 112.Chuck Norris: Reply to this comment

IG

Thanks I got both your mails. I send you a response.

• 113.Ig: Reply to this comment

And i replied.

• 114.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Chuck:

Riaan Cruywagen is fluent in twenty seven of the eleven
    official languages.

Riaan Cruywagen knows the news before it happens.

Riaan Cruywagen knew you would say that.
    Riaan Cruywagen is cryogenically frozen every night for EXACTLY
    eight hours.
    His brain impulses are monitored during this and used as templates
    for deciphering elaborate ancient manuscripts.

Riaan Cruywagen had a telekinetic showdown with Johan Stemmet.
    After draining all of Stemmet’s powers and rendering him severely
    retarded, he created Noot vir Noot and made Stemmet the host.

Some people believe Riaan Cruywagen wears a toupee – he has, in
    fact, one perfect hair. The one that covers his entire head – giving it
    that, ‘not quite real’ look. Riaan himself is not quite real.

Riaan Cruywagen was the original model for Michelangelo’s statue
    of David. Unfortunately, that was in the early years of Michelangelo’s
    career and he wasn’t yet artistically mature enough to capture the
    Cruywagen essence. He nearly drove himself mad with frustration until
    eventually he decided to settle for his number 2 choice of model in Chuck
    Norris who was only 3 years old when he posed for Michelangelo.

One night during an ad break on the 8 o’clock news, Riaan
    Cruywagen mentioned to the makeup lady that he was ‘tired of this
    apartheid nonsense’. Nelson Mandela was released from prison the next day.

Riaan Cruywagen wasn’t born, he thought himself into existence.

The only man made object visible (with the unaided eye) from
    space is the Great Wall of China. Riaan Cruywagen can see the Mir Space station with his ‘unaided eye’.

Riaan Cruywagen never blinks; if he does the entire world would
    just not happen for that split second.

When Sir Edmund Hillary reached the summit of Mount Everest, he
    was welcomed by Riaan Cruywagen, who briefly interviewed him, before
    wiring the information through to the SAUK.

The SAUK is actually a front for a secret society of Swiss
    Bankers who manipulate the world’s economy, and is chaired by non other than his most Worshipful Master, Riaan Cruywagen.

In binary code the word “Riaan Cruywagen” looks like the shroud
    of Turin.

When he was three Riaan Cruywagen successfully reinvented the
    wheel. For his second birthday party he entertained guests by coming up
    with the first highly successful prototype.

Riaan Cruywagen will never die. His soul gets transferred to
    another identical body via various arcane rituals and current
    nano-technology thrice fortnightly.

Bruce Willis’ character in Die Hard is based on the unpublished
    autobiography written by Riaan Cruywagen at the age of 15.

Riaan Cruywagen is an accomplished author and poet – though,
    humble by nature, he chooses not to write under his own title but prefers
    to go by psuedonyms such as W. Whitman, E . Hemingway, Proust, JD
    Salinger and G Chaucer – amongst others.

Riaan Cruywagen’s first job was tutoring Pythagoras.

• 115.zandberg: Reply to this comment

Butch James is playing correspondence Rugby now. They mail him his red and yellow cards now, so he don’t even have to leave his home now.

• 116.hardcore: Reply to this comment

Cab,

I’ve got to agree with you 100% about Russel and Jaco. Russels vision is one of his greatest assests.

Jaco has ability, pace, pass, boot, etc, but he just doesnt seem to be able to adjust to the limited space and time at flyhalf. Maybe its a lack of confidance or maybe he just needs more space and time ie rather at fullback or inside centre.

Russel not only has the natural ability to create space for his backs but to get the pass away as well.

• 117.Murph: Reply to this comment

http://WWW.murph.is.king.co.za/happyfriday/ig

• 118.Ig: Reply to this comment

ta – i will tip my beverage towards your general directioon later this evening

• 119.Murph: Reply to this comment

Red

We will not tolerate any slating of the Great Johan Stemmet !!!

No even in reference to the Rock of Gibralta in Broadcasting Riaan CruyWagon

• 120.Baas Naas: Reply to this comment

Great! I’m glad he is back in the mix. We need to nurture Bosman for the future. I would love to see Ruan link up with him. I think that is our future halfback combination.

• 121.Murph: Reply to this comment

Ja bru

Are you going to venture to Bloem with me for the FS v wp game this year ?

• 122.kamate: Reply to this comment

Wat ploeter Jake voort met hierdie groentjie. Die laaitjie kan nie eers met skopwerk pale toe vertrou word nie. Wat het de Waal gesondig?

• 123.Ig: Reply to this comment

Ja maybe i will – been to Loftus, Ellis and Kings Park and Newlands mays well add Bloem to the mix

• 124.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Murph,

When googling I found http://www.Murph.is.muff.co.za

You?

