Sleek kit to provide Bok edge
20 Jul 2007
Canterbury has unveiled the revolutionary new Bok kit designed to give the team every advantage at the World Cup.
The new kit is the result of three years of development and testing by Canterbury designers in conjunction with Loughborough University in the United Kingdom.

“The jersey caters for the needs of different player positions,” said Canterbury MD Paul Zacks. “Design features include the placement of specific grips on the jersey to improve ball retention whilst running and to enhance binding in the scrum.
“The jersey features short and long sleeve options, as well as a cap sleeve version which has been developed specifically for the props to reduce manipulation by opposition props at the scrum. A new offset loop neck and slimfit design will help players evade collar and jersey tackles.”

Movement is also enhanced by an underarm stretch panel and a new super lightweight Temex fabric that significantly reduces moisture retention and the weight of the jersey. The fabric also wicks perspiration away from the skin to the jersey surface which prevents overheating and discomfort.
The William Webb Eliis Trophy with the legend 1995 are embroidered on the right arm sleeve, and this feature has been included for all previous World Cup winners. Incidentally, Canterbury are making new jerseys for Australia, Scotland, Ireland and Japan, but Zacks confirmed the Springbok jersey boasts the most features.
The shorts have grip panels for line-out jumpers to aid lifting technique and also feature a slim design to prevent opposition interference during the line-out. There are grip handles on the Boks’ shorts, a unique feature that improves binding at the scrum. The shorts’ lightweight material also provides greater agility.
The socks have an open weave structure that allows air and moisture to escape. In a break from tradition, the stripes have been dropped. The sock will be all green except for a gold panel at the back of the calf which is designed to manage the build up of lactic acid and thus reduce cramp.
All these changes have been made after a lengthy research process that also involved many of the Bok players themselves.
“It makes sense to test new developments with the athletes who are going to make use of the kit,” said Bok captain John Smit. “The innovations that are used in the new Canterbury kit are fantastic and the players are excited about putting them to good use during the World Cup.”

480 Comments
19 Jul 2007, 19:46 pm
not even my car has as many features
19 Jul 2007, 19:49 pm
19 Jul 2007, 19:55 pm
Nice!
Can pictures be posted here?
19 Jul 2007, 19:55 pm
Took a ‘pom’ to design it. Be grateful.
19 Jul 2007, 20:09 pm
Nice cleavage accentuation..
19 Jul 2007, 20:15 pm
Awesome!
19 Jul 2007, 20:16 pm
I like it – I like it alot!
19 Jul 2007, 20:16 pm
Nice – can they now invent something to straighten John Smits legs??
19 Jul 2007, 20:18 pm
rofl Smit looks like he’s wearing a miniskirt
19 Jul 2007, 20:19 pm
19 Jul 2007, 20:20 pm
I want one.
I really dig the collar, unlike that Nike jearsey where the gold collar looked too much and out of place this jersey has a tasteful hint of gold, if you look carefully it looks like a gold flap.
19 Jul 2007, 20:22 pm
Skin tight shirts are a Sir Clive Woodward innovation
19 Jul 2007, 20:23 pm
Can we get tight green pants too? – like cycling shorts. This way there will be nothing for the opposition to grab excepts maybe the guys package, and that is a no no.
19 Jul 2007, 20:24 pm
no ****?
19 Jul 2007, 20:25 pm
#9 – does that make you horny?
19 Jul 2007, 20:26 pm
a little bit. you?
19 Jul 2007, 20:27 pm
hell no!
what will get me worked up though is when the Boks make the Poms bend over in the World Cup!
19 Jul 2007, 20:28 pm
ahh the group element, i see..
19 Jul 2007, 20:29 pm
“the Springbok jersey boasts the most features.”
“There are grip handles on the Boks’ shorts, a unique feature that improves binding at the scrum.”
I do not get it, why do the Boks get extra features that other countries do not get from the same manufacturer? Did we specifically ask for this?
19 Jul 2007, 20:31 pm
All these changes have been made after a length research process that involved many of the Bok players themselves.
19 Jul 2007, 20:34 pm
I’d like to see if the Aussies are bringing out a shirt like this or maybe another team
19 Jul 2007, 20:36 pm
The Aussis have an identical jersey, they and other countries sponsored by Canterbury just have a cheaper version, or so it appears.
19 Jul 2007, 20:38 pm
Wales have got a new skin tight jersey too
19 Jul 2007, 20:40 pm
Somehow I want to say some un-PC stuff about the new kit…
19 Jul 2007, 20:48 pm
look at Bakkies, now that is a face that only a mother can love, scary for the opposition though when they have to pause to have a look.
19 Jul 2007, 20:56 pm
Sorry, but the current jersey looks better. This new one is like a wetsuit.
19 Jul 2007, 20:57 pm
Well at least the new kit solves our flyhalf problems… with Bruce Wayne donning nr 10 we will easily win the cup
19 Jul 2007, 21:01 pm
What a **** jersey. No collar. No yellow bands on the socks. Why the boob stripe? Looks like something someone will wear in a ***-pride parade.
A couple of years ago, cycling banned all the funny aerodynamic bikes and forced riders to use the conventional stuff to eliminate advances that equipment may give one rider over another. Rugby should follow suit and ban these slippery wetsuits. Back to the old cotton jerseys for everyone!
19 Jul 2007, 21:04 pm
I really like it except for the boobtube.
19 Jul 2007, 21:05 pm
PS, where are the stripes on the socks. That should be a non negotiable.
19 Jul 2007, 21:06 pm
Fortunately, the 2003WC kit was dumped afterwards and the Boks reverted to something more traditional. Hopefully, the Boks will also leave this kit behind in France.
19 Jul 2007, 21:10 pm
I reckon that if we all complain enough about the boobtube, we can get it made green to match the rest of the jersey.
They are our team, after all.
19 Jul 2007, 21:18 pm
The front looks like a kid was let loose on it with a yellow crayon and he’s “decorated” it with a worm-like scrawl. And isn’t the boob-tube hilarious!
Imagine a group of grown men wearing this get-up and wallowing and leaping and prancing about doing a fake “Zulu dance”! The opposition will break ribs even before the kick-off.
From laughing so hard.
19 Jul 2007, 21:18 pm
I think Madiba is going to look great in the new kit..
Tata you legend!
