Grant out for season
12 Jul 2006
Vodacom Western Province have suffered a major setback in their bid to beat the defending champions at Newlands on Saturday.
The news that in-form Peter Grant at inside centre will miss the rest of the season because of a fractured shoulder is a hammer blow to Province, who had so much to shout about after beating the Vodacom Blue Bulls in their own backyard on Saturday.
According to rugby writer Gavin Rich, Grant complained of pain during the week, but only after a thorough examination by the WP medical staff on Wednesday evening, it was established that he has suffered a fracture.
Grant is expected to have surgery to repair the damage next week and will be sorely missed, especially for his versatility and ability to kick at posts.
Discarded Springbok centre De Wet Barry may be the replacement, although Rich writes that that switch may not happen at the weekend, with Sarel Potgieter – named on the bench – probably getting the nod.
Revised WP team to play the Cheetahs: Gio Aplon, Joe Pietersen, Corne Uys, Sarel Potgieter/De Wet Barry, Egon Seconds, Naas Olivier, Bolla Conradie, Robbie Diack, Justin Melck, Luke Watson, Gerrie Britz, Francois van der Merwe, Juan Harris, Schalk Brits, JD Moller.
Replacements: Huia Edmonds, Schalk Ferreira, Rob Linde, Pieter Louw, Paul Delport, Sarel Potgieter/De Wet Barry, Zaheer Ryland.

50 Comments
12 Jul 2006, 21:59 pm
So who is the back-up flyhalf now?
Gus?
12 Jul 2006, 22:08 pm
It’s sad. He was really starting to establish himself at inside centre. Potgieter is good though. Just keep Barry out!
Backup flyhalf? I don’t know. I would also like to know. Maybe someone in the Cape can let us expats know who is up-and-comming?
12 Jul 2006, 22:12 pm
That is NO loss to WP. I’m sorry,but the kid is average,nothing more,nothing less.Good solid Currie Cup player,thats it.
12 Jul 2006, 22:16 pm
Potgieter has played a fair bit at flyhalf. He’ll probably be the back-up to Olivier.
heard chris rossouw was on holiday in cape town.. (currently playing club rugby in france). who knows?…
12 Jul 2006, 22:20 pm
I’ll rather take an in-form “average” currie cup player than an over-rated springbok. I don’t think he’s overrated- he’s still young, has good vision, seems to have a fair bit of creative flair, and is a good place kicker as well. Good long term prospect.
12 Jul 2006, 22:27 pm
londonshark; why would you care? If he’s a solid CC player, well, er, that’s where he’s been playing,
I rate Grant; seemed like he’d found his right position; played well v Bulls
12 Jul 2006, 22:38 pm
Agree. Seems much more comfortable at inside centre. Made a few good breaks against bulls, and his good combining with olivier played vital part in WP walking away with the spoils.
On the day those two combined far better than steyn and nel/ welsch (cant remember who played inside centre.. both were pretty useless on the day)
12 Jul 2006, 23:12 pm
Jb,he also played Super Rugby and was found wanting.
Piet,he’s not really that young anymore and has had 2 seasons to prove himself.
He did look better at 12 though.
12 Jul 2006, 23:29 pm
londonshark- if I’m not mistaken he’s 21 or 22 this year. Hardly over the wall. Remember he played flyhalf in super rugby and was part of a losing team and a pack (although not being demolished) that was on the back-foot the whole time. But in all honesty during S14 season I also cursed the lad a fair bit.
Nevermind that- Province will still struggle this year in any case. Great victory over bulls the past weekend but the team is in a “rebuilding” phase. Maybe with nothing to be expected the team may feel less pressure and surprise is all again?
you really in london? heard it’s hot as hell up there..
12 Jul 2006, 23:39 pm
Gotta feel sorry for Grant, finally started playing some good rugby and bang, his outta here!
This is also a good chance to bring in some new blood. Hopefully Potgieter will be btter but surelly there must be players in the CApe banging down the door now, (except De Wet -> you and MJ need to find yourselves 1st before the field)
12 Jul 2006, 23:42 pm
The part that worries me is it took from saturday till wednesday for the medical staff to figure out he had a fracture……… We not talking a bruised muscle here we talking a FRACTURE!!!!
12 Jul 2006, 23:44 pm
Hey don’t worry about that grey stuff hanging out your ear Luke, its not your brain its just some snot…. Get back on the field and play, and we’ll send you for a brain scan next thursday…..
12 Jul 2006, 23:44 pm
cheers boys, gonna catch some shut-eye. i’ve had it with this late working ****.
loop met hom
12 Jul 2006, 23:47 pm
Piet,fair points.
Yep,London is cooking at the moment.Public transport is a nightmare!! 40 degrees on the underground these days.eesh!
This place really comes alive in the summer though (pity its only 3 months).
12 Jul 2006, 23:47 pm
Duke
Problem is Grant is the new blood.
12 Jul 2006, 23:49 pm
Blokkies, u have a point but this is no reason to bring back the old gaurd. Let’s try some more young blood!
LShark, u think u got a short summer, come to Canada!
