Five changes for Boks

Solly Tyibilika will play against the All Blacks in one of five changes to the side humiliated against Australia.

Joe van Niekerk, Pierre Spies, Ricky Januarie and Jaco van der Westhuyzen have been dropped and Danie Rossouw is injured. Spies and Van der Westhuyzen don’t make the match 22.

White has also bracketed Butch James with Meyer Bosman at flyhalf and bracketed JP Pietersen with Breyton Paulse on the bench.

Jacques Cronje is at No 8 and Tyibilika plays openside in the most significant pack changes.

Jake White told the media: “This is not a case of hitting the panic button. Our objective was always to expose players at this level on this trip. We haven’t got a great record away and we really only have Australia, New Zealand and England to play this year. You have to give these players an opportunity to see whether they sink or swim. We have never been in this situation before as a group of people. You either get up or you go deeper into the hole.”

White said it would be a character test for his Boks, but he remained confident they could pass the test.

James’s position will be monitored in the course of the week, to see how he slots in. Bosman has trained as the flyhalf because James only arrived in New Zealand on Tuesday night.

Boks: 15 Percy Montgomery, 14 Akona Ndungane, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Wynand Olivier, 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Butch James/Meyer Bosman, 9 Fourie du Preez; 8 Jacques Cronje, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Solly Tyibilika, 5 Victor Matfield, 4 Albert van den Berg, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 John Smit (c), 1 Os du Randt. Subs: 16 Danie Coetzee, 17 Eddie Andrews, 18 Johann Muller, 19 Joe van Niekerk, 20 Enrico Januarie, 21 James/Bosman, 22 Breyton Paulse/JP Pietersen

478 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] Show All

• 451.David: Reply to this comment

The girls talking to herself again and Ig sounds as if he’s quietly puffing on his first joint of the day.

• 452.big g: Reply to this comment

well david, sometime a girls needs intelectual stimulation to thus talking the herself. what you have to say that might put a cheerie sound to the moment…

• 453.David: Reply to this comment

big g
    Unfortunately, there’s very little cheerful to reflect on, other than WPs’ win on Saturday. This site has been full of despair, anger and some delightfully twisted forms of racism from the “Some of my best friends are black, but..” brigade.
    Poor Jake, he thought he had the whole rugby supporting public behind him before taking on SARU, now he finds he’s being cast in the same mould as Idi Amin.
    Personally, he reminds me of Donald Rumsfeld with his “shock and awe” approach to the opposition whilst leaving the minor details of victory to be sorted out later.

• 454.big g: Reply to this comment

i didnt mean to shoot him, he is my friend, really…

but ref it was a dropgoal, really really…

• 455.David: Reply to this comment

You must give Jaco points for trying, though. That took some very quick thinking.

• 456.big g: Reply to this comment

nope, i think he actually believed it…

• 457.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Ja that was the best……..a drop goal directed at the touch line from 5/10 meters outside my 22…….

That must go down in the books as the funniest thing ever……and then he persistently argues that the ref has it wrong…..

• 458.Jake: Reply to this comment

Solly is in Australia, but he’s drinking at the last chance saloon. If the Boks lose big again, Watson will replace him for the home leg, and there is nothing White will be able to do about it, because he will be packing his bags to.

I think it’s rough Big Joe is played out of position and then dropped by the guy that plays him out of position. Isn’t this what White critizes the S14 coaches for?

Spies should never have started, and in all honestly, he should not have been introduced into a side that was clearly reeling. This will do him no good at all. He needed to be handled like Skinstad. Brought on off the bench once the team had found its way again, so that he could build confidence.

It is right that Jaco has been dropped. There comes a point when enough is enough, and last Saturday was it.

I think Bosman should be handled the same way Rassie handles him. Play James, and then bring on Bosman at the right moment, to help build up his confidence, and hopefully, even before James or Pretorius are too old, Bosman will be forcing his way in.

If James is on the park, then I would like to see Pietersen given a run at fullback at some point, and if not at wing in place of Ndungane.

• 459.shibeen: Reply to this comment

jake

u right on the speis issue and that of joe. jaco should not even be in the squad after his displays. if we play james or bosman we dont need percy on the park cause those two are good kickers so i would start peterson at the back and bosman at fly

• 460.ruffle: Reply to this comment

i want chilliboy to play saturday.

• 461.Jake: Reply to this comment

Shibeen,

It would be brave to start with both Bosman and Petersen. It might well be the shape of things to come though.

I think while guys like Butch and Monty can add value, we should use them, but only if they do add value. Bringing back Snyman and Gaffie were two of White’s least inspired moves.

Monty, like Os, is not looking like the player he was last season. I think White might have miscalculated the mileage still left in their tanks, and if so, he faces a difficult choice. Does he use them sparingly or as support, keeping them around for the value they add to the squad, even if they are not quite the force they once were on the field or does he bring in the next generation right away?

Personally, I think the younger guys need to be introduced slowly. Off the bench at first, for longer and longer periods, not thrown at the All Blacks as starters in their first test.

White inherited some very talented young players from Strauli, but I don’t think he really thought deeply enough about the structure of a successful international squad in the professional era. He should have been expanding his player base from his first overseas tour. Instead, he played the same 15 guys into the ground, and now we’re putting out fires and playing catch up.

• 462.Bagel: Reply to this comment

Why Jauque Cronje??? Has he ever proven himself to be test match material??? He is soo slow and his work rate is kak!!! He should not even be in the squad Pedrie Wannenberg is so much better he has shown that. Cronje is obviously one of Jakes little favourites :-(

• 463.umbhoxoswede: Reply to this comment

Im not quite sure why Paulse is there instead of a Russel. Can someone enlighten me?

• 464.umbhoxoswede: Reply to this comment

hmmmmmm, anyone?

