Butch to bash Blacks
18 Jul 2006
Butch James is expected to start at flyhalf ahead of Meyer Bosman for the Springboks’ Vodacom Tri-Nations match in Wellington.
Jake White finally conceded this week that Jaco van der Westhuyzen is not the answer at 10, which promoted speculation that Bosman (who wasn’t even in the original squad) would start his third Test on Saturday. However, such was the humiliation suffered by the Boks in Brisbane, that White is set to gamble on James, despite the fact that the Sharks flyhalf only joined the side this week.
James made his last appearance for the Boks during the 53-3 massacre at Twickenham in 2002, although he was part of the extended training squad in Bloemfontein in June.
“The sort of straight running Butch does is much more dangerous to the defence because they can’t just drift across,” South African selection convener Pieter Jooste said.
“Against New Zealand, if you keep kicking them into the corners and stopping their momentum, they can crack under the pressure. They get frustrated far easier than the Australians, who always seem to have several ways of bursting through.”
Meanwhile, Sharks coach Dick Muir said James would give the Boks a boost.
“Butch is the man for this type of situation the Boks are in,†Muir told the Mercury. “His aggression, confidence and skill lift a backline and he is the kind of character that relishes tough situations. He is very excited about his call-up and we are very excited for him. He will do a great job.â€
The Boks will announce their starting line-up on Wednesday.

248 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All
18 Jul 2006, 13:08 pm
skoorsteen
get a life boetie!
18 Jul 2006, 13:09 pm
Grrrrrrreat News!!!!!!!!!!!!!
This is just what the boks need. I’m glad the boks got a hiding this last weekend cause it has made Jake White wake up and realise that his conservative kicking approach is not working. Better this happens now and we fix the problem than us doing semi well now with a flawed game plan and then do poorly at the World Cup. Just read on rugby365 that Jake is going to overhaul is game plan and change his tactics. Bringing in James he clearly wants to play a more expansive running game which is exactly what we need. I also read that Jooste is telling White to pick Luke Watson and has given him the tapes of his last two games to watch. Even better news!!!!!
It’s a blessing in disguise us getting this hiding. White is now forced to sort out any problems that would have been overlooked were we still achieving good results.
18 Jul 2006, 13:13 pm
naada
Moet nie dat ek joune wegvat nie.
swaap.
18 Jul 2006, 13:13 pm
bod
you have watched all his games, that you can make these global type of judgments?
And besides, if not him then who – not that so called ball kicker from the Bulls DH, please. He is to light in the pants and the ABs will finnish him off without any effort.
18 Jul 2006, 13:15 pm
like i said skoorsteen
get a life – its a big world out here
18 Jul 2006, 13:16 pm
ooo and that coming from you?
wake me up when it’s over.
18 Jul 2006, 13:19 pm
Bod
I hope you’re not talking about Butch James. Just read your last comment(197). Butch James was brilliant in 2004 and parts of 2003. In 2004 he was by far our best flyhalf on form and was a shoe in for flyhalf until he got injured. Saying that he mostly plays **** clearly shows you don’t know what you’re talking about. My apologies if you weren’t talking about him.
18 Jul 2006, 13:22 pm
Naaada… you still havent answered my question
Unfortunately, you are correct in stating who else? The cup definately does not runneth over, so as to answer your question… play the Valke’s flyhalf… anyone but Butch!!
18 Jul 2006, 13:22 pm
Skoorsteen
based on your comments you are already asleep.
A guy with your IQ should have a low voice too!
18 Jul 2006, 13:23 pm
ANYONE IS AN IMPROVEMENT FROM JACO BUT BUTCH IS NOT GREAT EITHER……. THE ALL BLACKS 5TH CHOICE FLYHALF (DAVID HOLWELL) IS A BETTER OPTION THAN BUTCH …………
18 Jul 2006, 13:24 pm
Andrew David James – go out and show all these tossers how you close down a channel . Just hope you don’t have a turnstile playing in either of the centre channels . Good luck son .
18 Jul 2006, 13:25 pm
What is the chances, in this the centenary year of the Springbok, of the Boks conceding 100 points?