19 Jul 2007, 21:21 pm
Total **** jerseys , bring back the traditional “rugby jerseys” . Those outfits are for cycling , foolsballs , metrosexuals and swimming . Jus wonder were our game is going all because of France with their pink jerseys , it just puts you off .
19 Jul 2007, 21:22 pm
#26 I agree somewhat but it doesn’t look that bad. Maybe a little more gold perhaps…
19 Jul 2007, 21:24 pm
From the front, the white neck ring looks like a Q. Does that stand for Quack, Question, *****, Queen or what?
19 Jul 2007, 21:25 pm
FFS WHAT THE HELL HAPPENED HERE? And just the other day I was giving an aussie carrots about their **** new kit….pass the salt please
19 Jul 2007, 21:25 pm
Hulle lys soos doosters!
19 Jul 2007, 21:30 pm
Barney is going to pull a hamstring trying to get outta that mafak!
19 Jul 2007, 21:33 pm
The kit looks shocking but heh if it helps them win the RWC then I’m all for it
19 Jul 2007, 21:34 pm
It doesn’t matter what we say this has already been approved by saru.
The material looks slick so opposition tackling will need to be spot-on.
19 Jul 2007, 21:37 pm
Irrespective, we need to focus on rugby skills, especially our backline and not on a new kit or Bok haka.
19 Jul 2007, 21:45 pm
STAR TREK LOOKING JERSEYS..IT GONNA BE AWESOME SEEING SA FANS WITH THE BEER BOET WEARING THESE NEW JERSEYS!!! LONG LIVE THE BEER BOEP!!!
19 Jul 2007, 21:47 pm
Wow.
Had a look in a sports shop window and Ireland have darkened their new Canterbury spray on jersey to a more historically Irish colour. Very similar colour to what I’m looking at above. It’s much darker than in the photos with BOD etc.
If SA meet Ireland the supporters will all look the same.
(Which might avert a bit of partisan trouble in my house. Couch gets lumpy at WC time!)
19 Jul 2007, 21:48 pm
I LIKE VICTOR SCRIP ON SMITTIES “SPECIAL DESIGNED” CUP HOLDER ON THE FRONT OF HIS PANTS…
19 Jul 2007, 21:51 pm
they look like
good fruits
19 Jul 2007, 21:52 pm
As an aside how many scrum resets will we have now that props have nothing to bind on? (How did the IRB approve these awful things. Yet anyone wearing a loose/trad jersey would def be at a disadvantage if everyone else has them)
Bet OZ props love them.
19 Jul 2007, 22:00 pm
This WC thing is starting to take on all manner of “new” pervasive activities and diversions, from a Zulu “haka” dance to new fangled cycle like speedo suits designed for Ian Thorpe & co, anyone gonna be watching rugby? I’m getting pretty disinterested already.
19 Jul 2007, 22:03 pm
You mean “uninterested” not “disinterested”.
“Disinterested” means unbiased, impartial, having nothing to gain by any outcome of a decision or event.
19 Jul 2007, 22:07 pm
Yep, that white neck ring is definitely a Q…
19 Jul 2007, 22:08 pm
wtf… Victor sure has quite a grip on Smits balls there…
19 Jul 2007, 22:15 pm
uninterested / disinterested same thing in my home grown lingo, in your impeccable educationally perfect lingo they might mean two different things but to me it says I am losing interest fast already with all the hyped up side shows going on, are they going to be playing any rugby at any stage?
19 Jul 2007, 22:18 pm
Hier Kom Die Boertjie!
Naand Skop ou maat! Hoe gaan dit
19 Jul 2007, 22:18 pm
OK Tackler I’m becoming uninterested, that make you feel better? Thanks for the new input.
19 Jul 2007, 22:19 pm
Lol Skop
Jy ‘n Afrikaner Skop?
Goed dankie en jy Boerkie man?
19 Jul 2007, 22:20 pm
Ja die lewe is goed dankie!
19 Jul 2007, 22:21 pm
nee jammer Boerkie, ek voel party keur soos een maar nee ek is nie n egter boerkie soos jy, jammer ou maat.
19 Jul 2007, 22:22 pm
I guess if you can’t have NZ players or coaches the next best thing is to get NZ clothes to wear at the RWC.
Who knows you might absorb a little kiwi mana in doing so.
…introducing the Springboks, dressed by Canterbury of New Zealand.
19 Jul 2007, 22:23 pm
The jerseys look positively naff.
They look like the Village People.
19 Jul 2007, 22:23 pm
Geez you guys have no taste , this is a kak jersey! I’ve never seen something sooo horrendous(sp)! I’m not playing devils advocate here but its bad boys.
Whats up with all these yellow lines? they are also drawn in all the wrong places. The only jersey worse than this one is the aussie jersey. Yes , we do not have the nicest colour scheme but we’ve had netter jerseys. Our previous white jersey was nice and the one we had in the last world cup(looked bad on the fat boys though, too tight).
When it comes to nice jerseys though , the pommies have really nice jerseys and the french! Cannot give the ABs too much credit because Black is always classy, it does’nt matter how its designed.
I do understand though why some of you think its kool. If my sense of style was tiny rugby shorts (that I probably used to wear at school), those multi coloured kakhi shirts, knee high socks and brown shoes, i would definately find it kool!
19 Jul 2007, 22:24 pm
Maybe the Q is for Question, like to get your neck outa that Q ring noose fast when the whole experiment starts slip sliding away.
19 Jul 2007, 22:24 pm
Should have added a black and yellow to divert focus from selected team?
19 Jul 2007, 22:25 pm
#61 Made in NZ? Thats a bit sad…
19 Jul 2007, 22:27 pm
Why want to even change the socks? No sense of style. Those two gold stripes were cool. What k*k. We need those GT stripes back!
19 Jul 2007, 22:28 pm
Jammer vir wat Skop?
19 Jul 2007, 22:28 pm
Canterbury has the contract for all the rugby gear and other gear for nearly all the rugby playing world teams as far as I am aware, they won the tender to provide I think most of the gear worldwide, I stand under correction.
19 Jul 2007, 22:31 pm
Dit maak nie saak nie Skop!
19 Jul 2007, 22:32 pm
Give me old Mannetjies Roux’s, Dawie de Villier’s, Frik du Preez and Jannie Engelbrecht’s traditional Springbok jersey over this lot any day, but then you might say I’m an old has been romanticist or heydey hero traditionalist, maybe so.
