Show us some fight Bokke
20 Jul 2006
Keo, in his News24 column, writes that redemption will come in the attitude of the Boks on Saturday and not because of any statistical data the team management brings to the next press conference.
White’s obsession with statistics could lead to him being central to the most dramatic of statistics. It is possible, given the Boks’ schedule for the rest of the year, that the Bok coach could lose his next eight Tests.
The Boks play the All Blacks three more times, the Aussies twice and then travel to Dublin and London, where they lost under White when the Boks were Tri-Nations champs.
If this worst-case scenario should unfold (and we all have had our knees stapled to the ground in prayer that this is not the case) then White’s winning percentage will drop below 60%, which would put him in a class of mediocrity as far as Bok coaches go.
And if this ever did happen (and pray it won’t South Africans), then White would be fired and he would depart with the Boks ranked seventh in the world.
That’s the cruelty of statistics. They never stay the same. A month ago White was being hailed for taking the Boks from sixth in the world to number two. In a few months time he could be crucified for taking them from sixth to seventh.
A month ago White’s communications machine put out – as a milestone – a statement reflecting the following: “If the Boks beat France at Newlands, Jake White will become the second most successful Springbok coach of all time with a 71.43% winning record”.
Talk of putting the cart in front of the horse. If ever a coach wanted to rile the rugby gods or tempt fate, that was it. Kitch Christie, with a home World Cup win and 14 successive Test wins, will always be remembered as the most successful coach statistically.
But his record has to be put in context. He never took a team to France. He never took a team on tour to New Zealand and Australia. He was only in the job for a year and he did the most brilliant of ambulance jobs. His circumstances were different to any other who has coached the Boks.
Nick Mallett, with three years in the job, which included three Tri-Nations and one World Cup, is the measurement of a coach whose record could leave no questions as to who his teams played against, where or when. There were three big cycles in those three years.
Mallett ended with a 71% win record in his first tenure as Bok coach. I say first because don’t bet against him having a second.
So I found White’s ‘point 43 of a percentage’ amusing. What I found even more amusing was the fact that South Africa had not yet beaten France. What the press statement didn’t say was that if the Boks lost then White’s winning percentage would be 68% and if they lost to Australia it would drop even more and if they lost to New Zealand… and so on and so on.
With Uruguay and the like in the mix any statistic is inflated. The measurement of any Bok coach is how he fares against the top four. And anything over 50% is acceptable because of the closeness in competition and the amount of away games played.
White, to date, has won seven from 16, with his away record one from eight. That’s the statistic that White and his communications team should have been putting forward if they wanted to use statistics to make a point of perceived success. White’s predecessor won two from 12 against the big boys and never won on the road.
So White definitely has made improvement. He also broke the duck against the All Blacks. Don’t forget the Boks had lost eight in succession. White has won two from four and with a bit of luck could have won all four.
Statistics, as Jake has found out in the last month, are easily manipulated if presented in isolation.
There has to be context to every statistic and the significant one now is the heartbeat of Jake White’s Bok team.
Saturday’s Test against the All Blacks is not about how many Test caps the squad has, White’s winning percentage as Bok coach, how many black players are in the match 22 or the All Blacks 20-match unbeaten home run.
The only statistic will be the one that no one can measure – and that’s the heartbeat and size of every Bok player’s ticker.
Saturday is an opportunity not for victory but for redemption. Those who played in Brisbane and get to play again in Wellington have to show the South African public that they’ve got a heart. They have to show they have fight in them.
In Brisbane the Boks were condemned for how they lost. They waved the white flag. In Wellington the meek must transform and the only flag these bulls must recognise is the red one the All Blacks will be waving at them.
Show us some heart Bokke. That’s all we want. A victory would be like the lotto. You buy a ticket hoping for victory but never expecting it.
We hope for a win, but when it comes to effort, we damn right demand it as a rugby public.

470 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] Show All
20 Jul 2006, 18:36 pm
Hmmm #430 Touche` eina,
and Original Hobbit, you shoulda warned me sooner!
