Otago’s curse continues

Canterbury retained the Ranfurly Shield when they beat Otago 22-17 in Christchurch on Saturday.

Otago led 14-8 with 20 minutes to go, but Canterbury went back in front when prop Campbell Johnstone peeled off from a line-out drive.

Cameron McIntyre scored five minutes later, with Ben Blair’s sideline conversion requiring the challengers to score twice.

A late try from Josh Blackie brought Otago within striking range, but Canterbury hung on for the win.

It is now 49 years since the blue and golds held the shield, with the barren run set to tick over past the half-century mark when next they get a shot at the famous log.

Canterbury - Tries: Mose Tuiali’i, Campbell Johnstone, Cameron McIntyre. Conversion: Ben Blair. Penalty: Blair.
Otago - Tries: Greg Zampach, Josh Blackie. Conversion: Nick Evans. Penalties: Evans (2).