Release the Russell rocket

Brent Russell is our most potent attacking weapon and he’s desperate to be used.

mag_cover.jpgIn a revealing interview with SA Rugby magazine, on sale this week, Russell expresses his frustration at the way he’s been treated by our coaches.

“Could I have achieved as much as Matt Gitaeu if I’d been given a chance? That’s a question I’ve had many years to think about,” he told the magazine. “Have I been properly utilised by South African rugby? I believe I could have been played more, I could have been better utilised.

“To be honest, I can’t really relate to Giteau at the moment, because I’m in such a different space. I can’t tell you how good a player I could be, because I don’t know myself.”

– The next generation: Ruan Pienaar, JP Pietersen and Brad Barritt

– All-out attack: changing our mindset

– Why SuperSport’s commentators suck

– Andre Pretorius: “I haven’t reached my best”

– Exposing SA’s goal-kicking myths

– Coaches circle: Nick Mallett, Brendan Venter, Gysie Pienaar and Chester Williams on the way forward

– Jeremy Guscott writes about England’s new man in charge, Rob Andrew

– Lote Tuqiri rates Bryan Habana

– Why the Boks need a full-time defence coach

– SA players in France (and why they left)

– Why the NFL is in a different league to rugby union

– Lions fullback Louis Ludik on his first season of Currie Cup rugby

– Plus columns from Naas, Nick and Keo

131 Comments

• 1.Die BlouBul masjien: Reply to this comment

Eerste!

• 2.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

En die stupidste!!! LOL

• 3.thehef: Reply to this comment

Give Russell to Rassie and he’ll be a regular Bok-starter.

• 4.RedLion!: Reply to this comment

Russel is a sad case. Why does he not leave the Sharks, here he is feeling sorry for himself instead of doing what any goal driven player would do. Hey I am sure that Loffie will welcome another 7’s player into his team, he will not be teased for his perceived lack of size instead, he will be the one doing the teasing when he runs circles around the Donkey Bulls or the Lame Sharks.

Now Brent , I know that you read keo so take some notes.

• 5.thehef: Reply to this comment

Red, why would he leave the Sharks to go to a team that’s not going to play S14 or that’s not going to be in a CC semi….?

• 6.RedLion!: Reply to this comment

thehef … any game time is better than no game time even if it is in the Vodacom cup. If you don’t play you may as well quit.

• 7.jondood: Reply to this comment

Another young Shark slips the net
    Zayn Nabbi
    September 24 2006 at 02:54PM

Is KwaZulu-Natal becoming the breeding ground for world rugby? That is the question being asked after a host of local lads have managed to secure their professional careers abroad.

Trace the roots of Clyde Rathbone (Kingsway High) in Australia, Greg Rawlinson (DHS) in New Zealand and Matt Stevens (Kearsney) in England and you’ll discover that all roads lead back to the rugby fields of KZN.

Now Calvin Masson could be the next young KwaZulu-Natalian to be snapped up by the Wallabies after his recent stint playing club rugby for the Gold Coast Breakers in Queensland.

“Calvin has a lot of potential and I think he could play provincial rugby,” said former Natal flank Louis Conradie.

“I coached him at Thomas More College and know what a good player he is. He is a very strong runner and is a really hard grafter on the field. I would say he’s built to be a ball carrying sort of flank, who can break the advantage line,” added Conradie.

Unfortunately, Masson is another who slipped through the net and found himself not making any of the provincial representative squads last year when he was in matric.

This is not uncommon for a kid playing for one of the “smaller” schools.

These boys are often overlooked by selectors choosing teams by the colour of their socks rather than pure talent.

Masson though says that the way things have worked out he has still managed to grow as a player and harbours no grudge against the province.

“It’s all worked out for the best and I’ve learnt so much by going overseas,” says the 19-year-old.

“I had applied to a number of clubs overseas when I was in matric because I was going to take a gap year and wanted to give my rugby a good go.”

“Playing for Breakers I was able to work under former All Black wing Mark Batty. He helped improve my individual skills and that’s something that’s a high priority in Australia.”

Though Masson perfectly fits the bill for a loose forward, his coaches at the Breakers experimented with him on the wing for most of the season. This flirtation in the backline has developed Masson’s game tenfold and equipped him with new skills.

The move was so successful that Masson ended as the club’s top try scorer with 11 touchdowns and he was named the club’s most improved player.

He was such a revelation Down Under that the Queensland Reds under-19 talent scouts caught a glimpse of him during a game at Ballymore Stadium and selected him for a tour to New Zealand.

Masson, though, had to decline the invitation as his visa had expired and he had to return home.

“The Breakers have asked me to come out again next year and they want me to play flank for their Premier team,” Masson said. “I don’t really know what to do because I want to stay and play my rugby in South Africa but nobody has contacted me.

“Every rugby player who grows up in this country wants to play for the Springboks and that’s no different for me.”

“But, if there are no offers to stay here I will have to pursue my professional career overseas and hopefully catch the Springbok selectors’ eyes playing for the Reds.

“But, to be honest I don’t want to go.”

Let’s hope the Sharks won’t let you.

• 8.Xkreni-WP: Reply to this comment

Either russel realises himself that he will not feature in any other team, or perhaps nobody else wants him. It helps sweet f-all to be able to attack when your team is on the front foot. You also need the ability to defend. By all means, if we are going to play the likes of Arg, wales and the USA Russel would be a great asset. Unfortunately against the likes of Aus, England the French and NZ, bar the odd good game he will be shown up as the wannabe he is by the Gitau’s in their teams.

