Griquas shock Sharks
15 Jul 2006
The Sharks suffered a shock 23-22 Absa Currie Cup defeat to Griquas at Absa Park in Kimberley on Saturday afternoon.
Griquas led 14-7 at half-time.
Griquas started impressively using the width of the field to good effect as they kept the ball alive. The opening try of the match went to Griquas’ Vuyani Dlomo as he capitalised on a wild pass, with the kick and chase just beating the deadball line.
The home team were a lot more adventurous than they are known to be, and it brought them good reward, scoring two first half tries. The Sharks could manage just a solitary try by Steven Sykes to trail by seven points at the interval.
The second half saw Conrad Barnard stretch the lead with two penalties and one by Herkie Kruger – and the 13 point margin started to look ominous for the Sharks as they battled to get into their stride at 20-7 down.
However a try to Warren Britz narrowed the gap to 20-12, before a penalty by Ruan Pienaar closed the deficit further to 20-15. However, Barnard then kicked the crucial three-pointer to extend the lead to eight point.
And Andries Strauss’s last minute try was just reward for the team after sustained pressure, but it was too little too late with Griquas having done enough to score a hard-fought victory – their second in four games.
Scorers:
Sharks: Tries: Steven Sykes, Warren Britz, Andries Strauss. Conversions: Steve Meyer 1, Ruan Pienaar 1. Penalties: Pienaar 1.
Griquas: Tries: Vuyani Dlomo, Eugene van Staden. Conversions: Herkie Kruger 1, Conrad Barnard 1. Penalties: Herkie Kruger 1, Conrad Barnard 2.

33 Comments
15 Jul 2006, 16:51 pm
bwahahahahaha!
15 Jul 2006, 16:51 pm
shame, sharkies can’t take the hard grounds! sorry big g!
15 Jul 2006, 16:54 pm
Bwahahahahahahahahahahahaha……!
15 Jul 2006, 16:55 pm
Skies, hy het uitgeglip!
15 Jul 2006, 16:57 pm
15 Jul 2006, 17:03 pm
Well done Western Free State!
15 Jul 2006, 17:04 pm
Now we will never get a picture of G Ikeys…!
15 Jul 2006, 17:05 pm
Rassie for Bok coach!! From a WP supporter . .
15 Jul 2006, 17:06 pm
Da Karrie kap izzn’t winned in JULY orraait!!
15 Jul 2006, 17:18 pm
Grieeekwwaaaasss!!!!!
15 Jul 2006, 17:27 pm
There is no kwaas soos Grikwaaaaaaasssssss!!
15 Jul 2006, 17:27 pm
Now I dont feel bad about my team anymore!!
Bhahahahahahaha
15 Jul 2006, 17:57 pm
Nog ‘n bright coach wat sy gat gesien het vandag. Muir-kat se eksperiment het in die groot gat beland. Rassie kan dalk volgende wees.
15 Jul 2006, 18:02 pm
Griekwwwaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaassssssss!!!!!!
Net wat al die lekker windgat Shark Boys nodig gehad het. Dink mos hulle is die kat se snor deesdae!
15 Jul 2006, 20:53 pm
Stan en sy makkers is maar lekker still vandag. Net die Buls B span het gewen teen k*k teenstanders. Par for the course. Versuip in julle brandies en coke…liefling.
15 Jul 2006, 21:13 pm
Die Sharks was nie die eerste span om Kimberley se gat te sien nie. Volgende week is dit die Leeus se beurt. Ons wag vir julle.
**** Muir is te slim vir homself. Hy is nes Jake White. Gee hulle genoeg tou en hulle hang hulleself. Gooi kwaste Gooi!
15 Jul 2006, 22:46 pm
Was this the sharks 2nd team or what? Well done Griekwas!
The CC is way open. Next week the Bulls play the Sharks. The Bulls didn’t look that great. It is going to be tough and the Sharks are going to try extra hard..
