Do we deserve an award?
1 Dec 2006
We want to know what you think of the latest issue of SA Rugby magazine (with Fourie, Spies, Erasmus and Watson on the cover).
There are no prizes on offer, just the thrill of seeing your name in print in the next issue of the mag.
We welcome criticism that is constructive and any suggestions as to how the magazine can improve.
Just to remind you what’s in the awards issue:
– Jaque Fourie (Player of the Year)
– Luke Watson (Comeback of the Year)
– Pierre Spies (Rookie of the Year)
– Rassie Erasmus (Coach of the Year)
PLUS:
– Gary Botha, Ollie le Roux and Jonathan Kaplan on the Absa Currie Cup final.
– Kabamba Floors: Why my height shouldn’t matter.
– How Heyneke Meyer built the Bulls empire.
– Hilton Lobberts on his breakthrough season.
– Bevin Fortuin on being a Bok.
– Tiaan Strauss is back in South Africa.
– Nick Mallett and Naas Botha look ahead to the Vodacom Super 14.
– Keo on why SA’s high-performance academy only creates the illusion of transformation.
– Who knows Phillip Burger better, his dad Thys or Cheetahs centre Hendrik Meyer?
– World Cup countdown.

233 Comments
1 Dec 2006, 06:44 am
I think the issue was very informative, even though the Article on Lobberts seems a bit premature…
A breakthrough season? How many games has the man played? One game against WP gives him the nod into the Springbok jersey…
Strange…
1 Dec 2006, 06:45 am
I like that you gave Pierre Spies a pink shirt and tie to wear…
The bulls all just love it…hehe
1 Dec 2006, 06:46 am
The_Saint,
It was Lobberts’ breakthrough season in that he broke into the Bok team. Doesn’t matter if he deserved to be there or not.
1 Dec 2006, 06:49 am
Those of you who want to submit a proper letter for the magazine (perhaps your thoughts on the Bok tour, Jake keeping his job etc) can send them to simon@hsm.co.za.
250 words max please.
1 Dec 2006, 06:56 am
Simon
I do understand that and everything, but I mean, on tour he had 40 minutes of play in which he was clearly out of his depth…
Maybe if it was an article like, Hilton Lobberts: Is he another Gaffie du Toit/ Dave von Hoeselin / Meyer Bosman?
Feel free to add the name of your choice…
1 Dec 2006, 06:59 am
By the way, the High Performance Article was excellent,
Rugby Development is just a farce with a strong political undertone, Rugby Administrators seem to rush into things just to get governments approval instead of actually contributing something towards the players or the game as a whole…
1 Dec 2006, 07:06 am
we need a regular SA A team to tour and gain experience. It should be a 100% quota team and 100% u/23. that’l do more for transformation than hi performance & quotas
1 Dec 2006, 07:09 am
Carla, good morning…
1 Dec 2006, 07:17 am
Luke deserves the publicity, but not as a rugby player. Similar to the Mbeki/Zuma rivalry, people make Luke their champion just because they have an issue with Jake. My enemy’s enemy is my friend. Luke is realy just an average CC player with a bad attitude.
1 Dec 2006, 07:18 am
Saint, how u gorgeous? wana get fresh?
1 Dec 2006, 07:21 am
Do I wanna get fresh? As I told you before, first I have to know whether you are indeed male or female, no offence, but the internet is a tricky business…
1 Dec 2006, 07:27 am
Carla,
I like your idea about the SA A team. We need to play our fringe players more regularly, and even have a 50% quota. We can blood the fringe players and young players and get the used to the lime light and playing in a Bokke type environment. This can be a stepping stone to get into the Boks main touring squad.
1 Dec 2006, 07:33 am
Why a quota team? This is ridiculous, being previously disadvantaged does not give you the right to receive more opportunities than deserving players to get into the Springbok team…
You are talking about fringe and young players, if you blatantly select a quota team there are practically none of these players on tour…
Rather pick a merit team, if a player is good enough, he will get drafted, otherwise, sorry, his is the lot of many a player not good enough to be a Springbok, CC if possible…
1 Dec 2006, 07:38 am
Agreed, The_Saint.
Well, firstly the situation SA finds itself in is that we need to blood through previously disadvantaged type players, but not at a 100% level. But rather play all the young and exciting new players on merit. Whether “merit” means blooding previously disadvantaged players, or fringe players, so be it.
Also one need to take into account that the SA A team should geared towards blooding players for the Boks, and that the Boks interests are at heart. So ya, SA A team is for the fringe players, or rather, the hopefuls.
1 Dec 2006, 07:39 am
Fourie Du Preez isnt player of the year on SA Rugby, its JACQUE FOURIE guys…….
1 Dec 2006, 07:44 am
SA is well behind it’s 3N partners in terms of playing an ‘A’ team in matches against “less established” nations. i remember it was reported somewhere that this year NZ featured about 85% of it’s S14 players in it’s national representative teams (All Blacks, NZ Maori etc.)