BTW, methinks after the knocks of last w/e and this Barrit is also going to be one of a long list of promising youngsters not cutting it.

• 9.Oranje Orakel: Reply to this comment

hell

judging on thepiece of the article published

Russel uses the same spindoc as luke Twatson

• 10.sarky: Reply to this comment

OO
    I somehow don’t think Brent is a spin artist. Either way, Muir certainly is doing as little as Jake White to polish this particular player and he’d be better off going overseas.
    I rate Russell as potentially as good as Carter or Giteau but, unless he gets picked and played in a specialist role, we’re just wasting his talents.

• 11.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Brent come to WP. We need a No 10. Naas is not the dude.

• 12.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Jinx,even I would support that.I wold love to see the guy at 10.

• 13.thehef: Reply to this comment

On another website today:

Progress Rugby Club from Port Elizabeth registered possibly the biggest-ever upset in the 32 years of the event when they beat defending
    champions Stellenbosch University 24-21 on the opening day of the 2006 Fidentia National Club Championships at the Danie Craven Stadium on Sunday.

What makes the win even more significant is that Progress is one of two clubs who were invited by SARU to participate alongside the 14 Provincial
    club champions at the event. After trailing at the break and falling further behind as the clock wound down, Progress staged a remarkable last
    ditch comeback to draw level and then ram the final nail home with a penalty on fulltime.

There were also wins for Pretoria Police, Welkom Rovers, College Rovers, Pukke, Cambridge, Shimlas and the University of Johannesburg. Further
    matches will take place on Tuesday and Thursday and the tournament culminates with Cup and Plate finals on Saturday.

• 14.blou masjien: Reply to this comment

Jinx, Who will kick to the posts? brent or aplon? That’s the problem with wp, you don’t look into the future!

• 15.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

look i know there are many arguments about russel being a springbok, but why the f&^k does he not make the sharks cc team every week?

this is crazy man, **** has done a lot of good but u cant ignore this oke.

eventhough i am a shark i would not be pissed with russel if he left and played for another team.

• 16.superbok: Reply to this comment

Brent, as mentioned by others on their postings, make your way down to Cape Town. Province needs a Springbok flyhalf, Naas and Grant will be good back-ups.

• 17.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Brent Russell is a coward in the tackle. He attended the Naas Botha Academy of Defending.

• 18.jondood: Reply to this comment

Tackler you are nothing more than a turncoat.

• 19.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

wouldnt russell relish the opportunity to regain form and get that much needed playing time on te 7′s circuit. ok the money isnt as good, but i dont think there is a better short term solution for this guy.

while playing 7′s his defence will improve too, then most teams will want him on their payroll.

• 20.pieterman: Reply to this comment

Jinx
    He hails from the ‘Mother City’, doesn’t he? Ikey?
    The boy desperately needs game time. Hell, I would have gone crazy by now if I were him, he must be itching to play a full game.
    So, yeah, get him back to his roots.

• 21.pieterman: Reply to this comment

KingPaul

jy ken jou rugby broer!
    Die “Beeld”- berig oor die WP wedstryd is feitlik n herhaling van jou analise wat jy na die game aan my ge-post het. Probleme op nrs. 10, 13 en die Fijiaan se algemene spelpeil.
    Die agterlyn sal moet beter verdedig, veral op buitesenter, soos jy uitgewys het.

Ek sien op die foto van Wickus in die Blou trui dat Heinecke Meyer as ‘afrigter’ aangetoon word.
    Wie is die afrigter van die Bloues, Pote of Heinecke, of beide?

• 22.Koos: Reply to this comment

pieter, MH is die S14 afrigter en Pote die CC.

On Russell, we talked about it a while ago, certain players will have 100% more influence as an impact player compared to an 80 minute player. He falls into that category and so does Floors for the Cheetahs, as a player you either except that or move on.

• 23.pieterman: Reply to this comment

Thanx Koos!
    You are up to date as usual.
    Hope you are well over there. Take care bru.

• 24.Koos: Reply to this comment

Thanks Pieter, you too.

• 25.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Russell is a natural at Sevens. That’s his metiere.

He’s great on attack in fifteens.

He’s a flop on defence. He’s chicken-heartedly afraid. (Well, he is only a tiny little guy…)

• 26.Koos: Reply to this comment

No Tackles, he is not chicken-hearted at all and he will probably make more tackles in 80 minutes than what Naas did in his whole career. The problem still is his size, for a small man to stop big blokes for 80 minutes is just not on, at some stage he will crack, and that is why he is an impact player of note. When he can run at/around tired defence, not tackling them till they tired.

• 27.superBul: Reply to this comment

Koos waarop grond jy jou stelling dat Naas so swak verdedig. Raai jy of spring jy net op die bandwagon?
    Kyk Naas was die generaal daar in die Bul span, nou n generaal wat sy storie ken weet hoe om te organiseer. Naas se spanne het baie min driee afgestaan in vergelyking met vandag se spanne. Die groot ding wat meeste miskyk is, waar was Naas van meeste belang , onder n los skrum of regop agter sy troepe waar hy die shots kan roep.