19 Jul 2007, 22:32 pm
Ironically except for NZ
A suzi style contact poison absorbed by the skin just before kick off?
19 Jul 2007, 22:33 pm
kak
19 Jul 2007, 22:33 pm
Ek gaan vir nou! Goei’enag almal! Lekker slaap hehehe!
19 Jul 2007, 22:35 pm
#69 The funny thing is that I think the ABs use addidas. Ai’nt that some sh@t? They are not even using their stuff!
19 Jul 2007, 22:35 pm
see post 72!
19 Jul 2007, 22:36 pm
Ja ek weet dit maak geen saak Boerkie ou maat ons het die selde waardes en gevoele teen voluit aanhoudende goeie spel en aanvallende rugby dis al wat hier saak maak ne ?
19 Jul 2007, 22:38 pm
Ja, jy is reg
Look pretty daft, but seeing other teams use similar tough to tackle jerseys, it’s obvious we needed one to level things out. BUT I wont be buying a replica!
Nag elkeen!
19 Jul 2007, 22:39 pm
#76 lol, getting me worried now!
why the crappy white hoop around the collar? Bloody ugly! Also it’s the exact same design and style as all other CCC sponsored teams, poor show.
I already have umbhoxo! Mine is on its way.
19 Jul 2007, 22:40 pm
75 / 72 aha I guess you’re right don’t want any subterfuge alien spray or “suzy mooti” getting anywhere near those AB jerseys, hence the AB’s opting for Addidas gear, that right?
19 Jul 2007, 22:41 pm
#61 Introducing New Zealand dressed by Adidas of Germany.
19 Jul 2007, 22:41 pm
Well I guess the RWC winner will be in a NZ jersey…. it might not be a black one though.
SA, OZ, Scotland, Ireland?
Predictions please
19 Jul 2007, 22:42 pm
Boerkie you’re gonna have to work on that beer boep bro.
nag Boerkie, sien jou weer maat.
When you see the package Adidas offered the All Blacks as sponsorship it’s not suprising.
Adidas is prepared to pay anything to get the Worlds top sporting brands in thier kit.
While we are talking fashion a campaign has started in NZ for all men (and sympathetic women) to throw down their razors until after the RWC.
The theory is that NZ’s rugby started going downhill as soon as Hayman shaved the shrubbery off his face!
19 Jul 2007, 22:43 pm
Who has the better beards over there?
If SA play Ireland who’s going to be wearing white?
85. I was waiting for that comeback!!
19 Jul 2007, 22:45 pm
Skopskiet # 71
Camera’s rolling…and action!
Geez, you sound like the late Tiny Naude with the corpse of Colin Meads over his left shoulder walking out of the storm and into the sunrise with a stetson hat, cigar and wearing his old Bok jersey with the sound of music like the old Gunston plain cigarette adds on Springbok Radio.
Nothing like old leather rugby supporters…
19 Jul 2007, 22:47 pm
They are more similar than ever now.
Home side usually changes.
Flip a coin?
19 Jul 2007, 22:48 pm
Thanks Jinx #93 yeah nothing like good ol’ days reminiscing, cos those where THE days my friend we thought they’d never end.
19 Jul 2007, 22:50 pm
#89 Do not put the word fashion and NZ in the same sentence. That phenomenon does’nt exist in that side of the world. Has anybody seen the “hairstyles” that some of these guys spot? Its like road kill! Bad! Bad! Bad!
At least one thing that saffas have is a sense of style (excluding the highveld brothers).
Later boys!
19 Jul 2007, 22:51 pm
Skopskiet # 95
Like Fergie McCormick giving Syd Nomis a stiff arm snotklap at Newlands in the test at Newlands in 1970. And Gerard Viviers gaaning aan. Hehehe.
Where is the gold? Too much white, otherwise looks good. It could rival princes’s DB9 for features.
We can have white tops with green Q’s and shorts, and Ireland can wear green tops with white Q’s and shorts, in the loose mauls we still won’t know who’s who unless they keep original socks.
19 Jul 2007, 22:53 pm
16 inch # 96
Lol!That’s a lot of brothers bru. Hehe.
19 Jul 2007, 22:54 pm
Remember a guy on my team boasting about bending a players fingers backwards at the bottom of a ruck.
His teammate with the strapping was not pleased.
19 Jul 2007, 22:54 pm
SA boep pens the “ultimate” fashion statement, like Gurthro and CJ in these new Thorpedo outfits.
19 Jul 2007, 22:55 pm
Really need Castle back as sponsors to do the Boep justice
19 Jul 2007, 22:56 pm
97 Jinx yeah like we been saying Those where the day’s man when real men played real rugby. Guess times like life and values have to move on, they say its called “progress”.
19 Jul 2007, 22:57 pm
Howzit skop. You feeling a bit more positive today? …..or totally disinterested?
19 Jul 2007, 22:59 pm
Nike dropped the bokke after the last RWC, after this one it will be Mr Price.
19 Jul 2007, 22:59 pm
Skop # 104
We had better backlines.
19 Jul 2007, 23:00 pm
Yeah Castle lager and boep pens go real well together specially now with these skimpy tight shorts they’ll be wearing, expect plenty stoppages for shorts changing when SA plays, rippin shorts every time they go down for a tight scrum.
19 Jul 2007, 23:01 pm
Mongrel # 106
Classic!! I’ve fallen off my chair with laughter. Brilliant! What a lag.
19 Jul 2007, 23:01 pm
Daar truie van die voorrye lyk maar taamlik ***!!! En wat is dit met die vas hou plekke aan die broeke?? Dit lyk ook kak, en gan dit net makliker maak vir iemand om ‘n ou te tackle. Die ouens raak te slim.
19 Jul 2007, 23:02 pm
107 Jinx, since the dup brothers and Danie Gerber we havn’t had ANY backline, except for Henry Honiball lone ranger in between.
19 Jul 2007, 23:04 pm
It comes with the territory, but Smith and the boys don’t look comfortable at all.
19 Jul 2007, 23:05 pm
Kp jy dink alles is ***!
19 Jul 2007, 23:05 pm
(gaan Bokke gaan) hehehe
19 Jul 2007, 23:06 pm
oh the backline have an all in one lycra version.
