SA’s miracle man
14 Feb 2007
Schalk Burger always knew he would return to the game after his career-threatening neck injury.
Speaking in the new issue of SA Rugby magazine, on sale Wednesday, the Bok flank said he’d put his faith in his doctors, and not the media.
“Reading those articles in the press did nothing for my confidence, and I remember being very scared and nervous before the operation. But I knew I’d be all right, having spoken to a couple of doctors who had assessed my injury and assured me the operation would be a success.”
Burger also explains what he did with himself during his time away from the game, and what he wants to achieve in 2007.
Also in the new issue of SA Rugby magazine:
– New scrum laws: Ollie le Roux, Gary Botha and BJ Botha give their verdicts
– Last chance saloon: The superstars Jake can’t ignore
– NEW! World Cup experts: Corne Krige on the All Blacks, Shaun Sowerby on the Poms
– Wikus van Heerden: Why I left the Lions
– On call with Doctor Jannie du Plessis
– The rise of Lions prop Heinke van der Merwe
– Troy Flavell”s All Black ambition
– Peter Hewat’s message to the Wallaby selectors: Give me a go!
– Boks Sevens captain Jonathan Mokuena
– Naas explains why Brent Russell shouldn’t have been promised the Stormers No 10 jersey
PLUS: Giant 2007 fixtures poster

184 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All
13 Feb 2007, 13:22 pm
I hear Schalk ordered his dentist to create him a pair of Naasies.Must have been a great fan.
13 Feb 2007, 13:35 pm
Foktradisie.
The main thing that you people don’t understand, but like to comment on, is how stuff worked at Boland.
A lot of the guys were contracted by Fidentia, without asking Boland permision.
Since they owned 50 %, they did not have to ask Boland.
Rudi Joubert was contracted by Fidentia.
Boland was at training, and the next moment Andries Human shows up.
Boland told Ruaan du Preez that he would be the no.1 tighthead, and the next moment he is on the bench.
Same with Nel Fourie and Davids.
Fidentia took over at Boland, and there was not much Boland could do.
13 Feb 2007, 13:49 pm
I think of Fidentia and I immediately think of the quaintly named… J Arthur W Brown
Now there’s a man with a name of note, seeing as though he is some plank from PE.
13 Feb 2007, 14:02 pm
Bod, and from Instant Lawn seller, telling everyone he have a degree from UPE(wich they have no record of), to driving a Ferrari and earning more than R3mil per year.
This guy knew how to lie.
13 Feb 2007, 14:07 pm
Zinto’s world cup team.
1. Os du Randt
2. John Smit (c)
3. BJ Botha
4. Bakkies Botha
5. Victor Matfield
6. Schalk Burger
7. Juan Smith
8. Pierre Spies
9. Fourie du Preez
10. Andre Pretorius
11. Bryan Habana
12. Jean de Villiers
13. Jaque Fourie
14. JP Pietersen
15. Percy Montgomery
16. Guthro Steenkamp
17. Gary Botha
18. Danie Roussow
19. Kabamba Floors
20. Francois Steyn
21. Jaco Pretorius
22. Ruaan Pienaar
This teanm has everything. Speady wings, Creative midfield, Experienced fullback. Powerfull tight five, One of the best line-out jumpers in the world, 4 quality goal kicker, Outstanding loose forwards. This team of 22 can beat any oposition.
13 Feb 2007, 14:35 pm
great side Zinto, that has protential to win the WC. I think JW’s side will not be any different.
13 Feb 2007, 14:37 pm
I hope so g13gerber. No real weak links in there.
13 Feb 2007, 14:51 pm
On Zinto, You have got it spot on for WC. The only problem for me was how dissapointing Pierre S was on the wet fields end of last year tour and this WC will be the same kind of weather! Maybe a steady AJ or something on No. 8?
13 Feb 2007, 15:04 pm
108, I agree, I think AJ will be in the 30 man squad due to his versatility. I really can’t see any bolters for the squad barring injury(Kankowski
maybe one though).
13 Feb 2007, 15:13 pm
I gotta say, that cover shot of Schalk is pretty ***!! not befitting a rugby mag but hey I’m not from Cape (***)Town.
13 Feb 2007, 15:16 pm
110 So you must be from Gaytoria.Hehehe
13 Feb 2007, 15:22 pm
g13gerber
Kankowski is an awesome talent. Ok we’ve got the 22 sorted. 8 places left. My bet is: AJ Venter, Joe van Niekerk, Chilliboy Rallepele, CJ van der Linde, Butch James, Ricky Januarie, Luis Ludic(I hope)/Akona Ndungane,Wynand Olivier
13 Feb 2007, 15:31 pm
#111 Pretoria is the rock on which South African rugby gets its strength from! Lets not forget that.
