Lauaki the lout

Yet another All Black has been disciplined after being involved in a pub brawl.

New Zealand loose forward Sione Lauaki was disciplined by Waikato on Monday after he punched an opponent outside an Auckland bar.

The Waikato Rugby Union refused to reveal what action it had taken against Lauaki after he punched Auckland reserve centre Roimata Hansell-Pune outside a bar after Waikato played Auckland on 16 September.

Lauaki was also in trouble in January after he assaulted a security guard in the northern city of Hamilton.

Waikato union chief executive Gary Dawson said he was “extremely disappointed and concerned that Sione has been involved in an incident of this nature”.

Dawson added the matter had been resolved with Lauaki apologising to Hansell-Pune. Lauaki was selected to play for the Hamilton-based Waikato in their victory against Wellington on Saturday.

45 Comments

• 1.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

ha ha-beat u guys,posted this on the russell thread-i will be signing autographs later :lol:

• 2.cane: Reply to this comment

Actually I don’t mind Sione punching the odd rugby player here and there.

Victor Matfield will do for starters.

• 3.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Sione’s hardly been touted as a ‘thinking’ loosie, just another Islander that can’t handle his grog!

• 4.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

bryce-if i had to live in nz/oz id also have a drinking problem!!

• 5.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Actually heard that Hansell chap was the instigator, but I guess these guys take the on-field battle off it as well.

“Just another Islander” sheesh thats a bit harsh mate, last I checked the poms drink more than everyone south of the equator ;)

• 6.bryce_in_oz: Reply to this comment

Was tongue in cheek, there’s a general stereo- type in Aus and NZ that the Islanders can’t handle their alcohol…and in some cases it’s true.

• 7.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Bryce

I know mate, I was trying to do the same back, nothing but good clean fun.

• 8.Vinnie: Reply to this comment

I really think the media over-reacts when players get out of hand.

Who gives a toss?

• 9.cane: Reply to this comment

KIR(post4).
    If I was a SA Rugby supporter I’d be frightened to sobber up.

You guys have got the Inmates running the Asylum.

• 10.Poneke: Reply to this comment

S P O R T S T O R Y
    RELATED LINKS
    » Email this story

» Subscribe to Archivestuff

» Have your say

England to defend World Cup in long johns?
    25 September 2006

Thanks to a newly designed rugby strip by Nike, England may be wearing long johns at next year’s Rugby World Cup in France.

England’s Daily Mail reports that the Royal Marines side tested the new strip over the weekend under a veil of security.

The strip, which is meant to be impossible for opponents to grab hold of, looked like an all white long body suit with the pants similar to those worn in American football.

The paper says that the Marines dressing room was declared a no-go area and players were under strict orders to say nothing about the strip.

The opposition reportedly laughed when they first saw the Royal Marines dressed in long johns and the suits didn’t seem to give them a distinct edge as they went down 45-8 to Plymouth Albions.

*Anyone ever seen TRON?, I suspect thats what we may be in for.*

• 11.wolfman2006: Reply to this comment

Who can handle their drink? Every-one either gets aggressive, or hits on ugly chicks, or says foolish stuff. Me, I tend to do all three.

• 12.BrumbyIV: Reply to this comment

this is not his first offence is it ?

• 13.Delek: Reply to this comment

Wolfman once while totally tanked I began sucking face with a bird who was so ugly that my mates were desperately pulling me away from her. I ignored them and continued but felt like a total chop the next day.

As for the THUG Lauaki, is it any coincidence that him and Troy Flavell are both old boys of Massey High School? What are they teaching dese boys dere?????

• 14.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Delek

I thought Lauaki went to Kelston Boys, Cribb & Flavell to Massey High, but all West Auckland schools, different breed those westies!!! ;)

• 15.Delek: Reply to this comment

CSI you could be right, I’m not entirely certain. Oh yeah Cribb too enjoyed a bit of hand-to-hand (or foot-to-face) combat when he thought the ref wasn’t looking. Imagine what he’s being doing to those tiny ****. Ouch :-)

• 16.Delek: Reply to this comment

P.s. at least the Pisi brothers are trying hard to redeem the Westie name. More chance of them being in a church than in a fight.