19 Jul 2007, 23:06 pm
105 whatever howdy.. Tackler ever so politely corrected me in saying I am uninterested and not disinterested, I’m still trying to work out which it is, but nevertheless yeah all the sideshows are surely taking the hyped up spin into another whole dimension, jeez I’m really wondering if its all fashion and war dances in September or are some people going to be playing some rugby?
19 Jul 2007, 23:07 pm
Skop # 111
Absolutely.
Not even a Peter Whipp and Johann Oosthuizen at centre. Eish, der cupboard is bare.
The day we anihilated the no 12 role of play maker was the day we started going backwards with our back play.
19 Jul 2007, 23:09 pm
#116 skop, some decent rugby in the end I hope. The next side show is the squad announcement on Sat
19 Jul 2007, 23:10 pm
Bet the ANC can’t wait.
19 Jul 2007, 23:10 pm
117 Jinx, funny thing is JdV USED to be one hell of a creative playmaker in his youth maybe till he broke his leg in France or maybe till Jake White succeeded in coaching all that youthful natural flair right OUT of him, biff bash crash just like the rest of em.
19 Jul 2007, 23:13 pm
Pimp my rugby jersey?!
19 Jul 2007, 23:14 pm
Well whatever goes down Saturday, I’m sitting on the fence and saying to the whole lot of em, you’re all to blame, coach, admin, management, the whole bleeding lot of you can’t get your idiot acts together, and what goes around will always be coming round, no matter who the original instigator is.
19 Jul 2007, 23:17 pm
Skop # 120
Exactly. But Mallet started that **** with Pieter Muller at N0 12. He could break your neck like early days De Wet Barry but was 2 chops short of a braai when it came to the skills of a playmaker. No Peter Whipp, Michael Dup and Hennie Le Roux kop.
To Jake, No 12 is your fetcher. Hence Jake’s idea of three ball carrier loosies.
19 Jul 2007, 23:23 pm
Must zzzzzzzzzzz…
Goodnight…
19 Jul 2007, 23:25 pm
To Jake everybody in the whole 15 from 6 through to 15 are loosies, 6,7,8,9,10,12,13 all extra loose forwards, no playmakers whatsoever anywhere near any of those positions, oh where have all the rugby brains gone? Way down south and all the way north but far from the madding clueless fraternity round here.
19 Jul 2007, 23:26 pm
Morning Whatever – Hey, no making fun of the car is allowed & those dents were then when I borrowed it !
Morning Skopy – still not a happy camper then ?
A “gold” marker pen could finish the face someone started drawing on that new jersey …
19 Jul 2007, 23:29 pm
Like the Scots, and Aussies jersey, what a bloody mess.
Why **** around with these things.
Where are the stripes on the socks, and whats with the moob lines, at least soccer shirts still have a sense of style about them, these are just a joke, gone wrong.
And its not because its SA either, I would have hated if they had done something similar to the NZ jersey – thank fark Canterbury are not involved with the All Blacks anymore.
19 Jul 2007, 23:29 pm
whers the flying saucer they just got out of haha…Lets hope they zap the opposition at the world cup hehe
19 Jul 2007, 23:30 pm
Howdy Princess I already greeted you on the other thread but guess you havn’t seen it, happy? unhappy? no just getting less interested in all the sideshow hype, they losing track of what this competition or sport is meant to be, its all fashion and showmanship these days.
19 Jul 2007, 23:35 pm
Howdy Skopy
No, missed it. Weather here is foul, stormed all night & forecast for Saturday is for more “foul” & 2 degrees colder than was forecast just 2 days ago … Think only MARGINALLY warmer than Christchurch then add rain, lots of rain – going to be a mud bath.
19 Jul 2007, 23:39 pm
Pity so its going to cancel out all the advantages slippery sliding stuff, not gonna be too pretty I reckon the Aussies are probably happy to have a canceled out slow track to play on, they can get into all their slowing down MO and nullify AB’s pace.
19 Jul 2007, 23:41 pm
ur right. They’re all back row forwards.
A team like France will probably turn on the style throw the ball around and beat them
19 Jul 2007, 23:42 pm
Will get those pretty jerseys all dirty too – I think the ABs jerseys were orginally designed by somebody’s mum who had to wash them …
Slippery & slidy … Hhhmmm … Tony Woodcock might slip, slide & fall on Gregan and Carl Hayman could fall on Woodcock …
19 Jul 2007, 23:44 pm
Big Hit – how did you get out of your straight jacket again ?
19 Jul 2007, 23:44 pm
or he might just get in the way of his teammate again
19 Jul 2007, 23:47 pm
sacked anyone today?
19 Jul 2007, 23:49 pm
BH – No, but you haven’t gone into work yet have you
19 Jul 2007, 23:50 pm
133 Yeah I know thats all you’re hoping for in the first loose maul that GG lands at the bottom of a Carl Hayman, Tony Woodcock melee and doesn’t get back up again.
19 Jul 2007, 23:51 pm
the kit is good. the AB’s play in a skin tight jersey, and hence we find it difficult to hold their jerseis in the tackle.
19 Jul 2007, 23:51 pm
Its 10:51pm and I’ve done more work 2day than you’ll do in a week. My work is too complicated for you.
19 Jul 2007, 23:52 pm
Collins running into Woodcock – moment of the year!!
19 Jul 2007, 23:53 pm
So amongst other things mz Bond you’re also a sacker huh?
Howdy BH your boys still building nicely for crunch day pool game, I know Jonny’s just itching to get a chance at a come back against SA.
19 Jul 2007, 23:55 pm
@ Skopy
Don’t tease !
@ Big Hit
This from the man who slept fr 24 hours ?
“Yeah, right” as the Tui add says …
19 Jul 2007, 23:56 pm
Daniel Ward-Smith has been declared fit so, its gonna be a strong back-row with him and Dally.
I was disappointed they left Gerachty behind. He is electric.
19 Jul 2007, 23:56 pm
Sorry Princess angel
19 Jul 2007, 23:57 pm
Not all of us work regular hours. Some of us are special.
You don’t have the brains to take on my work. The inferior Kiwi brain would explode.
19 Jul 2007, 23:58 pm
@ skopy
No, merely an advisor. Big Hit is just a wee bit obsessive … I have a simple rule, contribute or step aside for someone who will. Got a problem with that ?
19 Jul 2007, 23:59 pm
Or is it s’pose to be angel Princess? Sorry whichever.
