Chiliboy makes history

Twenty year old Chiliboy Ralepelle will captain the Springbok XV when they take on the World XV on Sunday.

The SA U21 skipper becomes the first black player to lead a senior South African team in history, and the youngest across all demographics. He is also the second player from Pretoria Boys’ High to receive such an honour, John Smit being the first.

Ralepelle’s Vodacom Blue Bulls captain Gary Botha is on the bench for the first time on tour, and is expected to get game time in the second half, at which time he will also assume the leadership of the Bok team. This is also a first for Botha, who too has captained South Africa at U21 level.

The team for this non-cap international sees 10 changes from the side who defeated England at Twickenham last week. Wynand Olivier remains in the midfield, but Francois Steyn moves to flyhalf. In the pack, Danie Rossouw and Johan Ackermann stay put, while try-scorer CJ van der Linde shifts back to the tighthead side.

Ruan Pienaar finally gets a chance to start at scrumhalf, and JP Pietersen is also given a game albeit on the wing. After a tough introduction to Test rugby against the Irish at Lansdowne Road, Bevin Fortuin and Jaco Pretorius are once again named at fullback and right wing respectively.

Of the players who have flown over recently, De Wet Barry gets his first match in Springbok colours since the flop against France in June. Gerrie Britz and Wikus van Heerden join Rossouw in a big back row, while Meyer Bosman and Jongi Nokwe warm the bench.

Springbok XV: 15 Bevin Fortuin, 14 Jaco Pretorius, 13 Wynand Olivier, 12 De Wet Barry, 11 JP Pietersen, 10 Francois Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Danie Rossouw, 7 Gerrie Britz, 6 Wikus van Heerden, 5 Albert van den Berg, 4 Johan Ackermann, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Deon Carstens. Replacements: 16 Gary Botha, 17 Lawrence Sephaka, 18 Selborne Boome, 19, Hilton Lobberts, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Jongi Nokwe.