1 Dec 2006, 07:46 am
And why in another article does keo write:
“You could argue a place has to be made for Wynand Olivier and that Jaque Fourie and Jean de Villiers aren’t as good as we’d like to think.
Given this little exercise you can’t say with any certainty after three years of White’s coaching which is the best 15 out of the 64 players he has used.”
Well accoriding to keo we CAN choose (with certainty) that Spies & Fourie are the best in their position.
And if Jacque Fourie isnt as good as we think then why is he SA Rugby Player of Year?
Unless i`m reading this wrong
1 Dec 2006, 07:47 am
I wonder if it’s a money issue, as to why the Boks don’t play an SA A team that regularly?
1 Dec 2006, 07:47 am
remy,
without a doubt, jaque fourie stood head and shoulders above his bok peers. he is the player of the year simply because he showed mental strength and applied himself throughout the season.
1 Dec 2006, 07:49 am
Am I right in saying that you okes chose kaplan as the ref of the year? Captain Clueless Kaplan should have earned the “rasberry” award for his pathetic performance in the CC final.
1 Dec 2006, 07:50 am
viewer, i dont disagree.
1 Dec 2006, 07:50 am
saint
i agree, we have more than enough black players to make the team on merit. let’s pick the best team and whether the team is 40% black or just 25%, it doesnt matter.
It’s obvious that we are moving in the right direction where transformation is concerned. in a few years time we will have many more good players of colour to make all our top teams…
1 Dec 2006, 07:54 am
No
1 Dec 2006, 07:54 am
and with that pink shirt Spies was wearing it should have been 3 Men & a Girl of the year
1 Dec 2006, 07:56 am
haha lol
1 Dec 2006, 07:58 am
and what the hell did Luke Watson stand on with that shoe of his? I mean go look at the bottom of his shoe in the magazine, its like he`s trying to show you the **** that he stepped in on his way to the shoot!
Or he might have bumped into Jake White!
1 Dec 2006, 08:01 am
I`m happy that Jacques try scoring is so much better than his tie tieing. Otherwise then we`d have a problem.
Maybe the hand eye co-ord lady could help him with it?
1 Dec 2006, 08:04 am
Tian Straus is back in SA.
I was wondering what those earth tremors were…..
This guy got real large in Australia, and not in the Shane Warne way
1 Dec 2006, 08:10 am
Looks like back street boys album cover!
If you did that in NewZealnd they’d have you stoned at dawn.
Imagine Richie MaCaw in pink shirt!
Ruben Kruger in a Olive green number!
No wonder SA rugby players have such huge ego’s, the press makes them out to be role models for a Mens Haelth/ *** pride parade.
Just play rugby and get on withit and screw the side shows!
1 Dec 2006, 08:10 am
Hey! Where did my post go?
1 Dec 2006, 08:11 am
I think Fourie looks a little like a Vulcan.
1 Dec 2006, 08:12 am
Ok, in short. Since I started reading the mag the covers were Luke, Brent, Breytie and now this one (which I think is kinda cool) – what the hell, did Keo choose the other three covers?
1 Dec 2006, 08:24 am
Luke has enough eyebrow in that picture to outeyebrow the rest of them
1 Dec 2006, 08:26 am
i just noticed that the first letter of MEN (M for the hard learners) is in pink, The E is in a soft baby blue and the N is a dark peach.
Great!
1 Dec 2006, 08:44 am
Its interesting that Luke only measures himself against McCaw. Its would be interesting to hear the views of McCaw on Luke. We all know that international rugby analysts, ranging from Southern Hemisphere to Northern Hemisphere all rate Luke highly, except Snow White.
I see White wants to rewrite the itnernational rugby gameplan and rules. I saw his boys fetching beer for him after the England win, one of them was Floors.
Luke has set himself very high standard, and him having a personal quest against the best in the world is very much an evidence of guts.
He was second best to McCaw last year’s Super 14, unfortunately, next year McCaw will on be playing for 7 weeks. During that time, Luke has the opportunity to exploit the situation.
When Schalk is back, hopefully he will still be the same (I fear he might not), him and Luke will inflict huge damage on opposition.
Go Luke, Snow White will not be around after the World Cup and you will get your chance to be a deserving Bok. Floors is not the best open side flanker in the country, Luke is the one.
1 Dec 2006, 08:49 am
Do you deserve an award? I wouldnt know. I got a year subscription as a birthday present last year and in that time have received two issues. My sister gets sent the issue every now and then after phoning in about ten times and explaining the problem. She now knows the guy quite well. How difficult can it be to get right. I got an issue last month but something tells me this months one wont arrive again. Please wake up guys
1 Dec 2006, 08:58 am
I agree with you Simon,SA Rugby deserves the Loerie award.The editorial team is up to scratch delievering informative and to the point articles,the designers are doing yoman work and the magazine has been turned around in the last 2 and a half years.Congratulations to Keo and the team at HSM for galvinizing what was a poor publication 3 years ago to what where the rugby mag has evolved to now-the magazine has improved ten-fold and is a quality read.Well done guys.Its a job very well done.
