Parliament wants Jake fired

South Africa’s rugby bosses are set to be hauled before parliamentary sports committee to explain Bok coach Jake White’s “reckless” comments about transformation.

The summons follows the Cape Argus report on Monday in which the embattled coach said he could not call up Western Province captain Luke Watson because of the need to balance the racial make-up of the team.

“We are going to meet these people (SA Rugby) soon. The team is going down,” committee chairperson Butana Komphela told the Cape Argus on Wednesday.

He alleged White had been reckless in blaming transformation for his failure to call up Watson for the Tri-Nations.

Komphela told the Cape Argus: “In our previous meeting with SA Rugby, the issue of Watson was raised and the current president (Oregan Hoskins) told the committee that, ‘We will not be able to pick Watson just because his father was involved in non-racial sport’. ”

Khomphela scorned White’s explanation as excuses or part of a conspiracy. “We do not have a problem with Watson being picked. He is one of the best players around at the moment.”

He suggested that White’s refusal to select Watson had the blessing of powerful people in rugby. “Jake White does not just toss around that arrogance if he is not being backed.”

Even Sports Minister Makhenkesi Stofile’s office has called White’s “sudden concern” for transformation a bluff.

“The problem with Jake is that he has never considered transformation as an issue before,” said Makhenkesi’s spokesperson, Bongie Sishi.

“It is surprising that he is making it an issue now. If he is using transformation well, it will bear fruits instead of excuses.”

Komphela suggested that White should be fired.

“The tendency of marginalising players under the pretext of transformation is criminal and reckless,” he said. “I am emphasising today that when we said Jake White must go we were not (wrong). He must go.”

436 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] Show All

• 401.big g: Reply to this comment

sorry for a moment thought i was on a rugby site…

• 402.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

Mourinho to coach boks!!!!!!

• 403.rugbinho: Reply to this comment

Its amazing that all you guys are now really attacking the parliament people.

When Jake said that he couldn’t pick Watson because of transformation it was blamed on the parliamentarians but now they have cleared the air. Its not them talking ****.

Sometimes its tough to understand how whites think.

One minute Jake is kak, next minute he is king. yet our parliament guys are always kak consistently.

I just imagine how the feeling would have been if Alec Erwin was saying Bhutana’s words. Its not what you say but who says it.

Its now out in the clear that Jake’s excuse of not picking Watson is not related to transformation but his personal hatred of the guy since the under 21 days, but for once the parliament guys says the truth as it is.

Guys must not hide behind tranformation for personal vendetta ****.

our parliament just can’t say something right except the days of PW Botha.

One should really pray that Madiba lives for more birthday to come.

• 404.wpw: Reply to this comment

kir

they are gonna do well but watch ‘pool. just signed a few s.americans as well as bellamy and got rid of morientes and a few others…

we are also interested in a brizilian who plays in spain. alves is his name…

• 405.ikeys_forever: Reply to this comment

keepin_it_real, 406, with whose rubles?

• 406.big g: Reply to this comment

and i want parliament fired… so …

• 407.big g: Reply to this comment

you still around ikeys…

• 408.ikeys_forever: Reply to this comment

yep!

• 409.big g: Reply to this comment

and what ya up to?

• 410.Murph: Reply to this comment

The Great Hard Man QD will Start for Freestate on Sat !!!

Go The Great One !

• 411.ikeys_forever: Reply to this comment

becoming acquainted with my electric blanket ;-) and you?

• 412.big g: Reply to this comment

in short skirt and skimpy top ready for the durban cocktail scene n a while…

just been busy today and needed to catch up on some rugby news…

i am so so happy jaco’kie didnt even make the bench!!

• 413.ikeys_forever: Reply to this comment

“short skirt and skimpy top’ brrrrrrrrrr! i can’t even imagine! chilly in pta!

enjoy cocktails, have one for me!

PS! Koos will be so jealous if he sees someone else talking to you! hehe!

• 414.big g: Reply to this comment

koos he he… he makes me giggle…

durbs has bn so nice and warm the last while, although a nice electric blanket and some good company also sounds like a plan… enjoy the evening and yip, will have a strwberry daq on you then…

• 415.ikeys_forever: Reply to this comment

thanks g, look after yourself and drive safely.

• 416.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

ladies…….

• 417.big g: Reply to this comment

hmmmmm hmmmmm yes …..

• 418.MaraudingJ: Reply to this comment

MESSAGE TO PARLIAMENT:

THIS IS NONE OF YOUR ******* BUSINESS.

I REPEAT:

THIS IS NONE OF YOUR ******* BUSINESS.

These are PRIVATE ventures. This is a PROFESSIONAL sport. The fact that you have transformation demand already transcends your bounds, but at least that can be defended on ethical grounds. This type of interference can’t.

This type of stuff makes me angry. REALLY angry.

• 419.MaraudingJ: Reply to this comment

re #407 – rugbinho:

1. So the assumption is automatically that they’re telling the truth? As far as I’m concerned, both parties are talking kak.

2. Parliament was talking kak even then. And before. Parliament has never stopped talking kak. It’s just a different type of kak now, and this one doesn’t even have to do with public politics.

