Patience to beat Province

Patience is the key if the Valke are going to upset Vodacom Western Province in an Absa Currie Cup match in Brakpan tonight.

Valke coach John Williams has stressed the point during training sessions this week following his teams’ defeat to the Lions last weekend.

“We kicked away too much ball and if we do that against Western Province, they will punish us,” Williams told keo.co.za. “We need to show a far greater degree of patience.”

“Against the Lions we kicked when perhaps we should have kept the ball in hand. We will still use our tactical kicking game, but it must be emplyed at the right time.”

Province is looking a very balanced team at the moment and their physical edge cannot be discounted. It was a factor the Blue Bulls struggled with a fortnight ago.

“Not only do they have the power up front, but they also boast great speed on the outside.” Province coach Kobus van der Merwe has stacked his bench with an extra forward to combat the Valke’s strength.

And Province is on something of an upward curve having downed the Blue Bulls and Cheetahs on consecutive weekends, but if they are arrogant tonight, they could come back to earth with a bump.

And Williams, the astute coach that he is has planned well. “We will stick to our usual game plan, but we have a few things we want to try in the game that we have worked on this week.”

By Andrew Hollely

129 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

• 101.JH: Reply to this comment

Blue all the way is this the one

• 102.suparugby: Reply to this comment

BUUUUUUUUUUULLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLEEEEEEE

IIIIIIIISSSSSSSSSSSSS

BAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAASSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS

OOOOOOOOOPPPPPPPPPP

DDDDDDDDDDDDIIIIIIIIIIEEEEEEEEEEEE

TTTTTTTHHHHHRRRRRRREEEEEEEEAAAAAADDDDDDD!!!!

• 103.Skim: Reply to this comment

Supa you ******.

• 104.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Skim

Pls post rugby posts…you know Ig warned you yesterday…and i see you missed another 100…you are quickly going down

• 105.Hoops: Reply to this comment

when Basson through that dummy for his try last weekend even the bulls players got caught with it!!!

• 106.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Ig 1

Skim 0

• 107.suparugby: Reply to this comment

all I remember was that Basson rounded Brits one on one…and same Problems ladies were screaming to make him a 12!

• 108.suparugby: Reply to this comment

some

• 109.Bluecap: Reply to this comment

Supa, it’s so sad to see a chaps spirit knocked out of him eh.

• 110.Bluecap: Reply to this comment

I wish I could say I’m totally confident about tonight, but I see Pissant has given the Bulls a win on Superbrue, and he’s got all the games right for two weeks now, not only the win, but the friggin score as well. He must have an inside man.

• 111.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Bluecap

Hoop hy is weer reg! Gaan nou wildtuin toe – sien almal maandag. Last thought for the day: Skim eats the ****

• 112.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Bulle 32

Haaie 26

go BULLE!!!!!!!!!!!

• 113.phoeboe: Reply to this comment

Hoop my geliefde streeptruie kan hierdie een deurhaak. Sou bitter graag wou kyk, maar word ongelukkig gedwing om bulle/sharks te ondersteun. Dit is maar moeilik om die enigste
    WP ondersteuner in die huis te wees.
    Hi Supa

• 114.JH: Reply to this comment

Skim, talking of retards, did you know it was international retards day yesterday, i understand its been extended to Saturday in New Zealand, it takes a while for the message to sink in, ag shame

• 115.suparugby: Reply to this comment

Hi phoeboe

Gaan nou waai – yeah naweek! Sterkte vir jou span in BRAKPAN!! Valke gaan at least die fight wen (en hopelik die game) Skree vir die Bulle vanaand sodat ons n Bulls/WP final kan sien!

Sterkte Bokke!

• 116.David: Reply to this comment

Bluecap
    PA’s gets it from his indian bookie.

• 117.phoeboe: Reply to this comment

Doodreg Supa!

Sal die Bulle ondersteun en dan die Wp vlag
    op loftus swaai in die finaal.
    Lekker naweek

• 118.Bluecap: Reply to this comment

David, then that Boekie is worth his salt eh.

phoeboe, It looks to me like it’s time for you to look at a dual decoder. OK, you’ll sit all on your own, but what the hell.

• 119.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

So what position does this Patience play for the Valke?

is she going to “clean out’ the rucks?

• 120.JH: Reply to this comment

isn’t she the team physio?

• 121.phoeboe: Reply to this comment

Bluecap
    Its very lonely in Bluebull country, especially when you are a passionate WP supporter.
    a final between the North and South will be pretty awesome. Like the good old days

• 122.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

phoeboe,
    i have a superstition that the Boks only do well in years that both the WP and Bulls are firing on all cylinders…

• 123.snoop: Reply to this comment

I disagree

A WP Sharks final would be far more entertaining.

The Bulls game would be a dour affair and the less Bulls in the Bok squad the better.

• 124.hdp: Reply to this comment

Valke to pull a fast one on problems

• 125.phoeboe: Reply to this comment

Bluebard

Thats so true. WP is still building and the Bulls
    will always be a force. So, watch the boks in 2008. Afraid its to late for next year.

• 126.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

snoop
    gaan eet kopkaas.

• 127.bluebarb: Reply to this comment

pooper snooper.

• 128.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

BlueBul supporters snuif almal matgom.

• 129.Lemoen: Reply to this comment

hdp

Problems pull fast one on Naas paas haas valke!!

Pages: « 1 2 [3] Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.