Wallabies summon the stalwarts

Wallaby coach John Connolly has included Morgan Turinui, Brendan Cannon and David Lyons for the European tour in November.

Turinui has not played for Australia this year, while Cannon and Lyons have forced their way into the 37-man squad since recovering from injuries.

Stirling Mortlock has been named as captain for the tour, but it is still uncertain as to whether he will play the first Test aganst Wales, as he is currently recovering from a knee operation. Connolly has named four vice captains for the trip, namely Dan Vickerman, Phil Waugh, Chris Latham and Stephen Larkham.

“A number of selections were very tight and there are a handful of players that were extremely unlucky to miss out, but we feel that the 37 we have selected will give us the best chance to be successful on the tour as well as continuing our aim of broadening the player depth in Australian Rugby,” said Connolly.

“We’ve maintained a pretty good balance between younger players and experienced players for the tour.”

The group includes a number of youngsters with Al Campbell, Stephen Hoiles, Hugh McMeniman, Stephen Moore, Adam Ashley-Cooper and Tatafu Polota-Nau all having limited experience at international level. Gene Fairbanks and Queensland lock James Horwill are the only two uncapped players in the squad.

“We’ve picked the squad on form but we’ve also made some selections with a view to the future. It’s important that we continue to broaden the squad in the lead-up to the World Cup but we are going [on the tour] with the expectation to win all four Tests.”

The Wallabies play Tests against Wales, Italy, Ireland and Scotland.

Wallabies squad:
Stirling Mortlock (captain), Adam Ashley-Cooper, Al Baxter, Rodney Blake, Alister Campbell, Brendan Cannon, Mark Chisholm, Sam Cordingley, Rocky Elsom, Gene Fairbanks, Mark Gerrard, Matt Giteau, Stephen Hoiles, Greg Holmes, James Horwill, Stephen Larkham, Chris Latham, David Lyons, Tai McIsaac, Hugh McMeniman, Drew Mitchell, Stephen Moore, Wycliff Palu, Tatafu Polota-Nau, Clyde Rathbone, Benn Robinson, Mat Rogers, Nathan Sharpe, Brett Sheehan, Cameron Shepherd, Guy Shepherdson, George Smith, Scott Staniforth, Lote Tuqiri, Morgan Turinui, Dan Vickerman, Phil Waugh.