Fantastic Fourie is No 1

Jaque Fourie is SA Rugby magazine’s Player of the Year.

sar_119.jpgFourie may have bizarrely missed out on a nomination for Saru’s equivalent award, but he got our vote simply because he excelled for struggling sides throughout the 2006 season.

He was played out of position on the wing during the Vodacom Super 14, and scored a hat-trick against the Blues after returning to the midfield late in the competition.

Fourie picked up a knee injury at the start of the Test season, but stormed back to score three tries in the Vodacom Tri-Nations. Unfortunately, his season ended when he broke a hand just days before the end-of-year tour — a massive blow to the Bok backline.

Other award winners in this collectors’ edition include:

– Luke Watson (Comeback of the Year)
– Pierre Spies (Rookie of the Year)
– Rassie Erasmus (Coach of the Year)

Also in the magazine, on sale Wednesday:

– Gary Botha, Ollie le Roux and Jonathan Kaplan on the Absa Currie Cup final.
– Kabamba Floors: Why my height shouldn’t matter.
– How Heyneke Meyer built the Bulls empire.
– Hilton Lobberts on his breakthrough season.
– Bevin Fortuin on being a Bok.
– Tiaan Strauss is back in South Africa.
– Nick Mallett and Naas Botha look ahead to the Vodacom Super 14.
– Keo on why SA’s high-performance academy only creates the illusion of transformation.
– Who knows Phillip Burger better, his dad Thys or Cheetahs centre Hendrik Meyer?
– World Cup countdown.

106 Comments

Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All

• 1.Skim: Reply to this comment

Yeah!!! When’s the mag coming out?
    I can’t wait!!!

• 2.Skim: Reply to this comment

Oh, right, wednesday.
    Sorry.

• 3.Skim: Reply to this comment

No1 winna winna!!
    That’s what fourie is.

• 4.Titleist: Reply to this comment

I wouldn’t day he’s the best player this year, because he hasn’t done that much.

BUT

Think the only reason he’s been chosen is because the others were so k@k.

But he’s a very good player in a kak team.

• 5.Skim: Reply to this comment

Golf man,
    Yeah, for the boks and the cats.

• 6.Fuzzybear: Reply to this comment

Play him at prop!

• 7.Jurgens: Reply to this comment

and there must be an award for luke….

• 8.Skim: Reply to this comment

Fuzzy wuzzy, don’t be silly willy.

• 9.Skim: Reply to this comment

Whashappening Jurgens?

• 10.Fuzzybear: Reply to this comment

Ig did you read Paul Dobsons, “Selling our birthright for a mess of pottage?” on 365? Brilliant!

• 11.Jurgens: Reply to this comment

Skim

not much hey.. just still very pissed off with the bokke

• 12.donde: Reply to this comment

Did he win a year’s subscription?

• 13.Provvas: Reply to this comment

hello Skim, Jurgens en die manne!!
    Gaan ons wen die naweek??
    Gaan JW loop na die naweek?
    Gaan die cats weer onner oppi log wees in die s14??

• 14.Provvas: Reply to this comment

Awnser to above: No to all….

• 15.Ig: Reply to this comment

Fuzz – no i didn’t.

• 16.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Want hy is ‘n Leeu!!!

• 17.Fuzzybear: Reply to this comment

Luke is wondering if he should move to Tonga to play international rugby.

Simon who came up with those awards Keo and his pannel of experts?

• 18.Skim: Reply to this comment

Provvas
    Ja
    Nee
    Ja

Hoe lyk dinge ou maat?

• 19.Skim: Reply to this comment

Oh!!!
    I love the cover.
    Very James Bondish.

Casino Rugby?

Spies, Pierre Spies.

• 20.Fuzzybear: Reply to this comment

Jizaaaaaaaaaaaz you guys need to sort out your cover designer, that looks like a flashback to style magazine in mid 80′s.

Keo, that “Wham” vibe went out along time ago with Andre Aggassis’s highlights!

• 21.Fuzzybear: Reply to this comment

Thats actuaaly hilarious, looks like Back street boys album cover!

• 22.Skim: Reply to this comment

Fourie, Jacques Fourie.
    I are liking to be looking for someone.
    He are a big man wif a black jersey.
    Dey kol him Makô.

• 23.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

I told you long ago I never find the SA Rugby at the local store. Should start looking for the GQ… They should be next to each other. Stupid me… and here I thought the SA Rugby would have rugby players on it.

• 24.Skim: Reply to this comment

Whashappening Grr?
    You must be ecstatic about the lions?

• 25.molly: Reply to this comment

ha ha, there was a very good joke on 5fm now.

Jake phones Rassie up for some advice:
    Jake: Rassie I’m on the top of the stadium roof with the lights and panels, what do I do now?
    Rassie: Jump you F*CK!

• 26.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

Skim

Nothing much boet. Been away for awhile. What news about the Lions??? What did I miss???

• 27.Provvas: Reply to this comment

Skim Boks are pathetic. Find myself looking forward to the S14.. Would love to see Robbie Diack, Luke, Schalk? etc play instead of this bunch of losers calling themselves die springbokken
    Fuzz, I’ve been saying I’m tired the past three weeks!!