• 465.Rev. Jim Jones: Reply to this comment

ummmm… dunno.

• 466.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

maybe if we lucky we will find out steady eddie has a scottish grandmother and decides to earn some pounds

• 467.Capetonian: Reply to this comment

@ 463 : QUOTAS

• 468.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

butch needs to start. we mite see our backline getting away. the first channel will actually get legitimally attack, and solly will play a busy role in securing the fast ball.

cronje…i have no idea why jake persists with this relative of the dinasaur. he is going to do us no favours in securing quick ball. so’oailo is going to hammering him all day in the rucks. in fact the AB’s will laughing at the selection of cronje. joe is our form #8, its just that jake decided to screw him up by playing him openside. i agree that spies has potential and would have liked to see him on the bench. spies’s performance last week was worse than average. as a #8 you have more responsibility than provide cover on the wing and put the up and under in. he has this, as we are constantly informed blinding pace, yet he kicked his opportunities away. spies should be on bench, and come on with 20minutes to go. come on for smith or joe, but preferably on the blindside. i dont think his ruck work is hard enough yet for bok level. he needs to work with aj to get that sorted out.

this bok pack must be one of the lightest we have put together for a long time. the tight 5 are really going to have to lift their commitment around the field, and make use of correct technique at the ruck or we will lose majority of our second phase ball.

hopefully at some stage we see ricky passing to butch, this will get our backs going. fdp has a slow decision making process,,,he first considers dropping the ball, then kick, then run, then pass.

even if we lose saturday, i will be happy if butch makes the position his own. so that our back division can begin to rise to the challenge of the world cup.

• 469.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Keeping_it_real (466)

Classic comment. Good chirp…laughing myself pap.

• 470.svanstaden: Reply to this comment

I think the players are ok, they’ll try hard for sure. Sure Jaco was poor, and now he’s been dropped. But SA’s biggest weakness is ‘adapting’. The ref blew us a quite harsh in the 1st half, but the okes keep doing the same thing. I mean rush defense can be Plan A – but whats Plan B, if the ref blows every close, rush call?? Oh yeah, thats right, looking bewildered and missing crucial non-rush tackles. And then the hearts get broken and Os gets gatvol. But butch has got good hands and Solly’s orright. So go bokke!!! Play nice, man. At least play nice…

• 471.KiaKahaNZ: Reply to this comment

Feel a bit sorry for you guys, how does it feel knowing/thinking your team is going to lose? A team so proud in the tradition of this game up against its old arch enemy. This is a genuine question, not a piss take.

It’s actually quite sad from a rugby purists point of view to see you guys go through this, reminds us of Wales a few years ago, and still going.

Good luck, I genuinely hope your boys stand up and restore some pride if nothing else. Even the Lions didnt just back down last year, they gave it their best, and thats all you can ask of these Springboks.

• 472.svanstaden: Reply to this comment

Ah kiwi pity… Thanks dude -> mebbe just focus on not choking at the wc next year. How does it feel knowing/thinking ur team will choke when rugby purists back them as the favorites at the world cup (again!)

• 473.cane: Reply to this comment

Mark Keohane is quoted in todays ” Dominion Post” (The local Wellington Newspaper).Regarding the George Smith $100 Bonus.

“I know it to be true because I was standing in the changing room, in the huddle, when De Wet Barry took a dreadlock out of his pocket to claim the bounty prize”

• 474.KiaKahaNZ: Reply to this comment

472: Svanstaden

1995:Did we choke, or was that your poison?

1999: Thats an insult to France

2003: One of our only “off days”.

Still, I’d rather have our record than yours.

• 475.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

KiakahaNZ
    from a rugby purist point of view, the all blacks need the boks to play at their highest possible level or there is no true way to measure your team. i think kiwis and saffas agree that the most important game is when our countries play each other. both have strong proud rugby heritages, both hate losing. both have passionate public support.

the current generation of saffa players and supporters are very aware of our need to incorporate transformation, and this ends up being the excuse, where in fact it is the uptake of professionalism in sport that is amiss in our rugby infrastructure. perhaps we have become so professional that the true grit and passion required to play the game is lost. kiwi culture is void to a degree of the idolism that sports ‘stars’ get in sa. the mass publicity is certainly increasing around key players, but nz culture still plays down celebrity types and their impact, and this is good for rugby in nz, but also highlights the present tall poppy chit chat.

bok rugby will always be strong, but it wont dominate until everyone, players and supporters truely believe in the make up and direction of sa rugby.

i dont think any sportsman ever looks ahead and says,”**** we going to get klapped this week”. dont you worry, the boks will come back, harder than ever. if nothing drastic like injury or ref embaressment happen, the game will be close to the finish. as always the boks perform better as underdogs, but that is no way to show your prowess by continueing to play well against the odds. its knowing your strength and delivering on it, always! boks to win 2 point margin!

• 476.svanstaden: Reply to this comment

you right I shouldn’t have said “choke”, I should have said “will have lotsa excuses for losing when they were the favorites”. Furthermore why do u not mention 1991 – hehe when you guys choked or when David Campese ..er.. poisoned yr team

• 477.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

i think the poison the kiwis refer to in 95,,has got something to do with anxiety before the game. they could have taken jerry’s option, a quick pee on the field. i know some of the all blacks were really sick,,,and that is related to food, but how does that happen when they have their own cook that they took with them, or the fact that some of the okes cruised past MacD in build up to their final glory. what does that say about their management team? i love the poison debate, always gets great mileage!

• 478.svanstaden: Reply to this comment

ah, the food poisoning conspiracy theory…china – if we fed you rotten fish, you okes dropped flour bombs on us in 1981. From planes. In the sky. C’mon man, lets be fair…

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.