No play for contract Boks

Saru has confirmed that all 24 contracted Springboks will be withdrawn from the remainder of the Absa Currie Cup.

This means that Hanyani Shimange, De Wet Barry (both WP) and Wayne Julies (Lions) will not be allowed to play for their provinces again this season, even though they have been dropped by Bok coach Jake White.

The other provincial CEOs refused the request for the three players to be released, saying it would be unfair.

Andy Marinos, Saru’s manager of national teams, was furious at the decision.

“The Sharks will have Ruan Pienaar, BJ Botha, Johann Muller and AJ Venter back from national duty. Andre Pretorius and Lawrence Sephaka have returned to the Lions, while Wynand Olivier, Akona Ndungane, Pierre Spies and Pedrie Wannenburg are all back at the Blue Bulls.

“In view of this I fail to see how the continued participation of the requested three would give their teams an unfair advantage.”

The following group of contracted players will not participate in the Currie Cup and instead attend a national training camp in Johannesburg from 18 September to 14 October:

Eddie Andrews, De Wet Barry, Marius Joubert, Wayne Julies, Hanyani Shimange, Joe Van Niekerk, Bakkies Botha, Gurthro Steenkamp, Ashwin Willemse, Schalk Burger, Jacques Cronje, Jean De Villiers, Fourie Du Preez, Os du Randt, Jaque Fourie, Bryan Habana, Ricky Januarie, Victor Matfield, Percy Montgomery, John Smit, Juan Smith, Albert van den Berg and CJ van der Linde.

Saru has requested that the following players attend the training camp for at least one day per week:

Chiliboy Ralepelle, Johann Muller, Butch James, Ruan Pienaar, BJ Botha, Andre Pretorius and Pierre Spies.