144 I don’t really know much about your new young forwards or loosies or any of your guys except those I’ve seen in last 6N, I havn’t followed the Heineken or any club games at all.
20 Jul 2007, 00:00 am
@ Big Hit
For once you are absolutely correct – You are VERY ****ing special !
What kind of work do they let you do in a “locked ward” ?
20 Jul 2007, 00:00 am
Princess rules with an iron fist. She lays the smackdown on the slackers
20 Jul 2007, 00:01 am
No problem honey dear. But you lost me somewhere there contribute or step aside from who will what?
20 Jul 2007, 00:02 am
Ward-Smith is a Kiwi with an English mother. He was hyped up as England’s saviour before the Six Nations but he got injured so didn’t play. But he’s BACK. You should read the London Times sometime, its got rugger news for everywhere.
You wouldn’t understand.
20 Jul 2007, 00:03 am
Hey whats this Anglo-Kiwi slating war goin on here I thought you guys were mostly allies in most instances?
20 Jul 2007, 00:04 am
Princess destroyed Christmas for a young family
20 Jul 2007, 00:05 am
Exactly the same features as the new wallabies jersy.
Just our players are better than the boks.
20 Jul 2007, 00:06 am
Tough cookie our mz Princess is, so why all the antagonism, c’mon Princess is it the age ol’ battle, rather war, of the sexes all over again hmm?
Princess is mad. Never mind her. She’s gettin on in years.
20 Jul 2007, 00:07 am
@ Skopy
Big Hit can’t follow my methodology of assesing the value employees – Contribute or step aside … He also judged me as harsh for reccomending redundancy on a lazy a*sed b*gger who after 12 months & 3 different positions still could not “find his niche”.
More simply put “sh*t or get off the pot”.
20 Jul 2007, 00:07 am
OK I’m butting out of the personality debate, still like the both of you though.
20 Jul 2007, 00:08 am
But I don’t repeat myself …
20 Jul 2007, 00:09 am
Al daai strepe oor Barney se maag laat hom soos ‘n teenage mutant ninja turtle lyk!
20 Jul 2007, 00:11 am
It was demonstrative. A kind of textual onomatopoeia. I didn’t expect you to get it..
20 Jul 2007, 00:11 am
@ Big Hit
Destroyed Christmas my a*se you lefty tree hugging lesbian green peace activist !
I waited until March & made it a redundancy rather straight out temrination – well more than he deserved.
20 Jul 2007, 00:12 am
159 So that shed’s some light on contribute or step aside, you sound like one hell of a sergeant majoress mz AM DB9, still its a noble trait to go out there and shake the b’grs bones till they rattle specially coming from a tough Princess, I ain’t kidding I’m pretty impressed, really.
20 Jul 2007, 00:13 am
lol, I’m just a good guy. You’re the grinch that stole christmas
20 Jul 2007, 00:13 am
@ skopy
No, nothing so prosaic
I am a capitalist & BH is a communist.
20 Jul 2007, 00:16 am
“textual onomatopoeia” ***** now you’re really losing me, where on earth do you find these extraneous terms? How’s a simple jaarpie suppose to follow all this juxtapositioning?
20 Jul 2007, 00:17 am
@ Skopy
Interestingly his team have gone from strength to strength in leaps & bounds since March exceeding all targets & are a bunch of happy campers … So, a good call ? Yeah, maybe.
& they don’t think I am a mean nasty b*tch the way BH does !
20 Jul 2007, 00:20 am
166 / 167 takes all kinds to make a planet tick, also takes more ‘n one to tango as I here the saying go, and tough cookie princess capitalists vs tough man rugger bugger lefty softy commie makes for one hellova nicer way to spend the night than f..ng and blinding against Jake White another night.
20 Jul 2007, 00:22 am
169 Princess.. you know his whole team personally? You sure get around honey girl.
20 Jul 2007, 00:23 am
You seem to have quite a good grasp on language too. I think the Princess could learn much from our superior intellect.
whats a b*tch?
20 Jul 2007, 00:25 am
I don’t think you’re a mean nasty B.. no ma’am I’ve heard the beauty appreciative softer side in you already though I sure wouldn’t wanna tread on those majoress boots in the corporate hierarchy, no siree.
20 Jul 2007, 00:26 am
I liked the “poor me a simple japie” teaser, although I sincerely doubt VERY much the veracity of it … but I have a meeting for a hour so will see if you are still loitering with intent when I return
Mean while – Got a prediction for tomorrow ?
20 Jul 2007, 00:28 am
KIWI KIWI KIWI CHOKE CHOKE CHOKE
^
My prediction
20 Jul 2007, 00:29 am
Wey Hey!
*** oot fer t’ lads!!
Jeez the could have made that yellow ***-stripe green you know!!
If those are the slimline shorts on Smitty, the full size ones must be like a circus tent!!
So back to rugby, so who’s your WC backline BH, Gomasall 9, Jonny 10, 12 = ?, Catt 13, Strettle 11 or 14? Robinson 14 or 15, Lewsey 14 or 15? just me taking wild guesses here.
@ Skopy – Yes, I know them all personally. No boots, just a mean pair of stilettos …
@ B H – You, my friend, are a dangling participle …
Later
20 Jul 2007, 00:31 am
96. Well, now we’ve dressed your boys in swimming costumes will we be even on the catwalk?
20 Jul 2007, 00:33 am
174 Go kick some corporate *** Princess its getting kinda late here so you probably won’t find me around if n when you return but thanks for the sympathetic compliment nonetheless, Prediction for Saturday , hopes with AB’s but very weary of Aussie tactical superiority, AB’s by a wee whisker.
20 Jul 2007, 00:34 am
It will probably be:
9. Gomersall, 10. Wilkinson, 11.Robinson, 12. Catt, 13. Tait, 14. Strettle, 15. Cipriani
Lewsey, Hipkiss, Hodgson, Tindall and Richards all have a shot.
Its superior to the SA backline but your forwards are better.
20 Jul 2007, 00:35 am
No good for couch potatoes!
20 Jul 2007, 00:36 am
A fine physical specimen such as myself will look great in that skin-tight apparel
20 Jul 2007, 00:37 am
178 You sound more like a rugby Queen than a rugby Princess to me ooh to have some o that stilleto sticking in between my ribs, better than couple of sharpened studs I reckon.
