Sharks adopt All Blacks squad strategy

Sharks coach Dick Muir will operate a two-team system in this year’s ABSA Currie Cup, much along the lines of the All Blacks.

Mike Greenaway, writing in the Mercury Newspaper, described the rationale as Muir looks to build a strong squad for the 2007 Vodacom Super 14.

Mark Steel, the Sharks conditioning coach, told Greenaway: “In the past there has always been a problem of the guys not having time and opportunity to do gym work while the season is under way,” Steel said. “It has been difficult to maintain their strength during the course of the season. The problem is that you can’t work out heavily when you have a game on Saturday. But this new system will allow us to work on each individual’s needs, whether it be putting on muscle, developing explosive power or improving speed. There has also always been the issue of there being too short an off-season between the end of the Currie Cup and the Super 14, so this will allow us to get a head start in our Super 14 preparation.”

33 Comments

• 1.jondood: Reply to this comment

Well done Tjarkies.

• 2.Pete77: Reply to this comment

Thats the kind of rational, forward looking coaching that SA rugby needs.

• 3.Lemoen: Reply to this comment

Daar is die sharks al weer lig jare voor die WP ek dog Mallet moet met sulke idees opkom oja vok ek het vergeet hulle kan skaars een span op die veld stuur!

• 4.Sampioenman: Reply to this comment

Damn, ek kry sommer hoendervleis as ek dink hoe ons volgende jaar die S14 trofee gaan lig. Hel, die Sharks gaan groter hero’s as die bokke wees!

• 5.tomcat: Reply to this comment

geez…about time one of our teams displayed some first world thinking

• 6.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Dis net Heyneke en Muir wat vorentoe dink. Fester is nowhere…

• 7.TheMightyQuin: Reply to this comment

This should become the norm with our provincial teams then when the Boks are out for tests there is no problem in the CC etc. Also we build depth in all our squads with obvious advantages to the national team. This sort of thinking and planning is what will catapult SA rugby into genuine world force reckoning again. A win-win situation in every aspect including development – also already successful with the Sharks.

As a Sharks supporter I shudder to think what will happen to the Bulls team(s) for instance, should they adopt this progressive type of strategy. Alas it might only happen in maybe 50yrs time if they’re lucky.

• 8.suparugby: Reply to this comment

They already are quin. Thats why Heyneke is finished with ccup. To focus solely on s14

• 9.bigg: Reply to this comment

LOL – Who the hell do the Sharks think they are? They only just beat a second WP team on Sat… Idiots

• 10.cab: Reply to this comment

interesting experiment, sharks have plenty of depth, will be interesting to see how long this lasts especially if the lose the odd game.

• 11.ktb: Reply to this comment

Well done ****, you are leading the way forward, a true proffessional. Dont be so dam good at what you do, SARFU will snitch you and the SHARKS will be left with STRAULI again — eish.

• 12.grey: Reply to this comment

Well done **** Muir and the Sharks … Even though I am a WP fan (and always will be) , this kind of thinking is SA is very rare and I hope the Sharks do well in the S14 next year .

The Sharks union in fact deserves a pat on the back … they will do very well in the next few years , young talented players , Campo’s thinking , Muir’s management … cant go wrong with that …

• 13.asha1: Reply to this comment

and to think i predicted that the squad system will become the norm in nrugby :)

• 14.Alibaba: Reply to this comment

Imagine what this will do for the strength of the Boks if every cc team has two equally strong teams?….but the selectors will still need to pick the right ones though – OK so the Boks will not be stronger…:wink:

• 15.Chuck Norris: Reply to this comment

Dickie to replace White after 2007 WC!

• 16.Chuck Norris: Reply to this comment

Alibaba

By doing this more players will get game time and the region will loose less pormissing player to other regions. Good idea! I am a WP supporter, but the Sharks with **** as coach is going from strenght to strength.

• 17.prev.adv: Reply to this comment

Hey what the hell, if Solly cant even make the wildbeasts side but selected for the boks, there is obvouisly plenty of depth in Natal- why not have 3 teams.

• 18.Chuck Norris: Reply to this comment

pre. adv

Spot on.

• 19.jonnow: Reply to this comment

Bigg
    you are a ****** and without doubt the very worst poster on this site.

• 20.snoop: Reply to this comment

Chuck Norris

**** is too inexperienced, give him time, hard time to prove himself properly.

The Sharks are good, …. not that good though.

• 21.kamate: Reply to this comment

Do they have the depth?

• 22.the_taurus: Reply to this comment

****, i’m still shocked. How can we not love the sharks? Tjaarkies are looking to be the south african rugby dream, we all have been waiting for a long time. A proffessional franchise, with the proffessional attitude, as well as potent blend of youth and some of SA’s best experienced players. And all this managed by Muir who already showed in Pretoria that he’s the type of coach we need in SA. Welldone Sharks. You’ve already made us proud in this year’s Super14 and i just wish you all the best.

Hoping for a Bulls/Sharks final at Loftus ;)

• 23.Shred: Reply to this comment

kamate,

yes, the Sharks do have depth, probably more than any SA team.

• 24.Pussycat: Reply to this comment

Allan Solomons did this in 98/99 with The Stormers.

• 25.Koos: Reply to this comment

WOW great till he falls flat on his face against one of the minor and miss out on a semi spot…or home semi, keep it up!

• 26.Shred: Reply to this comment

Sharks Teams for S14 with Springboks Back

Team 1

15. Pietersen
    14. Noble
    13. Jacobs
    12. Baritt
    11. Mentz
    10. James
    09. Davidson
    08. Venter
    07. Britz
    06. Daniel
    05. Muller
    04. Ackerman
    03. Saayman
    02. Smit
    01. Carstens

Team 2

15. Monty
    14. Odwa
    13. Rees
    12. Strauss
    11. Murray
    10. Russell
    09. Pienaar
    08. Gouws
    07. Botes
    06. Solly
    05. Albert VDB
    04. Hargreaves
    03. Botha
    02. Bismark
    01. Lensing

Floating Bench
    16. Jenneker/Skipper
    17. Sangoni Mxoli
    18. Steven Sykes
    19. Ryan Kankowski
    20. Scott Mathie
    21. Bobo/Mkhize
    22. Hennessey

Two teams, pretty 50/50

• 27.cab: Reply to this comment

shred, two very balanced teams.

• 28.Kudu: Reply to this comment

Sampioen,

Easy there, tiger…Moet nou nie die hol van die hoender afruk nie.

Babysteps, my boy…

• 29.cab: Reply to this comment

Love to see a fullstrength sharks pack in the S14 next. If Ackermann is still fit, this tight 5 is going to be huge:

1. Lensing 2. Smith 3. BJ
    4. Ackerman 5. Mueler

With AJ at 7 and still fit, the sharks are going to be handful home and away.

• 30.Shred: Reply to this comment

cab, agree, the Sharks should be very competitive next year. Looking at the front row, its amazing how much there is

Props: BJ, Carstens, Lensing, Saayman, Mxoli
    Hookers: Smit, Bismark, Skipper, Jenneker

• 31.sarky: Reply to this comment

Good plan, makes life easier when you get returning Boks too.

Its probably also the best way of developing another lock pair and so on.

• 32.Hooker2: Reply to this comment

Shred, you are very knowledgeable about the sharks squad. Are you in Durban? What club do you support?

• 33.Alibaba: Reply to this comment

Cab,

Now you are becoming just as obsessed with size as BB? Only to be upstaged by a smaller but smarter pack ala Boks vs France…

And I thought Tjarkies are the think tank of SA rugby now?

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.