16 Jul 2006, 00:34 am
Dont get to excited boys. **** Muir said from the start that his strategy was high-risk and this could happen. Natal still only 1 point off the lead, even thought the other big teams have been playing their A-teams.
16 Jul 2006, 07:51 am
well sad i am but i did say i was worried about this double team thing as it didnt have the best team getting momentum and gelling
i said on the sharks blog yesterday it was damn arrogant thinking one could play the 2nd stringers and keep winning ,,,,, and so it proved to be , and its not only that we lost but it also showed when we wom before we didnt win with conviction .
i believe in playing your best team all the time and now and then bloood a youngster
no matter how good you are you have to keep playing to stay match fit.
you dont get matchfit on the trainging ground
16 Jul 2006, 07:53 am
although i agree mystic remember this loss might just be the diffs between a home semi and away semi
the bonus point free state got in the dying seconds did us no favours too
16 Jul 2006, 08:58 am
Le Pou, Gaan praat jou kak op die mof site.
Lekkerrrr, Griekwas!!!!
Back to earth for the Sperm Whales.
16 Jul 2006, 10:33 am
**** Muir is giving every player in his squad a chance and great experience for the future, the opposite of what j white has done.Some of these guys are going to come thru!
16 Jul 2006, 11:00 am
Jy’s lekker suurgat Stan. Die moffies is toe nie moeffies nie. Jou ou regte man. doos
16 Jul 2006, 11:48 am
**** may be suffering that same fate as Jake, becoming arrogant and complacent, underestimating is opponents and then having no back-up plan.
The Sharks think all they have to do is pitch up to win.
After two lucky escapes (Pumas and WP) you’d think he’d take the Currie Cup seriously. Well perhaps now he will.
16 Jul 2006, 12:28 pm
stan we atleast are from sperm ur afterbirth gone rotten and shat out in the desert for camel **** flies to raise now piss off because you never have anything good to say
as gor gas , mr friend a little early to be that drastic but i have said i too thought it a little arrogant to not play the best .
Not that the others dont deserve a chance to play but when ur best players play it gives them that match fitness reddiness and so on and the gel as a team ,, now thats not the case and as a sharks supporter yes it worries me
16 Jul 2006, 13:09 pm
I was in the pub when I heard this, ****, I nearly pissed myself I laughed so much.
16 Jul 2006, 22:17 pm
I have only just registered to comment on this site, and I am appalled at the inane **** that most of the correspondents come up with. What’s wrong with having a bit of intelligent debate or positive comment, even if it is critical? To post a comment that says “Bwahahahahahaha’ etc is actually beyond belief. Should there not perhaps be an age limit on this site?
17 Jul 2006, 07:59 am
I’ve heard today that you Sharkies are trying to STEAL our coach
Wellington Lions, John Plumtree
Leave him alone you thieves!
17 Jul 2006, 08:01 am
sharks lover,
Griekwas 23.
Tjarks 22
Mwhuhahahaaaa!
Mwhuhaaaa!!!!!!
17 Jul 2006, 08:35 am
bwahahahaaaahaaaahaaaa!!!!
17 Jul 2006, 09:03 am
today my humble pie tastes awfull…
well done griekwas (shame on you my sharks, but lets pick up and move forward)
well done western poofters you actually played well (this one hurts the most)
and luke watson, you are the real mckoy, well played, again…
17 Jul 2006, 09:14 am
Jaaaaaa, okei fokkit tog! Geluk Griquas. Dit sal nie weer gebeur nie.
17 Jul 2006, 09:37 am
Yes Guys,
The sharks did lose but only by one point. Maybe they also did underestimate Griquas. However, to regard **** Muir as arrogant is extremely shortsighted. This coach is busy with a long term plan. The side that he played on Saturday was not even as strong as the Sharks Vodacom side. This is a long term plan – even if he does not reap the benefits this year, he will certainly start reaping the fruit within a year or two.
The sharks all of the sudden have tremendous depth. What **** Muir is doing is very brave for sharks rugby as well as SA Rugby.
This man knows what he is doing. Arrogant??? I dont think so!