Naas het dalk min kere die ouens geloop soos Os hulle loop maar laat ek jou se hy het met sy spoed vele ouens ingehardloop en soos n jagluiperd gejag. Wees bietjie oopkop en gee die man die eer wat hom toekom en hou op om suurgat oor hom te praat.
    Sy rekord is daar , kyk mooi na sy statistiek en sien waarom spanne waarin hy gespeel het 75%+ gewen het. Waarom het die Springbokke in daai jare al 4+ driee per wedstryd gedruk het

• 28.Koos: Reply to this comment

Super, gaan drink jou koffie klaar dan praat jy weer as jy minder moerig is. Ek het self gesien hoe hy weghardloop van voorspelers af eerder as om hulle te tackle.

Van die res van sy spel het ek niks gese nie so moet nie woorde in my mond le en aanneem wat ek dink of gaan se nie.

• 29.folanke: Reply to this comment

Jannie de Beer het ‘n beter gemiddelde in die Boktrui as enige ander speler in die geskiedenis en hy KON verdedig…

• 30.pieterman: Reply to this comment

Folanke
    Ek stem. Ou Naas was die beste, maar tekkel…. nee ou Supa. Hy was die skoonste speler in die span, broekie spierwit na die game. Maar hy was uitgeslaap en bleddie goed, vra vir Rob Louw!
    Rob kon hom net nooit in die hande kry nie.

• 31.Koos: Reply to this comment

Jannie Els kon!

• 32.Pik Steal: Reply to this comment

Brent Russell is more valuable than his recent coaches seem to realize. This guy should move to a place where he can prove his worth.

• 33.superBul: Reply to this comment

Goed gese Koos ek is somer moerig as almal Naas versinnebeeld as die slegste verdediger ooit. Maar ek sien jou punt in ek het jou onnodig aangevat , sorry

Maar die ouens kan niks anders fout vind om Naas te kap nie, gelukig besef die meeste Naas was te slim om getekkel te word, net die odd onkant ou en blatante vuilspel het hom bygekom

• 34.ricane: Reply to this comment

“England to defend World Cup in long johns?
    25 September 2006

Thanks to a newly designed rugby strip by Nike, England may be wearing long johns at next year’s Rugby World Cup in France.

England’s Daily Mail reports that the Royal Marines side tested the new strip over the weekend under a veil of security.

The strip, which is meant to be impossible for opponents to grab hold of, looked like an all white long body suit with the pants similar to those worn in American football.

The paper says that the Marines dressing room was declared a no-go area and players were under strict orders to say nothing about the strip.

The opposition reportedly laughed when they first saw the Royal Marines dressed in long johns and the suits didn’t seem to give them a distinct edge as they went down 45-8 to Plymouth Albions.”

Is this Englands new secret weapon.
    St Michael, if you are there, do you think this will adequately compensate for not having any decent players? It didn’t work very well for the Marines it seems!

• 35.Koos: Reply to this comment

Super, no problems. Ek was een van die manne wat hom gehaat het en as jy nie ‘n Bul ondersteuner was nie sou jy ook ;-) Maar met tyd het mens sy waarde en rugbykennis wel hoog ge-ag. Terloops, hey hom ontmoet, was vriende met sy vrou en was ook by sy troue.

• 36.Koos: Reply to this comment

hey = het! Fok!

• 37.pieterman: Reply to this comment

Koos
    Eerste vrou of tweede een? Die eerste een was n lugwaardin van Pietersburg, Lario Muller.
    Hy is eintlik n moerse nice ou, ek het n paar keer met sy oorlede pa saam Charlton gekyk op Woensade, gawe oom wat sy rugby geken het.

• 38.wolfman2006: Reply to this comment

Ricane, thanx for the post, that sounds ridiculously funny! Not meaning to abuse you, but it sounds like the All Blacks revolutionary new kit before 1999, and it did not help them much! Imagine a big fat prop wearing a pair of skin tight, lycra trousers! Scary stuff.

• 39.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Morning guys

Also feel sorry for Brent. Can’t understand why they bring him on for only 10 or 15 minutes. For me his an outstanding player , but if they don’t use him how can he prove himself. If there’s any other province who’s intrested in his services they must take him. Hopefully he will get decent playtime in another province.

To come back to this weekends games.

Wow some good rugby. The Lions realy impressed me on Saturday. Must say they playing much beter than last year. I would even go so far and say that they are playing beter rugby than all the other teams at the moment. Improving week after week. Don’t no what’s going to happen but the lions don’t deserve to may way for the Spears.

Bulls came back nicely in the second half. The way things look at the moment i am sure the top 4 will fight it out. Can’t see the Lions sneak in the backdoor. Next week the Bulls and Cheetha’s game will be the big one. Cheetha’s also on a mission. They play as a unit and they are attacking from anywhere on the field.

Cheetha’s and Bulls Final again ? i think so.

• 40.Stormers: Reply to this comment

He could play in my team any day!!!

• 41.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

All Black in bar punch-up
    25/09/2006 09:16 – (SA)

Wellington – All Black loose forward Sione Lauaki has been disciplined by his provincial team Waikato after he punched an opponent outside an Auckland bar, officials said on Monday.

The Waikato Rugby Union refused to reveal what action it had taken against Lauaki after he punched Auckland reserve centre Roimata Hansell-Pune outside a bar after Waikato played Auckland on September 16.

Lauaki was also in trouble in January after he assaulted a security guard in the northern city of Hamilton.

Waikato union chief executive Gary Dawson said he was “extremely disappointed and concerned that Sione has been involved in an incident of this nature”.

