AJ upbeat about dual-squad system

Sharks skipper AJ Venter has reacted positively to Dick Muir’s innovative dual squad system.

The new system will see the Sharks field two different teams, who will each play in two consecutive matches throughout the first round of the Absa Currie Cup.

“Initially where were some questions around the system but now the feeling in the squad is that everyone is getting an opportunity to show what they can do,” Venter told keo.co.za.

Confidence will be high after Saturday’s victory over Vodacom Western Province and the Sharks ‘second side’ will be looking to maintain an unbeaten record with a win over the Pumas this Saturday.

“We have great depth in our ranks in every position. It’s great that we can give youngsters a run at Currie Cup level,” Venter added. “I’m not concerned that any momentum will be lost with the introduction of a new team. I’m sure they’ll be great.”

From a personal point of view the big flanker said he was quite happy to be given a break: “I’ve take quite a few knocks over the last two weeks, so my body needs some rest.”

Venter revealed that Muir was keen to use the system in the Vodacom Super 14 but circumstances prevented him from doing so.

He now sees the system’s introduction as a perfect opportunity for every player in the squad to stake a claim for a run-on start come the second round of the competition.

“There’s nothing a sportsman loves better than getting a chance to prove himself. The guys have been given that chance and those who take it will start in the second round.”

According to Venter the side has a great balance of experience and “really exciting youth” and sees the Absa Currie Cup as the perfect opportunity for the team to grow ahead of another Super 14 campaign.

“By the next Super 14 we are looking to have a side that can really compete. With guys like Brent [Russell], John [Smit] and Percy [Montgomery] back and the experience that these youngsters are getting now, we are reallly excited about the future.”

150 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

• 101.steyn: Reply to this comment

you know that the mechanic will put a spanner in the works

• 102.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

my biggest problem is keeping them all out of the boys toilet.

• 103.suparugby: Reply to this comment

lol prev. adv

• 104.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

trying to put a spanner in each other’s works.

• 105.prev.adv: Reply to this comment

More like Ryan 1 muppits 0

Got a fight on his first thread
    congrats!!!

• 106.Predawn: Reply to this comment

If anyone has checked out AJ’s website you’ll notice that he is involved in some kind of business venture, which he unashamedly promotes on his site. Try and get a rugby conversation going and there are zero hits but I can bet if you request the services of his company and you’ll get a reply five seconds later.

• 107.steyn: Reply to this comment

but we all know if the WP team get here the spanner will disapear in once bum a wp bum

• 108.suparugby: Reply to this comment

predawn

maybe he need the money…

• 109.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

what does he sell?
    hair care products?

• 110.bigg: Reply to this comment

I hope the Sharks fall flat and LOSE on Saturday -Cocky F&*($#ers. GO PUMAS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 111.Predawn: Reply to this comment

He’s blerry stinking rich already. I think his mind is not on rugby anymore. That trip to Italy ruined the ou forever. I’m surprised he doesn’t wear Armani shorts on the field.

• 112.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

in fairness,
    wp and bulls fans dont need a reason to fight, they just need a place.

• 113.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

he calls himself Fabio, for ***** sake.

• 114.Predawn: Reply to this comment

Ja while other teams drink Energade the Bulls players drink Klippies & Coke.

• 115.prev.adv: Reply to this comment

well now that he is going to get less game time=less money he will need to do a bit more endorsing of his other business.

• 116.suparugby: Reply to this comment

cheer guys off to home

• 117.Quinnyshark: Reply to this comment

bigg

I hope the bulls smash the Western show ponies & put them in their rightful place…propping up the log
    1 good game vs the Sharks & you’re already engraving the Wee-Pee’s name on the Currie Cup

• 118.Cape Shark: Reply to this comment

Bluebarb, Steve pays for your internet subs because you have all his cds and all those other kak afrikaans cds advertised on tv.

• 119.suparugby: Reply to this comment

dont cheer i mean cheers :oops:

• 120.prev.adv: Reply to this comment

supa you’ve done about as much work as Eddie Andrews in the scrum today and now your leaving work early!