1 Dec 2006, 09:06 am
Who is classified as a quota player these days, after 10 yrs of democracy and equal rights and opportunities (yes its a young democracy), who is disadvantaged.
A rugby player that is 21 yrs old or younger is a merit player, he/she has had the same advantages regardless of the colour.
Take Chillie for instance, scholorship at Pretoria boys high (paid by John ****), Quota i think not, he deserves all the praise coming his way. It’s a disgrace calling him a quota. Development player doesn’t evn work, everyone is development, Frans Steyn is more of a development player than anyone else in the squad.
LETS STOP BEING DISRESPECTFUL to the PAULSES,CHILLIES and LOBERTSES. PICK THE GUYS FOR THE SKILLS, they will APPRECIATE the jersey so much more.
1 Dec 2006, 09:15 am
Bok fan – i sent you an email – please get back to me and i will see what i can do about your subs issue
1 Dec 2006, 09:20 am
Stuck up in Sweden this is my main form of writen info from South African rugby, apart from various websites. Of all the rugby publications available SA Rugby is definately top. The articles and layout are head and shoulders above the others. After I’ve scanned through it, it usually ends up at our local rugby club or in our local pub the Dancing Dingo.
1 Dec 2006, 09:26 am
I would love to comment. But i cant as i am subscribed to SA rugby in NZ and i only recieve it half way through the month
1 Dec 2006, 09:29 am
in Womans rugby, (abomination that it is..) who qualified for “previously disadvantaged”?
its only been going for a few years?
this is not a snotty question, i’d really like to know.
1 Dec 2006, 09:32 am
i deserve an award for drinking about a litre of limoncello.
1 Dec 2006, 09:35 am
I really need to get this off my chest – Carla Jane is the most irritating person I have ever come across on any chat-line, etc.
She really shows her ignorance and frankly I wish she would stick to “Deat Auntie” or something similar.
I do apologize for this personal attack which should not be part of this forum, but she really p@#$*s me off.
Thanks, now I feel better
1 Dec 2006, 09:40 am
“The Bulls Empire”
I like that.
1 Dec 2006, 09:41 am
Brian
You should meet some of the other people on this site…
1 Dec 2006, 09:42 am
brian, Didn’t you know? She\he\it is a plant by the Snake camp to boost his shares.
1 Dec 2006, 09:44 am
Kerneels has it right, CJ might have moments, but hell, there ARE a lot worse.
1 Dec 2006, 09:46 am
Carla Jane = Carlos Janneman.
1 Dec 2006, 09:52 am
Better hurry and buy it – would not want to miss KEO’s article on transformation.
Like he can write about anything else.
Are you sure your real name is not KEO WATSON
Yet agian the SA Rugby cover sucked… Sorry, but it does. You should get Joost and Amor on your next cover. They haven’t been on any ‘Huisgenoot’ covers for a while and I’m pretty sure they have popped out another little ‘Van De Westhuizen’.
The way she defends Joke White, she could be HIM !!!
1 Dec 2006, 09:55 am
Brian
She’s just showing her maternal instincts in defending a helpless creature.
1 Dec 2006, 09:57 am
brian, believe me, I have given that some thought too. Have you noticed, anything Snake likes or dislikes are the same things CJ likes or dislikes. Keo for starters, Watson, being fired and all, not understanding a fetchers role, only into BIG men etc, etc.
1 Dec 2006, 09:59 am
Brain
I am guessing you have not had the pleasure of Falonke or Tackler on a good day?
1 Dec 2006, 09:59 am
Grrr.are you drunk?Did you even get to read the mag or pull out the Cover.That cover took an ernomous amount of time and was carefully done.If you want Doos and the lotto loser on your cover,buy the rooi roos you d@@s.
1 Dec 2006, 10:00 am
I’m sorry. I just realized my comment was not very ‘constructive’. OK, how about Minki’s ‘new’ pic’s on your next cover. You know, the one’s with her in her bath. I’m sure you would sell a lot of mag’s!
1 Dec 2006, 10:01 am
God, please not folanke!!! Rather give me 10 CJ’s
Easy Frenchie – everyones entitled to an opinion. We take good and bad criticism and learn from it !
If Carla is Jake we are in more shi1t than we realize.
maybe CJ is a guy in prison and undertands the value of a “big man”?
didn’t carla jane appear on this site about the same time cj venter got banned?
CJ is definitely a bloke.
1 Dec 2006, 10:02 am
Frenchie
You are so funny. No, I didn’t read the SA Rugby. Why would I? It’s k@k! Just like you! I’m rubber, your glue…
1 Dec 2006, 10:03 am
…or a very butch ****.
1 Dec 2006, 10:05 am
ricane – nah two different folks CJ and Carla Jane – that much i can confirm, but i do suspect she is a he.
1 Dec 2006, 10:06 am
Grr,you aare the most negative guy ive ever met.Its people like you who RUIN it for everyone.I have a brain,you dont…
1 Dec 2006, 10:09 am
frenchie, they did ask for constructive crit’s, Personally I don’t like it either. I find it bitsy, I don’t like the white background and I think the couloured MEN looks like it should be on the cover of a child’s colouring book. And you say pull out cover? I hate folding covers! Other than that, it’s fine.
