Cheetahs chomp Lions
8 Jul 2006
Kabamba Floors was the heartbeat of a Cheetahs demolition job on the Lions in Bloemfontein on Saturday, with the hosts winning 59-5.
Floors, no longer just a Sevens specialist, excelled in an ABSA Currie Cup match that was decided long before kick-off. He showed the value of a season in the Vodacom Super 14 and his defence and attack were inspirational as the Cheetahs crushed a visiting team that was woeful in every aspect.
The Vodacom Cheetahs, defending champions and in irresistible competition form, lead by 18 points after 13 minutes and then applied the slow poison to a Lions team that could not counter the power and aggression of the home team pack.
Veteran prop Ollie le Roux could have taken on the Lions pack on his own, such was the ease with which the Lions succumbed to the mauling of the champions. Le Roux was prominent among the tight five and went the full 80 minutes, Floors was the stand out loose-forward, lock Barend Pieterse was very good and the midfield of Heidtman and Jonker toyed with the Lions defence.
The Lions offered nothing in attack and Earl Rose’s insistence on kicking away possession proved a complication for the Lions and not a solution. When his younger brother Jody replaced him on 55 minutes, the battle had long been decided.
Lions coach Euguene Eloff had entrusted youngsters with the responsibility of restoring credibility to the team’s tournament campaign. Earlier in the week Eloff told Keo.co.za that he had players capable of producing a spectacular result.
But the visitors were spectacularly poor and the negative was that it impacted on the Cheetahs in the early part of the second half. Having lead 26-nil at halftime, the Cheetahs lost structure and strayed away from the game plan that had been so effective in the opening quarter. Coach Rassie Erasmus sensed this and on the hour he employed his entire bench to reintroduce the pattern. It worked and the Cheetahs added three more tries in the last quarter for a match tally of eight.
The win gives the Cheetahs a maximum of 15 league points after three matches, while the Lions have a solitary bonus point after 240 minutes of the competition.
Cheetahs - Tries: Bevan Fortuin (6th min, 58th min), Ryno van der Merwe (13th min), Gavin Passens (25th min), Kabamba Floors (49th), Heinrich Rossouw (70th min), Philip Burger (71st min) and Barend Pieterse (78th min). Conversions: Willem de Waal (7th min, 50th min, 59th min, 72nd min and 79th min). Penalties: De Waal (3rd min, 9th min). D/goal: De Waal (32nd min).
Lions - Tries: Jaco van Schalkwyk (60th min).

42 Comments
8 Jul 2006, 14:53 pm
come my boys!!!!
8 Jul 2006, 15:05 pm
nie sleg nie
8 Jul 2006, 15:07 pm
keo, we’re here, mate
8 Jul 2006, 15:08 pm
you beauty!
8 Jul 2006, 15:10 pm
heee haaa!
8 Jul 2006, 15:11 pm
rsg link gone again
8 Jul 2006, 15:13 pm
Cheetahs score again 18-0
8 Jul 2006, 15:14 pm
yes, yes, yes!
8 Jul 2006, 15:14 pm
Ryno V.D.M.from a drive
8 Jul 2006, 15:27 pm
Passens, try in the corner
8 Jul 2006, 15:27 pm
ooooohhhhhh yessssss!
8 Jul 2006, 15:29 pm
Conversion missed by deWaal,Floors playing well 23-0
8 Jul 2006, 15:36 pm
De Waal with shaky skepskop 26-0
8 Jul 2006, 15:36 pm
good on you!!
8 Jul 2006, 15:40 pm
floors kook!
8 Jul 2006, 15:48 pm
looking good for the cheetahs. time to go to bed. ciao!
8 Jul 2006, 16:44 pm
O moer.
8 Jul 2006, 16:45 pm
The Lions certainly lived up to Loffie’s we will be spectacular comment earlier in the week.
8 Jul 2006, 16:49 pm
Spectacularily Pathetic.
8 Jul 2006, 17:08 pm
Down a lion, feel satisfied!
8 Jul 2006, 19:16 pm
A snotting of note I would say
Not often that we witness such a result- so The orangemen should enjoy and take the victory with the grace of Champions
Well done Cheetahs-
Well done to Ollie- good game
everyone deployed played well- The Cheetahs midfield missed the Bosman pass on attack- but Heidtman was extremely robust on defense- alongside the Channel One Plug – FLOORSIE- jou yster!!!
VRYSTAAAAATTT!!
The way the team played as one – both on attack and defence was extremely good to watch
They all played to the same rythm- and in the end had delivered a composed game.
Well done!
8 Jul 2006, 20:05 pm
Rassie jou bliksem. Your team took us out of the game from the start. Loffie do the work stop the comments. Your indecisiveness and questionable selections have made it very difficult to be a supporter. Looks like another dark dry CC season
8 Jul 2006, 20:42 pm
De Waal really looks like a Springbok. And Floors, better than Dulane on the day and also looking at the Springbok jersey. And Rassie you beaut!!! Looking more and more like the next Bokke coach!
8 Jul 2006, 20:47 pm
Keo posted earlier:
Lions coach Eugene Eloff has predicted that the Lions will bounce back from two defeats in the Absa Currie Cup against the Vodacom Cheetahs this weekend.
Dooster said:
“Loffie…Loffie…Loffie…Wys eers en praat dan”
Nou sê Dooster: “Loffie ou maat, jy het jou namm gat gemaak!.”
