Kabamba defends SA’s fetchers
19 Jul 2006
Vodacom Cheetahs openside Kabamba Floors believes that this country’s fetchers are amongst the world’s best.
Since the sidelining of Schalk Burger last month, the quest for a specialist No 6 has proved fruitless thus far. On the contrary, Floors is one who believes that Jake White is spoilt for choice.
“I believe that we have the fetchers in this country to excel at the highest level,” he told keo.co.za. “They just need to be given some time to prove themselves.”
Joe van Niekerk has been relegated to the bench after two games in the position. Solly Tybilika is the new man given the job of poaching the ball on the ground, but hasn’t played much for the Sharks or Wildebeest sides this season.
If he has a bad game on Saturday, would it be fair to drop him? You can’t say he’s in poor form, the guy hasn’t played enough this season to receive any such judgement.
Other contenders include Luke Watson, who has been the best openside in this year’s Absa Currie Cup and seems the logical choice to fill the void left by Burger. Besides him, Wikus van Heerden, who was moved to No 6 by White earlier in the year is another option. Hendro Scholtz is also well acknowledged in coaching circles as an excellent player on the ground, and Floors himself has had a huge impact on this year’s domestic competition, despite playing behind Scholtz for the majority of the time.
“Like I said, if I was given the job, if any of the top fetchers in this country were given the job, I think we could do it,” explained Floors.
“Solly Tybilika is capable of doing the job against the All Blacks. He has all the skills, and now it’s just a question of motivation.”
By Jon Cardinelli

64 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All
19 Jul 2006, 18:32 pm
Can u imagine Ollie and QD racing to the lineout and srums, two snails racing. It would be as much fun as watching paint dry.
19 Jul 2006, 18:34 pm
and ollie is a ‘krtkoppie’ ahead of QD is he, is he, is he gonna break the 70s. barrier for the 100m sprint?!
19 Jul 2006, 19:19 pm
Kabamba you Beauty…..wish he was playing Sat!
19 Jul 2006, 20:54 pm
Cab re 44
The only SA team to beat the Crusaders was……?
19 Jul 2006, 20:55 pm
And drew to the Brumbies who had George Smith as openside……..?
19 Jul 2006, 20:57 pm
I am not going to defend the Stormers pathetic season this year, but methinks you didn’t think before you posted #44, because even though the Stormers sucked, they did pretty well against 2 of the sides in S14 who are pretty hard to beat come turnover time.
Now why do you think that could be?
19 Jul 2006, 21:00 pm
Kabamba Floors teaches us good lesson. The man is polished and sharp-sharp in his awareness. Hy blink soos ‘n kombuis vloer en ‘n lounge floor. We are so abundant in this fair country, yet we live and believe we are lacking. Lacking in whatever department in our lives. The commonly known South African chip. Now those that were dossing dikly in dumbland are owning up the the vast fetcher talent in this country. Yoh,yoh,yoh. Who-a-hah.
The problem is how to get Jake in a flash and a wosh of magic put some eye-drops in his eyes so he can check it out for himself. Jakes Road to Damascus light bulb moment. Ting-a-ling-ling sparkes. Ja, boeta Jake, jy moet by kom. As die pap daar, dan moet jy skep. What did Bob Marley sing? “In the abundance of water the fool is thirsty…”
Stay cool you rugby hearts…at least WE’VE turning the corner…Jake will catch us up later.
He owes us big time.
Jake and Jill
went up the hill
to FETCHER pale of water
Jake fell down
and Jill left down
and Jan “Boland” Coetzee, Piet Greyling, Thys Lourens, Andrew Aitken, Luke Watson, Rob Louw, Kabamba Floors, Tim Dulane, Warren Britz, Corne Krige, Rueben Kruger and a whole span of okes in number 6 shirts including MADIBA said,”What a doos”.
Lekkerness with vegetarian biltong…
20 Jul 2006, 08:32 am
Gimme summa that wacky weed, jinx, because you are rambling and I want to be where you are…
Kabamba is actually bloody good, and it would be interesting to see an SA team play TWO fetcher flans and use the idea of running every other SA team (especially those with “big packs” ragged), keeping the ball alive and going through phases with ball in hand without kicking possession away. Kind of an SA Brumbies team. C’mon Rassie- you can do it!!
Wow, imagine an SA team with some skills for a change?
20 Jul 2006, 09:49 am
Blokkies, that would have been a very good point apart from a couple of things:
1) if memory serves the crusaders rested McCaw, Carter and MacDonald for the Stormers game. With McCaw not there its hardly a valid comparison.
2) A draw to the brumbies at home (newlands) is hardly a great result.
20 Jul 2006, 09:52 am
cab – after our season – a draw against the Brumbies is an epic result !
20 Jul 2006, 09:57 am
ha ha … listen Ig, for lion’s supporters like myself such a result is our Everest.
20 Jul 2006, 11:43 am
LOL jinx – nice one!
20 Jul 2006, 22:55 pm
Kabamba is a clown. His definition of “best” is obviously different to everyone else’s. The three best fetchers in the world are Smith, Waugh and McCaw. Then there’s daylight, and then you have Holah and the OZ oke who plays for Queensland. Then you have our players. Schalk is not a scavenging openside, he’s more like Krige, he plays on the ball but is not a fetcher.
23 Jul 2006, 02:03 am
Post 24 sorry a bit late won’t even read this but that nick of yours will really cause you a bit of bother next year , my advice change it.
Pages: « 1 [2] Show All