It is just as well I don’t buy a mag for the cover.
1 Dec 2006, 10:09 am
Ig-give credit where it is due-the bloke didnt read the mag-or even see it so how can he judge.Constructive critism is on thing when you know wgat you talking about,it something completely different when you dont.Its similar with someone like CJ-She does not have a clue at times and its simple-comment on what you know-not what you assume.
1 Dec 2006, 10:10 am
O, because my opinion differs from yours I don’t have a brain??? OK, now run along. Then I can’t bother you anymore.
1 Dec 2006, 10:11 am
Well I can confirm that my name is NOT Sherlock in that case.
And I can also confirm that I will stick to my day job!
1 Dec 2006, 10:11 am
spies looks like a moviestar on the cover. some mafia type.
and JFourie, is a great player and all that but he look really weird on this cover. like a naughty schoolboy. met ore soos handjies wat sweets vra.
he doesnt look like that while playing, thank goodness.
1 Dec 2006, 10:12 am
Is this a brawl?
1 Dec 2006, 10:12 am
we don’t give a toss about watson keo !!
1 Dec 2006, 10:13 am
Bluecap,thats fine-at least you have read the mag unlike Grr… #62.I appreciate that people have different opinions thats great-but read it 1st before passing jugdement-surely thats a pre-requisite before adding your 2 cents
Seems like it. Want to ‘barney’???
spies looks like he’s about to make Rassie an offer he cant refuse…
1 Dec 2006, 10:14 am
Frenchie
Dude, ag… It’s no use! I’m off to that other site…
1 Dec 2006, 10:15 am
Grr..your childish quirps are not welcomed and unappreciated.Why dont we discuss something that you know something about,whats going on with the Lions camp?What are views on Anton van Zyl-the lock that made an impact in the CC?
1 Dec 2006, 10:16 am
Keo’s input to the mag – negative again !!!
1 Dec 2006, 10:18 am
It’s a very bad job of cutting, they could at least have fazed the edges a bit. And what’s with the small sa? does this mean RUGBY’s bigger than SA? And 2006 in a white box? It should have been 2006 in white, not in a white box. Tch.
frenchie, you didn’t do this cover did you?
1 Dec 2006, 10:21 am
frenchie, you didn’t do this cover did you?
Comment by Bluecap : December 1, 2006 @ 10:18 am
It all makes sence now!!!!
1 Dec 2006, 10:22 am
No,but it was a bit different-i didnt think it was that bad,i agree though that you buy the mag for the content.Keo at least poses questions that other journalists dont dare to go>As for thr cover,not bad,in fact better than seeing Brent in a Tank
Congrats on making Jacque Fourie your player of the year. The man deserves that accolade. Great player, great mag.
Sense-not sence you roman
1 Dec 2006, 10:23 am
And that’s just the cover! Now lets start on the second page. I don’t like the feel of the paper. The ink looks faded. The D halfway down the page has a smudge.
1 Dec 2006, 10:23 am
one of the better issues i read in a while. love it!!!
1 Dec 2006, 10:24 am
Sense-not sence you roman
Comment by frenchie : December 1, 2006 @ 10:22 am
Thank you, didn’t realize I was back in my high school english class. Moet ek eerder in die ‘Taal’ praat???
1 Dec 2006, 10:24 am
Australia’s new-look rugby sevens team has suffered a shock 12-10 defeat to rugby minnow Portugal at the Dubai Sevens
1 Dec 2006, 10:26 am
frenchie, also much better than seeing CJ on the cover, now that could be scary.
1 Dec 2006, 10:26 am
78. Much like your “contribution” to this site…
1 Dec 2006, 10:28 am
ruffneck, is this the replacement team, because the original went on strike?
1 Dec 2006, 10:29 am
i wanto to contribute…
1 Dec 2006, 10:30 am
howdee boys and girls… hows everybody doing?
bit overcast today, so hmmmmm if you here, maybe its a good day to crack the top 30 hee hee…
1 Dec 2006, 10:31 am
Whats going on with the once almighty Lions?Why are they so quiet and are they still Bankrupt GRRR…?
1 Dec 2006, 10:31 am
Well, in all honesty, I haven’t bought my copy yet, but now that I know it’s got a whole section on the Blue Bulls Empire, I’m gonna shoot straight down and get it, Bad cover and all.
1 Dec 2006, 10:32 am
Frenchie
You bore me…
1 Dec 2006, 10:33 am
hee hee blue, i’ll give this months yawn ywan copy a skip… the blls empire: the wall with six yes SIX different type of horn hats and the actual naartjie that hit naas botha…
hee hee…
1 Dec 2006, 10:34 am
the lions will rise up and take their deserved place as SA’s 2nd best team again… just a pity they lost cappie wick…
Maybe ricky can go on the cover with a cheeseburger?Or Jake wearing a Bulls Jersey or maybeJohan Ackerman with a walking stick?bluecap your views…
I have to ‘come out’ – I like this cover, it looks cool. All the others sucked though…
1 Dec 2006, 10:36 am
mwah
1 Dec 2006, 10:36 am
grr…Whenever asked a rugby related question you resort to attacking someone on a personal level.I am asking a serious question and you dont have an answer so you get personal-are you still at school?This site is for big boys.