• 121.Sharkie: Reply to this comment

Die blou bulle wiet nie waar die palle is…Die blou bulle wiet nie waar die palle is..shame..they are still sore about last year

• 122.bigg: Reply to this comment

Quinnyshark – I don’t hate the sharks, I just think they are a bunch of w$%^#kers…

• 123.Predawn: Reply to this comment

bigg that translates to you being a bigot.
    You are now an honourary member of the simpleton club.

• 124.jondood: Reply to this comment

Tjarkie

blou me

• 125.bigg: Reply to this comment

Predawn – I don’t give a f&*%$ – It’s the way I feel.

• 126.Predawn: Reply to this comment

Run out of Ritalin tablets?

• 127.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

should rather try laxatives.

• 128.bigg: Reply to this comment

Predawn – I took those in Sub A – not any more…

• 129.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

cape shark you still around?

• 130.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

bigg,
    you’ve been off ritalin for two years now?

• 131.Predawn: Reply to this comment

blue you are too funny bru. Hahaha!

• 132.rex: Reply to this comment

But the important thing is that Muir is learning from Graham Henry. Rather than complaining about player burnout, he is tackling the problem by expanding his player base. This is what needs to happen at national level. His willingness to experiment will pay off in the long run. If only Bok rugby would shed its conservatism we may yet see the Boks return to greatness – which means consistent excellence. Muir may be staking his claim as next Bok coach if he gets this one right. Good luck to him.

• 133.Quinnyshark: Reply to this comment

so bigg, explain why the Sharks are w*nkers & the show ponies not?

• 134.Pussycat: Reply to this comment

If I think back only a few years, I had never ever met a Bulls fan – cyber or otherwise.

They flee in the bad times, just like the Sharks.

The only REAL men, are from WP.

It is called backbone, not brokeback.

• 135.Pussycat: Reply to this comment

quinnyshark – for a newcomer, you are sure big-mouthed. Is that a raggedy toothed version of big mouth?

• 136.Predawn: Reply to this comment

Real men from the Cape? Not according to the Cape women that won’t leave us Durban men alone. We have to beat them off with a stick.

• 137.Pussycat: Reply to this comment

I said this on the other thread. People are talking about **** Muir as though he is breaking new ground. Bollocks.

• 138.Quinnyshark: Reply to this comment

hilarious pussycat

how exactly is wanting bigg to explain his unsubstantiated comment big-mouthed?

• 139.Pussycat: Reply to this comment

Predawn, think about it. What kind of woman goes for a greasy mullet riding around in a Tazz?

You are welcome to the Cape scraps.

• 140.Pussycat: Reply to this comment

quinnyshark, reel back and read your comments.

• 141.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

how i’ve missed you! just because she wields a mean strap-on, does not make her a real man!

hows Koeberg today?

• 142.bigg: Reply to this comment

Bluebard – ha ha…

Quinnyshark – I one of the main okes on this site so show me a bit of respect ok!! I ask the questions not you!!!

Must go now! Cheers

• 143.Quinnyshark: Reply to this comment

main oke on the site!? ha ha, this is not a school playground!
    is gus asking for his dinner?

• 144.jondood: Reply to this comment

bluebarb

“strap-on”

• 145.sparticus: Reply to this comment

I know rather late but WELCOME RYAN !!!

• 146.mickeyj: Reply to this comment

cleverdick i say! the man is a genius. sharks have just beaten the lions and weeepeee, the b squad looks good enough to beat both griquas and pumas, but even if they lose one of the two, we’re still in a great position. ****’s obviously got an eye on the super14 next year, and we’ll have a well-conditioned squad with a bunch of great youngsters who have already been blooded in the super14 (mathie, barrit, murray, jenneker, daniel, noble, pietersen, cedric etc) and another lot with some cc game time to warm them up. i don’t think we need two squads to win the cc this year, but we’ll need 30 class players with BMT to win the S14 next year, and **** knows this.

• 147.pompies: Reply to this comment

“Where were some questions” hello proof read please. Who is this new chap one of your mates Simon?

• 148.UltraBB: Reply to this comment

Hey die bulls het ook ‘n dubbel squad system. Die een halfte oefen teen NZ en Oz. en die ander teen die spanne in die CC. :)

• 149.Koos: Reply to this comment

Ja ultra en op die huidige trant gaan altwee kak.

• 150.Koos: Reply to this comment

Skuus Ig, bedoel hulle gatte sien!

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.