20 Jul 2006, 18:41 pm
I can’t believe we lost by 49 points with nearly all these players to choose from:
Team A
15 G Aplon
14 J Fourie
13 B Habana
12 J De Villiers
11 S Basson
10 B James
9 R Pienaar
8 J Van Niekerk
7 J Smith
6 S Burger
5 V Matfield
4 B Botha
3 C Visagie
2 S Brits
1 J Smit
Team B:
15 P Montgomery
14 J P Pietersen
13 M Joubert
12 W Olivier
11 B Russell
10 M Bosman
9 M Classens
8 P Wannenberg
7 W Van Heerden
6 L Watson
5 S Boome
4 J Moller
3 G Steenkamp
2 G Botha
1 O Durandt
Team C
15 B Fortuin
14 A Ndungane
13 B barrit
12 D Barry
11 O Ndungane
10 A Pretoriuos
9 F Du Preez
8 R Diack
7 K Floors
6 T Dlalane
5 A Vd Berg
4 H Louw
3 C J Vd Linde
2 D Coetzee
1 L Sepahka
20 Jul 2006, 18:43 pm
Alon tough and lots of guts but he looks a little unstable when the south-easter blows in Newlands… I also think Datsun Paulse experienced that enlightening effect because I ain’t never seen him play there with an afro wig!
20 Jul 2006, 18:44 pm
ha ha, cab – braveheart, steak, nokia, golf gti… Yes! We’re all different!
20 Jul 2006, 19:06 pm
smurf……..you have made so many weird selections there it will take me all night to reveal……
20 Jul 2006, 19:13 pm
neil… man that video is harsh. Those commentators… well actually i think they may be right. not by 250 points but maybe 25 (at least) I pray not. As long as Butch is on form, and solly puts in an awsome performance.
20 Jul 2006, 19:17 pm
I want to pass on some sincere best wishes to Jake White as I have just been informed that, Today, is International Day for retards. Please send an encouraging message to a retarded friend, just as I have done. I don’t care if you lick windows, interfere with farm animals, are a Bok selector/coach or occasionally **** yourself (remember last Sat with the Aussies). You hang in there sunshine you’re special
20 Jul 2006, 19:29 pm
Zinto’s WC squad:
15. Percy Montgomery/JP Pietersen/Gio Aplon
14. Tonderia Chavanga/Odwa Ndungane/Akona Ndungane
13. Jaque Fourie/Ronnie Cook/Marius Joubert
12. Jean de Villiers/Brad barret/De Wet Barry
11. Bryan Habana/Jongi Nokwe/Henno Mentz
10. Andre Pretorius/Butch James/Meyer Bosman
9. Ruaan Pienaar/Ricky Januarie/Fourie du Preez
8. Joe van Niekerk/Pierre Spies/Jonathan Mukuena
7. Juan Smith/Tim Dlulane/Wikus van Heerden
6. Schalk Burger/Luke Watson/Kabamba Floors
5. Victor Matfield/Selborne Boome/Ross Skeate
4. Bakkies Botha/Johan Ackerman/Danie Roussow
3. Cobus Visagie/BJ Botha/CJ van der Linde
2. John Smit/Schalk Brits/Chilliboy Rallepele
1. Guthro Steenkamp/Os du Randt/Eddie Andrews
20 Jul 2006, 19:44 pm
Match 22:\
1. Guthro Steenkamp
2. John Smit
3. Cobus Visagie
4. Bakkies Botha
5. Victor Matfield
6. Schalk Burger
7. Juan Smith
8. Joe van Niekerk
9. Ruaan Pienaar
10. Andre Pretorius
11. Bryan Habana
12. Jean de Villiers
13. Jaque Fourie
14. Tonderia Chavanga
15. JP Pietersen
16. Os du Randt
17. Schalk Brits
18. Danie Roussow
19. Luke Watson
20. Ricky Januarie
21. Percy Montgomery
22. Odwa Ndungane
20 Jul 2006, 21:11 pm
hah 460 and goodnight
20 Jul 2006, 21:42 pm
come one bokke show some testicle!!!!
