Poms pounded by injuries

England coach Andy Robinson named seven new caps in his injury depleted squad for the year-end Tests.

Consistently good performances in the Premiership earn Gloucester duo, Anthony Allen and Olly Morgan and Wasps pair Tom Rees and Paul Sackey their place in the 30-man squad.

Joining them are Sale’s Stuart Turner, Newcastle’s Toby Flood and Bristol’s Shaun Perry.

A host of key players like Stuart Abbott, Jonny Wilkinson, Olly Barkely, James Simpson-Daniel, Steve Thompson and Steve Borthwick where ruled out of England’s year-end Test matches against New Zealand, Argentina and South Africa.

England’s last test was a 43-18 defeat against Australia in Melbourne. Of the run-on XV from that test, nine have made the squad for the home internationals. They are:
Backs: I Balshaw (Gloucester), M Tait (Newcastle), J Noon (Newcastle), A Goode (Leicester), P Richards (Gloucester), J White (Leicester), B Kay (Leicester), C Jones (Sale Sharks) and P Sanderson (Worcester).

England squad
Backs: I Balshaw (Gloucester), O Morgan (Gloucester), J Lewsey (Wasps), M Cueto (Sale Sharks), P Sackey (Wasps), B Cohen (Northampton), M Tait (Newcastle), A Allen (Gloucester), J Noon (Newcastle), T Flood (Newcastle), C Hodgson (Sale Sharks), A Goode (Leicester), P Richards (Gloucester), S Perry (Bristol).

Forwards: A Sheridan (Sale Sharks), P Freshwater (Perpignan), J White (Leicester), S Turner (Sale Sharks), G Chuter (Leicester), L Mears (Bath), B Kay (Leicester), D Grewcock (Bath), T Palmer (Wasps), C Jones (Sale Sharks), P Sanderson (Worcester), L Moody (Leicester), T Rees (Wasps), M Lund (Sale Sharks), M Corry (Leicester), J Forrester (Gloucester).