First challenge for the champs

After conquering mediocre opposition in the first three rounds, Rassie Erasmus believes his side will obtain a clearer view of their standing after Saturday’s game at Newlands.

“It should be a hell of a close encounter,” Erasmus told keo.co.za. “I just remember from my playing days that it was never easy to go away from Newlands with a win. The difference should be a couple of points this weekend.”

The Vodacom Cheetahs have reached the half-century mark in all of their three matches, beating Griquas 55-14, the Valke 68-9 and the Lions 59-5, but another 50-pointer seems less likely against a vastly improved Vodacom Western Province.

“I don’t want to try and sound like I’m downplaying my side, but those big wins were against three teams finding their feet in the competition,” Erasmus said.

“The Valke are new to this level of rugby, whilst Griquas just snuck into the tournament through the back door. The Lions are a new side with a lot of young players that need time to adapt to the intensity.”

The Cheetahs will come up against a buoyant WP side, who achieved the improbable feat of taking the spoils at Loftus Versfeld last week.

“We struggled at the breakdown against the Lions, and this Saturday we are playing against a team that has really strong loose forwards in Justin Melck and Luke Watson,” Erasmus remarked. “Schalk Brits and Corne Uys also showed how good they are on the ground.”

The WP forwards continue to embarrass their critics by consistently performing in the set pieces. Lack of experience is yet to play a role, and Erasmus believes that the two teams are really quite similar in this respect.

“I’m tired of people saying that we have an experienced pack. Who had heard of Jaco du Toit before last year, or even Jannie du Plessis? Ollie (le Roux) remains the most experienced player in our front row, but the other guys have not been around for long at all.

“Both WP and the Cheetahs are similar in that they are playing well with a young and inexperienced side.”

Although Erasmus remains grounded about the Cheetahs progress, he is adamant that the team from Bloemfontein should record their fourth successive win this weekend.

“Like I said, it will be close, but I don’t think that they are the favourites.”

By Jon Cardinelli

43 Comments

• 1.Sampioenman: Reply to this comment

1?

• 2.Sampioenman: Reply to this comment

Yup!

• 3.DEE DAH: Reply to this comment

The only thing they will understand after this match is that they can beat WP

• 4.wpw: Reply to this comment

WP to win a close one. By less than 5 points.

• 5.yoda: Reply to this comment

cheethas will crush province

• 6.Le Fou: Reply to this comment

It will be a cracker of a game! The States are on an amazing role and its nice to see. Nice young team…no big names yet, but they are building nicely. Along with the young WP, sharks and under-21 bulls, we should have a pretty exciting national team in the not too distant future. And hopefully Rassie will be involved in some coaching capacity.

• 7.DEE DAH: Reply to this comment

wpw
    less than 5 points would be close, well done

• 8.Quinnyshark: Reply to this comment

got a feeling WeePee might sneak it…

• 9.diesel: Reply to this comment

wp by 10 – if luke has a good game.

• 10.Ig: Reply to this comment

Hopefully the Cheetahs can reproduce the form they have shown in the past 3 games and WP can build on their Bulls performance and we should have a cracker of a game.

WP by 10.

• 11.DEE DAH: Reply to this comment

Luke Watson may well find that the Free State fetchers are more of a challenge than what he has had of late. Should be an absolute corker of a game! Rassie is going to be the difference in this one 15 point win to the OVS.

• 12.ufo: Reply to this comment

…so Rassie…

The Cheetahs just have to pitch up… play a close game… and take home the points…???

Thought you were wiser than that…

• 13.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

thanks to a province win last saturday i shot up remarkably in superbru.

i will wait for rassie’s team first and see who is on the subs bench.

• 14.wpw: Reply to this comment

yoda
    just like Province crushed the bulls on Sat?

• 15.Stan: Reply to this comment

15-10 is hardly a crushing.
    We will see on Saturday.
    Watson again Henro.

Staat by 15 points and a bonus.

• 16.Jason: Reply to this comment

i think the cheatahs will take it province think there problems r all over after beating the bulls

• 17.Cheetha Champs: Reply to this comment

“WP forwards continue to embaress their critics”

What a freakin joke JC. I dont think the province pack is bad – but they got scrummed all over Loftus this weekend, and lost some seriously basic line out ball the week prior.

Cheetahs will make province work for their ball this weekend. Watson will have to stick his head into those mauls, and help defend. Otherwise Ryno vd Merwe will continue his ridiculous try scoring streak.

States to win it by 10 points.

• 18.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Cheetahs to thomp WP with 40…..

• 19.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Ig WP by 10……ag no man….you biased if I’ve ever seen….

• 20.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

The Sharks who beat the Lions with better kicking ratio beat WP and the Lions were wasted by the Cheetahs……

Cheetahs will thomp the peewee’s

• 21.folanke: Reply to this comment

We will see about all this Luke Watson hype saturday, I think luke is in for a surprise or two…Hendro to captain the Boks after the coming world cup fiasco…

• 22.Skim: Reply to this comment

PROOOOOOOOOOOVVVIIIIIIIINCEEE!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 23.Chuck Norris: Reply to this comment

Province has the better backline. Cheetahs might be in for a surprise.