20 Jul 2006, 21:45 pm
Eiers Eiers!
20 Jul 2006, 22:28 pm
EK WENS DIE BOKKE KRY A MOERSE PAK DAN KAN JAKE EENKEER SY GAT SIEN
21 Jul 2006, 02:09 am
ig slaap so ek is baas. skim nou kan jy sommer hoender eet.
21 Jul 2006, 03:20 am
Zinto
Nice team ,but forget about January and replace him with one of FdP,Conradie or new boy Vermaak….all in bettter form than RJ.
Also Chavanga is lightning but I just dont see him facing up to the top teams,however I do see brothers Ndungane and Pietersen somehow.
Replace TC with Odwa then.
Lastly Guthro…..he was great like Willemse was too but the players remind me of one another….just cant shake the injuries ,they are out more than in. Is it realistic to pick them? It drives me masd when Jake keeps crying about Ashwin….he has not bee a part of it for so long (altho great in one and only game back),its not valid……but when he mention MJoubert it makes me even more the moer in as MJ should not be picked if he was uninjured cos of serious lack of form and confidence. these boys must make it back through the Curry cup system.
21 Jul 2006, 04:45 am
Boks to win this Saturday. Yeah rite, he he I’ve got this thread all to my self Koos are you there? or what.
21 Jul 2006, 06:26 am
pompies,
are you related to windpompies of griquas?
21 Jul 2006, 07:41 am
Must say interesting posting on http://www.sarugby.net
Jooste refutes media claims…
Posted on Wednesday, July 19, 2006 – 10:18
Springbok convener of selectors Peter Jooste and the Springbok management have refuted claims that coach Jake White said flank Solly Tyibilika was in the team because of SA Rugby’s Transformation programme.
A South African newspaper quoted White as saying the player had been selected because he was black.
Springbok selector Peter Jooste, who was at the media conference where White made the statement, said the report was “mischievous and caused unnecessary confusion†among Springbok supporters.
“It is unfortunate that such unnecessary confusion and misrepresentation of facts had to take place before such an important game,†said Jooste. “White was responding to a question about why he did not bring in Luke Watson. He did not say Watson’s selection would negatively impact SA Rugby’s transformation programme. He said Tyibilika had been with the team over the past two years and had built a strong relationship with him as a player – and was also delivering the goods for the side.
“Yesterday I listened to the tape from the media conference, and this is what Jake White said: “Watson has never been part of our squad. What message would I be sending to Solly, who is doing the job here, when I bring in another flank all the way from home. There is also the question of relationships with players, that’s important. Solly has been part of our set-up over two years.â€
The impression is now created that White has turned Tyibilika into a “quota†player, meaning that he is not good enough to be a Springbok, said Jooste.
“People who write these things do not take into account the effect this has on the player and his future. Now the world thinks we are doing Tyibilika a favour. The truth is that he is a Springbok with five Tests and three tries to his name. He has never lost a match as a Springbok. Could it be said we are doing such a player a favour?â€
Springbok Media Manager Vusi Kama, who chaired the media conference, also agreed with Jooste. “It is a misrepresentation of what was said. The journalist concerned opted to take a particular slant on White’s statement. He did not imply that Solly is in the squad to make up the number of black players. That would be an insult to the natural abilities of Solly Tyibilika, who has been impressive as a Bok player.â€
Jooste also slated sections of the South African media for not questioning Tyibilika’s Provincial Union’s disregard for him in the Vodacom Super 14 series. “They did not question the fact that a Springbok was deemed not good enough to be in the Vodacom Super 14. Only now when he takes a place he deserves in the national team they start raising their voices. It’s confusing.â€
21 Jul 2006, 08:14 am
well never mind the newsprint media I heard and saw with my own eyes Jake White spew that drivel on SABC news channel. This Jooste oke is a ponce and how the hell did he get to be convenor of the selectors…..I am afraid to ask is he blek?
21 Jul 2006, 08:15 am
470 Bingo yeah I am bored
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] Show All