Sleek kit to provide Bok edge
20 Jul 2007
Canterbury has unveiled the revolutionary new Bok kit designed to give the team every advantage at the World Cup.
The new kit is the result of three years of development and testing by Canterbury designers in conjunction with Loughborough University in the United Kingdom.

“The jersey caters for the needs of different player positions,” said Canterbury MD Paul Zacks. “Design features include the placement of specific grips on the jersey to improve ball retention whilst running and to enhance binding in the scrum.
“The jersey features short and long sleeve options, as well as a cap sleeve version which has been developed specifically for the props to reduce manipulation by opposition props at the scrum. A new offset loop neck and slimfit design will help players evade collar and jersey tackles.”

Movement is also enhanced by an underarm stretch panel and a new super lightweight Temex fabric that significantly reduces moisture retention and the weight of the jersey. The fabric also wicks perspiration away from the skin to the jersey surface which prevents overheating and discomfort.
The William Webb Eliis Trophy with the legend 1995 are embroidered on the right arm sleeve, and this feature has been included for all previous World Cup winners. Incidentally, Canterbury are making new jerseys for Australia, Scotland, Ireland and Japan, but Zacks confirmed the Springbok jersey boasts the most features.
The shorts have grip panels for line-out jumpers to aid lifting technique and also feature a slim design to prevent opposition interference during the line-out. There are grip handles on the Boks’ shorts, a unique feature that improves binding at the scrum. The shorts’ lightweight material also provides greater agility.
The socks have an open weave structure that allows air and moisture to escape. In a break from tradition, the stripes have been dropped. The sock will be all green except for a gold panel at the back of the calf which is designed to manage the build up of lactic acid and thus reduce cramp.
All these changes have been made after a lengthy research process that also involved many of the Bok players themselves.
“It makes sense to test new developments with the athletes who are going to make use of the kit,” said Bok captain John Smit. “The innovations that are used in the new Canterbury kit are fantastic and the players are excited about putting them to good use during the World Cup.”