1 Dec 2006, 10:37 am
Who have I attacked???
1 Dec 2006, 10:37 am
frenchie –
scrumming tips by ricky..
fitness tips by ollie
body building by albert
the laws explained – a combined effort by linston, jc fortuin and wille roos
1 Dec 2006, 10:38 am
Well, even though I am feeling most Chipper on this gloriest of day, I must go and do some work.
So I will spy you all later. And when I walk into my local I will see frenchie and GRRR drinking a frosty together, talking about the good old days.
Frenchie
You are really to uptight on such a beautifull Friday morning…
u want to attack me grrrr….. ? i can roarrrrr
Hey big g, I see you`re on top form today!
1 Dec 2006, 10:39 am
Okay okay-enough of this,just answer the quastion i am about to ask you-Why has Lucas Van Biljon retired?What has Loffie done to make this bloke hang up his boots?He has Reyneke in the ranks and who else-James vd Walt has gone to the Bulls so who is left at 2 for the Lions in the S14?
1 Dec 2006, 10:39 am
And when I walk into my local I will see frenchie and GRRR drinking a frosty together, talking about the good old days.
Comment by Bluecap : December 1, 2006 @ 10:38 am
Grrrrreat idea! Frenchie, how about a cold one?
1 Dec 2006, 10:40 am
u want to attack me grrrr….. ? i can roarrrrr
Comment by big g : December 1, 2006 @ 10:38 am
Don’t tease me…
1 Dec 2006, 10:41 am
Great idea you lion lover.What time and where?
1 Dec 2006, 10:41 am
Lol, Big g, now me to work.
1 Dec 2006, 10:42 am
Okay okay-enough of this,just answer the quastion i am about to ask you-Why has Lucas Van Biljon retired? DON”T KNOW…
What has Loffie done to make this bloke hang up his boots? DON’T KNOW….
He has Reyneke in the ranks and who else-James vd Walt has gone to the Bulls so who is left at 2 for the Lions in the S14? DON’T KNOW, MAYBE RICKY. HE IS ABOUT THE RIGHT SIZE!
Comment by frenchie : December 1, 2006 @ 10:39 am
1 Dec 2006, 10:43 am
Frenchie
Cape Town? Any time bud. Beer for breakfast is the breakfast of kings!
frenchie, I’d say Ollie with the burger, but there won’t be room for anything else, not even 2006 in a white box.
You dont know much about much do you?
always on top… form tony
how you doing?
grrrr… u shoud know better than thinking i will only tease you…
1 Dec 2006, 10:44 am
ciao bluecap
1 Dec 2006, 10:46 am
Big g
Stop it now!
1 Dec 2006, 10:48 am
Ok, I’m off. Work needs to be done.
Cheers!
Grinchie stop looking for trouble.
grrrr, cant you rise to the occasion
please dont let me down… after all, you know after the sharks i support the lions…
1 Dec 2006, 10:49 am
hallloooooo dawn…
are we gonna fight with some bulls today? im in a fiesty mood…
1 Dec 2006, 10:56 am
o dawn,2 left feet.Not today-please
1 Dec 2006, 11:07 am
124 What?
1 Dec 2006, 11:08 am
Dawn-where do you blog fro and what do you do for a living?
1 Dec 2006, 11:11 am
one question, where did you get that huge tie that jacque is wearing?
looks like they tied jonghi nowke around his neck…
1 Dec 2006, 11:13 am
lol ruffneck!!
1 Dec 2006, 11:13 am
I live in Cape Town and I’m a freelance writer.
1 Dec 2006, 11:14 am
what do you write dawn?
1 Dec 2006, 11:14 am
big g, there’s no feisty like feisty with a feisty Blue Bull from the Feisty Bull empire.
1 Dec 2006, 11:17 am
big g, you don’t understand, she frees lance and then writes on him.
1 Dec 2006, 11:19 am
blue blue blue, those boepens (spelling?) hornhatwearing kakie wearing naartjie throwing springbok booooing bulls?! nothing fiest about that… the only thing that looks near fiesty are those dancing cowgirls… their supporters (in general)leaves a lot to be desired …
even spoke to wynand olivier in durbs last time and he reckoned, some of the commonness gets embaressing sometimes…
Cover looks like a scene from Reservoir Dogs.
Good morning all in the land
Big G how are you is the other blog a bit booring
Sorry havent received an e mail
1 Dec 2006, 11:20 am
I don’t do windows.
1 Dec 2006, 11:20 am
hee hee bluecap, there was a few girls in the day that would have loved to write on lance, but helaas, he chose the wp ‘manne’
1 Dec 2006, 11:21 am
Bok – please call 021 4160141 and ask for Llewleyn and he can help you out.
