Henry hails Bok tradition

Graham Henry reminded his All Blacks that they’ve lost two of their last four tests against the Springboks. He also emphasised that the last team to beat the All Blacks was South Africa — a year ago.

Henry seemed to be dulling expectation of a similar 49-0 scoreline when the All Blacks host the Boks in Wellington.

The New Zealand media and public have written off South Africa, describing Jake White’s side as ‘braindead’ and already turning their attention to the All Blacks next test against the Wallabies in Brisbane.

Henry’s All Blacks are yet to win in South Africa, hammered 40-26 in 2004 and battered 22-16 in Cape Town. In this time they’ve beaten the Boks by three and four points respectively in New Zealand, winning both tests in the last minutes.

Henry knows how difficult it can get against the Boks and stressed that the changes made to his line-up are not insulting South Africa but more a case of picking a ‘horses for courses’ team to combat the physical presence of South Africa.

Against Australia the All Blacks went for more mobility. Against the Boks bulk was a factor.

He did not believe it to be a weaker All Blacks team, but a different one.

Henry acknowledged the Boks were poorer in the absence of Schalk Burger and Bakkies Botha, but he still felt they’d present a formidable challenge on Saturday.

“The majority of these guys have played South Africa a number of times and it’s always been a very difficult contest. I think it was a bit of an aberration last week. I’m hoping our guys are fully aware of that,” Henry told Jim Kayes of the Dominion Post.

The New Zealand media, though, were hammering any Bok prospects. Only one of the All Blacks who will start on Saturday, they wrote, had lost to South Africa more than twice in his career.

Hooker Anton Oliver has played the Springboks nine times for five wins and four losses. Veteran lock Chris Jack has lost only two of his 11 tests against South Africa, as has centre Mils Muliaina (five wins from seven tests).

Richie McCaw, recalled flanker Reuben Thorne and wing Doug Howlett have lost once.

Henry said he had not known a weak South African side.

And just to add a little reminder, go back to 2003 when the Boks got smashed 29-9 in Brisbane after conceding 50 points to the All Blacks in Pretoria. John Mitchell also rested four of his leading players in the pack and the All Blacks struggled to a 19-11 win. Both teams scored one try and had Louis Koen not missed with several kicks it may well have been a famous Bok win.

As it is the last time the Boks won in Wellington, in 1998, the countries were celebrating their 50th test against each other. And on Saturday there’s another 50 celebration in the air.

Just perhaps, there’s a little omen for the Boks to hang on to. Perhaps.

77 Comments

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

• 51.USA Shark: Reply to this comment

You can if you want, I just addressed the post to him

• 52.Koos: Reply to this comment

See if I can track the reserves…

http://newstalkzb.co.nz/newsdetail1.asp?storyID=99919

Five changes for Boks

19/07/2006 11:32:03

Springbok coach Jake White has made five changes to his side for Saturday’s Tri Nations test against the All Blacks in Wellington.

There is a bracket at first five with Butch James who only arrived from South Africa last night or Meyer Bosman given the pivot duties with a final decision to be made on game day.

Albert van den Berg has replaced the injured Danie Rossouw at lock with Solly Tyibilika to start on the openside flank in place of Joe van Niekerk.

Jacques Cronje has replaced Pierre Spies at number eight.

Halfback Enrico Januarie has been dropped and replaced by Fourie du Preez.

The fulls Boks side is Percy Montgomery, Akona Ndugane, Jaque Fourie, Wynand Olivier, Bryan Habana, Butch James or Meyer Bosman, and Fourie du Preez in the backs.

The forwards are: Jacques Cronje, Juan Smith, Solly Tyibilika, Victor Matfield, Albert van den Berg, CJ van der Linde, John Smit and Os du Randt.

• 53.marvinb: Reply to this comment

Yes the Boks will be dangerous they alwys are but I guess they have more to prove to their rugby public then the ABs need to prove to our rugby public…..Our record speaks for itself….Go the All Blacks

• 54.Koos: Reply to this comment

Replacements: Breyton Paulse/JP Pietersen, Bosman/James, Ricky Januarie, Joe van Niekerk, Johann Muller, Eddie Andrews, Danie Coetzee. NZPA nh NZPA nh

• 55.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Henry could have pulled a typical Jake (a la before that lost Ireland test) and said that no more than two or three Boks would make his AB side and even that would be stretching it. But he didn’t. He spoke of his opponents with respect, even if they have come off a six try 49-0 whacking by a team the AB’s whipped by 20 points.

Looks like NZ tries to teach SA about rugby both on and off the field.

• 56.twojays: Reply to this comment

Probably be a much closer match. Depends on two things – the weather and the Ref. Who is the ref. Saturday? Please – not an Australian!!!!Hamba Kahle

• 57.out wide: Reply to this comment

Keo, you fail to mention that the 8 changes have also been made because of Henry’s rotation policy. He stated publicly that he wants 2 recognised AB players in each position. To keep his squad of 30 he obviously has to give them game time and it is almost a surprise there weren’t more changes for the Wellington game.

