No clarity on Currie Cup

The format of the 2007 Absa Currie Cup will only be confirmed once the Spears saga has been resolved.

While there has been talk of a return to a 14-team competition, the success of this year’s eight-team competition may have ended those plans.

If the Spears win their battle to play in the Super 14 next year, then they will also play in the Premier Division of the Currie Cup as per the court ruling. Boland are also demanding to be included in the Premier Divison having won the First Division this year. This would see the Valke and Pumas drop out.

“We have spoken a lot about the format but because of the uncertainty about the Spears we have been unable to take a final decision,” said Harold Verster, chairperson of SA Rugby’s competitions committee.

Meanwhile, it is unlikely that SA Rugby’s rules will be amended to ensure that there can be only one winner of the Currie Cup. Johan Botes, secretary of the competitions committee, said that he also doubted that the playing of extra time would be discussed again.

Had the IRB’s rules applied, the Cheetahs would have been the sole holders of the trophy as a result of their superior discipline. The Bulls conceded two yellow cards during the match.

The Currie Cup will now remain in Bloemfontein for six months before being sent to the co-holders in Pretoria for the next six months.