8 Jul 2006, 22:11 pm
I can’t wait for the moment everybody stops dissing the cheetahs and start respecting us for the competitors we really are. I am so proud to support such a spirited team and a team with heart! Go cheetahs! Sorry for the Bulls loss, would have liked it if the bulls smashed the WP, but I guess that will be our job next week.
9 Jul 2006, 00:52 am
Shitttt that scoreline is a surprise
well done boys!
9 Jul 2006, 09:34 am
Why don’t anyone ever discuss the Cheetahs chances ?
They are always the last to be mentioned in any converstaion about rugby, just watch the shows on tv too…it is as if they are invisible…at the other provinces, a player gets talked up to be bok almost as soon as he m,anaged half a decent game, yet at freestate you have players performing absolutely brilliantly year in and out, without their names getting a mention…truly weird…If the likes of Bevin Fortuin, kabamba Floors, Willem de Waal, Ryno vd Merwe, Barend Pieterse, Corne van Zijl, and a host others, were WP, the clamour for them to be Boks would be loud and irrisistible, yet there is no wimper about these Freestate boys !!
Weird…but thatr means that the Freestate will roll the boks each time…
Francois
9 Jul 2006, 09:48 am
we should enjoy the win, but don’t get carried away; the cheetahs have played three of the four weakest teams in the comp this year. having said that, it’s great to see the cheetahs finishing off the lesser teams. three games played, three half-centuries. i like!
to all of you who had a go at hendro: want something to go with that egg on your face? i love it!
9 Jul 2006, 09:55 am
oh yes, and to all ollie’s usual detractors: up yours too!
9 Jul 2006, 10:11 am
Hehehe GCC
Great game- great to see more Cheetah supporters on-line
Spunky- folanke- I agree with your comments
But let the Cheetahs develop futher still- all aspects of the game- One thing that we lack is the Sharks/ Bulls structures and the resulting 36 months delayed in depth.
In the meantime Coach Erasmus is doing brilliantly with the resources available
GROM SAAM! GO FREE STATE CHEETAHS! GO CHAMPS!!!
9 Jul 2006, 10:30 am
hey oo!
were you at the game?
9 Jul 2006, 12:17 pm
Cheetahs supporters are always going on about how their players get stolen … but when you see names like Floors, Fortuin and Heidtman stand out it makes you wonder.
9 Jul 2006, 14:06 pm
Kevin, we used to lose players because NOBODY wanted to give us a sponsorship (you need money to keep players you know) but after our success last year, we actually RECEIVED money to keep existing players AND buy exciting ones like Giscard Pieters and keep the names you mentioned. Now we can build on the players we create, without worrying what our team will look like the following year!
9 Jul 2006, 16:58 pm
TO ALL KEO READERS:
My name is Cherel. I have very bad news (for some…) Grrrr… aka Gerhard was overcome with grief and took his own life yesterday. We tried to console him after the bollocking his team recieved yesterday but I think it was the straw that broke the camels back. He mumbeled something about not being able to keep on living and flung himself headfirst off the bar counter. His last words were that he wanted to leave all his possecions to his Muppit friends. He loved rugby but every man has his limit’s and poor Grrrr… met his. Please send me all your emails so that we can settle his estate. You will have to pay in about R150 000.00 in unpaid bar bills but we want to settle a.s.a.p. Please spare a thought to his ‘cherry’ and 5 kids he left behind.
Cherel
9 Jul 2006, 17:23 pm
LMFAS grrr that was legened!!!! just support the sharks ull feel better if u were alive
10 Jul 2006, 00:27 am
kevin w
your story hasn’t changed either for the last two years. your pittiful province’s situation isn’t the fault of the free state; get over it.
10 Jul 2006, 01:23 am
Lions got handled!!!Excellent victory for the Cheetahs who look very much the favourites at this point.Kabamba Floors was excellent on attack and defence.Maybe he’s finally adapted to 15′s.
But Lions fans dont despair to much the loss was bad but the youngsters coming thru are immensely talented.Lions in rebuilding stage and in a couple of yrs these boys will bear fruit due to these experiences.
Watch out for the likes of:van der Merwe,Mujati,Deysel(bucket loads of talent and power),Cockott(talk=less),Ludik(Burke in the making),Godffrey,van Rooyen and Zulu(tuitupou-like).In future…
10 Jul 2006, 08:09 am
“Eina, eina, skree die leeu”
“Hoe op des aarde gaan ek ooit die Cheetah voel uit my hol uit kry?”
10 Jul 2006, 08:52 am
Sweet Lord, that was a snotting. Well done to the Cheetahs. Can’t see anyone taking the cup from them.
I’m embarrassed to admit that I have no confidence in the Lions in beating even the Pumas, Griquas or Valke. Just when I thought it couldn’t get worse after the Super14…
10 Jul 2006, 10:54 am
this is a total embaressment.
10 Jul 2006, 11:24 am
Cab
You ou’s wasted money on those Rose kids.
Maby you can ask Mallet for a refund !
HA hA
Can you believe that i won a bet by predicting that FS would put 50 passed you kitties !
Ha free beer for many weeks to come.
10 Jul 2006, 19:47 pm
the rose boets deserve all thetre getting kak in a kak team.
they really disrespected province.
cheetahs looking like the currie cup champs