Luke launches new look

Having Luke Watson on the cover of the new-look SA Rugby magazine, on sale today, could not be more appropriate.

sar_116.jpgRugby teams, like magazines, cannot stand still. Stick with the same game plan for too long and you’ll lose your cutting edge. Stay in your comfort zone and you’ll never make progress. Ignore new ideas and you’ll never produce anything new.

We have evolved our look and gone graphic to give the mag a vibe more in keeping with 2006. The use of angles, italicised text and 2D shapes, make the mag reader-friendly and easier on the eye. The content remains as good as ever.

In the mag this month:

– How the SABC snubbed rugby

– Why the Boks need a fetcher

– Rating refs: We publish a full referees evaluation report from the Super 14

– Butch James’s Bok comeback

– Why Aaron Mauger is the key man in the All Black backline

– Our proposal for a World Club Championship

– Q&A with Chris Latham

– Columns from Naas, Mallett and Keo

28 Comments

• 1.Swaargawie: Reply to this comment

I see in the Sunday Times Western Province has now become Watson Province…

• 2.Sremrots: Reply to this comment

No 1 Luke.

• 3.oxfordshark: Reply to this comment

This looks like “pimp my mag”

• 4.lionking: Reply to this comment

This is old news !!

already discussed this last week ?

Keo are you struggling for content?

• 5.Skabenga: Reply to this comment

Keo, dude, get off the Luke bandwagon its becoming a big fat bore now, Luke SHURRUP and play Rugby you bleating little twat, disrespectful gits…

• 6.keo: Reply to this comment

Lionking … you discussed Watson last week. Today we’re telling you what’s in the mag and it extends beyond Watson and making you alert to the fact that it is on sale in the shops today.

That’s not old news. That’s today’s news.

• 7.BobZimmerman: Reply to this comment

Gee are you people deserate for sales or what.
    Your whole promo speech about changing and improving is undone by Luke wearing the now ancient Stormers jersey.

• 8.martin123: Reply to this comment

I wish you hipocrates would pick on someone else, a has been maybe like Wylie Human or Johan Roets

• 9.Windhoek.Lager: Reply to this comment

Skabenga, take your own advice.

• 10.lionking: Reply to this comment

Keo

dont worry I buy your Mag, all I am saying is that you had the exact article promotting the mag on this site last week , word for word nothing new added!!

• 11.Arthur: Reply to this comment

My apologies if I’ve missed it, but I’m still waiting to see a thread about what was headline news on independent sites and in the print media. Luke Watson’s comments in Sports Illustrated.

• 12.Simon: Reply to this comment

Arthur,

You must have missed it. Shucks

• 13.keo: Reply to this comment

Arthur … you didn’t miss it, but as a courtesy to SASI we did not run their story on our site. If it interests you so much go and buy the mag, although after seeing it on IOL and in the Argus they kind of gave you the entire mag for R3.50 instead of R25.95

• 14.Joke_Wrong: Reply to this comment

What a handsome young man.

• 15.Arthur: Reply to this comment

My apologies for misunderstanding site policy. I could have sworn that I’d previously seen stories that began in other print or web media (such as IOL) being discussed, with acnowledgement. And I assumed that this was because they were of general and topical interest.

• 16.sony: Reply to this comment

skabenga praat net kak….

• 17.RedLion!: Reply to this comment

Lions!

We should buy Luke … problems are turning him into a poster boy and he will in turn get a big head.

• 18.sony: Reply to this comment

redlion

do you really want luke to dissappear like all those talented players lions broke!?

• 19.Karibu: Reply to this comment

After reading the SASI article I have no doubt that Luke will not become a Springbok as long as JW is the coach.

• 20.girl6: Reply to this comment

Joke Wrong I hope you werent being sarcastic he IS a handsome young man!

But yeah REd lIon I agree he mosstl ikely is a getting a HUGE head as a result of all this median attention they must stop now or they’ll ruin him!! he’ll become a “celeberity” bleah

• 21.AndyMcNabFAN: Reply to this comment

What was in the SASI interview? I heard he is becoming JUST like ALL the Western Problems players. Oh well, another one bites the dust…

• 22.Skabenga: Reply to this comment

Hey windhoek and go dop another you suiplap doos…
    and Sony go change my brakepads you thick plank…
    I insult Luke you insult me, go away little boys and learn to play properly on the forums, lamers…missing the point ekse…

• 23.tsunami: Reply to this comment

though i havent read the mag yet but i think Luke is a brilliant player no matter what anyone says, “bigga up” Luke and i know u guys will neva give us a s@#t mag

• 24.Number 4: Reply to this comment

Warra warra warra, how much more do we have to hear about Luke, sure he is a great player and worthy of recodnition, but if you guys go on like this he’ll think he is a bloody celebrity. But as long as Jakey is the coach Luke ain’t gonna make it. Maybe after the world cup. Why don’t you take a look at Stefan Basson or Marius Delport Keo. For new Bulls they are really making an impact. Stefan…a replacement for Percy?

• 25.Darth1: Reply to this comment

All the Watson are interested in is Money. Ask him to donate his Springbok earnings to a black charity for aids in the Eaastern Cape where it is needed. But no, he wants to be superman and he says he does not want any girl friends. Is he ***? Who is he trying to fool? He should come out of the closet. The born again…the taliban?

• 26.madeleinvn: Reply to this comment

of all the rugby players they chose the best to launch the new look mag; just a shame jake is to blind to see watson is one of the best candidates for a springbok; and i’m not even a stormers supporter!!

• 27.SA fan4life: Reply to this comment

I just luv da magazine! Every aricle is interesting and worth reading (even Naas Bothas columns). Keep up da brilliant work.

• 28.SA fan4life: Reply to this comment

Give Luke a break. Yes all the attention can be destructive but Luke can handle it. He is playing brilliant rugby and maybe Jake White can skrik wakker and smell the coffee.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.