Ireland humiliate Boks

Ireland broke every record in battering the Boks 32-15 in Dublin on Saturday.

Ireland led 22-3 at halftime and outscored the Boks by four tries to two.

The four tries were the most Ireland have ever scored against the Boks. The 17 point win was their biggest ever against the Boks.
More to follow…


Tries:Andrew Trimble,David Wallace,Marcus Horan, Shane Horgan
Conversions:Ronan O’Gara(3)
Penalties:O’Gara (2)

South Africa
Tries: Francois Steyn, Bryan Habana
Conversions: Andre Pretorius
Penalties: Pretorius

Key moments in the match

80mins: The final whistle brings the curtain down on a woeful performance by the Boks. 32-15 the final score.

75min: The joy is shortlived as Shane Horgan receives a sublime pass from O’Driscoll after Garvin Dempsey started the move deep in his half.

74mins: Steyn is again involved as the Boks look to mount a late comeback. He reads a O’Gara kick and proceeds to attack the opposite flank. He draws a tackle, offloads and the ball goes through the hands to Habana who blitzes the cover defence to score under the poles. Pretorius makes sure this time.

65mins: A good backline move sees Steyn score on debut after Danie Rossouw gets his hands through a tackle and offloads to the 20-year-old who races into the corner evading thetackle of O’Driscoll. Pretorius misses the conversion.

53mins:Intense counter rucking sees Ireland turn over possession and launch a counterattack. If O’Gara’s pass didn’t go forward it was try time for Ireland.

47mins: SA look to attack through a jinking run by Ricky Januarie but again there are no cleaners when Spies takes the tackle in midfield.

45mins: Pretorius misses a penalty from 30m out.

42mins: Penalty to Ireland as as Juan Smith tackles high. O’Gara takes a quick tap and expose the Bok defence. Eventually CJ van der Linde hacks the ball clear after D’Arcy almost gets in for the score.

41mins: BJ Botha replaces Lawrence Sephaka.

40mins: Ireland get a penalty as the siren sounds and O’Gara goes for goal from 3m inside his half. He misses and Paul Honiss takes the teams off.

38mins: Spies puts in a try saving tackle after Ireland break through the midfield for the sixth time, but the relief is only temporary as Marcus Horan crosses soon after. O’Gara converts, 22-3 Ireland.

31mins: De Villiers breaks through in midfield and makes 30m for the Boks. Ireland infringe at the ruck and concede the penalty. They go for the lineout, where Ireland again concede a penalty. The maul from the lineout threatens but Pierre Spies holds on to the ball in the tackle and Ireland are able to relieve the pressure.

28mins: The Boks are under pressure again, as more missed tackles in midfield expose them. Only desperate defence on their own goal line avoids another try.

23mins: Try Ireland. Numerous phases occur before Andrew Trimble again devastates the Bok defence. The move breaks down 8m from the tryline and is swung wide quiclky, where it goes through the hands for David Wallace to score. O’Gara misses the conversion.

19mins: Penalty Ireland, Jean de Villiers blown up for not rolling away after making the tackle. O’Gara makes no mistake from 24m out.

17mins:SA up quickly on defence and manage to hold on to O’Gara. D’Arcy enters the ruck from an offside position. Penalty Boks, but nothing comes from the subsequent lineout.

15mins: Ireland get a lineout 10m from the Bok line but it’s knocked on and Pretorius clears from the resultant scrum.

12mins: Fran Steyn collects a kick a returns it with a weaving run. They go blindside after the move breaks down. Habana chips on with the wing to beat but he has overcooked it and there is a 22 drop out.

9mins: First lineout of the day to Ireland. The wind takes it right across to the Bok side. Scrum down SA.

5mins:Try Ireland.The ball is spread wide after a scrum on the left hand touchline and a wonderful popped pass from O’Gara sees Andrew Trimble break the defensive line to score.

2mins: Penalty Boks as Denis Leamy infringes at the breakdown. Pretorius scores. 3-0 Boks.

1min: The Test kicks off with Albert van den Berg collecting Ronan O’Gara’s drop kick.The ball is spread wide and a flowing move is eventually ended by an Andre Pretorius drop goal attempt. He misses.


Ireland: 15 Girvan Dempsey, 14 Shane Horgan, 13 Brian O’Driscoll (captain), 12 Gordan D’Arcy, 11 Andrew Trimble, 10 Ronan O’Gara, 9 Peter Stringer, 8 Denis Leamy, 7 David Wallace, 6 Neil Best, 5 Paul O’Connell, 4 Donncha O’Callaghan, 3 John Hayes, 2 Rory Best, 1 Marcus Horan Replacements: 16 Frankie Sheahan, 17 Bryan Young, 18 Malcolm O’Kelly, 19 Simon Easterby, 20 Isaac Boss, 21 Paddy Wallace, 22 Geordan Murphy

South Africa: 15 Bevin Fortuin, 14 Jaco Pretorius, 13 Bryan Habana, 12 Jean de Villiers, 11 Francois Steyn, 10 Andre’ Pretorius, 9 Ricky Januarie, 8 Pierre Spies, 7 Juan Smith, 6 Danie Rossouw, 5 Albert van den Berg, 4 Johan Ackermann, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 John Smit (captain), 1 Lawrence Sephaka Replacements: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 BJ Botha, 18 Johann Muller, 19 Jacques Cronjé, 20 Ruan Pienaar, 21 Wynand Olivier, 22 JP Pietersen.

Referee: Paul Honiss (New Zealand)
Touch judges: Bryce Lawrence (New Zealand), Taizo Hirabayashi (Japan)
Television match official: David Changleng (Scotland)