Zinto, JW squad is very predictible. I think he will take Barritt instead of James as the kid offers more from broken play then James. I also think Philip Burger has a chance as well. Depends on what sort of combinations JW is looking for and the game plan he will be using.
13 Feb 2007, 15:32 pm
All of you are ***.
That’s why you keep mentioning it.
13 Feb 2007, 15:42 pm
#114 No I simply stated that that cover is not befitting a rugby mag, maybe a womens mag but not a rugby mag. Schalk looks like a poofter on it and not a rugby player. But then I can’t blame him because is from Cape Town.
13 Feb 2007, 15:44 pm
See? There you go again.
13 Feb 2007, 15:46 pm
Schalk Burger is meer overrated as Antjie Krog
13 Feb 2007, 15:47 pm
dawn is right
you okes are a bunch of **** heheheh
nah just kidding but schalkie does look a bit soft around the edges in that one
13 Feb 2007, 15:47 pm
the skull of my country
13 Feb 2007, 15:52 pm
Never knew Schalk had such a kwaai mouth.
13 Feb 2007, 15:59 pm
mr lam, howzit. the dros has my elboy imprints on their benches. cool place pretoria.
13 Feb 2007, 16:01 pm
Nice square chin, smouldering eyes out of under that mop of hair.
Mmmmmmm. Pro shop has been airbrushing.
13 Feb 2007, 16:04 pm
schalk is my look-a-like
13 Feb 2007, 16:09 pm
Martin….you’re uuuuuuugly !!!!
13 Feb 2007, 16:12 pm
Warning.
If I hit the local CNA tomorrow and this magazine is not there, I will lay siege to the offices of the Monarchs, after rounding up the bling boys in the humvees.
13 Feb 2007, 16:13 pm
the airbrushed version china!
13 Feb 2007, 16:13 pm
Dawn, do you know anything remotely intelligent to say?
13 Feb 2007, 16:14 pm
gbs – have you seen his lady friend…she does’nt care about his looks…must be something else
13 Feb 2007, 16:16 pm
Dawn I have heard that GM are making the Humvee in SA and the H3 Hummer is gonna come out round June and cost about R600 000,a fraction of the current place.Bought a car from a GM dealer this week and the salesman told me.
13 Feb 2007, 16:17 pm
This is a joke, look at the poll results for the team that will finish last of the SA teams, the Stormers are losing by far against the lions!!! They should be ashamed of them selves!!! It is a DISGRACE!!!!!!
13 Feb 2007, 16:18 pm
it’s a good thing there are alot of petrol stations around
13 Feb 2007, 16:19 pm
;(
13 Feb 2007, 16:19 pm
#127 Boerboel
No, I’m too stupid!
13 Feb 2007, 16:20 pm
…….. ;(
13 Feb 2007, 16:20 pm
Fern it’s my dream to own a humvee.
13 Feb 2007, 16:21 pm
13 Feb 2007, 16:22 pm
dawn – you gonna need shares in engen or similar
13 Feb 2007, 16:23 pm
Martin
There are vays und means.
13 Feb 2007, 16:25 pm
On the other hand, that new Chev is the ugliest car I’ve ever seen.
13 Feb 2007, 16:25 pm
dawn imagine how pissed the okes are who bought the h2 hummer for 1,4 million.martin if you buy a hummer you dont care about petrol.stop being so picky,are you a accountant?you only life once and you cant take the money with you.
13 Feb 2007, 16:29 pm
but you can leave it to your kids so they can have a good head start in life.
dawn – there is a co that is importing second hand hummers and converting them to rh drive.
13 Feb 2007, 16:32 pm
Martin are they gonna give you after sales service and backup?
13 Feb 2007, 16:32 pm
Maybe I don’t need to own one, just drive it round the place and check reactions.
13 Feb 2007, 16:34 pm
Dawn,take one for a test drive.
13 Feb 2007, 16:37 pm
Where in CT can I see one.
13 Feb 2007, 16:39 pm
Dawn I dont know,go and google hummer on google south africa.thats your best bet.in the usa you get them in stretch limo version as well.
13 Feb 2007, 16:49 pm
hair competition between schalk and wynand olivier?
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 » Show All