20 Jul 2007, 00:40 am
Skop
how do perceive the potential strength of the England challenge at this years world cup?
20 Jul 2007, 00:40 am
* how do you
20 Jul 2007, 00:41 am
181 Don’t know Cipriani much think I seen him once looked full of running to me, even Tindall still in there thought he was out of it this time?
Don’t underestimate our backs, skill for individual skill they are up there with the best, only difference is no style no strategy and no constructive play making coaching ruins their abilities, but if n when they do hopefully eventually click, watch out for the big bok backs.
20 Jul 2007, 00:41 am
kak jersey – liked the current one more. cant wait to see the piet van zyls of this world squeeze in it though
20 Jul 2007, 00:44 am
lol, don’t go getting defensive about the SA backs just because I said England were better! You’ve called them all loose forwards yourself.
You’ve got a decent 9 and a good back 3 and thats it and they don’t play like backs.
20 Jul 2007, 00:46 am
185 I rate England as dark horses I think in a competition of this nature the experience and BMT plus the desire to show 2003 wasn’t just a once off will come to the fore, and their structured play is always right up there as good as Aus, and I think they can show up and do some real business all the ways to semis and who knows from there. I think though I like France and Ireland’s style better than England, England might do better than both those teams, although if France can fire in front of their partisan home fans, anything from them is possible, like they showed NZ in ’99.
20 Jul 2007, 00:49 am
Hmm, I think they’ve got a chance but have a lot of catching up and cohesion still to come. It may not come…
Who do you think will win the group game between England and South Africa?
(I think SA will lift the intensity and Schalk and Smith will give everything and will win by 15
20 Jul 2007, 00:51 am
189 I don’t think Catt (dunno bout Tait) will hold JdV and Fourie if they run straight at him they could do a Jonah Lomu on him, he might swerve round them once or twice or out think them or kick positional upfield, but bully beef and pace at him he’s going to get rid of that ball pretty smartly.
20 Jul 2007, 00:53 am
lol, everyone in the southern hemisphere remembers Catt as the guy who got run over by Jonah Lomu.
What about the Catt that saved Wilko in the quarters against Wales and won the world cup in the final?
JDV isn’t Lomu and even if Catt fails (which I don’t think he will) Wilko will be there too.
20 Jul 2007, 00:53 am
191 If our guys don’t get stage fright and choke like AB’s sometimes do, and if we got half our strategy and planning sussed enough ahead of the game and hopefully all front liners fit and able, we should take you guys in that pool game by I agree around 15.
20 Jul 2007, 00:56 am
193 Wilko will have his hands full with all our other 5 loosies, Burger, Smith, Spies, F.du Preez and Butch James, so his game is also going to be cut out for him, I’m gonna sign out now get some shut eye, see you round again maybe on the weekend. AB/Aus game should be a humdinger though forecast for cold wet conditions.
20 Jul 2007, 00:57 am
Nah, SA are too hard to choke. They’ll give everything. Their real problem is that they can be too one-dimensional and other teams offer a more varied game e.g. NZ with their fast wide game.
I just think SA have had too much time together as a pack and as a team than England. The game will be won via the boot imo.
20 Jul 2007, 00:58 am
No probs. Hope convicts win. Laters.
20 Jul 2007, 01:04 am
197 See ya, SA’s real problem is in their heads always has been, if they can get half the Aussies self belief into their inferiority racked psyche they can take on and beat the world any and every time, if they can only learn to trust their abilities to the same levels as they possess, they’re hard physically but sometimes very vulnerable psychologically, hence the obsession with physicality and physical domination, cos they don’t trust their own natural abilities enough.
20 Jul 2007, 01:12 am
Has the backs outfit got a slippery surface…This the 21 st century after all…They should be able to do it all
20 Jul 2007, 01:20 am
ain’t these same gear as the Aussies??
someone said skintight shorts??
good ideal..maybe flyhalves can wear special protective eyewear with a micro chip in it that helps with kicks.
20 Jul 2007, 01:24 am
anyone else notice the binding in that scrum pic???
why has vic bound through onto smit?
20 Jul 2007, 01:26 am
#198 On the money buds,
The new kit is okay but not so lekker for the supporters unless cantabury has made a beer gut freindly version. Actually if they could put little pockets on the back like a cycle jumper I can store my Billies and even a small flask of klippies.
20 Jul 2007, 01:39 am
ESPN’s all time RWC team:
1) Tom Smith – Scotland
2) Sean Fitzpatrick – NZ
3) Jason Leonard – Eng
4) Martin Johnson – Eng
5) John Eales – Aus
6) Francios Pienaar – SA
7) Michael Jones – NZ
8) Zinzan Brooke – NZ
9) Joost van der Westhuizen – SA
10) Jonny Wilkinson – Eng
11) Jonah Lomu – NZ
12) Tim Horan – Aus
13) Philiipe Sella – Fra
14) David Campeze – Aus
15) Serge Blanco – Fra
20 Jul 2007, 01:43 am
Everybody – why is it that if the All Blacks lose, we choke, and if other teams lose against us, we cheated.
Either you thought/expected/bet your house on us that we were going to win, or you didnt, which one is it?
20 Jul 2007, 01:45 am
Tomsta – I noticed that, having played 2 most of my life, thought it looked a bit odd,
which means if Vic and Bakkies were not binding, where was Bakkies’ other hand?
20 Jul 2007, 01:46 am
Because you have superior individual players drawn from four different countries.
20 Jul 2007, 01:48 am
Drawn from what, where BH, we’re all immigrants down here chap, or did you just come down in the last rain shower?
20 Jul 2007, 01:49 am
Jason Leonard – WTF?? guy was a loosehead!!
Olo Brown was way better.
Francois Pienaar – OVERRATED AS A PLAYER
Ruben Kruger, Olivier Magne, Willie O, were
better players.
rest of team is pretty spot on though
20 Jul 2007, 01:50 am
Big Hit – you ever heard Mils speak, he as an Invercargill accent.
Why the cheap shots BH, you run out of real ammo?
Oh, there was none, I see……
20 Jul 2007, 01:51 am
kiakaha
mate, i played blind, 8, open, and sometimes covered at lock. the lock bind with their inside arms around each others backs, anchoring the grip on the others opposite side waist.
what this bind could be, is for vic to get more of a direct push through the 2 channel. ill definitely be havign a closer look at the nxt game they play.
anyways,,off to lunch now.
