No surprises from Sharks

The Sharks are looking to take five points from their Absa Currie Cup match against the Valke in Brakpan on Friday.

Coach Dick Muir has made five changes to the side that lost to the Vodacom Free State Cheetahs.

Brendan Botha has been included after being cleared of foul play and Bismarck du Plessis is being rested, giving Skipper Badenhorst a start at hooker.

Brad Barritt has failed to recover from a shoulder injury so Ruan Pienaar plays at flyhalf with Scott Mathie at scrumhalf. In midfield Muir rotates his centres as Andries Strauss and Waylon Murray play in midfield. Cedric Mkhize fills the gap left by Murray on the wing and impressive debutant Francois Steyn is retained at fullback.

To secure a home semi-final the Sharks have to win games against weaker opposition like the Valke. But an early season loss to Griquas and last weekend’s defeat will leave Muir’s men under no illusions about the task that awaits.

Sharks team to play the Valke (7pm Friday):

15. Francois Steyn 14. Cedric Mkhize 13. Waylon Murray 12. Andries Strauss 11. Craig Burden 10. Ruan Pienaar 9. Scott Mathie 8. AJ Venter (c) 7. Jacques Botes 6. Warren Britz 5. Steven Sykes 4. Wouter Moore 3. Brendon Botha 2. Skipper Badenhorst 1. Kees Lensing
Subs: 16. Jody Jenneker 17. Danie Saayman 18. Ryan Kankowski 19. Keegan Daniel 20. Grant Rees 21. Adrian Jacobs 22. Gcobani Bobo