Sharks to smash WP

One year ago Dick Muir arrived at Newlands and his young Sharks team took a 40-point beating. On Saturday expect Muir’s side to get the 40 points.

The two teams meet in the second round of the ABSA Currie Cup and the Sharks are heavily favoured to knock over a home team that reportedly stuttered to a 25-18 win against the Pumas. Don’t expect much more from a team, whose coaching staff is battling for survival with each game.

The Sharks were the best team in the Vodacom Super 14 and they will be the best team in the watered down domestic showpiece this season.

Muir has put together an exciting blend of youth and experience and national team call-ups have also not hampered the Sharks too much. They have lost John Smit, Albert van den Berg, Percy Montgomery and Brent Russell. Province have lost Eddie Andrews, Joe van Niekerk and Jean de Villiers. Province, though, have lost plenty more to injury and unavailability, none more so than Schalk Burger, while De Wet Barry is in the ridiculous situation of not being needed by the Bok coach, but not allowed to play ABSA Currie Cup rugby.

Barry situation does not make sense. Then again a lot about South African rugby never makes sense.

The Bones are picking a Sharks triumph, while in the northern derby the Bulls will give Loffie another reminder of the torture when coaching the Lions. Bulls to win by 15.

In the other two matches the Cheetahs will win against the Valke, while the Pumas should get a win in Kimberley against Griquas.

135 Comments

• 51.Hooker2: Reply to this comment

Sorry mole, didn’t answer your question. I’ll tell you this. When you are tired, sometimes the complicated lineout calls do confuse you (at club level at least), but there is no excuse when the game is your job and you are paid BIG bucks to do it.

• 52.Henry7: Reply to this comment

I think it’s a good thing that barry isnt allowed to play any rugby. I mean honestly it cant be good for himself for us or any rugby team to have him around.
    But thats just how I feel. I wonder how he feels.

• 53.BobZimmerman: Reply to this comment

Keo
    Please help me as I am really wondering whether I am caught up in a time warp, has **** Muir really been coaching the Sharks for 2 years or is it now just over a year ago.

• 54.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Bob what is a year between journalists. :wink:

• 55.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Stan 41.

Perhaps we should change his nick to Turdday.

• 56.Ig: Reply to this comment

Or what is a year for WP – fork all – they still kak….

• 57.Stan: Reply to this comment

RC,
    Ek dink hy is hoeka n WP ondersteuner…

• 58.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Ig don’t moer them before they even take the field!

Positive energy!

• 59.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

Bob, this is his second year as cc coach. he took over half way during the super 12 last year.

• 60.Ig: Reply to this comment

Sorry Dawn …my bad – WP to win the CC

• 61.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Capes my brother,

Tel me how it goes!

• 62.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Dawn,

I think you’ve been shocked one to many times….positive energy….

• 63.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Always knew you were a guy for extremes.

• 64.kamate: Reply to this comment

This is a side show…!

• 65.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Who Dawn?

• 66.BobZimmerman: Reply to this comment

Thank you Keo
    On reading that the said game now took place one year ago I popped out of my time warp with a fuzzy feeling.

Is there any way that us mere bloggers can go back and edit something once it has been posted. It would surely save us some embarassment and why should you have all the fun anyway. Virtual tippex.

• 67.Baas Naas: Reply to this comment

Just curious Keo – what does your bones say for the soccer quarter finals?

• 68.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

man, biggest doping scandal in the history of sport today boys. dunno if any of u r into cycling, groot groot probleme.

• 69.Mole: Reply to this comment

Thanks for clearing that up for me Hooker. Nice post 50. By the way do you have a neck? Or is your head all pushed into your shoulders like most front rowers?

• 70.Ig: Reply to this comment

Kners – again ?

• 71.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

big time, ullrich, basso, mancebo to name a few already out of tour de france. bernard hinault suspects that by the end of the day 15-20 guys will be out.

• 72.Mole: Reply to this comment

And Hooker how are your ears? What makes the tight forwards ears go all cabbagy?

• 73.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Seriaas Kners?

• 74.kingpin: Reply to this comment

I agree with Henry7…..

It’s a good thing that Barry cannot play any rugby.

At the end of the day rugby is the winner!!!

• 75.kingpin: Reply to this comment

WeePee to win by 10…..

Sharks are shocking at Newlands!!!

• 76.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

indeed Red, all to do with the so called Operación Puerto. found lists of code names of cyclists involved in doping. it is huge because it is not just one team but many. the lists are old though but still.

tour de france starts tommorrow and the 2 big favourites are out. it is crazy. they all dope.

check out ########### or #############

• 77.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

oops, no links allowed?