• 420.skip pass: Reply to this comment

taken from Sarfu website

“Yesterday I listened to the tape from the media conference, and this is what Jake White said: “Watson has never been part of our squad. What message would I be sending to Solly, who is doing the job here, when I bring in another flank all the way from home. There is also the question of relationships with players, that’s important. Solly has been part of our set-up over two years.”

• 421.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

How you big g……..

Still doing well…..

Sorry for your team hey…..Lions won Sharks lost to minno’s…..Boks got klapped……not the greatest of rugby weekends for you hey….

• 422.David: Reply to this comment

I seem to remember Komphela actually admitting he knew nothing about rugby.
    However, after spending some time on keo.co.za posting under the pseudonym of “stan” he is now able to talk with authority about the iniquities of transformation.

• 423.Bongani: Reply to this comment

Butana is a buffoon! Pray tell what he has ever delivered in his gravy tenure? Useless the lot of them … obviously an attempt to draw the attention away from the safety & security excuse that prevails in SA at the moment. Idiot.

• 424.CouchRugga: Reply to this comment

Those brainless wonders in parliament couldn’t fire a gun!

• 425.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

couchrugga,

How you think they got there cars…….

• 426.kayzeten: Reply to this comment

It’s amazing how history repeats itself. Mallet started losing games especially after he dropped Teichmann and other key players, then everyone called for his head. He stayed on but made comments about the price of test tickets. His bosses did not like the statement he made and it led to his departure. White started losing games when he for some inexplicable reason leave in form players out of the team. Everyone then called for his head. He stayed on, but is now making statements regarding transformation which is upsetting some of his bosses in Parliament….what next? Is history going to repeat itself and we are going to see White’s departure soon?

• 427.umbhoxoswede: Reply to this comment

Perhaps if we had the whole interview with Jake where he mentiones keeping the colour freeks happy we could judge him. But i for one reckon its out of context.

• 428.umbhoxoswede: Reply to this comment

Bye the way mallett dropped Teich because his form was **** at the time.

• 429.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Goshed I have laughed so much reading some of these posts. Damn fine humour. Eish, I feel healed by the nuttiness and beauty of the originality of some of these chirps. I’ve laughed myself pap. Thanks.

Lekkerness and vegetarian biltong…

• 430.kayzeten: Reply to this comment

# 428 .. Interesting comment. If my memory serves me correct Teichmann was at that very moment voted the world rugby player of the year. Teichmann was not dropped because of his form. He was dropped to make way for an “injured” Bobby Skinstad. The real reason Mallett dropped Teichmann was because of the fall out between the two during the NZ tour when Teichmann tried to defend Gaffie and Von Hoeselin after Mallett shat on them for the bad performance of the Bokke. When Teichmann told Mallett to calm down, Mallett told Teichmann to ***** off. Teichmann jumped forward to go for Mallett and Jouba and others grabbed Teichmann and stopped him from moering Mallett. Teichmann was immediately dropped as captain and a very reluctant Rassie took over as captain for the remainder of the tour. By sacking Teichmann, Mallett killed the goose that laid the golden eggs. It was the beginning of Mallett’s downfall. Even Louis Luyt stated that Teichmann was the best ever Springbok captain.

• 431.CouchRugga: Reply to this comment

Jinx where can I get Vegetarian Biltong?

• 432.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Sun dried tomatoes from the Italian deli. Dried apricots, prunes etc from the local supermarket.

• 433.pieterman: Reply to this comment

Rugbino(403), you miss the point about “whites” being prejediced (ref. Alec Erwin, BK and parliament).
    Read All Boks (326) and wise up. It’s all about picking the best players to represent the Green and Gold, that’s the way it’s been and that’s the way it’s going to be, unless you want to be relegated to a “Sambokka’ Cup team playing in the African multi-nations competition.
    Breyten, Errol, Chester, Wayne, Quentin, Jerome, Simba, Habana and you name them, they all did their province and country proud because they were GOOD and they did’t rely on some legislative order from parliament to show their mettle.
    So, **** the politics and let’s play the game with our best players available. I don’t care if we have a team of 15 ‘Khoi-Khoi’ with Bennie Alexander as captain, as long as we don’t bring shame the country the way we did last Saturday.
    I can assure Rugbino, that’s the feeling of the majority of hard-core white rugby supporters.
    We don’t like losing 49-0 at international level, we’re not used to it…period.

• 434.oink12: Reply to this comment

Just give the boks some space, then they might be able to think clearly

• 435.Dutchman: Reply to this comment

There has been a political attack on SA rugby since 1994 or a bit earlier, and it is busy peaking. Suppose Jake wont be able to use transformation as an excuse this Saturday or he wil get fired.

Its a Joke. He asked for management help and now they want to fire him. Dont fire him for performance or any other reason. Fire him for calling a spade a spade. Make him a matyr

• 436.Alibaba: Reply to this comment

Irony!!!!! Thanks Khompela, you beaut! Now half of SA rugby supporters support Jake again… :-) Go Bokke!!!

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 [9] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.