Bob’s unfinished business
12 Mar 2007
Is Bob Skinstad too old, too fat or simply too good?
In his most revealing interview since coming home, Skinstad tells SA Rugby magazine why he wants to make another contribution to the game.
“When I announced I was returning to rugby I read that I was too old, that I had a beer boep, that I was too fat and that the game had passed me by,” he says. “The only way to counter those reports was to start at the back and work my way up again.”
Skinstad, who picked up 8kg of muscle in two months, believes his experience gives him an edge over the younger generation.
“I knew I would be up against guys who were physically stronger and faster, but I also knew they were mentally younger. The gym can’t give you life experience and the quickest 40m time doesn’t give you wisdom.”
Skinstad also reveals what was said during chats with Dick Muir and Jake White last year, how living in London changed him and why his wife and five-month-old daughter have given his life balance.
Also in the new issue of SA Rugby magazine:
– Why the High Performance Centre has failed
– How John Plumtree has given the Sharks pack an edge
– How the Sharks went from Super 14 chumps to potential champs
– John Mitchell rates the Boks’ World Cup chances and gives Luke Watson some advice.
– Graham Henry explains why the All Blacks can still get better
– Can Sevens save Gcobani Bobo‘s career?
– Jonny Wilkinson‘s magical return
– Naas Botha on why age shouldn’t matter in rugby
– Jonathan Kaplan defends Super 14′s under-fire referees
– Nick Mallett gives his verdict on the early Super 14 rounds
– Rassie on the new ruck laws
– We reveal AJ Venter‘s other life
– Who knows Monty better: wife Tasmin or team-mate Butch James?

189 Comments
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 » Show All
12 Mar 2007, 12:03 pm
Too Good! the guy is a LEGEND!
12 Mar 2007, 12:03 pm
Bobby Stinkgat, you better start playing now boet, the comp is about halfway already…..
12 Mar 2007, 12:05 pm
reckon **** has a long term loosie plan for this tournament. britz, bobby and daniel have hardly played. i think they will start to feature on tour.
12 Mar 2007, 12:06 pm
Bob’s looking big. Cant WAIT to see him play. He should fukn go to the WC man, close your eyes and pick him Jake!!!!
12 Mar 2007, 12:10 pm
grootblousmile,Bob will take danies spot in the world cup squad one time my cuz!
12 Mar 2007, 12:10 pm
Pommie
You would change your view if you have seen him on Friday night!!
Sharks bought a has been and **** knows it!!
12 Mar 2007, 12:12 pm
I read in the papers that he was the difference between the Wildebeest and the Cheetahs and the reason why they won the game. But tell me what you saw.
12 Mar 2007, 12:13 pm
Ernest,Bob has more talent in his left big toe than the entire bulls loose trio put together
12 Mar 2007, 12:21 pm
Jeez, seems like the cover is aimed at the Female readers!!
Gonna be pretty funny walking into pick n pay and picking this months issue.
Thanks guys!
12 Mar 2007, 12:25 pm
Spook.
That’s the point! What guy wants to be seen picking up this magazine!!
The hardened rugby supporter will think he’s just bought the GQ.
12 Mar 2007, 12:26 pm
Legend Skinstad
12 Mar 2007, 12:27 pm
Spook,if you are a bulls supporter then you wouldnt want to give the game away now would you! LOL
12 Mar 2007, 12:28 pm
Johnny I agree Bobby has got heaps of talent but he will not be effective in this years S14 as he has been out of BIG rugby for to long.
Danie could make Bobby his ***** if and when he wants to.!!!!!!!!
12 Mar 2007, 12:28 pm
Dawn,and your point is? Would rather have bob on the cover than say…Gary Botha!
Jislaak,that boetie is a hond of note.
12 Mar 2007, 12:31 pm
Ernest,dream on pal! Looks like Danie is making Pedrie his ***** at the moment,saw them winking at each other on weekend.
Bob has what Danie can only dream of having and thats talent! As the age old saying goes,form is temporary,class is permanent!
12 Mar 2007, 12:32 pm
lol @ #14 “hond of note”
heh heh
12 Mar 2007, 12:35 pm
Bobby will give Danie a good pakslae en sommer n pk too.
12 Mar 2007, 12:36 pm
Think ill have to send my girlfriend in to buy the mag for me!
But hey, still looking forward to the mag, always a good read!
12 Mar 2007, 12:38 pm
Spook you can always send Dawn to pick it up for you : )
12 Mar 2007, 12:39 pm
Well said pommie.
Spook,you sound like a wet my boy!
Wake up its the 21st centuary.You may creep out of the closet now and leave your moms skirt alone.
12 Mar 2007, 12:40 pm
Ha ha!!
Im sure Dawn wont mind!
12 Mar 2007, 12:43 pm
Ag Johnny Bravo
Its called a joke my friend! Do you really think thats gonna stop me from buying the mag. Look at the Mens Health mag every month. Come now boet! And i buy that every month.
Slow down on the Brandy, its on 12:45. Cut back to singles.
12 Mar 2007, 12:51 pm
Johnny’s on the pappegaaislaai mate.
12 Mar 2007, 12:52 pm
I think that Bob should go to the WC – so far no #8 has impressed me this year.