Dawson added the matter had been resolved with Lauaki apologising to Hansell-Pune. Lauaki was selected to play for the Hamilton-based Waikato in their victory against Wellington on Saturday.

The 25-year-old Lauaki missed this year’s All Black Tests due to a shoulder injury but the loose forward has been in good form for Waikato in the Air New Zealand Cup provincial competition

• 42.Baasbloubul: Reply to this comment

Brent is over rated sure he can change a game in a couple of seconds but he dont do it often enough

• 43.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

41- from news 24, amazing when eventually u hear about boks in a fight( after the aussies and kiwis are involved in about 100) the world will shout about how barbaric the south africans are

• 44.Baasbloubul: Reply to this comment

Any handbag involved?

• 45.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

42- he doesn’t get a chance often enough, how much of a impact would twatson or aplon make if they played for 5min once every 2 months?

• 46.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

44- don’t think so baasbloubul but there was some lipstick smeared in the scuffle

• 47.leeanthonyw: Reply to this comment

Russel needs to head over seas. Preferably France. Russels confidence has probably taken a bit of a knock lately, but his try against he the French this year was pure class. He needs to make a move now before it’s too late.

• 48.Catfish: Reply to this comment

The bulls should go for Russel. They need some flair. If only they can change their mindset.

• 49.Lang Giel: Reply to this comment

I fully agree Catfish. If they want to challenge for Super14 honours they’ll need a lot more creativity at the back.

• 50.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

i must admit i was very excited when russell came to natal but now i feel its in his interests to leave

• 51.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

the teams that do the best in the homeless soccer wc are the teams with the most homeless people!! i can’t see a 1st world country celebrating their homeless team winning the trophy

• 52.londonshark: Reply to this comment

How can you guys put Russell’s defense down.Stats (from SA Rugby mag a few months back) show him to be a solid defender.Look at all the linebreaks the Boks get against.No one put JDV defense down when the Aussies pumped us 49-0.Funny thing that.

Yes he’s small,thats why he’s a flyhalf.He never asked to be put on the wing or at fullback where his height and size became an issue.

Think of the plonkers who have played for the Boks at 10 since 2002 (when Russell emerged).Koen,Braam,Jaco,Bosman.Its a joke.

Russell was the best 10 in the 2004 Currie Cup by a country mile when James got hurt.We can only dream how good he could have been if a coach had the guts to play him at 10 for the past 4 years.

• 53.Koos: Reply to this comment

pietrman, sorry die tweede!

• 54.macdaddy: Reply to this comment

shame…poor brent has forever been given a raw deal by all coaches he has played under in sa.

you should have stayed in the cape mr russel!

• 55.schalla: Reply to this comment

londonshark……2 things
    1. russel himself said his preferred position is fullback, so not the coaches fault. tho i agree he would be amazing on form at 10.
    2. u lament about criticism of JDV’s defence. theres a reason we cant fault JDV”S defence that day…..he didnt play. wynand olivier ws inside that day

• 56.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Schalla,2 things.

1.Russell’s 2nd position is fullback.He has ALWAYS maintained that 10 is his number 1 position (as confirmed by the latest SA rugby and countless interviews).

2.I’m not putting JDV down.My point is that if Russell,for some odd reason, had been playing at 13 that day,he would have been blamed for the 49-0 loss.

• 57.pieterman: Reply to this comment

Koos
    Daar was mos op n stadium n grap oor Naas: Wat noem jy Naas en Karen se kinders?

Springnase! Ek dink Karen kom daar uit Ermelo se wereld, Springbk verspringer.

• 58.londonshark: Reply to this comment

I forgot JDV wasn’t playing by the way.I should have made my point with JF instead.

• 59.Spies_Is_King: Reply to this comment

After reading that, I know why Russel aint in the bok team. Same reason Luke isn’t. Jake doesn’t like blokes who rate themselves.

• 60.Skim: Reply to this comment

Jokey Jokey Jokey.

• 61.Skim: Reply to this comment

I can’t wait to read the Naas Column.

• 62.Skim: Reply to this comment

I’ll tell you why the NFL is in another leage.
    Cause it’s another sport you dimwits.

• 63.Skim: Reply to this comment

I mean imagine those guys trying to play rugby.
    They’ll look like the bulls, only passing the ball once.
    And they’ll be exhausted after 10 minutes.

• 64.kevin w: Reply to this comment

Say what you want … when Russell touches the ball, you expect something to happen. He should be the first name pencilled in any match 22 – Springboks or Sharks and I am a huge supporter of both. I cannot believe he doesn’t get game time.

Brent, if the Spears do get a crack in the Super 14 next year – come home boy and bring along all those other SEC boys performing for all the other provinces / franchises.

• 65.cj: Reply to this comment

Both the Boks and the Sharks teams are picked on a racial quota basis, therefore backs such as Burden or Russell may not be picked since at the back division quota players are less likely to be exposed

• 66.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

Hello all!
    Heres the sharks side id like to see
    15 steyn
    14 petersen
    13 barritt
    12 russell
    11 burden
    10 butch
    09 pienaar
    08 kankowski
    07 brits
    06 solly
    05 muller
    04 ackermann
    03 botha
    02 du plessis
    01 carstens
    Reserves
    lensing
    daniel
    bote’s
    sykes
    jacobs
    murray
    jeneker

as you might see i didnt choose a second scrummy as i believe russel could fill that gap
    and i have him at inside center where i believe a strong butch sending him into the gaps he could cause mahem with his pace off the mark,so too at scrummy

• 67.Die Doos: Reply to this comment

The best thing for Russel would be if he moved to the Bulls. The Bulls need a player with hs flair and he needs he ball going forward.