• 58.Brads: Reply to this comment

Rotation is also the reason Jake White gave for making 5 changes.

He rejected any suggestion it was a panic move.

• 59.out wide: Reply to this comment

Koos, thanks for the Bok side. I worry about that backline and the loosies. I guess it is simply too late for Luke to be sent over to strengthen the side? Laurie Maines made a good point on the kiwi Radiosport talkback station about this. He affirmed Luke has a great future but at the same time spoke of Jake’s dilemna.He asked what message it would send Solly if Jake had to fly Luke over here when ST is already here. Good point which outlines the unique difficulties faced by SA coaches.

• 60.Koos: Reply to this comment

Pleasure out wide, just helping out Andrew ;-)

The backline can only do better since they shot Jaco…they did, did they not?

The loosies yes, one of JW’s gripes (I think #174 or was that #331, can’t remember?) was that the provincial coaches played players out of position! After playing Funnykerk and Spies out of position and a poor showing as expected, he drops both from the starting 15, go figure :shock: In stead we have a carthorse and a player so out of form it is not funny against arguably the best loosie screen in the world currently! :shock: :shock:

• 61.Lemoen: Reply to this comment

The wet weather in Wellington and the personnel Jake White has chosen at numbers eight, nine and ten suggests South Africa will be concentrating on a driving game against the All Blacks in their Tri-Nations test on Saturday.

Big Jacques Cronje returns at eighthman after Pierre Spies and Joe van Niekerk have started at the back of the scrum in recent matches in drier conditions. Fourie du Preez is less flamboyant than Enrico Januarie at scrumhalf, but he has a reliable boot and his service to his flyhalf is steadier.

Who will start in the number 10 jersey is yet to be decided, with Meyer Bosman and Butch James bracketed in the position and a decision only likely to be made on the morning of the match. Both, however, have a stronger kicking game than Jaco van der Westhuyzen and will be adept at punting for position and keeping their pack going forward.

The selection of James marks another new dawn for the 27-year-old’s international career. He began the season injured, as he has been for most of the last two years, but returned at the end of the Sharks’ Super 14 campaign.

“Butch has only been out of the squad these last couple of years because of injury. Now’s the chance to see how he goes between now and the World Cup,” coach White said on Wednesday.

White said the weather conditions on Saturday, as well as how James shapes up after the long journey over to New Zealand and his ability to form a quick relationship with his backline, would be the factors driving the decision on who to start at pivot.

“Butch only joined us today so we have to see how he fits in and how well he combines with the outside backs. And the weather conditions on the day of the match will be very important too.

“Defensively, we obviously had to look at the flyhalf channel after last weekend, but Butch will also bring us experience and he has also kicked for poles at test level, so that answers the question about who our back-up goalkicker is.”

White said he had picked Cronje ahead of Van Niekerk, who is replaced at openside flank by Solly Tyibilika, because the Bulls loose forward was more effective on heavy fields.

“Jacques has played over 20 tests and it looks like it will be cold and wet on Saturday, so the game will be slower. He is a more direct kind of player than Joe, who is more of an athlete, and I think we’ll need that directness more on Saturday.

“To be fair to Joe, one can’t say he has failed on the openside because it’s all about who he plays with. The selection is all about the combination of the loose forwards and the balance of all three, plus there are different types of locks we can choose as well, which comes into it too,” White said.

So Tyibilika, who has hardly seen any top-flight action this season, gets the hot potato of the openside flank position. After his frustrations at the Sharks, the 27-year-old will not be lacking enthusiasm.

“It’s only fair to give Solly a chance, especially after the performances in last weekend’s game. I can’t expect him just to hold tackle bags over here,” White said.

“Every time we bring someone new in, the player adds a spark. He will be full of energy and that raises the bar and provides a wake-up call for the senior players.”

The free-running Albert van den Berg replaces Danie Rossouw, who has been laid low by a hamstring injury, at lock, while White is hoping for a chance to bring exciting young Natal back JP Pietersen through at international level.

The 20-year-old has been bracketed with the experienced Breyton Paulse as the utility back on the bench, with Akona Ndungane having been passed fit to play on Saturday despite a shoulder injury.

“Breyton has played a lot of rugby in the last few months and I just want to see how JP goes in the week,” White said.

South Africa – 15-Percy Montgomery, 14-Akona Ndungane, 13-Jaque Fourie, 12-Wynand Olivier, 11-Bryan Habana, 10-Meyer Bosman/Butch James, 9-Fourie du Preez, 8-Jacques Cronje, 7-Juan Smith, 6-Solly Tyibilika, 5-Victor Matfield, 4-Albert van den Berg, 3-CJ van der Linde, 2-John Smit (captain), 1-Os du Randt. Replacements: 16-Danie Coetzee, 17-Eddie Andrews, 18-Johann Muller, 19-Enrico Januarie, 20-Joe van Niekerk, 21-Meyer Bosman/Butch James, 22-Breyton Paulse/JP Pietersen.

