Poms push panic button

England coach Andy Robinson has named seven changes to the side taking on the Springboks at Twickenham this weekend.

After last Saturday’s shock defeat to Argentina, Robinson has been forced to make numerous axings and switches in an attempt to curb the Poms’ terrible seven-game losing streak.

Mathew Tait displaces Anthony Allen in the centres, but he will play on the outside of Jamie Noon who shifts from No 13 to 12. Scrumhalf Peter Richards will also start ahead of Shaun Perry.

Both wingers who featured in the 25-18 loss to the Pumas, Ben Cohen and Paul Sackey are replaced by Josh Lewsey and Mark Cueto. Julian White comes into the front frow at Perry Freshwater’s expense, while Tom Palmer begins in the second row instead of Danny Grewcock.

The back row sees a shuffle with Joe Worsely playing on the blindside. Martin Corry will shift to No 8, while Pat Sanderson will start at openside in place of Lewis Moody who drops to the bench.

Phil Vickery returns to the match squad for the first time in 12 months.

England team to play South Africa, Saturday, 2.30pm, Twickenham Stadium:
15 Iain Balshaw (Gloucester Rugby)
14 Mark Cueto (Sale Sharks)
13 Mathew Tait (Newcastle Falcons)
12 Jamie Noon (Newcastle Falcons)
11 Josh Lewsey (London Wasps)
10 Charlie Hodgson (Sale Sharks)
9 Pete Richards (Gloucester Rugby)
8 Martin Corry (capt, Leicester Tigers)
7 Pat Sanderson (Worcester Warriors)
6 Joe Worsley (London Wasps)
5 Ben Kay (Leicester Tigers)
4 Tom Palmer (London Wasps)
3 Julian White (Leicester Tigers)
2 George Chuter (Leicester Tigers)
1 Andrew Sheridan (Sale Sharks)

16 Lee Mears (Bath Rugby)
17 Phil Vickery (London Wasps)
18 Chris Jones (Sale Sharks)
19 Lewis Moody (Leicester Tigers)
20 Shaun Perry (Bristol Rugby)
21 Andy Goode (Leicester Tigers)
22 Toby Flood (Newcastle Falcons)