Kom nou Bulle, maak vir Russel n gawe offer sodat ons hom kan unleash op die res van die wereld.

9. Fourie du Preez 10. Hougaard/Steyn 11. Habanna
    12 Olivier 13.Habanna 14. Russel 15. Roets

Met die backline kan ons mos die wereld regeer ?

Kom Bulle betaal die rocket

• 68.Die Doos: Reply to this comment

Sorry 11 is Ndungane/Mametsa

• 69.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

doos ur name says it all lol
    you have a russel you guys just to stupid to see it
    its basson hes brilliant

• 70.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

man how the sharks could have done with AJ last saturday

• 71.Skim: Reply to this comment

The Bulls still think that Jacques Cronje is an intelligent player.

• 72.Catfish: Reply to this comment

Doos

That backline is VERY average.

• 73.sharks_lover: Reply to this comment

lol skim

• 74.Skim: Reply to this comment

Goeie Doos.

• 75.bok and lion fan: Reply to this comment

The last time Russell scored a try in an international was the last time he played (against France earlier this year). He had one shocker against NZ at loftus 3 or 4 years ago (but who didn’t?) and he is still paying for it. It seems the SA mind set is that you have to be big and strong to defend but you can’t score tries if you don’t have players with speed and vision or if you are defending for 80 minutes.

• 76.Skim: Reply to this comment

Who’d win in a tri-battle between Basson, russel and Aplon?

My money is on Aplon.

• 77.Skim: Reply to this comment

How ’bout this:

10.Butch
    11.Basson
    12.Halstead
    13.Fourie
    14.Russel
    15.Aplon

Some big guys together with some little guys.

• 78.bok and lion fan: Reply to this comment

Halstead’s, the knock on king, bit over the hill dude, De Villiers is much better

• 79.macdaddy: Reply to this comment

71…skim,i know mate…and thats what is wrong with our rugby! brains will beat brawn everytime!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• 80.skunk: Reply to this comment

Russel needs to stop being a stopgap player. If he wants 2 b a 10 then he must concentrate on that. You will never here anyone saying Butch is back up @ wing.

He is a talanted footballer and he should not secrifice himself for game time.

• 81.stodders: Reply to this comment

Maybe Russell just isn’t good enough for the top level. Can it be that his provincial and national team coaches just don’t think he has the quality to succeed at the highest level?

Russell has good skills, but so does Shane Williams of Wales, and I wouldn’t want him anywhere near my team because of his vulnerability on defence, regardless of how much his attacking game offers offensively.

If Russell was to be moved inside to #10, it should have happened years ago. He will now be, at best, a valuable utility player. Another case of raw talent not being developed properly in SA I guess.

• 82.ziyaad: Reply to this comment

its soo true what people say about size… here in south africa its all that matters. take a guy like hendrik meyer of the cheetahs. in the currie cup he might seem to be a ‘standout’ player, but put him against dan carter and aaron mauger… damn, he’l never make more than 5 metres. but take a guy like matt giteau, a small guy with a wonderful swerve, he has the potential to weave through them. i’ve seen russell ghost through defenses far more than any other player in the current national set up, and its not like he CANT tackle, its just that he misses the occasional tackle on a large fellow, but wow, he can offer a lot on attack. personally i think fullback is his best position, but at the moment, gio aplon is probably a better option. until aplon is exposed for being too small, i believe he is the answer for fullback.

• 83.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

ziyaad- there is so much talent in jp pieterson its scary. someone needs to smack him on the side of the head and tell him that he’s got the potential to be the world’s best at 15, it always seems as if he has so much time when he’s got the ball-as if everything he does is in slow motion

• 84.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

SA Rugby battle heats up
    25/09/2006 21:48 – (SA)

McKeever slam saru plan
    Norman Silke , Die Burger

Port Elizabeth – Tony McKeever, chief executive of the Southern Spears, is confident of being on the winning side in their Cape high court action against SA Rugby on Tuesday.

SA Rugby is applying for leave to appeal against the August 4 findings by judge Dennis Davis.

The judge found that a legal agreement existed between SA Rugby and the Spears that guaranteed the franchise participation in this year’s Currie Cup competition and the Super 14 in 2007 and 2008.

The national body last year guaranteed the Spears participation in the competitions. It also agreed to maintain the team until the end of this year and obtain sponsorships for the franchise.

When SA Rugby overturned the decisions this year, the Spears went to court. Judge Davis then returned to the Spears their place in the Super 14 and found that the franchise could, if needed, approach the court to claim damages regarding the Currie Cup competition.

The Spears are now applying that the findings concerning the Super 14 come into force immediately. They also claim damages of R7.5m.

McKeever said on Monday he was still seeking R6.4m that SA Rugby owed the Spears for the period until the end of December.

He said the amount of damages claimed constituted the losses the Spears suffered by not playing in 14 Currie Cup matches.

If SA Rugby’s application is successful, a drawn-out court case could follow and the Spear’s participation in the 2007 Super 14 could fall through.

Reached an agreement with Border

Meanwhile, SA Rugby’s efforts to acquire shares in the Eastern Province and South Western Districtict rugby unions have apparently received a major boost.

