Mitchell back for Wobblies

Wallabies coach John Connolly has added Drew Mitchell to his 25-man squad for the one-off test against the Springboks in South Africa.

Mitchell, the rookie of the year in 2005, replaces the suspended Lote Tuqiri.

Connolly has stuck with the squad he has invested in during the Vodacom Tri Nations and he emphasised the challenge facing the Wallabies in Johannesburg. The Australians have won just one Tri Nations match in South Africa since the tournament started, a 19-18 win in Durban, while the only other success since the Boks’ reintroduction to test rugby came in 1992 when the then World Champion Wallabies crushed the Boks 26-3 at Newlands.

Outside of that they’ve copped a beating every time.

The Wallabies will stay in Johannesburg as part of the preparation, doing away with the traditional coastal preparation they’ve employed in the last decade. The All Blacks have adopted a similar approach this year.

Wallabies (to play South Africa): Al Baxter, Rodney Blake, Mark Chisholm, Rocky Elsom, Scott Fava, Mark Gerrard, Matt Giteau, George Gregan (c), Stephen Larkham, Chris Latham, Tai McIsaac, Drew Mitchell, Stirling Mortlock (vc), Wycliff Palu, Jeremy Paul, Clyde Rathbone, Benn Robinson, Mat Rogers, Nathan Sharpe, Brett Sheehan, Cameron Shepherd, Guy Shepherdson, George Smith, Dan Vickerman (vc), Phil Waugh.