20 Jul 2007, 01:52 am
Greatest13gerber: Was that the best XV picked from all time games, or just RWC appearances?
20 Jul 2007, 01:54 am
@ Skopy – Stiletto driven corporate a*rse kicking done & dusted & it is not even lunchtime
@ Big Hit – Envy is such a terrible brudern to bear, just let it go.
20 Jul 2007, 01:55 am
RWC appearances.
Leaving the poaching debate out of it. You get accused of choking because you get beaten by teams who are inferior man for man.
Man for man you were better than France in 99 and Australia in 2003 and arguably SA in 95
20 Jul 2007, 01:55 am
Tomsta – me too – on to Ponsonby Rd, Bollywood, yeah baby, its gonna be a very long lunch.
Mate, I know the way locks bind, but for the photo shoot, it looked like something else might be going on, hahaha, just a little joke
See ya fellas,
Big Hit, use the internet for some research, you’ll find its quite useful.
20 Jul 2007, 01:56 am
What envy? haha, we’re WORLD CHAMPIONS!
Remember how that feels? thought not
20 Jul 2007, 01:58 am
The jumper comes complete with Manzier or Bro to accomodate the man boobs of even the most svelte front row forward, sies! There are more panels than a panel van and the top is as tight as TomJones’ pants
20 Jul 2007, 01:58 am
#219 you are right there about the bind..
#211 best from RWC.
20 Jul 2007, 01:59 am
@ Big Hit
Yeah envy … You won – A – tournament … We have been #1 for most of the last 100 years – Bigger, badder & longer than you ever dreamed of.
& Before you explode ina lather all over the page – Yes, we would like the big pineapple to come home.
20 Jul 2007, 01:59 am
I used the internet. 10 of your players were born in the pacific islands. True story.
20 Jul 2007, 02:00 am
Might be they don’t trust Bakkies with 2 hands in the scrum temptation for an eye gauge would just be to much.
20 Jul 2007, 02:00 am
Only in a locked ward where the “voices’ can’t get to you & maek you do “bad things …
20 Jul 2007, 02:01 am
The big pineapple? No wonder you never win it, you don’t even respect it.
100 years of poaching smh
20 Jul 2007, 02:03 am
No, that is the voices again – take your meds !
20 Jul 2007, 02:03 am
Nothing gets to me. I am the epitome of cool.
20 Jul 2007, 02:11 am
Maybe CCC can consider sowing on a handle of sorts to the front John Smith’s pants.
Then old Vic won’t have to hang on to his captain’s ******* like that.
The design maybe effective and what not, but it is too ‘Flash Gordon’ for my liking.
A Blue Bull supporter will never get into one of those, so they won’t be selling the jumpers at Loftus, I guess.
It would have looked kak with a khaki broek anyway…..
20 Jul 2007, 02:12 am
@ BH
You are bl**dy funny sometimes I will give you that … I am picturing u in the above outfit attmepting to look “cool”
Have u ever actually played ?
& I notice after bragging earlier about how clever u r at yr job you don’t actually say what it is …
20 Jul 2007, 02:15 am
225# “sewing on…”
Sorry Tackler!
And I agree with Kia, not enough gold.
Look at the socks.
20 Jul 2007, 02:19 am
I’m the best player that never made it. I have succumbed to an injury. I pray every night for recovery but physical redemption has not been forthcoming thus far. I am still hopeful.
My job is a special occupation. It would be too difficult for a mere mortal such as yourself to comprehend. Lets just say I am a James Bond type character and my occupation requires me to display both his heightened levels of instinct and quick-thinking combined with an unmistakeable suave manner which is bequeathed to only the greatest of individuals.
20 Jul 2007, 02:22 am
Another name for that would be “Armchair Enthusiast” …
As I said – bl**dy funny … a comedian.
You not really typing that with a straight face are you ? Cos I cannot read it that way.
Johnny English maye …
20 Jul 2007, 02:25 am
#228 Classic, so you are a Bellboy then?
20 Jul 2007, 02:25 am
I was destined for glory and was cut short before my prime. I was no front row hooker
Hmm, I’m not so sure you’re proficient at the ole reading malarky
20 Jul 2007, 02:27 am
Nah, come on, what would an individual with a unique level of intellect and insight such as myself be doing belling boys?
20 Jul 2007, 02:29 am
What about a tight fitting outfit for the netball girls now canterbury haha hehe
20 Jul 2007, 02:29 am
#232 lol Never know what you Poms get up to. Did you not invent the word “bugger”?
20 Jul 2007, 02:30 am
@ Whatever – mwahaahaaa !
@ BH – Come now, fess up your preferred postition & employemnt. Continued prevarication leads one to assume teh worst … a fluffer maybe ?
20 Jul 2007, 02:31 am
No, we invented ‘rugger’. ‘Bugger’ was invented when some ex-pats returned to the motherland professing to have discovered a new sexual practice.
They were duly executed.
20 Jul 2007, 02:32 am
#236 lol
20 Jul 2007, 02:38 am
I wonder if the short cater for a ball grab!Smith in the pic is being held by the jollies.Oh what a feeling!!
20 Jul 2007, 02:41 am
Hello AJ
Braced & assumed the postion ?
20 Jul 2007, 02:56 am
Hahaha,
An exact replica of the Aus jersey (except for the colour) that was pilloried on this site a few weeks ago. As they say, what goes around comes around!
20 Jul 2007, 03:07 am
Well I don’t see anything special. We look just like the lactating aussies do now. Stupid. A bunch of grown men running around with man boobs…
I mean, I’m all for technology and all that ****, but how is the design appearance going to help here? They could have put more effort into the “look” of this kit. Add a watermark assagai or something, but juggs? C’mon!
And BTW, this is not thanks to Sir Woodward. The skin tight jersey was in fact initiated by the ABs as early as 1995.
20 Jul 2007, 03:07 am
How could saru approve this? you guys know that ‘save the springbok petition’, maybe we should begin with a ‘save the springbok jersey’ petition!
They can say what they like, a jersey won’t win you the world cup. Especially a jersey that doesn’t inspire players nor fans. I really doubt the majority of the springbok squard prefer this jersey.
20 Jul 2007, 03:08 am
squad*
20 Jul 2007, 03:11 am
Big Hit:
10 of them were born overseas, is that all. Ultimately all New Zealanders were either born overseas, or were the result of the parental links being born oversees, I can not see why you draw this link to substantiate your desperate hatred of New Zealand.