SA Rugby is trying to acquire 25.1% of the shares in the three feeder unions (it has already reached an agreement with Border) and to buy the 24.9% share SA Investments Limited (Sail) owns in each of the unions.

With a 50% share in each of the unions, SA Rugby can appoint directors to the Spears board, which could have an important influence on the future of the franchise.

Stag Cronjé, president of the SWD Rugby Union, confirmed on Monday that the union had agreed verbally with SA Rugby to sell the shares. Border announced last week that it would sell its shares.

Liam del Carme reports from Johannesburg that the Southern Spears’ chances of playing in the Super 14 next year have just about disappeared.

Basil Haddad, acting managing director of SA Rugby, said on Monday there were verbal agreements with EP and SWD, as well as Sail, to acquire shares in the unions that constitute the Southern Spears.

With a 50% share in the three unions, SA Rugby will have the right to make appointments to the board of the Spears and have a say in decisions regarding the franchise’s Super 14 participation.

Several documents still have to be checked and signed.

“We have already come to an agreement with Border. They have signed and we have received the documents,” Haddad said on Monday.

“We have agreed verbally with EP and SWD on several occasions. There are some unfinished matters we have to look at but that should not implicate the purchasing of the shares.”

You can get sports results and information via SMS. Read more on http://www.news24.com

• 85.JD: Reply to this comment

Who saved us from disgrace against France earlier this year?
    Who pretty much single-handedly destroyed Aus in 2002?
    Hmmm…

• 86.RugbyStudent: Reply to this comment

Brent Should go play for The Stormers next year. In fact, if the Stormers and Sharks work closely together, they could really get two great teams together

Stormers:

15.) Conrad Jantjies
    14.) Brent Russel
    13.) Sireli Vuki
    12.) Jean de Villiers
    11.) Gio Aplon
    10.) Francois Steyn
    9.) Scot Mathie
    8.) Robbie Diack
    7.) Joe van Niekerk
    6.) Luke Watson
    5.) Ross Skeate
    4.) Andries Bekker
    3.) Cobus Visagie
    2.) Schalk Brits
    1.) Deon Carstens

Sharks:

15.) JP Pietersen
    14.) Odwa Ndungane
    13.) Andries Strauss
    12.) Brad Barrit
    11.) Waylon Murray
    10.) Butch James
    9.) Ruan Pienaar
    8.) AJ Venter
    7.) Justin Melck
    6.) Warren Britz
    5.) Johan Muller
    4.) Selborne Boome
    3.) BJ Botha
    2.) John Smit
    1.) Kees Lensing

• 87.pakslae: Reply to this comment

I think the whole Brent Russel issue just epitomises the way South African coaches think and play the game.
    Sure, we all know Brent Russel has a weakness in defense and in the tackle situation, but he has so much to offer on attack. I think he’s shortcomings can be coached, and he needs someone who has faith in his abilities and who will give him and extended run in a specialist position.
    I don’t see any reason why he can’t be compared with the likes of Gitaeu and Carter as he offers the same if not more than these players on attack. But I believe he needs a coach that will sit down and work on the other side of his game.

• 88.Dutchman: Reply to this comment

Simon, give us some of the good stuff you are smoking……

• 89.halfgk: Reply to this comment

Why does everybody doubt Brent’s defence when he doesn’t even play? Defence is not all about size, its about technique. Thats the problem with SA defence. We think, because we are big, all we need to do is run infront of a player and he will be stopped. How many times have you seen an aussie or AB back running into a big SA loose forward, only to be bumped back but not held, and then running through the defence.
    Aplon have saved many tries with his 72kg’s. There was nothing wrong with Russel’s defence in the games that he played. In any case, he so damn quick, if he misses a tackle, he’ll just run the guy in from behind.

• 90.spokie: Reply to this comment

Kom Kaap toe Brent! Ons is nie bang om sogenaamde ‘klein’ spelers te kies nie. O en ek sal nie n Bok span kies sonder Russel nie.

Geluk aan die Lions, julle het uitstekend gespeel en ek haal my hoed af vir julle na alles waardeur julle is die seisoen.Verder dink ek nie iemand gaan die bulle stuit as hulle die naweek wen nie.
    So seer soos dit maak om dit te se is dit seker waar.

Go cheethas,doen ons almal n moerse guns…toe!

• 91.Shosoloza: Reply to this comment

Spokie,

Brent kom van die kaap af, Julle wou hom nie kies juis oor sy grote.

stem saam met jou oor die leeus, hulle speel regtig goeie rugby en die 2 petoorse kook soos ‘n koffie keteljie.

ek dink Jaco pretorius het vir sarel Potgieter uit die wp span gespeel

• 92.GP: Reply to this comment

Russell, you should have taken the offer from WP, and moved back to Cape Town. WP is not scared to play smaller guys!!!

• 93.Jinx: Reply to this comment

It was Gert Smal who didn’t want Brent Russell and he was forced to go to the Pumas and then he went to the Sharks. Of course Uncle Gert went on to F*ck the Stormers up big time with a one dimensional vision.

I think Fester/Kojak VD Merwe should “gupse” him very quickly. Otherwise I think the Lions will want him.

• 94.Rudolf: Reply to this comment

I agree with Die Doos.

Russel must join the Bulls. Its a win win situation.