• 125.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

oh boy the same old song from bulls supporters
    butch cant tackle
    fuckit peeps learn a new tune
    hes never hurt another player in his carreer
    why not harp about ur damn dirty bulls players
    like matfield and bakkies and and and that got away with murder
    and are known for their dirty play????
    for once in ur F***ing lives see positives about someone
    butch is 10 times the player hougaard will ever be
    watson is ten times the player pedrie will ever be
    when a bulls player is dirty you call it agression
    when its from another proivince its dirty
    the boks need tough players not whimps
    in the loose a player like watson that wont stand back for all blacks or aussies will be awesome
    butch puts fear into the aussies thats why they harp on about his defence the same as bulls supporters
    and god may jake never get a say in sharks rugby
    we dont wanna go downhill like his bok team

• 126.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

sharkslover,
    your point about saying positive things is probably much better made without saying negative things about other players.
    just a thought.

you cockchops.

• 127.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

this seems to be what some peopl here enjoy
    they shout we need backs thats fast and can run
    and then they cry for a flyhalf like hougaard to play that wont pass the ball but kick it away
    so whats ur point ????
    get this in ur heads you want running rugby and tries from backs you choose a scrummie and flyhalf with running and passing abillity

• 128.Murph: Reply to this comment

Hmmm

would that expalain my sore throat ?

• 129.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

blue barbie i was not the one running down hougaard as some bulls supporters do with butch
    trust me if butch played for the bulls hed be the hero of pretoria
    and dont tell me it aint so i know lived there for 12 years
    spent most saterdays at loftus
    but bulls supporters never see any good in a player from elsewhere

• 130.zandberg: Reply to this comment

sharks_lover, I agree with your post at 129, but I dont think butch is the answer at Bok level. He is a better player than Hougaard or Steyn, but he is an injury or red card waiting to happen. I think Bosman could be the answer. He is still very young, but hes got all the skills. Put him and Ruan Pienaar together and mould them into a combination like SA haven’t seen for a while.

• 131.coldwatershark: Reply to this comment

zanberg,

Totally agree, lets hope somone will see the light (selectors).

• 132.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Hey it could Murph

• 133.aquarius27: Reply to this comment

Sharkie I agree we need a flyhalf and scrumhalf that encoruage running and release their backline …

Ruan Pienaar we know has a dodgy pass and has made a name with kicking from the base of scrums and sniping in loose play … he hasn’t set the worl alight with his passes or his ability to get to the breakdown and clear the deck … there are far to many props playing scrummy in the shark side while Pienaar is off the pace or involved in the ruck … he plays like Fourie du preez … and thats not going to set the bok line alight …

• 134.Quinnyshark: Reply to this comment

This is a joke….how on earth was Pretorius ever selected in the first place when he was clearly injured???

As for vd Westhuysen…can someone please tell me exactly why he is rated!!?? One good season for Leicester a few years back is not good enough – he’s spent the last few years tucked away safely in the Japanese mini-league!!!

• 135.wicked wugby wascal: Reply to this comment

tiger and futurebok

if we send a young guy across to be traied in flyhalf skills, if he knew what was good for him he will stay there…
    OR he can come back to circus SARU where his future is never certain, his coach is never around for long, and his salary depends on hs skin colour…

• 136.Klebs: Reply to this comment

Some comments about flyhalves.

1. Jaco is not the answer – he never was and never will be. His brain and feet do not seem to be on the same wavelength. Even when he was at his best in 2004 – his decision taking was shocking.

2. Butch is not the answer either. He started his international career with a brilliant pass that led to a try by Paulse. I remember thinking then: this guy is for real. But after that it has been downhill for him with the low point (for me anyways) when he played no 12 with Fleck at 13 in that disgusting drubbing by the Poms at Twickers.

3. Hougaard is too slow, 1-dementional and not of international standard. His decision taking is not that hot either.

4. Pretorius (when not injured) is a stopgap flyhalf. He does reasonably well on occasion – but seem to be kicking when he is suppose to be passing and passing when he is supposed to be kicking. Not a long term solution in my opinion.

This is what I think should happen: use Jaco on the bench as backup for fullback and flyhalf. Invest time in Morne Steyn and Meyer Bosman. Give both of them game time and see how they handle the international scene. Both or one of them at least might just be the solution we so desperately need!!!!!

BTW. From what I understand is that Pienaar has chosen to concentrate on no 9. He should be in the team as a backup to Du Preez.

• 137.chch: Reply to this comment

I like the idea of SA players coming to NZ to play. I can’t see SA supplying a number 10 for the Super14 (at the moment) but an NPC team may be intertested

• 138.mkulu: Reply to this comment

At present Butch is the only No10 in the country worth mentioning and to play like he is playing after such a long layoff well I’ll say no more.

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.