• 78.kingpin: Reply to this comment

Why have English speaking guys always been chosen to captain the Springboks?

I think they are scared of what would happen should an Afrikaaner lead the AA Boks!!!

• 79.kingpin: Reply to this comment

Who is Paulse going to play Currie Cup rugby for?

• 80.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

english as in corne krige, andre vos, francois pienaar, joost v d westhuizen.

• 81.kingpin: Reply to this comment

Make Selbourne a Bok again ………….. once he is fit!!!

• 82.kingpin: Reply to this comment

Ja en kyk wat ‘n vokop die Bok “set up” was waneer hulle die Bokke gelei het!!!

Francois was iets anders – daar was geen “Affirmative Action” of “Quotas” toe hy die Bokke gelei het.

There is a fear amongst SA Rugby management that an Afrikaans captain would lead to too much tension and infighting amongst the Boks. Hence their selection of John Smit as captain. There are 2 or 3 better hookers in the country than John Smit so there has to be some justification as to his selection as captain.

You cannot exactly call Corne’s reign as captain of SA a success – you only need to look at the build up to the World Cup and the way he handled the Geo Cronje/Quinton Davids debacle (which he speaks about in his book) as further proof.

• 83.kingpin: Reply to this comment

I am off home – have a good week-end of Currie Cup rugby and I hope all your teams win – except the Sharks because I am a WP SUPPORTER……….

PRRRRRROOOOOOVVVVVIIIIIIIINNNNNNCCCCCCEEEEE!!!!!

• 84.kingpin: Reply to this comment

WEEEEEEEEEEEEEE PEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE

• 85.spokie: Reply to this comment

Go WP…Province!!!!!!

O, and…

VIVA PORTUGAL!!!!!!!

• 86.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

wp are going to get their arses pounded.

and they are going to get beaten by the sharks.

• 87.spokie: Reply to this comment

Toe maar dis nie so erg soos om teen die Lions te verloor nie…?

• 88.Mackie: Reply to this comment

Bismarck Du Plessis impressed the hell out of me last week.
    I laughed like a ******* every time he executed a perfect hand off.
    That boy dont look to mean, but boy has he got the grunt!

Sharks no doubt will slaughter the dreamland Capetonians!
    (sorry chaps but one may as well tell it like it is).

NATAL!

• 89.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

i just want to make a special note to Rugby Student P.9

that was a lame post, buddy. We all enjoy the predictions and it takes guts to put your chop on the block. And Keo has to stand on a chair to get his on anyway.

So my advice is if you dont like it, dont read it.

• 90.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

i love how the sharks are coming out of the woodwork, you guys were few and far between a few months ago.

• 91.wicked wugby wascal: Reply to this comment

lol at bluebarb

• 92.Blue Bulls: Reply to this comment

This time I’ll be supporting PROOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVINCE!!!! Because the Sharks are way too big for their boots at the moment.

They were NOT the best team in the Super 14 (else they’d have qualified), but they seem to think they rule SA Rugby at the minute.

C’mon Province!

• 93.aquarius27: Reply to this comment

Yes they would have qualified if ProooooooooVince didn’t throw the game … or at least try and play rugby …

The only reason the Sharks stayed behind and we sent the inept bulls to a predictable thrashing was because Province threw the game or are just not a team worth playing super14 let alone CC …

WP will lose … no suprsises there …

• 94.shibobo: Reply to this comment

De Wet Barry will be given game time in this years currie cup. After last saturday he will probably never play for the boks again. As for this watered down currie cup. The boks are going to the Tri Nations and will come back with a three nil result

SA Rugby will have a rethink and pick some other players for the home series and all those so called World Cup Boks will end up playing in the Currie Cup.

• 95.BokinOzzie: Reply to this comment

Germany 3 – 1 Argentina

Portugal 1 – 2 England

Italy 2 – 0 Ukraine (2 penalty dives to Italy)

• 96.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

Big call for the deutschemanne there bokinozzie.

• 97.Ig: Reply to this comment

Yip agreed Argies are gonne send the Krauts back to WW2, Portugal are gonna show the Poms how to play football…can’t argue with the third – although i have to support Ukraine !

• 98.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

I cant handle the thoguht of the iti’s going through.

• 99.jonny: Reply to this comment

The fish are sooooooooo full of themselves at the moment, their fans have become almost as unbearable as the BB’s! Oh woe, why no Pienaar in the Bok team, why no Butch, Brad Barrit this and JP Pietersen that.

Province to take them down a peg or three this week I hope!

• 100.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

100! Do we still play that game?

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.