Solly’s the chosen one

Solly Tyibilika will play as a specialist fetcher against the All Blacks. And Butch James is on a plane to New Zealand.

There will be no emergency call for Western Province captain Luke Watson, who has consistently been ignored since Jake White took charge of the Boks in 2004.

Watson has been the standout South African flanker this season and the only specialist open-sider in the country. Hendro Scholtz and Tim Dlulane are not in his class. White does not rate Watson and has chosen a host of other loose-forwards ahead of him.

Now the embattled Springbok coach will give Tyibilika a start against Richie McCaw’s All Blacks, when this year the Sharks flanker has struggled to make Wildebeest team in the Vodacom Cup.

White’s grand plan of Wikus van Heerden as an openside option and potential captain lasted just 80 minutes against the World XV. And the Joe van Niekerk experiment as an openside option has culminated in two crushing defeats for the Boks.

White will be forced to admit that three ball-carrying loose-forwards is not the answer against the leading team. His only team option is Tyibilika who was not considered good enough to make the Sharks Super 14 team and could not make the run-on XV for the Wildebeest in the Vodacom Cup final.

Tyibilika has not played a game of rugby in two months and now starts against the All Blacks.

White will also select Meyer Bosman at flyhalf after not selecting him in his original training squad of 45. Butch James was the chosen one then, as was Andre Pretorius. Both got injured and then Bosman was drafted in. White did not use him and the player missed out on the World under 21 championships because of the late change of mind from the national coach.

Bosman then went back to Currie Cup action where he has played mostly as a substitute in the shadow of Willem de Waal. White never used Bosman in the World XV match or the two tests against a poor Scottish team.

Now he is telling the player it is ‘sink or swim’ time.

James has been flown to New Zealand, but is only likely to feature in the test against Australia in Sydney a week from now.

It all smacks of a coach clutching at straws.

Ricky Januarie arrived at the Bok camp fat and out of form. He was so poor in the Super 14 that he was eventually dropped. White persisted with him and now will be forced to drop him as well.

The Bok coach’s refusal to look beyond his core group of players is now biting him. A refusal to blood a core group of new players on last year’s tour was criticised at the time and Saturday’s defeat against the Wallabies was the consequence of a lack of planning in team selection.

White will also replace Danie Rossouw with Albert van den Berg and Eddie Andrews may start ahead of CJ van der Linde. Either way with Van den Berg and Tyibilika in the pack, there thankfully won’t be any talk of the physical presence of the Bok pack.

Boks (probable): Monty, Ndungane, Fourie, Olivier, Habana, Bosman, Du Preez, Van Niekerk, Smith, Tyibilika, Matfield, Van den Berg, Andrews, Smit and Du Randt.

442 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] Show All

• 401.Lemoen: Reply to this comment

• 402.jondood: Reply to this comment

• 403.Barnsie: Reply to this comment

I cannot for the life of me fathom why it is that South African rugby is so fraught with speculation, hidden agenda’s, and a stubborness unparralleled in any other sporting arena (in my humble opinion that is)! We are dominated by politics, managed though vanity, and succumb to pride and paranoia.

Sadly enough I have come to accept that the sport and team I love will always be marred by some controversy or another….but man I had faith in Jake White! In the beginning I forgot all about the politics, when for those 80 minutes I could stand pride as a South African supporting a team representative of the best we had…and damn they were good- a faith which I now have to admit is based on the legacy of a team past!

How are we to provide encouragement, nuture talent, and realise the dreams of players whom are snubbed at every turn by what now seems the tyranny of a manager hell-bent of preserving his ego!

Ruaan Pienaar, Schalk Brits, and Luke Watson…whose cause are they martyrs for?

I am not going to knock, or name, any player that has been protected – for too long now – behind Jake’s ‘iron curtain’, suffice as to say you need to earn that Jersey, which used to stand for a lot more!

To the players I say…we will follow you in victory or defeat as long as you remember that each time you run onto the field you represent the dreams of a nation, and play with your heart, body, and soul
    ….dont make a mockery of that by laughing, and giving up in the face of defeat!!