• 24.Ig: Reply to this comment

Hmmmmmmmm – Outrageous prediction is my superbru strategy.

• 25.Skim: Reply to this comment

Province are in for a good game…..
    The cheetahs are a really good side all-round and very experienced in their own way.
    Province does have an exciting side though with guys like Gio Aplon, Joe Pietersen, Zahier Ryhland, Sarel Potgieter, Robbie Diak and KING LUKE!
    I am a very loyal, very fanatic and a very subjective WP supporter so my heart says WP but sadly my head says FS.

• 26.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Well, let me not comment on Superbru….I am like 4th last or something….

Will catch-up though

• 27.Skim: Reply to this comment

I AM SUPERBRU KING!!!
    In my pool at least………

• 28.Murph: Reply to this comment

Cheetahs to put 45 past the goats !

• 29.Skim: Reply to this comment

who’re you calling goats?
    You must mean greats.

• 30.Dooster: Reply to this comment

Luke Watson druk nie baie drieë nie. Het julle gesien hoe hy te kere gegaan het toe hy wel ‘n drie teen die Sharks gedruk het?

• 31.Skim: Reply to this comment

Luke watson hoef nie driee te druk nie jou idioot.
    Hy wen die bal vir sy span en vertraag die ander span se balbesit en hy is ‘n meester daarin.
    Lyk my die bulls se balbesit is nie die enigste ding wat vertraag is nie…..

• 32.GCC: Reply to this comment

ufo

do you even understand english?

• 33.bloubulsd: Reply to this comment

The Vrystaat het baie lanklaas teen die WP verloor. Dit bly lekker as WP verloor. En ja, die naweek was kak omdat die Bulle verloor het!

• 34.Koos: Reply to this comment

ufo, and where exactly does he say that. I read things like, clearer view, will be a close encounter, there will only be a couple of points in it and that they struggled at the breakdown last week.

Maybe GCC is spot one…plank!

• 35.ufo: Reply to this comment

GCC… Koos…

Read the article right through to the end… the last sentence…

“Like I said, it will be close, but I don’t think that they are the favourites.”

How many teams in a rugby match…? So if Rassie doesn’t think Province are favourites who do you think he does think are favourites…?

So yes, Rassie does think he just has to pitch up and take the points…

GCC… sorry the Subtleties of the English language are beyond you… I’ll write more slowly in future…

• 36.Koos: Reply to this comment

So ufo, you believe weepee are the favourites then…? Maybe you should read the rest of the article and then comment, there are a number more subtleties you are missing!

• 37.ciccino: Reply to this comment

Cheetahs to win comfortably. But wait…..
    Hey who is the ref? If it’s Roos then Cheetahs will have problems in this match just like Sharks in the S14 and Bulls last Sat.

• 38.ufo: Reply to this comment

Koos…
    Maybe you should read my posts more carefully… where did I say that I believe Province are favourites…?

Of coarse the Cheetahs are favourites… But these days coaches who go into games telling the press (however subtely) that they are favourites… well…? They normally just give the opposing coach ammo for his team talk don’t they…

Like I said… I thought Rassie was smarter than that…

C’mon Koos… If Kobus said he thought Province were favourites… You guys would tear into him…

• 39.Koos: Reply to this comment

It was a question ufo, not a statement hence the ?.

The point I am making is that it appears he went to great lengths to show it will be close and not a given and if he said anything else than that he thinks his team will win, I would have been surprised.

And yes, if Kobus said that it would have been funny…

As it is, Rassie and his team have been able to back up their talk. It won’t last but until then we have to applaud them.

• 40.ufo: Reply to this comment

I do applaude them Koos…

They’re looking like a well-oiled machine at the moment and are definitely a whole different proposition to the Bulls…

• 41.Koos: Reply to this comment

Truth be told, the weekend will show their true potential, Cheetahs and WP mind you, hope for a good match!

• 42.ufo: Reply to this comment

Cheers to that…

• 43.Provvas: Reply to this comment

You Bulls supporters, worry about the bulls against the Cheetahs not the Wp (Who whipped youir asses) against the Staat…

Where do you people get that Wp were scrummed by Bulls and line outs were poor? Are you just reciting what the Beeld says and the one eyed COMMENtators. Fynne: ” Well the bulls better start getting their game right or the WP will take this one…” Utter ****…Open your Draad sitter kom ons ondersteun die span wat most likely sal wen ” Mentality!

Teurg na saterdag: Wp sal nie wen nie. ek is baie excited oor my span en is moer bly hulle kom reg, maar ek glo Rassie het een oor Fester. Maar gaan kyk maar die scores die afgelope ruk wat julle so mee bragg…Dit was alles close games…nie soos Wp teen die bulle nie…

En laastens: Dit is die rede hoekom ek kliphard vi Crusaders teen bulle geskree het: Sien jy ooit die bulle Wp ondersteun?? Nee hulle skree vi almal wat teen ons speel…maar dis fine, want ek support eerder soweto 0/13 b voor ek bulle skree!!!

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.