12 Mar 2007, 12:54 pm
Dude have you been watching Ryan Kankowski play? The kids a genius. Bob should go however I agree.And Spies should be his understudy.
12 Mar 2007, 12:56 pm
RL
Not even Ryan Kankowski??
12 Mar 2007, 12:59 pm
TOO OLD
Bob is Finished
12 Mar 2007, 13:03 pm
Kankowski is good but he is still a kid – give him a few years to settle down. I would go for Bob and Big Joe – they have been there and done it and they can do it again.
12 Mar 2007, 13:07 pm
He’s got a bloody good rugby brain…SA needs players like him
12 Mar 2007, 13:08 pm
Compared to the conditioning levels of the All Blacks ..Bob is pretender. He hasn’t even proven himself on the pitch yet.
Over hyped ..big protential, nothing to back it yet.
12 Mar 2007, 13:09 pm
Monarchs would be well advised to use Anne Laing’s split seconds on their covers.
12 Mar 2007, 13:10 pm
What exactly has Kankowski done? He’s been average in open play. But he’s been very poor under the high ball, and actually I hold my breath everytime someone passes to him and when he takes a tackle, he drops more balls than JP Pietersen and thats saying alot.
12 Mar 2007, 13:11 pm
Foreskin is a hasbeen!Danie is no good!No one better than JS at the moment.
12 Mar 2007, 13:14 pm
Who’s Foreskin?
12 Mar 2007, 13:14 pm
please not joe v niekerk!!!agree kankowskis might be a little too young for bok duty.but no harm in giving him a show in tri nations
12 Mar 2007, 13:15 pm
#34 Bobby
12 Mar 2007, 13:17 pm
DAWN,WHY U TO ASK THAT Q? LOL
12 Mar 2007, 13:25 pm
agree 100% send joe and bobby at 8, the best this country will have have
12 Mar 2007, 13:26 pm
Big Joke is not a hasbeen…… he is a hasbeen’s hasbeen…… forget the tosser, he cannot even make the Stormers team….
….on Bobby, let him prove his worth in the Run-on Sharks S 14 team before singing his praises….
….. now writing Pakslae off is stuuuuuupidddd, who was the best SA forward on the E O Y Tour 2006??
Best loosies in SA at the moment: Baywatch, Ernst Joubert, Juan Smith, AJ Venter…..
….. ek lag vir julle fokkers!!
12 Mar 2007, 13:27 pm
This edition of the mag is not gona sell well
judging from the cover.
too *** (aka too Cape Town)
12 Mar 2007, 13:32 pm
I can’t view this thread at work, I get embarrassed every time I refresh my screen and have Bobby’s naked torso enblazened across the screen!
12 Mar 2007, 13:32 pm
Careful greatest13gerber, Johnny Bravo is going to have a full go at you now. Wait for it!
The minute i said something about the cover, he goes off that we in the 21st blah blah blah!!
Wait for it.
12 Mar 2007, 13:34 pm
grootblou, joe is injured . you right i will take pakslae he is brilliant, but the bulls forwards werent blessed with the brain of a complete athlete like joe or bob, you have to have those two when firing on all charges.
12 Mar 2007, 13:34 pm
gbsmile,
enige persoon wat nie vir pakslae wil kies nie, het, of n baie swak geheue of weet nie dat in die forwards jy harde manne moet hê nie. ek meen pakslae het die souties verlede jaar mal gemaak saam met Juan.
Harde manne is CJ, Guthro,GBotha Bakies,Hendro, Pakslae, Juan,AJ, Schalla ens ens. Bobby en Joe is filmstêre en niks meer nie. Talent ja maar hul raak weg as die game hard begin raak.
Daar’s nie n manier dat n mank Joe die span kan haal nie man!!! Wat v Baywatch wat fenominaal is die jaar? Maak liewers plek in groep vir hom.
ek hoop JW weet wat hy doen as hy die span kies vir WC.
IMO
12 Mar 2007, 13:37 pm
Lol yeah,yeah..do you think Frik du Preez would
walk into a store and buy this mag??
I don’t have to be a rocket scientist in marketing but that cover is Cape Town *** in my books and not very appropriate considering the majority of its readers are men.
12 Mar 2007, 13:41 pm
true staal, but the english side last year were the worst side ever, stevie wonder would have run circles around them, you have to have guys like danie and juan, world class players, we dont have a player that links the backs and forwards like joe or bob.
12 Mar 2007, 13:44 pm
Most of you are going to kak me out and Ig will probably threaten to ban me again, but I stand by what I think, and that is that that guy, Bobbie, is one of the greatest rugby players that ever lived, anywhere.
If he’s got his mind right, he’ll be back big time.
Only problem is that I have no idea what we’re going to do with all the loosies we’ve got. Smith, Schalk, AJ, Kabamba, Ernst Joubert, Daniels, Bobbie, Wikus, Danie, P3 etc etc.
Help so ‘n bietjie uit mense.
12 Mar 2007, 13:45 pm
Gbs.Pakslae maak my die donner in!
12 Mar 2007, 13:46 pm
#39 at least he was something not a never was bitter person like you
12 Mar 2007, 13:48 pm
#47 What are you?? the Bobby Skinstad Fan club president??..Snap out of it or better still move to Bulls country where real men live.
players are judged on the field not on paper.
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 » Show All