To Jake I say…you were supposed to be the bastion of South African rugby- and make decsions free of your own pride and prejudice! Your loyalty is to the team, not individuals- however hard that is…and that means giving those deserving a chance, at the expense unfortunatley of those who no longer able!
    (and Jake- a chance is more than 15 minutes!!!)

SADLY WE CAN DO NOTHING- BUT I DID WANT TO VOICE MY OPINION!

• 404.Skim: Reply to this comment

Chosen one!!
    Gweeeee!!!

• 405.Ajay: Reply to this comment

I need a rant …………I am afraid its in proportion to the loss.

First Mallet held the record for the worst defeat in Bok history. Then Rudi eclipsed that spectacularly and now Jake is plumbing new depths in the abyss of Bok kakness.We played Twickenham a man down for the whole match virtually. Vic was only gone for 10 minutes. I think our stamina as fans is incredible.This perpetual punch drunk state of waiting with some vague sort of hope that theres a miracle just around the corner of a Bok team able to deliver fairly consistent quality is becoming boring.I feel more and more ready to chuck in the towel and become a fairweather fan. We are deluded if we think we are deserving of a permanent top 3 place in the world and maybe that is hard for lots of guys to accept but we have to.If it was judged on raw ability then possibly but there is too much stuff between young talent and a possible Bok jersey messing that ability up.A lot of the damage is in players heads and genuinely unprofessional and immature attitude but coaching staff are equally to blame and should accept responsibility and not deny it.A little humility and genuine maturity from both would go a very long way and this from Jake is an after thought and not post-match as it should have been.The character of the man as well as his coaching abilities is under scrutiny and he is failing both tests at the moment imho. Would he be listening to our criticism were he winning ?Doubtful.Will he listen now? Naaah.Maybe fans should shoulder a portion of the blame for putting guys up there on pedestals too quickly but its not a big portion in the whole picture.From what I understand, the Bok setup strikes me as a very schoolteacher schoolboy style setup and one of the major cons of that type of system is that its not very much like a genuine work environment but more of a club that youre either in or youre out. Its one thing that the players both in and outside know where they stand its completely another to not let them in despite great form.Completely performance related treatment of players might encourage a more disciplined work ethic.Look at Monty and Tony Brown at the Sharks and ask anyone just how hard those 2 guys work. Jake just leap frogged us to 2 in the world with well organised defence but we probably deserve a permanent 4 or 5 position globally till we start scoring tries with structure and I.Q. and that means Jake has to come to the party with more than he has in creative terms as well.It has been a criticism even when we were winning well. Habana has not had a great year, Jean is out, 10 has been a problem for years and theres no obvious quick fix unless Butch has grown up, Monty has been covering our asses for too long with his boot and possible second string group players have blindly been ignored because of ego and otherwise. So even if the ego deflates , the injuries are there and the damage is done in the record books. Noakes was warning us all last year already that this would be a **** year. I am sure he takes little pleasure in being right. Jake has to make do with what he has got but if he cant see the “obvious” then does he really know something we dont from Prozone or otherwise? He is probably still the best we have currently (not Gert for forwards though)and is in no way responsible for all of the ills of SA rugby. I dont know that Ruan or Luke would have stopped saturday but they are no brainers.They should be on tour amongst a few others. I doubt that there is enough time left for a really solid shot at next year but less conservative changes for the home leg should come easier without his precious record to distract him. So if he still does not bring in the obvious form players then I think it must be permanent damage to his cranium from egoic over inflation.He used to be happy bringing in as many knowlegable heads as he could handle.Its that time again Jake.Go talk to Frik.He said he would tell you who to select.Maybe you should listen to him if not the chorus of fans out there.