Frenchie – not sure your girlfriend would appreciate your attitude – try find employment instead of causing **** here.
1 Dec 2006, 11:21 am
Bok – i sen it to the address you registered with here. or drop me an email with your name and mailing address on webmaster at hsm.co.za
Thanks
1 Dec 2006, 11:23 am
lol 127 is classic..
1 Dec 2006, 11:24 am
howdee brag, you new?
what other blog?
1 Dec 2006, 11:27 am
I read this site on occasion and have a few things to say
Keo : Watson has a girlfriend so I dont think you kissing his *** is going to have the desired effect
I just hope that your shoes are untied just incase we need to pull you out his arse
The negativity that this site creates is amazing you would swear that its the South African supporters that shag sheep as they are the ones following Naas, Keo and all the other negative ***** to the end of the cliff and as we all know when the get proven wrong that they will be pushing back
Cant wait for the S14 so that we can have oppinions other than thiers
1 Dec 2006, 11:32 am
Ig,not sure she would either.It does provide a laugh though-thats all,dont take it to heart-its really not that serious
1 Dec 2006, 11:33 am
brag,
why would following Naas involve shagging sheep?
and why would you say that they are all negative?
trying to make a point about sweeping generalisations by making sweeping generalisations is perhaps not so clever..
1 Dec 2006, 11:38 am
Good start Brag.
1 Dec 2006, 11:39 am
but all those boys are old enough to fight their own battles..
1 Dec 2006, 11:40 am
OK big g! now you’ve ruined the friendship! Everybody knows that booooing is a Province past time. And just you wait till you see me in my hat and horns, and I bet you would not be able to just glide past when the worse is on the skottel. These boeps cost us a friggin load of cash, and don’t you forget it.:wink:
1 Dec 2006, 11:42 am
143# Who’s Thier?
1 Dec 2006, 11:44 am
bluebarb, but at least he knows Thier.
1 Dec 2006, 11:46 am
Jeez, if that’s only a few things to say, can you imagine when he really feels like talking.
1 Dec 2006, 11:51 am
sounds like my mother in law..
1 Dec 2006, 11:54 am
Thier for Bok coach!
down with the clifftop sheepshaggers!!
1 Dec 2006, 12:00 pm
Thier for Springbok coach!!!
1 Dec 2006, 12:01 pm
Hou by die blou!
1 Dec 2006, 12:02 pm
Bulle uber alles!
Al wat jy sien is n blou masjien!
Bulle om s14 te wen!
1 Dec 2006, 12:03 pm
Bulle om Vodacom cup te wen!
Thiers are the negative tits
IE Keo Naas Joel and some of the guys on this site
Sheep Example (Following each other like a bunch of sheep)
Blue Barb
Sweeping genralisations would be that Boots and all or Supersport!! I have named people that drive me mad with negativity
Lets see what the boys can do
Bulle om currue cup te wen!
oops currie cup!
1 Dec 2006, 12:04 pm
Bulle om world cup te wen!
1 Dec 2006, 12:05 pm
Joost het in supperrugby 2 weke terug 31 keer “natuurlik” gese!
superrugby
Did you gys hear the interview with Chilli boy and Gary last night on boots and all
Thats the reason he cant be captain He cant talk
1 Dec 2006, 12:06 pm
Bulle gaan die eerste SA span word wat die s14 wen.
1 Dec 2006, 12:06 pm
Bulls to win the world, especially with Thier in charge.
Brag is mad, he said so.
1 Dec 2006, 12:07 pm
Brag
Im more interested in a hooker that can play!
1 Dec 2006, 12:08 pm
Supa leeuws het alreeds die supa leuge geween
1 Dec 2006, 12:09 pm
Bulls to win the following competitions in 2007:
Vodacom Cup
S14
Currie cup
Tri – nations
World cup
Sevens
Freedom Cup
1 Dec 2006, 12:09 pm
Supa
Agreed with that
But we also need a captain who do you think it should be ?
1 Dec 2006, 12:10 pm
Brag
Leer lees – daar staan s14!!!!!!
1 Dec 2006, 12:12 pm
Chilli walks the walk, he doesn’t need to talk but not walk, by the way, sounding a tad negative there Brag, hmm, I knew we’d rub of on you sooner or later.
Naas said ” On de udder hand Darren” 58 times.
1 Dec 2006, 12:12 pm
Brag
If I had to chose, id probably go for Juan Smith – or are you just talking about Saturdays game?
1 Dec 2006, 12:13 pm
Bluecap
Have you heard that Joost – everything is “natuurlik”…
1 Dec 2006, 12:13 pm
Brag
Who would your cappie be?
1 Dec 2006, 12:15 pm
There is only ONE KABAMBA FLOORS !!!
1 Dec 2006, 12:17 pm
Juan is a good option but I dont think a team should revolve around a captain
Even the captain should be on form and have to play for the possition
Matfield is an option but a little hot headed
Maybe Chilli but then again Bluecap we need to see him play
Supa I have a question
What did the Bulls win last year ???
