Why Paulse’s still positive

Breyton Paulse’s spirit has not been broken, despite being dropped by Springbok coach Jake White.

sar118.jpgIn the new issue of SA Rugby magazine, on sale this week for just R18.95, the winger insists he can make an impact for the Boks at the 2007 World Cup.

“I am still in good condition and I reckon I have lots to give,” he says. “Apart from anything else I can offer experience to the younger players. I would love to have a good World Cup.”

Further on in the article, Paulse expresses his frustration with the national selectors.

“I don’t mind being dropped when I play badly, I just want to be treated fairly,” he says. “I did not feel that I needed a rest for the home leg of the Tri-Nations. I had hardly played on the overseas leg and I was hungry to play.”

Also in the new issue of SA Rugby magazine, on sale this week:

– Unlocking Twickenham: Nick Mallett, Corne Krige and Gary Gold pick their match 22s to beat England.

– Pierre Spies: “We will be ready for England”.

– Why Stuart Abbott turned down Rudolf Straeuli in 2003.

– Lions centre Jaco Pretorius puts his foot on the gas.

– Saluting our Currie Cup stars: Gio Aplon, Gary Botha, Warren Britz and Phillip Burger.

– How Murray Mexted’s Academy gave Francois Steyn an edge.

– What the Boks can learn from rugby league’s defensive systems.

– Five former All Blacks rate the best team in the world (and explain why there’s still plenty of room for improvement).

– Keo on why the Boks must dominate the rucks in Dublin if they’re to avoid another defeat to Ireland.

– Naas selects his best backs of the Currie Cup, and Mallett his best forwards (expect some surprises).

– Who knows Schalk Burger better? His brother Tiaan or girlfriend Michele?

– How foreigners have invaded the Premiership.

– PLUS: We begin our World Cup countdown.

82 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

• 1.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

breyton looks quite stoned in that picture!!

• 2.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

breytie- stay away from amsterdam boetie!! we need u to be sharp on the rugby field!

• 3.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

new in sa rugby- why breyton loves to chill and listen to bob marley

• 4.Koos: Reply to this comment

Hey it worked for Small, why not for Breyton?

• 5.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

also in sa rugby- jake explains why it is so dangerous to eat muffins and drink green tea at breyton’s house

• 6.BokkeForever--oink12: Reply to this comment

Breyton is surely the best wing in SA. part from habana. 10 times better than Akona ndungane.

• 7.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

in this month’s issue- breyton tells us he doesn’t understand why people don’t like getting stoned in saudi arabia

• 8.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

breyton tells us why he is playing in france- “i’m a buffalo soldier, stolen from africa”

• 9.Koos: Reply to this comment

KIR you are on fire…

• 10.Erfplaas: Reply to this comment

LoL Kir

• 11.keepin_it_real: Reply to this comment

stuart abbott- “rudolf, u are a lekker oke but i got a girlfriend”

• 12.viewer: Reply to this comment

Why Stuart Abbott turned down Rudolf in 2003:
    Stuart: “Coach I don’t want to run around naked for you”
    Rudolf: “Oh c’mon Stuart, I just want to see what you’ve got…Nobody will suspect anything because all the players will be naked.”
    Stuart: “That’s it! I’m off to England”

• 13.Andre_WP: Reply to this comment

Paulse is a legend !

• 14.Disa: Reply to this comment

one of the best Bok Wings ever. Remember 1999 World Cup against the Kiwis???

• 15.PissAnt: Reply to this comment

– Pierre Spies: “We will be ready for England”.

Why does this sound like “See you at the World Cup.”?

• 16.skunk: The Sharks did not win the CC so My temp name is SWEET ROSE: Reply to this comment

I think with him its a case of we know what we have.

• 17.katman: Reply to this comment

“Saluting our Currie Cup stars: Gio Aplon, Gary Botha, Warren Britz and Phillip Burger.”

How did Britz gatecrash this little party?

• 18.Steel Shark: Reply to this comment

I don’t get to read the mag living all the way over here in ozzie land but interesting you guys talk about adopting rugby league defenses, I have become quite a fan of the game in the last couple of years and I believe Rugby would do well to take a few pointers from league, both offensively and defensively.

• 19.skunk: The Sharks did not win the CC so My temp name is SWEET ROSE: Reply to this comment

Can someone tell me why seconds has never made the cut. He has been a prolific scorer for a while now.

• 20.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Breyten has a rugby brain. Good instinct, good anticipation, good boot, good tackler, good thinker. He has intuition and its prolonging his career.

I think that Skim castes magic spells on him to keep Breytie in tip top legend condition. Skim uses Try Line Potion N0 14 on him. I’ve heard Skim use strong Breytie incantations to get him giddy – upping down the touch line and dotting down lapper side of the opponents try line.

Skim you’re a legend!!!

• 21.wpw: Reply to this comment

In this month’s issue of SA Rugby magazine-
    Breyton Paulse-
    *how i’ve managed to keep my front teeth despite being a resident of Cape Town

Comment by viewer : October 23, 2006 @ 7:59 am

that is such a stupid comment, plonker!

btw, he is not from Cape Town you idiot!!!