Positives for Sat

1–No-one(in their right mind)is expecting a win.We havent won in NZ for ages.Written off teams occasionally deliver dont they?
    2–Replacements will be eager to deliver (vague hope)
    3–No matter who is at 10 has to be better with Fourie at 9.
    4–We cant get worse than 0 on the scoreboard and 100 cant feel that much worse than 49 can it? It really is a technicality if you get pumped by 50 or 75 or a ton.
    5–Players who exclude themselves through crappy performances in this match will surely force changes for the home games which could be a bit like the accidental team Jake stumbled across at Ellis Park.

Negatives

1– Minus Schalla and no enforcer of Bakkies sort in second row is going to cost us as spectacularly as it did v Oz.
    2–Domino effect of unsettled combos in loose trio and entire backline means predictability of simply doing the basics and major limitations in what they do creatively .This leaves reliance on a higher percentage of luck rather than skill waiting for NZ mistakes.Its always going to be a **** gameplan but against NZ with rush D figured, its suicide.
    3–Kiwis convincingly beat the Oz team that has just klapped us with 50 and now thay are going to be at home so it might just be more fun poking hot needles in your eyes rather than watching the virtually inevitable carnage.

I reckon all we can pray for on saturday is lots of rain and a low missed tackle count

• 406.Zinto: Reply to this comment

Remarks made by Jake White has now made me support the All Blacks over the week end and for as long as Jake White coaches the Springboks.

• 407.Skim: Reply to this comment

Lets put a “B” team on the field. Something like this:

1.Jannie Du Plessis/Cobus Visagie
    2.Gary Botha
    3.Lawrence Sephaka
    4.Francois van Schouwenburg
    5.Barend Pieterse
    6.Luke Watson
    7.Tim Dlulane
    8.Pedrie Wannenburg
    9.Bolla Conradie
    10.Morne Steyn
    11.Odwa Ndugane
    12.Brad Barrit
    13.Andries Strauss
    14.Wylie Human
    15.Gio Aplon/Stefan Basson

16.Heinke van der merwe
    17.Bismark Du Plessis
    18.Corniel van Zyl
    19.Warren Brosnihan
    20.Heini Adams/sandile Nxumalo
    21.Louis Strydom
    22.Sarel Potgieter/Gio Aplon

Skills Coach: Schalk Brits
    Defence coach: Piet van Zyl
    Forwards coach: Robbie Kempson
    Backs coach: David Campese
    Tenchnical Advisor: Rassie
    Kicking Coach: Jannie De Beer
    Roundhouse kicking coach: Chuck Norris

• 408.Lemoen: Reply to this comment

Zinto ek stem en dit is ook soos ek voel maar erens moet iets seker regkom

• 409.Pik Steal: Reply to this comment

And he said….”When you’re in coaching you’ve got to make sure you have a plan B”
    Guess what, he was not referring to a game plan! Why would he make such a statement while sober?

• 410.Zinto: Reply to this comment

Ag ek hoop so Lemoen. Hoekom kan die quotas kak nie net ophou nie. Ek bedoel Pierre Spies was nou in die span ingesluit en hy het nognie veel kans gehad om homself te bewys nie. Hoekom was JP Pietersen nie in enige van die voor drienasie spanne nie. Hy soek ‘n (swart)fetcher en kies Solly voor hy na Floors en Dlulane kyk. Jake praat kak, sy span keuses is die probleem. nie quotas nie.

• 411.Soda: Reply to this comment

Ajay, thanks for that post. something thought out and though provoking for a change.

• 412.Skim: Reply to this comment

Jake White het ‘n skewe piel.
    Nou dit is provoking.

• 413.shark bok: Reply to this comment

that hole side is sh12,no matter who plays against the AB’s we are gonna get the sh12 knocked out of us….saturdays team to get hammered,but still have a bit of pride..