1 Dec 2006, 12:17 pm
ai karamba…kabamba
1 Dec 2006, 12:18 pm
Brag,
i have been consuming the same media you have and things seem a bit more balanced from where i was sitting.. the guys complain where there are problems and praise where there is progress..
and we have a lot of both. blind support is nothing short of stupid. being a supporter tasks you with the responsibilty of speaking out when things arent right.
maybe your viewpoint is slightly biased?
and following sheep and shagging sheep is slightly different. in fact its very different.
1 Dec 2006, 12:18 pm
Sharks to Klap the Bulls in the first S14 encounter and go on to the Finals
1 Dec 2006, 12:19 pm
Supa, NATUURLIK is die Bulle die beste!!
I agree, I would also go with Juan Smith.
I hope Chilli plays like a demon and puts Smit to shame.
1 Dec 2006, 12:19 pm
Brag
Who do you support?
1 Dec 2006, 12:20 pm
Blue barb
Thats why I added that they will Push back when they reach the cliff
Bokke jnrs beat the english away
Have you heard any praise ?
brag,
are you seriously asking what the Bulls won last year?
sharks?????// Is jy steeds vies oor julle julle tasse so gou in en uit moes pak?
1 Dec 2006, 12:21 pm
blubarb
Die ou se kop pak op!
1 Dec 2006, 12:21 pm
Supa we have had this chat before
I am a shark and support 100% the way you guys do with the Bulls
1 Dec 2006, 12:22 pm
Buuuuuulllllllllllllleeeee!
1 Dec 2006, 12:23 pm
186 Yes please answer
1 Dec 2006, 12:24 pm
Supa
And I love you guys for it
There should be no such thing as my second team 100% support is the only way to go
1 Dec 2006, 12:25 pm
Brag
In you honest opinion – rate the SA sides in the s14 for next year.
Here’s mine:
1.Bulls
2.Sharks
3.Stormers
4.Cheetahs
5.Lions
1 Dec 2006, 12:27 pm
My rating firstly the best teams in the country
1 Bulls
2 sharks
3 Cheetahs
4 Lions
5 Problems
For the Supa 14
The top two possitions switched
1 Dec 2006, 12:27 pm
Maybe the stormers might top you guys – hope not, but they have some great players.
1 Dec 2006, 12:29 pm
I personally think that the lions will be the team to watch out for
But not on a consistent basis but more a upset
In S14 I believe that you have to have a strong big tight 5 and that is what Problems is missing
1 Dec 2006, 12:31 pm
Australia have lost the first two games in the 7s
Doesnt look like they have what it takes
Will keep you posted
1 Dec 2006, 12:32 pm
Brag
Im talking about s14 2007. I think stormers might be better than this year:
1.Bulls
2.Stormers
3.Sharks
4.Cheetahs
5.Lions
1 Dec 2006, 12:32 pm
Since the blou balle skiem they the sh&t, I have to shout it loud and clear for them blue dings, they seem to be hard of hearing, SHAAAAARRRRRRKKKKSSSS!!! The best, die beste, eish ngiyathanda I-Sharks…hehehe
A man has to be a bit of a partisan at times…
1 Dec 2006, 12:33 pm
Move the Sharks up a notch
1 Dec 2006, 12:34 pm
skabenga
We are the sh@t! Sharks are just plain sh@t!
1 Dec 2006, 12:35 pm
Ruan and Marshall, should be a scrummie battle royale and Cobus vs Carstens for the front row, who your money on?
1 Dec 2006, 12:36 pm
Skabenga
You guys are gonna need Tony Brown!
1 Dec 2006, 12:36 pm
LOL Supa
come on bru, we bring the Brazilian flair to the rugby…for you I killa da bull…
1 Dec 2006, 12:37 pm
LOL that old fossil nooit ekse, we are gonna need a proper flyhalf though ja, hmmmmmm
1 Dec 2006, 12:38 pm
Maybe Francois Steyn, thats what they are touting him as…Percy WTF is he up to?
1 Dec 2006, 12:39 pm
skabenga
You guys have two decent flyhalves – Steyn/Butch – but they dont seem to perform that well when playing for the Sardiens…
1 Dec 2006, 12:39 pm
ag no pls! Percy should quit! Steyn is much more exiting!
1 Dec 2006, 12:41 pm
Heard Nokwe and Benjamijn might be playing for you…
Butch, he’s under the knife again, I guess its time for Steyn to shine…We arent the sardines ekse, we the MEGALADONS my bru….One bite a whole paddock of bulle weg…
i heard all the praise they dished out. they praised the improved defensive effort, praised the playing of players in familiar positions. On Supersport and Keo.
But you cannot overlook the basic mistakes we continuously make.
supporting does not mean ovelooking all mistakes.
1 Dec 2006, 12:42 pm
Hmmm Nokwe overrated, and benjamin 50/50 call…we need better…
1 Dec 2006, 13:30 pm
We can change our focus
1 Dec 2006, 13:37 pm
Ig / Simon
PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE update the article to show that you guys selected JACQUE FOURIE as player of the year and NOT FOURIE DU PREEZ!