• 95.stodders: Reply to this comment

Whoever compared Russell to Carter and Giteau…can I have some ofthe stuff you’re smoking?

Russell is a good broken field runner. But when faced with an organised defence (not a South African one :-D ), he tends to be impotent on attack from what I have seen of him.

His style is similar to that of Jason Robinson. But Russell can only dream of doing some of things that Robinson managed to do on a rugby field, like standing up and skinning Latham on the outside, or standing up the entire French backline drift defence and darting through to score.

Russell is a good player, but you guys are building him up to be some world class player who has never been given a chance. If he is really as good as some of you make out, do you really think he’d be languishing in the background? No, me neither.

Russell isn’t good enough to be a #10 IMO. He has never shown himself capable of running the game from that position.

Fullback is in my opinion the best position for him to specialise in. It allows him the opportunity to field the ball as the last man and to run at the sometimes unstructured opposition defence. This is where his running skills are utilised best and has been shown to be in the past when looking at his best performances in a Bok jersey. Playing fullback also allows him to join the backline at the right moments to add spark to the attacking movement.

BUT, in order to become a true fullback, he needs to work on his kicking out of hand and his field positioning (which has been suspect in the past and teams have profitted).

• 96.Luv SA: Reply to this comment

Brent Russel is a very good player. Just one problem, he is greedy when he has the ball. Never ever offloads, is predictable and tries to run everything. If he varied his game and was a team man, then maybe he could be like Giteau. Till then he will remain a talented player who forgot he was in a team sport.

• 97.ruffneck: Reply to this comment

londonshark #52 – JDV didnt play in the 49-0 game you idiot.

how can russel become world class, or at least show his true potential, if he doesnt get game time? or if he gets dropped when doing one thing wrong in a game? how will he regain confidence?

who questioned his defence? oh yes, the tackler. you are a waste of space. how can a player be a brilliant 7′s player and have bad defence?

does gio aplon, jaco pretorius or kabamba floors have bad defence? please tell me in which game you saw anybody run over him. he might not be os, but he can tackle good enough.

he needs to be on the subs bench for the boks coz he can play anywhere in the backline or come on when you need a different game plan, but first he needs some confidence.

• 98.pakslae: Reply to this comment

Stodders,
    I’m not saying Russel is in the same class as Carter/ Gitaeu, u idiot, he certainly has the potential to become one.
    It would’ve been frightening to see what the Ozzies or the All Blacks would have done with this potential.

• 99.Skim: Reply to this comment

Russel is probably the best impact player in the world.

• 100.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Russel should be a Lion!!

• 101.stodders: Reply to this comment

pakslae,

How nice of you to reply to me in such revered tones.

Russell is a good player, that’s all. there are more talented players in SA rugby than Russell. Methinks he is just a good excuse for some of you guys.

As for what the Ozzies and Kiwis would have done with him, he probably would have developed better than he has done in SA. But he still would have been behind the likes of Latham, Tiquiri, Gerrard, Rokocoko, Howlett, Giteau, Carter, evans etc. Russell is good guys, but not that good.

There are plenty of “gifted” rugby players who have played Sevens like Orene Ai’i, Wasale Serevi, William Ryder, Eric Rush, Ben Gollings etc. Their games were never suited for the XV man game though. Some players have made their names in Sevens and then gone to the XV man game and made the step up, Cullen and Lomu being good examples.

I think Russell should go on the Sevens circuit, as that is what his game is best suited to. He would be a huge success there.

• 102.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

O, and sorry to say but that is a k@k SA Rugby cover… What is he supposed to be? A monk????

Simon! Where is my Lions cover??? My team beat all your teams. Can’t remember who you support this week but we beat you anyway!!!

• 103.stodders: Reply to this comment

Skim,

Best impact player in the world? There are quite a few guys out there who have the ability to come off the bench and add something. Russell fits into the same bracket as Nonu and Rogers, all gifted, all capable of weaving some magic, all capable of f*ck ups, and all not good enough to make the starting XVs for their countries.

Also, it’s a shame for players like Russell that Jake White doesn’t use his bench much, as it negates the point of having great impact players available wouldn’t you say :-D

• 104.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Knyp twee balle tussen jou bene. Met jou hande en kniee op die steene. Trek af jou broek en BRUL!!! En doen die LEEULOOP. Tennis balle, Krieket balle, Rugby balle as jy wil….

• 105.Murph: Reply to this comment

Tackles you zub

Go ask Stirling Mortlock if he thinks Russel cant tackle … he knows 1st hand that russel cant fell the biggest tree in the forest running straight at him full tilt.

fool

• 106.Murph: Reply to this comment

OOPs

that was meant to read CAN !!!!

• 107.Braders: Reply to this comment

Stefan Basson’s a better pocket rocket and can tackle.
    Russel’s not a flyhalf-kicking not good enough.

• 108.poena: Reply to this comment

braders you do not know what u r talking about, you and willie doos shut the f@ck up…!

to all the cheetahs, bloody hell, congrats on the win… seems like my sharks are un-peaking at the wrong time!! hopefully it is just to lure the other teams into a false sense of security ha ha…

• 109.Martin: Reply to this comment

brent russell is shorter than luke watson.

• 110.Murph: Reply to this comment

Kabamba Floors and Russel to win the WC for SA !!!

