League experts to face Boks

The World XV team that plays the Springboks on Sunday in Leicester includes three rugby league converts.

Coach Bob Dwyer, who was also in charge of the previous fixture against the two teams in June, has named Clinton Schifcofske (Australia), Ryan Cross (Australia) and Andy Farrell (Great Britain/England) in his starting line-up. All three are yet to represent their countries in the 15-man game, but are expected to make a huge impact in the backline, with Farrell being singled out as a particularly dangerous man on attack.

The squad comprises players from 11 different countries, and boasts a total of 523 Tests caps. Lawrence Dallaglio, who played a prominent role in England’s successful 2003 World Cup campaign will lead the team at the Walkers Stadium. Dwyer believes the match should be a huge success as both a spectacle and commemoration to a century of Springbok rugby.

“It is great to be back in Leicester, where 100 years ago the Springboks played their first overseas match against a Midlands Counties team,” he said.

“The World XV includes a blend of experience with players like Lawrence Dallaglio, Justin Marshall and Thomas Castaignède plus exciting additions including rugby league converts Andy Farrell, Ryan Cross and Clinton Schifcofske.

“The match provides a rare opportunity for fans to see international stars playing fast, expressive and entertaining world-class rugby.”

World XV: 15 Matt Perry (Bath, England – 36 caps), 14 Clinton Schifcofske (Reds, Australia Rugby League – 0), 13 Ryan Cross (Western Force, Australia Rugby League – 0), 12 Andy Farrell (Saracens, Great Britain/England Rugby League – 0), 11 Drew Mitchell (Reds, Australia – 10), 10 Thomas Castaignède (Saracens, France – 52), 9 Justin Marshall (Ospreys, New Zealand – 81, vice-captain), 8 Lawrence Dallaglio (Wasps, England – 77, captain), 7 Jonny O’Connor (Wasps, Ireland – 12), 6 Michael Owen (Newport, Wales – 34), 5 Alister Campbell (Brumbies, Australia – 3), 4 Simon Shaw (Wasps, England – 28), 3 Cobus Visagie (Saracens, South Africa – 29), 2 Fabio Ongaro (Saracens, Italy – 44), 1 Dave Hewett (Edinburgh, New Zealand – 22).
Replacements: 16 Vernet Basualdo (Asociacion Alumni, Argentina – 3), 17 Nic Henderson (Brumbies, Australia – 3), 18 Takuro Miuchi (NEC Rockets, Japan – 30), 19 David Croft (Reds, Australia – 5), 20 Gareth Cooper (Newport, Wales – 32), 21 Pablo Gomez Cora (Lomas Athletic (U.R.B.A), Argentina – 4), 22 Thinus Delport (Worcester, South Africa – 18).

Springbok XV: 15 Bevin Fortuin, 14 Jaco Pretorius, 13 Wynand Olivier, 12 De Wet Barry, 11 JP Pietersen, 10 Francois Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Danie Rossouw, 7 Gerrie Britz, 6 Wikus van Heerden, 5 Albert van den Berg, 4 Johan Ackermann, 3 CJ van der Linde, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Deon Carstens. Replacements: 16 Gary Botha, 17 Lawrence Sephaka, 18 Selborne Boome, 19, Hilton Lobberts, 20 Ricky Januarie, 21 Meyer Bosman, 22 Jongi Nokwe.