1 Dec 2006, 13:38 pm
Focusing on the negative is easy
Spotting the good is a little more difficult and not the obvious good but really watching
If Habana had scored three tries Jake would have been a hero
1 Dec 2006, 15:12 pm
The awards were accurate , each player and Rassie deserved it.
Hilton Lobberts’s sudden rise to form and breakthrough season was a load of ****. Even Gus Theron deserves a bok jersey more than him.
1 Dec 2006, 15:17 pm
The article on the bulls was good! Heyneke Meyer has laid an great platform for them to remain very competitive in the years to come.
1 Dec 2006, 16:05 pm
im starting a new religion called watsoniasm.And Luke is God
1 Dec 2006, 22:57 pm
I think your magazine is very much beautiful.
2 Dec 2006, 00:45 am
Oooo.. Luke Watson detractors.. got some stats from the S14 just for you.
Player Tackles per minute (min. 400 minutes played)
R. McCaw 0.167
T. Dlulane 0.138
W. Van Heerden 0.138
D. Braid 0.128
C. Masoe 0.127
G. Smith 0.125
D. Croft 0.123
J. Botes 0.121
L. Watson 0.118
M. Holah 0.118
Player Tackle efficiency (min. 80 tackles)
D. Braid 98.8%
R. McCaw 96.9%
S. Bates 95.4%
D. Croft 95.3%
J. Collins 94.8%
C. Newby 94.3%
C. Masoe 93.6%
M. Tu’ali 93.5%
J. Botes 92.9%
L. Watson 92.3%
Player Turnovers (lineout, breakdown, looseball)
R. McCaw 25
AJ. Venter 24
J. Botes 18
W. van Heerden 17
S. Lauaki 17
C. Masoe 16
E. Joubert 16
L. Watson 16
P. Wannenburg 15
J. Blackie 14
Points to make
S. Burger’s stats are far inferior to L. Watson’s.
L. Watson concedes just 0.467 penalties per T/O, compared to R. McCaw’s 0.8
However, stats do not take into account slowing the ball down,
or penalties gained through rucking
(i.e, when a player is caught holding on with looseforward attempting to steal)
Interesting to note that SA’s two most successful flanks (Watson and Botes) didn’t come near the Springbok squad.
2 Dec 2006, 00:49 am
Interesting to note that only 4 players made all 3 lists (essentially lists indicating qualities of a fetcher)
Those are:
R. McCaw
C. Masoe
L. Watson
J. Botes
I also am astounded that Jacques Botes is in fact a blindside flank… yet his stats suggest otherwise.
2 Dec 2006, 00:55 am
Schalk Burger’s stats (btw)
Tackles per minute
Tackle Efficiency
88.80%
T/O won
2 Dec 2006, 00:58 am
Jacques Botes also made the second most amount of metres (532) of ALL PLAYERS and the highest number of breaks of SA loose forwards (9).
2 Dec 2006, 00:59 am
Watson’s proved he’s good at cuurie cup level, deserves an award… as for fourie he just lived off the good ball the Jean provided him, but made a good contribution on Defense… Raassie is a genius and Spies’s award was well deserved..
2 Dec 2006, 01:08 am
Looking through some more stats… DWB’s tackle efficiency was a paltry 72.2%!!
When one considers his poor skill levels and lack of creativity, one has to ask the question… what does DWB possibly have to offer SA rugby, if he can’t even make three quarters of his tackles?!
JDV had a tackle efficiency of 81.2%, with Wynand Olivier industrious at 87.6% success rate. Jacque Fourie also struggled, completing just 80.6% of his tackles. Brad Barrit had the best tackle efficiency of SA centres with 91.3%.
2 Dec 2006, 01:10 am
However, JF (1039) and JDV (797) made the most clean breaks of SA centres with 16 and 11 respectively.
*Minutes played in brackets
2 Dec 2006, 01:39 am
35 – McCaw rates Luke very highly. He has stated it in public even. You could, however, argue that this is propaganda though.
2 Dec 2006, 01:39 am
223 – No THERE is an underestimated bugger….
2 Dec 2006, 01:41 am
220 – Not sure if the penalty ratio of Luke is correct though….this year I am under the impression that he conceded the most penalties of ALL players in the Super 14.
2 Dec 2006, 02:31 am
No he only conceded 7… as opposed to Richie McCaw’s 20.
3 Dec 2006, 10:25 am
I appreciate the Line-Break article on the value of bringing back the ‘proper’ tours. Mid-week games are entertaining, develope fringe players from both teams and will make money. Somebody explain why we gave the up?
How about more preasure from articles like these to get the change the fans want.
Otherwise great mag as usual.
9 Dec 2006, 15:23 pm
Cool idea with the awards, but the Sports Illustrated coppied you, they had an awards issue aswell. You shoulod have had more awards.
9 Dec 2006, 15:23 pm
Should’ve had more awards.