18 Jul 2006, 13:25 pm
Bod
You’ve lost it bru
18 Jul 2006, 13:26 pm
Lol and the thread leans decidedly to the right.
18 Jul 2006, 13:26 pm
How about Pierre Spies at No.10?
18 Jul 2006, 13:28 pm
Hobbo
Yip, definately talking about him
I think your and my interpretations of the words brilliant and mediocre might differ, hence our differing viewpoints on him.
18 Jul 2006, 13:30 pm
Jaco for the Leicester Tigers ………
GO JACO …….. GO GO GO……….
18 Jul 2006, 13:31 pm
Cape….
That will never happen, we’re at the very bottom of a trough right now but we’re not a side that is that bad. Not even sides like Scotland, Argentina, Samoa, or the likes are capable of losing by that much.
18 Jul 2006, 13:32 pm
Pity about Peter Grant getting injured – he had a great game against the Bulle……..
18 Jul 2006, 13:32 pm
Bod,
I fully agree with you. One good semi-final and that was about it. From what I remember, Butch has always looked rather slow and cumbersome at test level. Can’t see that suddenly changing.
The above said, apart from Butch and Bosman … the flyhalf cupboard is currently bare.
Please save me a space in the Cable Car, i’ll jump off Table Mountain with you.
18 Jul 2006, 13:37 pm
Hobbo
Youre probably right, recalling BJ (interesting acry) back as the saviour of our woes has certainly made me lose it!!
18 Jul 2006, 13:37 pm
Bod
Ok sure he doesn’t compare to the Carters of this world but in South African flyhalf terms he played brilliantly in 2004. He’s the best we’ve got and I think you seriously underrate him. I think you’re one of those people that struggles to look past his ill discipline in 2001 and 2002. Sure he does still lose it every now and then. But what I believe will happen is that Jake will give him a good talking to and he’ll understand the importance of keeping a cool head. Playing for his country should see him control his temper. As far as his ability as a creative skillful flyhalf is concerned though, he’s defininately far ahead of the rest in the country.
18 Jul 2006, 13:41 pm
CFB #212 – more chance of discovering rocking horse dung !!
18 Jul 2006, 13:44 pm
exactly hobbo couldnt have said it better myself
and also as i said before dont compare to carter because noone does
18 Jul 2006, 13:45 pm
shaka if i may ask you white or black ??
18 Jul 2006, 13:46 pm
Sharks lover
Glad someone thinks rationally around here
18 Jul 2006, 13:50 pm
Sharks_lover
No need for racial profiling.
18 Jul 2006, 13:52 pm
Saffa guy… dont be lazy, I said I am going to run up table mountain.
Hobbo
I have no qualms about his discipline record which I attribute mainly to bad press… in fact his defence and commitment is the only part of his game I reasonably admire.
As for creativity, I dissagree totally. Creativity means the ability to think out of the box, control a game, keep the opposition guessing (never mind the odd line break here or there) etc, etc. To me he has none of those abilities.
He is way too one dimentional and easy to read as a defender. You know you are either going to get a:
1 Grubber attempt
2 Up and under
3 Chip in the box
4 Very little else
Sorry, but to me he never has been and never will be a decent flyhalf
18 Jul 2006, 13:55 pm
Same as the smelly freckle I’m afraid – but what does it matter . does my opinion as a black man count any less . I actually consider being myself to be a fairly enlightened bantu if you will – my surname interpreted means large eyes !!
Should I continue commenting in (isi)zulu !!!
18 Jul 2006, 13:55 pm
jondood i asked shaka the question not you hes man enough to speak for himself im sure
and its not about racial theres a reason i asked the man this question so butt out
and yes shaka i agree mate , problem is all these anti butch guys crying their little asses off would support butch if he was from their team
instead of supporting they try break down
bahhhhhhhhhhhhh boks are ****
bak boks are ****
bah this and bahhhhhhhhhhhhh that
instead of shutting up and if he stuffs up saterday then bahhhhhhhhhhhh like a lot of sheep
the all blacks And aussies play mind games so do their press and some fools fall into that trap
Butch aint hurt another player like a matfield punching bj and it all gets covered up
yet the sheep shouttttttttttttt buhhhhhhhhhh butch
if i was them id go back to scholl and learn about supporting and ot just breaking down
18 Jul 2006, 13:59 pm
thats my point shaka and no it doesnt matter its just damn nice to see soome one of another race not touting colour but showing true logic so you got urself a friend
but seriously we need to support strong no matter what colour or what PROVINCE
lemme ask you this question shaka ??