• 17.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Delek

The Pisi boys are very under-rated players, smart rugby players.

My brother has just helped me out on the school thing and yep, Lauaki went to Kelston and look at the Kelston 1st XV a couple of years ago…

Lauaki, Tuitupou, Muliaina, Tuitavake, Tuialii, K.Senio…

Now how good is that 1st XV to have these guys run on for you?!?

• 18.jondood: Reply to this comment

ricane

Let him have a go at Bakkies or Danie Rossouw.

Will be a flat islander very quickly.

Hell you can even thrown in that thug Jerry Collins. He will also get a hiding.

• 19.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Jondood

In NZ they have this fight for life charity event, that will be the best place to set those guys up for an old school punch up, with rules and guidelines.

• 20.Jinx: Reply to this comment

What’s the time Mr.Wolf, what’s the time…

• 21.gretep: Reply to this comment

Jondood just what makes you think that Bakkies or Danie will sort them out quickly? Is it because they are good Boere boys?
    Last I heard Bakkies was better known for bitting then fighting…..

• 22.Veii: Reply to this comment

Sione Lauaki is a battering ram and that is what a blindside flank or no.8 should be. And I agree with cane, he can punch Victor Matfield and make him a man!!

• 23.ChiefsFan...sadly: Reply to this comment

Why are you lot slagging Lauaki for on-field thuggishness? I wasn’t aware that he was at all dirty on the field.

Off the field he obviously has a problem.

• 24.macdaddy: Reply to this comment

have you okes seen the size of lauaki? he is bigger than any blou seun player and the kid is only 25!

he could brake cronje,wanneburg,spies and van skankenburger in half…all at the same time!!

chiefs fan,the only okes slagging mr lauaki off are the blou moo fans china,they have finally come across a human specimen that is bigger,stronger and has far more skills in his armoury than any seun that comes out of pretoria!

• 25.gothemullet: Reply to this comment

I doubt Sione would ever get in a fight with Victor Matfield.
    Sione only fights when he’s been drinking far to much
    and Big Vic only fights with boys under 90kg (usually #9 & #10) and then its only from the back when they are not looking…what a tough guy!

• 26.ricane: Reply to this comment

#18 jondood,
    Were you fishing for me with that comment, or were you adressing it to cane who’s not Ric?

Anyway here I am ready for a fight!

Jerry has 54cm biceps, I doubt very much that Danie or Bakkies would like to taste a knuckle sandwich with that behind it.

• 27.ricane: Reply to this comment

…and whats more they wouldn’t even see Lauaki coming! tHey would be safer playing on they railway tracks.

• 28.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Ricane

What did you make of Lauaki’s onfield peformance against Jerry on Saturday? I thought Nick Williams V Mose Tuiali’i was another great No.8 encounter. Kaino had a ripper of a game against Otago, but its hard to say how good he really was with a forward pack dominating and Otago withering throughout the whole game. So’oialo to come back, Masoe can play 8, Messam has been the form number 8 of the ANZC, So we have no problems in the 8 area.

I thought Lauaki had a good game against Collins, with a bump off and a great don’t argue on Mr. Collins, but Collins wins on points decision, work ethic, defense and overall reading of the game put Collins on top. Still, Lauaki V Collins is worth the price of admission alone.

• 29.stodders: Reply to this comment

Jondood,

I can understand you thinking that Bakkies Botha could look after himself, but Danie Roussouw? The guy is soooo slow that Collins or Lauaki would have enough time to batter him, have a cup of tea and come back and finish him before the man would register what is going on!

As for the Boer man being the ultimate specimen, times have changed. The islanders in their prime are physiologically the better athletes.

• 30.stodders: Reply to this comment

CSI,

If Henry and the Wellington coaches can up Lauaki’s work ethic to Collin’s level, he will make the plane to RWC 2007. He would be the ultimate impact sub. But only if his head is in the right place.

It took Collins some time to mature into the player he is now, so hopefully for NZ, Lauaki will do the same and fulfill the potential he undoubtedly has.

