Wallabies shaft Rattlebones

As expected, Australia have again overhauled their side for their Test against Scotland at Murrayfield on Saturday.

The pack sees five changes from the unit that were taught a rugby lesson at Lansdowne Road last weekend, while there are positional changes in a backline that has been devoid of attacking ideas this season.

Rathbone is the fall guy this time, as coach John Connolly and his selectors have opted to go with Scott Staniforth at inside-centre, breaking up the beefy yet impotent midfield combination of Sterling Mortlock and Lote Tuqiri. The former shifts to outside centre while the latter takes up his more accustomed role on the left wing.

Mark Gerrard plays on the opposite wing while Stephen Larkham has recovered from a head knock and will line up at flyhalf.

There’s a back row reshuffle as George Smith and David Lyons replace Phil Waugh and Wycliff Palu. The tight five performance this season has been nothing short of diabolical, due party to the selectors refusal to settle on a combination.

And this Test is no different.

Al Campbell replaces Mark Chisholm in the second row, Stephen Moore starts at hooker ahead of Brendan Cannon and Benn Robinson replaces fellow Waratahs prop Al Baxter.


15 Chris Latham
14 Mark Gerrard
13 Stirling Mortlock (captain)
12 Scott Staniforth
11 Lote Tuqiri
10 Stephen Larkham
9 Matt Giteau
8 David Lyons
7 George Smith
6 Rocky Elsom
5 Al Campbell,
4 Nathan Sharpe
3 Guy Shepherdson
2 Stephen Moore
1 Benn Robinson


16 Tatafu Polota-Nau
17 Al Baxter
18 Mark Chisholm
19 Phil Waugh
20 Wycliff Palu or Stephen Hoiles
21 Josh Valentine
22 Mat Rogers.