15 percy {experienced}not form
    14 habana {speed}not form
    13 fourie {creative at times}
    12 barry {he can tackle}
    11 russel {should have been there since 2004}
    10 james {no one else}
    9 pienaar {what good is january/du preez doin}
    8 v;nieckerk {some skill}
    7 smith {skill,needs others to help}
    6 watson {no hulk}
    5 matfield {line out winner}
    4 v d berg {no one else,injuries}
    3 c.visagie { better then all the others}
    2 smit {dont change captain}
    1 os {old now,but wil always work}

16 andrews
    17 shimange
    18 aj venter
    19 du preez
    20 bosman
    21 paulse
    22 ndugane

• 414.niknak: Reply to this comment

barry in at 12? surely we have not plummeted to that depth ? i would rather see julies there – or meyer bosman for that matter. would at least give us an extra option for those 2 or 3 balls which big joke secures in the rucks.

• 415.Lemoen: Reply to this comment

zinto

dit is so en vok dus darm nie lekker om so te verloor nie en ek hoop van harte dat die senior spelers die naweek hulle vinger s uit hul gatte sal trek en die ding doen vir ons en solly as hy dan nou gekies word dan moet dit seker so wees maar dan moet hy vinger trek en speel maar as Jaco weer gekies word op loskakel dan sal ek nooit Jake kan verstaan nie! Ek weet al my post was vandag negatief maar as n ou bokondersteuner is dan hoop n ou maar seker dat dinge sal regkom ons kan verloor die naweek teen alblacks maar asb net nie weer teen aussie verloor nie en dan moet ons net ons tuistoetse tenminste wen!

• 416.ikeys_forever: Reply to this comment

Hi Lemoen,

It would be great if you could use some punctuation marks and paragraphs. I really struggle to read your posts – it’s like reading a stream of consciousness ;-)

• 417.Original Pierre: Reply to this comment

It`s a shame the sharks lost Butch now. They don`t have a chance without him. Congrats Bulls and Cheetahs.

• 418.shark bok: Reply to this comment

come nik nak,i have seen worse centers than barry,at least he plays with heart,and he can tackle,we desperatley need anyone now who can catch a ball,and tackling is advantage…barry to play…

• 419.Lemoen: Reply to this comment

ikeys forever

will do so next time cheers!!

• 420.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

shark bok

If you want Barry in the team, then you know **** about rugby!!

• 421.niknak: Reply to this comment

ikey
    aren’t you in bloem? must have been lovely there on saturday …. hope you ran down the main road in your wp thong

• 422.shark bok: Reply to this comment

bloem leeu
    who else can step up and play a center role capable of stopping the AB’s???????????
    you gonna rattle off all your bone head wanna bees…like wynand,and out of shape lions players…get real barry has experience and ability to stop tries..no one else in the back line can do that…
    so who is it then bloem leeu???

• 423.superBul: Reply to this comment

Nou net klaar Superrugby op Kyknet gekyk , laat ek dit maar weer se Joost is n draadsiter , Errol se darem die ding soos dit is en die gas vanaand Krynauw Otto is lekker om na te luister maar ook bang vir n mening , dalk bang hy word nooit weer genooi nie
    Maar ek kan nie sien hoe ons saterdag uit hierdie een gaan kom nie
    Een van die inbellers het gevra hoe lank het Kitch aan sy 95 wereldspan gebou , wie weet?

• 424.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

shark bok

Have you ever heard of Meyer Bosman! He is the same lenght as Jacque Cronje and weighs 102kg. He should play 12 and not 10.

Wynand is not a Test standard player, and I dont think he ever will be (cant tacle and it showed on sat)

Iv’e got nothing against Barry, but he is really out of form, how many tackles did he miss the last couple of games he played. He is also a liability on attack.

• 425.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

superbul

Kitch het net 9 maande gehad om die span voorte berei

• 426.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Hierdie hele wêreld-beker voorbereiding is ‘n pot snot!

As jy as afrigter elke keer die beste beskikbare spelers kies vir die vier jaar tussen wêreld bekers, kan jy wedstryde wen, en die kern van die spelers sal daar wees na vier jaar vir ondervinding. En as daar beserings is sal daar nie ‘n groot probleem wees nie. aka Scalk Burger, JdV, Pretorius, Bakkies.