• 111.NZMaori: Reply to this comment

Russell is the man. Needs to be used. He should have come a long way since he started playing for the boks but his development has been nil. Your loss. He was the Toeava when he burst onto the scene but alot better than Toeava. Raw talent. I agree he needs to be a team player more often but with his explosive pace i would pick him in to wear an All Black Jersey if he was born in Hokitika. Pity he wasnt.

I think that the magazine as a means to try and push his case is a strange way to go about it. Are the coaches not approachable enough to go and talk to this sought of stuff about or would Jake just slam the door? SA rugby is full of surprises.

• 112.Hmmm: Reply to this comment

Only barely Martin…..about 1½ centimetres…..

• 113.pieterman: Reply to this comment

Grrrrrrrr

Hoe was Keimoes? Veilig gery?

Kry Russell by julle en dan sal jy sien hoe hol julle gate deur almal.

Die Spears is moer toe, Lions volgende jaar in S14.

Kry Brent, voor ons WP manne hom wegraap. Hy sal moers inpas by WP of Leeus.

Die storie oor sy grootte is n grap.
    Kyk na Dominici, Aplon, Jason Robertson, J-P Reeves, Breyten, Fergus Slattery, JJ Williams, Jeremy Guscott, Grant Batty, Phill Bennett, Ollie Campbell, Naas Botha, almal 80kg of minder ….almal legendes.

Net die Bulle is gepla oor gewig en grootte.

• 114.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

its amazing how russell has suddenly become such a big topic all of a sudden

• 115.stodders: Reply to this comment

KIR,

Someone needed to fill the Luke Watson gap. SA rugby needs a sensational headline or two to keep people on their toes and arguing ;-)

Replace Montgomery with JP, Play Watson to solve the open side issue, Wasted Talent Russell…what next I wonder?

• 116.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

very true stodders, i’m sure there will be controvercy surrounding the end of year players chosen!! i’m worried guys like barry,julies ets will be picked cos they are at the training camp

• 117.grootblousmile: Reply to this comment

Russell is an arrogant prick…the wife saw him at the Durban July Horse race…and was disgusted to say the least!

Typical “kortmannetjie” sindrome!!

• 118.stodders: Reply to this comment

GBS,

Maybe that’s why his coaches have chosen to ignore his “talents”, to teach the height impaired man a lesson :-D

• 119.stodders: Reply to this comment

KIR,

Do you know how many players JW is taking with him on the EOYT? I would imagine the players who were in the last Tri Nations match day squad will be in the touring party along with any major players who need playing into form.

I don’t think Julies or Barry will be in the squad, but at least the French lessons will come in handy for them when they go searching for a contract in the NH. It’s best not to limit yourself to just the English speaking world :-)

• 120.cab: Reply to this comment

very good player, should definitely be featuring more prevelantly in the boks and sharks setup.

• 121.J.B. Cowper: Reply to this comment

Couldn’t agree more – Russell is one of our genuine, proven play-makers at Test level – this is another example of the stubborness of the coach – when he makes up his mind nothing will change it. Even in the last Test that try against France was a beauty – of course Russell is not as good as the great Danie Gerber but he has that same quality of closing.

What am I not seeing here?

• 122.Dumb Supporter: Reply to this comment

Stodders

How many new caps do you foresee for the EOYT?

• 123.stodders: Reply to this comment

DS,

Few if any i’m afraid. Your props are pretty much selected, as well as your hookers. Maybe Schalk Brits might get a call up as the third hooker? But I would expect Gary Botha to get the call here as he’s been involved with JW’s Boks before.

Locks will probably be Matfield, VD Berg, Muller and (cringe) Roussouw.

I don’t see any surprises in the loose forward mix. Watson won’t get a call. Maybe someone like Floors may get a call to travel with the squad, but I just don’t see it.

In the backs, it will be just the same. The only bolter I can think of is Aplon. Other than him, I can’t see who JW will take over and above those who he has already picked over the last 3 years.

• 124.shot: Reply to this comment

johan roets will be in the eoyt

• 125.stodders: Reply to this comment

shot,

Nah, i don’t think Roets will go. He can’t play anywhere else other than FB, and JW already has specialist full backs in Montgomery and Pietersen. If there is to be a bolter, I think Aplon will get the nod to cover wing and FB.

• 126.shot: Reply to this comment

stodders, valid point, but according to me old JP has been shown up, even if it was just one game. He’s just too risky in defence

• 127.stodders: Reply to this comment

shot,

I actually agree with you about JP. But he is in JW’s squad, which means he is above Roets when it comes to selection in the Bok squad.

• 128.londonshark: Reply to this comment

Rufnek,I know.I corrected myself 3 posts later.

• 129.lancesherrel: Reply to this comment

# 117 Grootblousmile

I’m surprised you say Brent’s an arrogant prick – what did he do? I’ve met him a couple of times through a friend, and he was quite a down-to-earth guy.

• 130.rex: Reply to this comment

Russell is good and quick and it is also true that he has not had enough game time at international level to say one way or another at this point. It is telling that he is rated by NZ and OZ.

As for arrogance… who cares as long as he scores the tries and wins the games?

• 131.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

There are number things the Sharks are doing right but the way they utilising Russell and Solly is unacceptable.These are reputable Boks who are constantly being jerked around from pillar to post.Im a Sharks supporter but if we cant use them lets give them to a union that needs them for the greater good of S.A rugby and their careers.Same with Sephaka and Shimange for their respective unions.Also Steffan Basson and in futute Chilliboy or Strauss at the Bulls.Too many options and greedy unions.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.