For me, if Lauaki had a bit more smarts and work ethic, i’d try him in the #8 position. He has the one thing that So’oialo lacks…dynamism and power off the back of the scrum. So’oialo has made improvements in this area, but it’s not a strength in his game. His overall game though makes up for this deficiency.

• 31.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Stodders,

Could not agree more with your post 30, especially the So’oialo part. We know that McCaw has the 7 jersey for a long while and Collins has the 6 jersey, Number 8 is just waiting for someone to take it.

Tuialii, Lauaki, Williams, Messam, Kaino, all very good players.

• 32.ricane: Reply to this comment

Stodders and CSI
    I did watch the Lauaki vs Collins
    I don’t really think you can compare the 2, they have such different skills and attributes.
    I agree #6 and #7 are booked seats on the bus to Paris now! #8 is definitely still vacant.

Lauaki definitely has a size and strength advantage and has the most potential, because he has the most improving yet to do.

So’oialo is totally underrated as it’s defficult to see he has excellent technique. I’ve heard him called the Hammer that drives home the scrum and if you look carefully at a scrum you can see it (you can also see it in the scrum and defensiveline stats after a game he is involved in.
    As an unbiased Wellingtonian that in my opinion!

I have been most impressed though with Liam Messam; he is athletic like Michael Jones was, and has bulked up incredibly over the last few months. He would have to be the ultimate impact player.

There are another 5 or more players there pushing for it as well, as has been mentioned.

Now I had better go and get on with work.

• 33.TheTackler: Reply to this comment

Drunks come in three flavours: sad, crying drunks; aggro, fighting drunks and happy, party-animal drunks.

Sometimes the same person might shift, in the course of one drinking session, through more than one of these personae.

• 34.cane: Reply to this comment

Yes TT, I have noted this pattern in yo.ur posts(just kidding).

• 35.ricane: Reply to this comment

ha ha cane
    I have noticed the responses to his posts consist mainly of the first 2 (n abundance!).

• 36.Bod: Reply to this comment

Yegads… a bunch of Kiwis rambling on about not much in particular or of consequence… scary stuff

Cane #2

I trust your wish has something to do about the fact that Matfield be taken out so as that he wont be around to reduce and destroy the Kiwi linout to a shuddering shambles as is the norm…

• 37.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

http://www.drunkenrugbyplayers.com, if there were such a site, there would be an infinite amount of stories that would dome un TT’s “3 flavours of drunks”

• 38.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

oops not “dome un”…meant to be “come in” thats a drunken mistake.

• 39.ricane: Reply to this comment

Bod
    You’re getting it a bit mixed up there buddy. Big Vic is the only one who tries to take players out.

I would say canes point is more that it would be interesting to see Matfield try to take on someone his own size for once, instead of targeting the smallest guy in the opposition team to hit from behind.

• 40.Bod: Reply to this comment

Rias a cane, what are you on about son??

mm..mm methinks Cane (and most Nzedders) genuinely have a dislike of Big Vic because of what he reduces your linouts to

C’mon Cane… tell me I am correct

• 41.Bod: Reply to this comment

Sorry that should be Ricane…. looong weekend here

• 42.ricane: Reply to this comment

Nah Bod
    I admire what he does to our lineouts,
    I dislike what he does to our halfbacks
    and 1st 5′s (flyhalf in SA).
    I wouldn’t mind so much if he tried it on someone like Jerry or Sione but he won’t.

• 43.Bod: Reply to this comment

Aaaahh… Ricane I think you have unintentionally dispelled and uncovered an incorrect myth about the average SA rugby players intellect levels.

Big Vic does have sense… loads of it! Would you rather take on some snot nosed NZ scrummie/1st 5… or Jerry Collins?? Its a no brainer

• 44.cane: Reply to this comment

Bod(post 40).

I would rather have *** with the “***** of Babylon” (Suzie) than admit you are correct.

• 45.mshiniwami: Reply to this comment

Lauaki Why?!!!But who cares as long as he produces the goods on the field.The best exponent in terms of taking it up loose forward,proto-type manufactured for the much famed but painfull if you r on the receiving end_Samoan SIDESTEP!!He is better than Rodney tho,attacking wise.

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.