Pote stays put

Pote Human will stay on as the Blue Bulls coach in the Absa Currie despite a shaky start to his head coaching tenure.

It will give treble-winning Currie Cup coach Heyneke Meyer more time to concentrate on the preparation for next years’ Vodacom Super 14 campaign. The Bulls have decided that the Currie Cup is no longer priority and becoming the first South African team to win the Super 14 is top of the list of things to do at Loftus Versfeld.

This by no means diminishes their desire to reclaim their Currie Cup title.

Human replaced Heyneke Meyer as head coach of the Currie Cup team last week and then suffered a 15-10 defeat to arch-rivals Western Province in his first game in charge. It led to some speculation that Meyer would return to the fold immediately.

Meyer will play a behind the scenes role, as director of coaching, and will be available to Human as and when he deems it necessary. “Obviously I will be able to call on his expertise when I need it,” Human told keo.co.za. “I will use him for the big games and he will also sit with me in the coaches box.”

Oom Boet Fick, the president of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union, said on Wednesday that Human would remain in charge of the Blue Bulls, with Meyer in a director of coaching position.

“The Union Committee of the Blue Bulls Rugby Union has put its trust in Heyneke Meyer as coach. In this context it has been decided that Pote Human, under the guidance of Heyneke Meyer, will take over the responsibility of the preparation of the Currie Cup team,” Fick said in a statement.

“Seen in the light of the importance to give Heyneke the necessary exposure to the latest coaching tendencies around the coaching and planning for the 2007 Super 14 season, he will be allowed to give attention to these issues from time to time. Pote Human will take over his responsibility as head coach of the Currie Cup team.

“Details of his program and how it will be reflected in his contract will be discussed with him on an individual basis, to see to it that coaching within the BBRU stays healthy. No doubt exists that there is huge appreciation for the difference Heyneke has made in the achievements of the teams of the BBRU over the last few years,” Fick added.

“Against this background it is important for the BBRU to insure that Heyneke gets the exposure he wants to improve and develop further as coach. New insight and knowledge will in time be to the benefit of the BBRU at all levels.”

By Andrew Hollely, at Loftus Versfeld

21 Comments

• 1.jondood_can_like_to_suck_Luke_Watson's_TITS: Reply to this comment

Nou die Blou

• 2.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Moenie moed verloor nie blou bull horing ! julle sal weer reg kom. Hou moed , julle sal weer julle braai geniet eendag.

• 3.ktb: Reply to this comment

Well Meyer, if the S14 is your goal you better follow **** & play two squads. Oh I hear you say, your 1st squad is playing for the BOKS. Tough going for you boet.

• 4.AWOL: Reply to this comment

Heyneke will be back, sooner than later

• 5.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Another Bulls verhaal.

Ai.

• 6.Slappes: Reply to this comment

Better get him back, or Stan and the broederbond will have to start supporting WP!

• 7.ciccino: Reply to this comment

Can anyone tell me what “Oom” means?

• 8.BlueBlood: Reply to this comment

Just another blow to a non-existent Currie Cup this year.

The Sharks and Cheetahs are playing good rugby but the stands are empty.

Very little interest this year.

• 9.Drunkmonkey: Reply to this comment

Look at this ppl we dont just hire and fire coaches. We train them to become national coaches.

Bulls one step ahead of the other teams in south africa once again.

• 10.suparugby: Reply to this comment

ktb

Ons speel lankal twee squads! Daar is amper n span alleen by die bokke en dan is daar nog Roets, Hougie, Wassie, Guthro, Bands ens wat terugkom! Dis meer as twee squads vir die s14!

• 11.RedCard: Reply to this comment

Heading should read

Pote to stay (as succesful as) put(t)

• 12.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

ciccino
    Oom means Uncle (a respect word for older men). Kind of like “Tsio” in Italian I think?

ktb
    we now have almost three squads that can play CC.

• 13.yoda: Reply to this comment

ciccino

“oom” is what is said to your male elders in afrikaans

• 14.jondood_can_like_to_suck_Luke_Watson's_TITS: Reply to this comment

ciccino

If you play online fantasy games “oom” also means out of mana

just some useless information

• 15.Cape Shark: Reply to this comment

Who cares about the Bulls anyway????

• 16.ciccino: Reply to this comment

Thanx for the explanation guys. Now some thoughts that borther me. We see change of personel but what we don’t see is the new ideas on how to improve bulls game. I understand that our first team is with the boks and half of the second is injured and Pote has to deal with the bulls 3′d team. As fare as CC is not priotity N1 I would like to see bulls coaching stuff to eperiment. Where all thouse young players that are hammering all other provinces at the U21 and U19 level. I would like to see someone with better skills and more brains at inside center instead of Dries. I would like to see Dlulane or Kuun at openside not Bros. I would like to see Delport closer to the ball not on the wing where he touches the ball 2-3 times in a match. I would like to see bulls develope a bigger squad during the CC in order to have adequate team if for example boks are withdrawn form the S14 or half of the team are injured. I believe what Miur is doing with the Sharks is the right way. Bulls have great tallented young players but the are not given a chance. Hilton Loberts was much better that Bros but he is still on the banch. I wouldn’t mind losing if I new that this were young players that are given opportunity to get experience.

• 17.modawg: Reply to this comment

the wheel is turning . . .

• 18.jondood_can_like_to_suck_Luke_Watson's_TITS: Reply to this comment

modawg

so is the planet

• 19.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

Pote is on borrowed time. A loss during the next 21 days will end his aspirations in a flash.

• 20.Skim: Reply to this comment

‘Pote’
    Sounds like a dog.
    But then the bulls did have their day.

• 21.Koos: Reply to this comment

A little birdie told me he is gatvol cause the new guys want everything changed! He wil NOT go back to coach the CC and next year S14 will be his last, no going back…

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.