480 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] Show All
20 Jul 2007, 13:52 pm
dawn
449 sounds good. ek weet jou kaggeltjie is altyd lekker warm
20 Jul 2007, 13:57 pm
The two props look like they have rather skinny legs compared to john smit, whose scrumming prowess is always trumpeted. Not ever having played that position can anyone out there tell me (technique aside) if upper body/back strength or strong legs is more important/beneficial for the front row.
20 Jul 2007, 14:34 pm
They wore that same body-hugging nonsense in the 2003 WC. Thought it was kak then and still do
20 Jul 2007, 14:40 pm
Hopefully they are better than the 2003 NIKE WC jerseys, they werent the best. We also heard then what they could do, so lets see.
Personally, I dont like it, it looks more like a T-Shirt than a rugby jersey.
I am a collector, so will definately get one for my collection, but I prefer a rugby jersey that looks like a rugby jersey, not a T-Shirt.
The traditional gold collar has been ‘trimmed down’ after all the fuss Canterbury made that they have returned to the traditional mottle green jersey, with gold [Not yellow] collar. So why is there so much white around the collar then ? And why are there gold stripes all over, our colours are plain green, with a gold collar.
20 Jul 2007, 14:46 pm
everyone loves Canterbury
20 Jul 2007, 15:20 pm
Will Habana run faster with all those GT stripes?
20 Jul 2007, 15:24 pm
420# ethiger
On that we agree!…for once.
20 Jul 2007, 15:38 pm
I have learned from reliable sources that this is the Bok team for RWC 2007:
Utility Backs: Francois Steyn / Ruan Pienaar
15: Percival Montgomery
14: Akona Ndungane / Ashwin Willemse
13: Jaque Fourie / Waylon Murray
12: Jean de Villiers / Wynand Olivier
11: Bryan Habana
10: Derick Hougaardt / Butch James
9: Enrico Januarie / Fourie du Preez
8: Pierre Spies / Bobby Skinstad
7: Juan Smith / Pedrie Wannenburg
6: Luke Watson / Schalk Burger
5: Victor Matfield / Danie Rossouw
4: Bakkies Botha / Johann Muller
3: BJ Botha / Cobus Visagie
2: John Smit (c) / Bismarck du Plessis
1: Os du Randt / Guthro Steenkamp
Afrikaners: 18
English speaking whites: 5
Coloureds: 5
Blacks: 1
Ethnic Black: 1 (Luke Watson)
20 Jul 2007, 15:52 pm
tshwaneerder,
I count 19 Afrikaners, 4 English, 5 Coloureds, 1 Black and Luke Watson in your squad. The English are Percy, Butch, Bobby and Smit. Who did I miss that you counted?
20 Jul 2007, 16:00 pm
please could you have longer shorts made for john smit….his jelly legs look pathetic. only jake finds them attractive
20 Jul 2007, 17:28 pm
damn fools white is the same whether afrikaner or english.
20 Jul 2007, 18:15 pm
360. The players ARE soft, its 2007 not 1907.
20 Jul 2007, 18:19 pm
367. “lactating breastsâ€
That should get the boks salivating!
20 Jul 2007, 18:37 pm
2007′s team would tear 1907′s team apart.
Props were 14st back then. Now No.10′s are 14st
20 Jul 2007, 19:10 pm
Like the sleek/modern look – better than the current one’s which are pretty old fashion style…
Just a Q, is the official Bok colours now Green and White (Where is the Green and Gold)?
Also, the Canterbury logo is Gold, so why is the rest “Orange”?
Though the collar design could be more unique, to similar to the Oz Mates (ours is white and theirs is black, I think…)
20 Jul 2007, 22:04 pm
The All Blacks have never contaminated their classic black jersey with rubbish like boobtubes and/or thin white wobbly doodlings all over the front. Even outside a RWC year, they don’t tolerate a huge stomach logo like the Boks do. It would taint their proud history to let that happen.
20 Jul 2007, 22:21 pm
True, they’d never put a big silver X across the back.
20 Jul 2007, 22:31 pm
Not unless they also put a I II III IV etc on the back too
20 Jul 2007, 22:45 pm
Think they’re gonna win it?
If not who’s the biggest threat?
Who’s probably not going to beat them but might just surprise?
Who has no chance against them?
21 Jul 2007, 01:30 am
FT
The French and the Aussies are the only ones who will stand between NZ and WW Ellis.
They know they can beat us on a good day, SA can only do it at home (and know it) and noone else is capable at present.
Ireland may suprise and give us a big fright; you’ve got the best team you’ve ever had IMO, but I doubt they can win against the AB’s.
The Boks are going to need all the depth can can muster (and probably more than they have)to get past 1/4 and semi.
They are facing both Tonga and Samoa in their group:
neither of whom will prevent them from booking a 1/4 final berth,
but both will leave a few casualties in their wake with their boistrous style of play and leathal tackling.
21 Jul 2007, 01:47 am
sdsdsdsdsd
21 Jul 2007, 01:48 am
aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
21 Jul 2007, 01:50 am
ok u are not allowed 2 say the f….k word in afrikaans
21 Jul 2007, 01:51 am
of engels klink my—moer ma julle ouens het slim geraak
21 Jul 2007, 01:54 am
ok kom ons probeer weer-,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,sal iemand my asb se(will someone pse explain)-sorry i dont speak the other 9 languages—waarvoor in die bkliksem in delete hulle die geel streeep van die kous af-is dit nou om die kalahari boesmans tevrede te stel?????????? of vir wie? watter politukus se *** is nou gesuig hiervoor?
21 Jul 2007, 01:56 am
SA RUGBY–jull is siek en maak dat ek opgooi-wat die moooooooooooooeeeeeeer het van rugby in die land geword,mmmmm nes die politiek -als in sy moooeer in,—-dis tyd om n pasporrt te kry-sal ons noord of oos kyk?
21 Jul 2007, 01:58 am
who the f–ck cares-ek gaan slaap-
waar is die manee met rug graat? het iemand die ligte afgeskakel?lol-nag julle lamsakkiges
21 Jul 2007, 02:54 am
Some of the comments on this thread had me in tears…’whats the Q stand for’ and varous Smit comments.
You guys can be really funny when you want to be.
21 Jul 2007, 03:58 am
I finally figured it out:
The Q stands for Quota!
21 Jul 2007, 04:02 am
Tjorts
Ja,wraggies! Dis nooit anders nie.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] Show All