• 28.Skim: Reply to this comment

Lions playing in the Super14 my man….

Provvas,
    I can’t wait to see what Brent can do!

• 29.Grrrr....I'm a Lion!: Reply to this comment

O that! Yip, pretty glad about it.

• 30.Provvas: Reply to this comment

JW aan sy seun: Fetch me a beer as quick as you can.
    Son :”Like Kabamba?”
    JW: “No quicker man!
    Son: “Ok I’ll pretend to be Luke Watson!”

• 31.Skim: Reply to this comment

9.Bolla(underrated)
    10.Brent
    11.Sereli
    12.Jean
    13.Uys
    14.Paulse
    15.Aplon

now that’s a backline!
    And we have depth:
    Sarel Potgieter
    Joe Petersen
    Rayno Benjamin
    Jongi Nokwe
    Chavanga
    Peter Grant(would like to see him at 12 or 13)
    Naas
    even Barry if we really want to.

• 32.yoda: Reply to this comment

skim now you just need a decent pack so you can hold onto the ball at the breakdown etc…

• 33.Provvas: Reply to this comment

What about Seconds?
    Zahier? If Lomu goes to the Boland?? Will he wear the stormers jersey?? Hehehe

Think this pack will Rock!
    1. JD Moller
    2. Schalk Brits
    3. Brok Harris
    4. Francois VD Merwe
    5. Gerrie Britz
    6 Luke Watson
    7. Justin Melck
    8. Robbie Diack

With depth of Skeate, Bekker, Edmonds, Louw…

• 34.Skim: Reply to this comment

1.Moller
    2.Brits
    3.Human(Boland)
    4.Francois
    5.Brits
    6.Luke
    7.Melk
    8.Diack

And Yeah, I figure Seconds is better than the convict from Fiji.

• 35.Skim: Reply to this comment

That’s a good pack!

Yoda, stormers did not concede much turnovers at ruck time, and we had some of the best turnover statistics!

• 36.molly: Reply to this comment

what about Joe van Niekerk?

• 37.Skim: Reply to this comment

Lomu won’t make the Stormers.
    He’d be too afraid of Paulse anyway.

• 38.Skim: Reply to this comment

Joe needs a few klappe and a good haircut.
    If he can get his act together I’d play him instead of Diack.

• 39.Provvas: Reply to this comment

Ja these players gets me excited about rugby again, not these plonkers up North…excuse the pun!!

• 40.molly: Reply to this comment

and of course Schalk? if he makes a comeback

• 41.Provvas: Reply to this comment

Robbie Diack will perform when he is on a hot spot to retain his place from Joe, so allout from this kid!!
    Same with Naas and Brent, Same with Jean and Barry, same with Aplon and Jantjes, same with Skeate VD Merwe, same with Paulse and Seconds/Zahier/Joe P… Man cant wait to see it!!!

• 42.molly: Reply to this comment

oh, and Conrad Jantjes

• 43.Skim: Reply to this comment

I forgot about Jantjies…..
    I wonder if he’ll make it?
    Better than Seconds?

• 44.molly: Reply to this comment

AND Ronnie Cooke, well, for the Stormers at least.

• 45.yoda: Reply to this comment

skim, thay didnt excactly dominate either…

and sorry that isnt a good pack. will be dominated by the cheetahs, bulls, sharks, and probably lions as well…

province should be trying to take tips from rassie. he has a big tight five, fast backrow, and that makes it easy for their backs to run with the ball. imagine a wp backline behind that pack.

problem is provionce are to busy buying backline players. should be concentrating more on the pack. you have enough guys at the back…

• 46.molly: Reply to this comment

I’m happy with Skim and Provvas’s pack, there is also Tiaan Liebenberg.

• 47.Skim: Reply to this comment

I agree we have a problem at loosehead, Don’t know if Moller will make it.

The rest is fine though.
    Gee Molly, Is ronnie Cooke gonna play with the Stormers?
    I thought he was a cheetah?
    If he is he can play wing.

• 48.Skim: Reply to this comment

Shimange moves down the bench…..
    I rate Huia Edmonds higher than him.
    Edmonds didn’t have a bad CC?

• 49.Provvas: Reply to this comment

Stormers squad: (Not confirmed)

15. Aplon, Jantjes
    14. Paulse, Seconds, Zahier
    13. Uys, Greeff, Barry
    12. Jean, Sarel, Grant
    11. Sireli, Nokwe, Benjamin,
    10. Brent, Naas, Dollie?
    9. Bolla, Delport
    8. Robbie, Joe,
    7. Melck, Brits
    6. Luke Watson, Schalk?
    5. Bekker, ??
    4. VD Merwe, Skeate,
    3. Brok, Fourie, Human
    2. Schalk,
    1. JD Moller, ??
    Look a great squad… I’ll even say at least 15 players can make the bok squad…

• 50.Skim: Reply to this comment

I was also hoping Cobus Visagie would make it…..
    Imagine
    1.Andries
    2.Brits
    3.Cobus

Pages: [1] 2 3 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.