right now would you pick a flank like solly ???
or kabamba floors thats having a blinder
18 Jul 2006, 14:03 pm
and in saying that i am not gonna fight because solly is there , he didnt choose himself and i will support him
and i hope he has a cracker pf a game which would bring him back to form that he used to have
18 Jul 2006, 14:05 pm
Sharks lover ,
I usually post during lunch hours or after hours while this place is trading . It ain’t my computer but I have permission , so long as it doesn’t get political . Frankly I am regarded by some of my brothers as “running against their wind” as they all play/played/follow soccer where I am a firm believer that if God had wanted men to play with round balls , he would have given men round balls .
So rugby it is and I am happy to have been brought to the WC many years ago by the witou who is in charge of this equipment .
Shaka
ok i killed the blog lol
You know your’e plumbing the depths when you welcome butch James back.
We’re DESPERATE.
18 Jul 2006, 14:07 pm
lol cheers shaka tc mate im in sudan right now and no beers grrrrrrrrrrrrrr
have a cold castle for me
18 Jul 2006, 14:13 pm
Look I got to get back to work , but briefly Floors is the form man , so my mate Solomzi would be second .
However , as a south african , Luke is the form player/fetcher and it is astonishing that White Jake can ignore him . I said in my opinion that Luke could be to the Bokke what Jonty was to cricket – although Luke is far more opinionated that Jonty .
I also cannot say it has anything to do with struggle credentials of Luke’s father and uncle Dan and Valence . Purely the form Luke has been in with Natal 2 years ago before Putt dropped him and current form .
He also did well at U20 level after school .Will check in later , but that’s how I see it !!
18 Jul 2006, 15:13 pm
I have got a great idee. Would it be possible for you guys to let the muppits pick a first 15? Over a few days. We post the names and by counting the votes by say the end of the month, we select our team. I am sure you’ve got some fancy program which you can use to count the votes.
18 Jul 2006, 15:57 pm
Habana is not a defender nor a tackler and will suck at 13.
He was good on attack in the Springbokless CC matches at 13 and that is that, and was only good when AP was the 10 who created the extra second of space. On defence he was ok.
No comparison, how mush do your really want to have us concede.
18 Jul 2006, 15:59 pm
I don’t even think Habana should be wing currently, I would pick Russel on 11 and Pulse at 14 who were the only two wings that actually looked a Springbok this year in their respective jerseys.
18 Jul 2006, 16:18 pm
I however don’t think our problem was at the breakdown. We were not as good in disrupting their ball without Shalk, but did not loose many of ours.
18 Jul 2006, 16:30 pm
Iets ligs om die dag mee af te sluit….
Wat is die verskil tussen die Springbokke en ‘n samoosa?
‘n Samoosa het ten minste darem 3 punte.
18 Jul 2006, 16:32 pm
Habana’s defence is **** – I said that during the super 14 and got shouted down for it, now it ovious to all. That wanker Matt Giteau even gave BH a chirp after his kak tackle. Paulse is just as kak.
I also hear calls for Butch & AJ – are we desperate or what? They both are penalty material!
18 Jul 2006, 22:52 pm
that it?
18 Jul 2006, 22:53 pm
Right, turned the italics off. That was driving me insane!
19 Jul 2006, 03:12 am
i wouldn’t start james. he hasn’t been with the squad for a long while now and will probably have one or two training sessions at the most with the team. better play bosman and have james on the bench.
19 Jul 2006, 04:20 am
Now we think Butch James will make a difference. He is and will always be useless – a kak flyhalf with no vision. And why did JW take Bosman as the 2nd flyhalf if he now picks BJ before him? White has lost it, we will lose handsomely on Saturday.
19 Jul 2006, 05:12 am
The last time Butch played, the Boks lost by 53-3 !
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] Show All