JW het nooit voorberei indien daar enige beserings in die span is nie!!

• 427.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

My team/squad (forgetting injuries)

Manager: Morne Du Plessis

Head Coach: Jake White
    Forwards Coach: Rassie Erasmus
    Backline Coach: Paul Treu
    Skills Coach: David Campese

15.) Percy Montgomery/JP Pietersen
    14.) Ashwin Willemse/Breyton Paulse
    13.) Jacque Fourie/Marius Joubert
    12.) Jean de Villiers/Wynand Olivier
    11.) Bryan Habana/Brent Russel
    10.) Meyer Bosman/Butch James
    9.) Ruan Pienaar/Fourie du Preez
    8.) Joe van Niekerk/AJ Venter
    7.) Juan Smith/Pierre Spies
    6.) Schalk Burger/Luke Watson
    5.) Victor Matfield/Ross Skeate
    4.) Bakkies Botha/Danie Rossouw
    3.) CJ van der Linde/Cobus Visagie
    2.) John Smit/Schalk Brits
    1.) Guthro Steenkamp/Os du Randt

• 428.deutsche-bok: Reply to this comment

We shall defend our island, whatever the cost may be, we shall fight on the beaches, we shall fight on the landing grounds, we shall fight in the fields and in the streets, we shall fight in the hills; we shall never surrender. We shall draw from the heart of suffering itself the means of inspiration and survival. W.C.

• 429.grassie: Reply to this comment

****, **** and ****.

It was mentioned on Superrugby tonight that it was reported in the media that some of the Springbok players smiled after the game getting off the field.

Now:

The question is: after White’s powerplay debacle of 2 weeks ago, is the players not trying to get rid of White? Think on it.

Secondly is there not a Hansie / Gibbs cricket tossle in there. No points in 80 minutes. Come on.

• 430.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Rugby student

I like your team, but I would bring in Pretorius, move Bosman to centre and drop Olivier. Bring in Odwa Ndungane in place of Paulse. If Marius regains his form he will definitly be in the squad. In the forwards I would swop CJ & Visagie.

• 431.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Grassie

I also thought about it (tossing the game)
    He will see throughout the game John Smit smiling and making jokes with the ref, paricularly at the 75 min of the game at a scrum, he was talking and laughing with the ref!

I also play rugby and when Im on the loosing side the last thing I think about is smiling, nevermind this being on international level!

• 432.Bloem Leeu: Reply to this comment

Cheers Im off to bed

• 433.grassie: Reply to this comment

White talks to much…

Jake White is blaming everything from bird droppings to Lebanon bombings for his failure to get a single point out of the Springbok team on Saturday.

My G… keep your trap shut, roll up your sleeves and do your damn job, jeezzzzz.

• 434.deutsche-bok: Reply to this comment

****, **** ****? what happened after Carel duplessie lost so BIG to the ozzies in 97′, we went on to record winning streak under Mallet.

Ja, JW’s mouth is to big for those pathetc words drooling out of it though. He should shut up and do his job.

• 435.jakethesnake: Reply to this comment

Few hours late keo, should have contacted me early this morning re Butch……. and a few other stories. Pieter de villiers will be the new coach…. Markies is besig om Jake te boek, af te boek, siek te boek in die siekeboeg van TWICKENHAM. Welgedaan Markies, jou plan werk goed sover. Keo a few more surprises are coming…. Maybe , maybe , just maybe 5 boks might hold their own news conference……. either on this tour or just after…. and a few more revealing facts…… jump Keo you will be late on this one once again, or contact me at my email address, which you have and the bounty could be yours…..!!