• 22.wpw: Reply to this comment

lol @ katman…

• 23.skunk: The Sharks did not win the CC so My temp name is SWEET ROSE: Reply to this comment

More Katman.

The whole Sharks team is currie cup stars. They just choke for for some strange reason.

• 24.klippies: Reply to this comment

man i really miss sa rugby magazine

• 25.StMichel: Reply to this comment

Hmm. It would be more interesting to ask him that after his time in France he is considered a joke amongst the French rugby community. A winger with no pace and no obvious skills.

Is he not a trifle embarrassed by the disconnect between the number of caps and his talents.

A walking ‘token’ of what is wrong with SA rugby.

• 26.yoda: Reply to this comment

“i just wanna be treated fairly”

hahahahaah, what a joke, then he wouldnt come near the bok jersey again. ONE good game in 2 years breytie! ONE!!!!

no dude, you wanna ride the “experience” train all the way to the bank champ…

russel can do anything you can do IMO, and he’s younger, but alas, he doesnt have the right uhmmmm…. credentials

if paulse playes like he did against the ausies, i dont mind him being there, but then he must produce the goods, not play kak for 2 years and then play one good game

• 27.The Bill: Reply to this comment

St Mick, been wondering where you were. What is your take on the weekends Heinekin cup results?

• 28.Pik Steal: Reply to this comment

Breytie is 100% legend.

• 29.sarky: Reply to this comment

Reading the Brent Russell article is like reading an Agony Aunt column. It’s also an indictment of Straueli (keep him here) and an insight into Dickie Muir’s weaknesses.

FFS the Giteau comparison is fair in the context of Sharks and Bok rugby. If he was a Bully Boy and warming the bench, I could understand it. The tragedy will be having to watch Giteau’s performance in RWC whilst Straueli and Muir dither endlessly, to say nothing of Jake White.

Should the critics be right and Jake White departs the coaching position post RWC, which one of his likely successors will take a chance on the invisible ‘utility’ or ‘impact’ player that gets no game time.

I respect the opion of those who have the opinion that he’s too light, too frail defensively or whatever they chose as an excuse for keeping him in the rugby wilderness. FFS let him play sevens at least! Unlike Luke Watson whose support band is well headed by Keo and SA Rugby, BR, without this benefit has at least proved that he is a Bok asset.

• 30.Dawn: Reply to this comment

Cover looks suspiciously like the World Cup promo pic of Chester Williams back in the day.

Copycats.

• 31.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Funny how StMichel always rolls around in his own faeces in his playpen and tries to make sensible comments. What a bitter twat.

• 32.Muskadel 3001, rekordpoging saam met pieterman 2999 en Koos 3000!: Reply to this comment

Sal baie meer as JW kos om Breytie se spirit te breek!!

• 33.Supa Die Bloubul: Reply to this comment

muskadel

Watter thread het sover gegaan? Regtig 3001? Jinne – geluk!

• 34.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

morning all

what a k@k monday to be at the office

however tried to improve spirits by doing as little as possible

• 35.Supa Die Bloubul: Reply to this comment

More Mr lam! more more!

• 36.Muskadel: Reply to this comment

Supa,

More!Dai Utopia thread het ons Saterdag aand en Sondag oggend tot 0500 wakker gehou saam met Koos en pietman…vet pret gewees!!

• 37.Muskadel: Reply to this comment

..gegaan tot 3120 dink ek…

• 38.Supa Die Bloubul: Reply to this comment

Muskadel

Waaar het hy geeindig? Is dit daai thread wat ek as kiestand gepost het? Wat was sy naam nou weer?

• 39.Supa Die Bloubul: Reply to this comment

o ok – Geluk manne! Impressive!

• 40.Muskadel: Reply to this comment

Klaar my naam met n plank geslaan met dai kiestand storie tog lekker gelag agterna…

• 41.Muskadel: Reply to this comment

PM, kon nie wag Sondag oggend dat die BB manne dit sien nie, glo hy sal julle nog uithaal hieroor…heheh

• 42.Supa Die Bloubul: Reply to this comment

muskadel

???? waarvan praat jy on 41?

• 43.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

het jy my mail gekry

• 44.Supa Die Bloubul: Reply to this comment

mr lam

Watter een? Die cheetah een?

• 45.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

die stormer girls

• 46.Supa Die Bloubul: Reply to this comment

nope – nie gekry nie – stuur na my hotmil account asb.

• 47.Muskadel: Reply to this comment

Supa, die feit dat die vorige rekord verbreek is …

• 48.MR Lam: Reply to this comment

check jou yahoo

en ek stuur in elkegeval hotmail toe ook

• 49.Supa Die Bloubul: Reply to this comment

o, PM = pieterman – jammer ek is bietjie stadig vanoggend!

• 50.Supa Die Bloubul: Reply to this comment

mr lam

Nou gesien in my yahoo – sal gou kyk – thanx.

Pages: [1] 2 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.