12 Jul 2006, 23:53 pm
Quote from the article from this arvie; “Kobus keeps it consistent”:
The Vodacom Western Province team are also still waiting on the results of a scan of Peter Grant’s shoulder, but Van Der Merwe told a press conference in Cape Town that he is confident that the injury is “not that seriousâ€.
Kobus, jy’s n doos
With love from Blokkies
12 Jul 2006, 23:53 pm
Terrible luck for Grant.
There was talk of Joe Pietersen eventually converting to flyhalf. He shadowed Andrew Mehrtens during the holidays.
12 Jul 2006, 23:55 pm
I dont think JP has the hands for it, a bit of a pedestrian passer (like Joost was in his last 5 years of playing rugby)
12 Jul 2006, 23:56 pm
Duke
Agreed on Barry, he should offer his services to the Spears.
You think you got a short summer in Canada? Come check out Denmark bru…. if you manage to get a slight tan, never mind sunburnt I will personally pay your sunbed expences for a year!!
13 Jul 2006, 00:01 am
Here is an interesting twist to a proposal for the Bok backline:
9 Pienaar
10 Butch (to make the combo)
11 Ndungane
12 Jaco vd Westhyzen
13 Habana
14 De Villiers
15 Fourie
Jaco would make a great playamaker firrst centre, and give the flyhalf an alternative kicking option if he is out of space or time. Also, it would be interesting to see what a good playmaker could do inside of Habana to give him a bit of space. And De Villiers could come in off the wing to join/intercept (he has always played well off the wing). Percy needs a replacement, and the only good kicker, reliable catcher, is Fourie (and heh as played this as his normal position as a Bok before).
Jeez, anyone who knows Jake, just suggest Jaco and Habana as centre partners…
13 Jul 2006, 00:05 am
Agree with keeping Barry out. CC is for harnessing new blood. Like the Sharks WP needs to exploit their depth and increase their options for next years S14.
13 Jul 2006, 00:07 am
Duke are you goofed china? Re post 19, you compare Joe Pietersen (fullback) to Joost (scrumhalf) when discussing the flyhalf pozzie? !!?
Any chance you can post me some of that home grown…..?
13 Jul 2006, 00:09 am
WW – that is serious thinking out of the box. I mentioned Habana at 13 before, but got some stick for the suggestion. The sentiment is he is too lazy for centre, and does not have a decent step.
13 Jul 2006, 00:12 am
Problem with your theory is you assume Jaco is a playmaker. and can kick and can tackle.
Assumption is the mother of all fuckups, and you should therefore consider yourself beaten by me with a soggy noodle.
As for shifting our best 13 to 14 and shifting out best 14 to 13….. sigh
13 Jul 2006, 00:15 am
Don’t get me wrong cos I love creative thinking www, but in a backline consisting of 7 players you have put 4 players out of their favoured/best positions……..
You don’t have any formal coaching education do you?
13 Jul 2006, 08:00 am
Why would you need surgery for a fracture? It surely just needs time. Its not like its broken and needs to be pinned.
Its a pity. Grant was growing in that position and the under performing backline from earlier in the year was just starting to loko positive.
Good luck to Sarel Potgieter. I havent heard anything about him. Does anyone know what sort of player he is and does he look any good?
13 Jul 2006, 08:11 am
Very bad news, the youngster was playing some good footie at 12. Bad luck Peter, get well soon.
13 Jul 2006, 08:41 am
welcome back de wet!
13 Jul 2006, 08:48 am
Damn ! this is sad news for province. Hmmm he will be sorely missed.
13 Jul 2006, 08:49 am
Damn ! this is sad news for province. Hmmm he will be sorely missed. Eish , just keep Barry as far away as possible
13 Jul 2006, 08:52 am
Is there an echo in here…?
13 Jul 2006, 08:56 am
Guys ,
Clearly londonshark is peeved because Grant chose wp over his beloved sharks were grant is from. While im not sure if it was a wise decision by grant one things for sure based on his recent cc performance he certainly has some potential particularly at 12 and he is only 22 not exactly ancient now is he.
13 Jul 2006, 10:26 am
12 is definitely his better position, and the wp backline looked a lot more creative with him there. Can we send a petition to the wp coach that he should NOT even consider barry for the bench? Hope Potgieter gets picked.
13 Jul 2006, 11:19 am
Eish…
13 Jul 2006, 12:18 pm
Whoever said vd Westhuyzen should be 12 and habana 13 is mental! The smallest centre pairing SA have ever had! Maybe Vd West and Snyman together!
13 Jul 2006, 12:56 pm
Redox,Butch and expecially Pienaar have more talent in their left pinkies than Grant will ever have. You can keep him
13 Jul 2006, 13:23 pm
Has Grant brushed his teeth yet or is it still too painful?
13 Jul 2006, 17:03 pm
NOOOOOOOOO !!! OUR BEST PLAYER INJURED !!
13 Jul 2006, 18:25 pm
Play schalk at 12!!!Just like Keo said.
13 Jul 2006, 18:25 pm
(I’m still trying to get my comments published in the mag)
13 Jul 2006, 22:15 pm
13 Jul 2006, 22:16 pm
13 Jul 2006, 22:17 pm
13 Jul 2006, 22:18 pm
13 Jul 2006, 22:19 pm
13 Jul 2006, 22:22 pm
50!