• 436.Haydn Sais: Reply to this comment

No – wonder Mallet sais Sa dont know their rugby .Quick lesson :

1.Jean de Villiers is an inside centre ,not a wing or a flyhalf .
    2.Derrick Hougard would have been a brilliant flyhalf in the 70s .He is not a “Flat ball ” flyhalf .
    3.Wynand Olivier is a great currie cup player but will not make the step up to Test rugby .
    4.Danie Rossouw is a lock not a flank (he still carrys the ball in the wrong arm when making contact ) Who is the skills coach ?
    5.Eddie Andrews is not a test prop !
    6.Schalk Brits shows huge potential but must work on his scrumming and throwing in the line -outs .
    7.Os needs to take a hard look at himself and decided wether he wants to play rugby or tour .
    8.Matfield needs to start putting his body on the line as does a couple of other boys .
    9.Jaco is not a flyhalf hes a fullback .
    10.Bradly Barrit shows huge potential but he must play outside centre .

• 437.ruggamad: Reply to this comment

As others have done, I need to rant,

First off, White might suck at his job, but every one of the Spring boks needs a huge punt up the butt given their performance on Sat. Professional rugby players regardless of whether you are playing in or out of position should not make the mistakes they made last weekend. I was always taught to look after the “pill” and yet some of the Boks were giving it away in a pizza box and then hanging around waiting for a tip. There was no hunger at all to look after the ball and make it there’s – I have seen school-boy rugby better than the boks played this weekend.

I have lived in SA and NZ and the only difference is that the kiwi’s will die for their rugby. No-one can tell me that the AB’s have a team where each and every player is better than the Boks, they just play like it will be their last game of rugby ever and that is why they shine most of the time. The Boks are conplacement and think that it is their god given right to run out onto the field and play for the green and gold, they need to step up and earn that right (I know I can hear everyone now saying that many of the players that deserve to be Boks are at home playing the currie cup and that is where White and his croonies are at fault – they need to pick the guys who deserve the jumper and not those who have deserved it in the past – and by past I mean last world cup kind of past).

Finally, I want to know when are the Boks going to play some exciting footy. They have the speed and the skills that all the other teams have and yet they continue to play this boring pack orientated football. Don’t get me wrong, being a former hooker I have huge admoration for a tough group of forwards but the French, Aussies and AB’s proved that you can have the big forwards and still play expansive rugby, I still cannot figure out why the boks continue to play such a conservative style of rugby.

One last item – Jaco sucks – I am not sure why this guy continues to make the A list, he is just plain useless. Ok I’ll set down from my soap box – if nothing else lets hope the Boks at least have a little pride in themselves to play a little better this time around.

• 438.shark bok: Reply to this comment

bloem leeu

meyer bosman is a flyhalf boet and he plays as a sub for willem dewaal where he should stay…goodnight

• 439.wpforever: Reply to this comment

ruggamad,very true indeed !

• 440.KWV: Reply to this comment

Team for this weekend with the current squad:

1 Os Du Randt
    2 John Smit
    3 Eddie Andrews
    4 Johann Muller
    5 Victor Matfield
    6 Solly Tyibilika
    7 Juan Smith
    8 Joe Van Niekerk
    9 Fourie Du Preez
    10 Percy Montgomery
    11 Bryan Habana
    12 Meyer Bosman
    13 Jaque Fourie
    14 Akona Ndungane
    15 JP Pietersen

Jaco NOT even on the bench.

• 441.all boks: Reply to this comment

426 . bloem leeu : “Hierdie hele wêreld-beker voorbereiding is ‘n pot snot! ”

ek weet nie so mooi van n pot snot nie ne, ek het gehoor dit lyk soos die Currie Cup maar net n bietjie grooter……

“Its been heard that the Boks are getting a new Sponsor to help smooth out the rift caused by Jakes comments made on transformation and quota players.

The Black like me hair range have agreed to step in as sponsor after Carstle threatened to withdraw their sponsorship after the Boks were accused of abusing the beverage just before the Australian tests.”

• 442.jaapieincoloradousa: Reply to this comment

Keo

Jake said he will take it on the chin, fair enough, good for you. Now stay down on the groung and let some one else come in and save us from total humilliation.
    The freeking World cup that only come’s arround every four years is next year. For the love of God and the sake of our rugby pride just PISS OFF ALLREADY. Lets find a good NPC coach, or Rassie.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.