Who’s lying: Jake or Joe?
14 Jul 2006
The Aussie media has slammed Jake White after he denied his players had intentionally tried to pull out George Smith’s dreadlocks in the past.
Joe van Niekerk this week told the Cape Argus that the South African team recently had a competition where the player who finished with one of Smith’s dreadlocks would receive $100.
When asked by the Sydney Morning Herald if he was surprised by Van Niekerk’s recollection, White replied: “I don’t believe that story. It’s a story which has been made up. It’s not a myth … just made up. I would never condone such behaviour. The reality is that [Springbok winger] Akona Ndungane has dreadlocks as well, and I’d hate someone to pull his hair.”
Earlier John Smit had said that the story was “ludicrous … that’s what a second- or third-tier team would try to do”.
Smit also refuted claims that the Boks were a dirty side.
“Only history can speak for itself,” he said. “We haven’t had an incident with regards to dirty play for quite some time, especially since Jake’s been the coach. So it’s something we are proud of in our side. We do like to play a hard game of rugby, but we don’t need to get dirty at this level. It’s not something in our make-up.”
The Aussie media were quick to point out that last November, Smit was suspended and heavily criticised for a dangerous elbow charge against France which was described as “at best reckless”.

37 Comments
14 Jul 2006, 17:00 pm
Dragons!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
14 Jul 2006, 17:01 pm
NOOOOOOO (2)
I eat the chicken.
ig
any chance you can hide this thread from the plonkers next door ?
14 Jul 2006, 17:02 pm
not interested in the boks thick as two planks business. shooting blanks as always
14 Jul 2006, 17:02 pm
Why Nik?
14 Jul 2006, 17:03 pm
Maar mense ek moet darem se dat Joe v Niekerk ook aan die siekte van ‘n te groot mond ly. Kan die man nie bietjie stilbly en ordentlik rugby speel nie.
Hy laat my dink aan ‘n std 4 meisie was giggel oor alles, kan jy glo hy is nou so oos hare – is die man kens of wat?
14 Jul 2006, 17:05 pm
Niknak
I told you long time ago:
Send the missus down the District line and I will sort her out for you.
She will be happy and you wont need to be cranky anymore.
14 Jul 2006, 17:05 pm
Janee. Hy’s ‘n showpony.
Speel eerder Luke/Juan en Spies as loose trio.
14 Jul 2006, 17:06 pm
niknak
I see you found a home.
You liar
14 Jul 2006, 17:13 pm
ag, they can also create the assies, get your hand of it…
14 Jul 2006, 17:14 pm
yawnof the dood
i may or may not be relocating to the biltong belt in the next few weeks. the prospect of leaving the north to be immersed in nasty south africans is not appealing. fortunately southfields is at least a mile from your pit.
14 Jul 2006, 17:16 pm
niknak
Southfield
That is near Parkwood Estate
Right?
14 Jul 2006, 17:18 pm
I reckon the ggregan and gsmith should swap hairstyles
14 Jul 2006, 17:19 pm
Capeflats – I think that should read – Parkwood Estate is Southfields!
14 Jul 2006, 17:19 pm
CFB ….. its the dregs of london … the heart of the region where the sad fu-ks like yawn hangout. not looking forward to it and will be out of their in october. thank g-d.
14 Jul 2006, 17:20 pm
that would seriously impace the gregans ability to dive pass when soneone is “slowing” him down via his dreads, hehe
14 Jul 2006, 17:27 pm
Simon
It wasnt a bloody tackle in the French test on the EOYT, it was Johns elbow to the frog captains throat. He had the ball in his hands, why would he be trying to tackle anyone?
14 Jul 2006, 17:30 pm
My money is on both.
Jake the Snake.
14 Jul 2006, 17:34 pm
Thanks breeker, I have made the correction
14 Jul 2006, 17:35 pm
Big Joe must know better, he is not playing club rugby…
14 Jul 2006, 17:35 pm
Teachers pet!
14 Jul 2006, 17:49 pm
I believe JOE, don’t trust Jake and his favourites
14 Jul 2006, 17:54 pm
John Smit’s elbow was STUPID, but it wasn’t malicious.
Joe bringing this up again may have seemed funny and no doubt is meant as a harmless comment to get a laugh, but it’s STUPID.
This bet was made AGES ago – and written about in SA sports illustrated I believe – when the Boks were still cleansing themselves from the polluted remnants of the Strauli era.
Unfortunately, the thing that this all reinforces the most is how STUPID some of our boys are.
14 Jul 2006, 17:54 pm
This article is so not worth a thread.
14 Jul 2006, 18:09 pm
Joe is Jake se katelknaap…
14 Jul 2006, 18:26 pm
Vetkoek exactly his elbow was more a reaction to the incomming tackle, Bluecap nope its not but im so bored on a friday night lol ill read anything so let them keep posting kak .
14 Jul 2006, 18:32 pm
Wls, well, in that case I wonder if Joe is still banging Minki.
14 Jul 2006, 18:34 pm
I’m gonna watch a movie. Cheers all.
14 Jul 2006, 19:35 pm
agreed Vetkoek,
this is hardly a new story… cant quite remember where I read about it, but I was under the impression it was in KEOs book… sure as hell not gonna read the thing again to find out.. but still cant believe this is the first the ausie media has heard of it.. and… cant believe that jake is denying it!
14 Jul 2006, 21:51 pm
Well, Jake IS right, is he not…this happened under Stoilie? Fits in with the 3rd tier team too!
14 Jul 2006, 23:53 pm
The Aussies are he biggest whingers in sport And poor losers. They have a few skeletons in their own cupboard with pissups and rapes, dope and smacking girls. Hardly a week passes when one of the their league thugs are up in charge. So Aussies – don’t throw stones – look at sport in your own back door . Hamba Hahle.
15 Jul 2006, 06:26 am
Stupid thing to say in the 1st place by Big Joe doesn’t he know this sort of foul play is not a joke to 90% of the rugby world anymore? George Smith certainly didn’t take kindly to hearing this and Joe may regret it one day.
15 Jul 2006, 07:22 am
“its nit in our makeup ” …..NO John,dont admit the makeup man…….did Ma’a lend you some in a weak moment ?
Yes it was ages ago ,and its just something for the Ozmob to winge about. They find something everytime….im sure the Oz players couldnt give a shoot.
15 Jul 2006, 08:04 am
I think the dreadlock story is way too creative for a dof oke like Big Joe to make up. It must be true.
15 Jul 2006, 10:50 am
Nothing but sensational journalism to spruce a game up with.
16 Jul 2006, 02:58 am
they were both were non existant yesterday . smith was everywhere enough said