• 62.pompies: Reply to this comment

Oh my here comes trouble.

• 63.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Johann Muller should be there…Uncle Albert V.D.Berg is an aging impact player. The combo doesn’t feel lekker. No beef and bliksem. Vic and Albert.( sounds like the names of my grandfather’s chommies…they better play like Kevin de Klerk and Frik du Preez).

Solly I pray you have the muti to counteract Ritchie MacCaw. Oooh, may the spirit of Shaka be with you. You going to need it my bru.

If “hey Ma, no arms” Butch plays then Meyer Bosman could come on for Wynand Olivier should he not deliver at No 12.

• 64.Storminateacup: Reply to this comment

Henry respects Bok tradition. That is great but it should not make him to worried on Saturday as all the people in South Africa who care about bok tradition are back here in SOuth Africa, it would Seem. There didn’t seem to be much worry about bok tradition in Brisbane on Saturday after the final whistle…….

• 65.spinnaker: Reply to this comment

Jeez it’s difficult to try and not like these guys, they always have the best things to say about SA, although we are actually ****.

We will loose this game, but I think it won’t be that humiliating. Loosing 70-0 to NZ, that won’t be too bad hey?

• 66.eloise: Reply to this comment

The Boks won’t play that bad again while White is in charge,because he know he has 2 sort out his ****

• 67.SjamBok: Reply to this comment

The players need to dig deep to find their real fighting character and pride, and then find their killer instinct and put this to rest. When the Boks go onto the field, they must really believe that there is only going to be one winner, because the are going TO MAKE IT THAT WAY!

• 68.pompies: Reply to this comment

Na this is a smoke screen I smell a rat ,eish no respect.

• 69.ChiefsFan...sadly: Reply to this comment

Rev Jim: yes, I currently live in France.

Someone said: “isn’t it strange that even after the All Blacks lost twice to SA they still didn’t call for his (GH) head.”

Partly because he made it clear before the game what he was doing and why. His ideas (rotation, flat back line, scrum power) often get debated heavily in NZ and many don’t like them, but what Henry says and what he does always match.

Then, after his team lost, Henry took his share of the blame. He didn’t spit the dummy over the ref, or blame injuries or whatever. Now I’m not saying he doesn’t make PR mistakes, but he certainly keeps them to a minimum.

However, when a NZ coach cops a loss like the Boks did last Saturday and then blames the players and doesn’t acknowledge his share — which is what Mitchell did at the last world cup semi — then he faces the full blast of public fury.

Note also that consecutive losses to Australia in Oz cost Wayne Smith his job. His mistake was to publically admit that he didn’t have a plan to beat them: full credit for his honesty, but not smart PR.

Personally I think Jake is in both the position of Mitchell (not admitting his share of the problem) and Wayne Smith (no plan to go forward). Even he is the best coach in SA, that puts him in a position where he should retire/be sacked.

You guys need a new broom, and fast.

• 70.Skim: Reply to this comment

Henry is a wanker.

• 71.niknak: Reply to this comment

I’m no expert, but it seems to me Russell would eat Giteau for brunch with a side-order of four dwarves with coke-trays strapped to their domes.

Comment by Rev. Jim Jones : July 19, 2006 @ 12:56 am

class

• 72.Jo: Reply to this comment

Too few Cheetahs in the side! Look how well WP have done since they don’t have to pick their show ponies – either through being away with the boks (small B intentional!) or injuries – they’re picking no-name players, but guys who want to play.

How can we NOT expect injuries with the stupid crash crash rugby we play?! – Ian Macintosh – hang your hear in shame – you started all this crash ball rugby with the Sharks in the early 90s and ever since our backlines have been poor

• 73.Provvas: Reply to this comment

I wanna believe these boks will be better saturday, but now JW chucks another Wp player, and in comes a bull….sadly this state of mind will leave us with another smack on the bottom. ( As per the Aussie commentator).
    At least jaco is gone, Butch should NOARMS Dan carter and we’ll be fine. Then put Bosman on to finish the job.

• 74.cab: Reply to this comment

too right and lets not forget this little statistic, indeed the ONLY team to have beaten the ABs in the last two years, and twice.

• 75.backin15: Reply to this comment

Henry’s the master of the mind game. He know’s this White coached side is weak but also knows the NZ media will expect a thrashing; he’s just positioning for his post match interview when the ABs second team only win 3 – 4 tries to none.

• 76.cane: Reply to this comment

Post 70.
    Skim,
    Henry may or may not be many things. But to call him a “wanker” is not exactly hitting the nail on the head.

• 77.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

“Butch should NOARMS Dan carter and we’ll be fine. Then put Bosman on to finish the job.”

Wouldn’t that be clever? Butch is going to be watched like a hawk and any “no arms” will earn him a red card before you could say “Twickenham”. And we all know what happened there when the Boks played out almost a whole game with 14 men after Jannes had one of those brain explosions that klip-en-kouk macho-Dutchies get when they find the going hard?

Pages: « 1 [2] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.