And the point of that is what?
BTW – No, you’re not cool, and no you’re not even hot, you’re limp.
You have swelled up an internal prejudice that prevents you from seeing reason, logic, and common decency.
Like Paulse, you’re also a flea.
20 Jul 2007, 03:22 am
c’mon kiakaha
i think paulse is a good player. fair call he did have a bit of a mare this last game, but really what is a saffa wing to do when he never gets given the ball and wants to be involved in the play.
i think paulse tried a bit too hard, but he was looking to be busy, and get involved. he is a capable winger, with a good boot as well.
the opposition usually does hate guys, compare with gregan, when they are an irritation, compare with mccaw. sometimes the rules are infringed, sometimes not, but they still an irritation….i guess like a flea
i dont see how jake can leave paulse out. paulse has french experience, he has 60 something tests behind him. he knows percy’s game, he knows the bok game plan, and he can score tries.
remember jake like to count his test caps. with paulse, percy there with the others we looking at decent handful of tests.
20 Jul 2007, 03:24 am
@Big Hit
Thanks for the internet research mate. I had no idea how widespread the poaching thing was. I thought it was only JR and SS but 10 !!! Makes you wonder how strong the Pacific Island teams would be without the kiwis and aussies pilfering their talent.
20 Jul 2007, 03:29 am
I watched “Inside Rugby†in Australia last night.
They replayed the reversal of penalty of Albert VD Berg. A “diabolical†decision†according to Kaiff. (BTW, Kaiff should be our backline coach – no skop and charge with Kaiff, just very clever and insightful backline rugby). “Dickenson’s wrong decision (to reverse SA’s penalty) changed the changed the course of the match†Kaiff said. He asked Stewart Dickenson about this decision, his response was “I can only ref what I seeâ€.
Psychologically we often see what we want to see. What is it with Dickenson? If one has a bias against a certain nationality, one shouldn’t be allowed to ref.
20 Jul 2007, 03:33 am
heck i wonder how good the netherlands would be if all those dam dutchies never got poached to play for SA. heck, the netherlands would have won all the WC’s by now…
20 Jul 2007, 03:35 am
are you saying the A vd B didnt actually stand on the guy?
20 Jul 2007, 03:39 am
Why no pads like American football?????
20 Jul 2007, 03:40 am
& Daniel Ward-Smith wud not be able to play fr England nor the Saffa or two who are in the England squad …
Yeah, let’s not let anyone immigrate.
20 Jul 2007, 03:43 am
What would you like a ref to base his decisions on?
For him to ref things he doesn’t see?
To hypothesize on what a player is thinking of doing and penalise him for bad ideas?
I dunno if you have ever tried reffing, but it is is not quite as easy in real time on a field as it is in slow-mo from your couch.
20 Jul 2007, 03:47 am
There is immigration/emmigration and then there is active rugby talent poaching and I believe there is a difference.
20 Jul 2007, 04:01 am
Michael, Yeah & AB selectors roam the Pacific Island nations Kindergartens on the look out for 4 years who display promising “ball talents” such as JC whose parents moved to Wellington when he was a very little boy – so he grew up near his NZ born cousin Tana Umaga. Like that you mean ?
Don’t believe much Big Hit says he is off his meds again.
20 Jul 2007, 04:05 am
with the current influx of pommies immigrating to nz, we will probably see some english blood in the black jersey one of these days. BH how can you let this happen, letting poms leave mud island. surely this isnt permitted.
20 Jul 2007, 04:06 am
Hi Pietman. What do you think of the new attire?Would have looked better on Charlize Theron or our Rugby Princess in here when in a ball grabbing possie!****! The mind boggles
20 Jul 2007, 04:10 am
AJ – got your lunch money at the ready ?
20 Jul 2007, 04:12 am
Tomsta
I think it would be fairer to say leaving one mud island for another. Refer to Princess’ weather reports.
Princess,
I do believe that rugby talent is actively poached at high school level not only by kiwis but aussies too. There was a great doco on it last year – can’t remember the name.
20 Jul 2007, 04:14 am
Clearly a memorable report though …
20 Jul 2007, 04:24 am
#252 Sounds like he only had one eye open!?
20 Jul 2007, 04:26 am
So by the same token ricane are players supposed to preempt a refs hallucination / misperception?
Stewart Dickenson said, “I can only ref what I seeâ€.
I’m sure he is not a consciously cheating, but this is the whole point, there is a bias there somewhere. If he is seeing how the nasty guy in green stomped on the poor guy in black, when in fact the guy in black was holding onto the guy in green who couldn’t get away, this is a massive difference of perception.
The Aussies on Fox2 were also critical of their own ref, not just this incident but the match in general too. I’m sure refing it isn’t easy, but they are paid professionals (and unlike most professionals, they are unaccountable). In addition, the Aussies felt that even if VD Berg HAD committed this “foul†it was so minor, the ref should just “get over it†and get on with the game.
20 Jul 2007, 04:28 am
RP, the weather has been fine today in auckland. really the last 3 days have been great!
are there any facts surrounding the arguement that high schools in auckland region ‘recruit’ islander boys for rugby. namely kings college, kelston, wesley, st kents, auckland grammar.
i met an auckland grammar rugby coach in cape town before i came over to nz. am glad i never went to the school, i needed something different to where i had schooled in cape town.
in my first game against kelston, their openside represented tonga at 19 or 21 level? not sure. not sure how he got to nz, or whether he stayed in nz. he was farking good though.
20 Jul 2007, 04:33 am
just read article about jerry collins. he is fired up already for tomorrow! this game is going to be so good!
20 Jul 2007, 04:39 am
Quite frankly I don’t think Dickenson even saw the incident properly, he caught it out of the corner of his eye, and being unobjective assumed that the guy in green was automatically at fault.
Tomsta
Here are some trivial stats I just looked up on the net. Auckland annual average rain is 1185 mm and London’s is 585 mm ( about half ).
@ Tomsta
Weather was a horror in the BOP overnight – must have been an East /West sotrm
Met Service says for Saturday : 16°/8°C Rain developing & Northwest winds
I had cousins @ Kings, Wesley & St Kents – no menion of active “island recruitment” from any of them. Some of the older schools are still a bit “formal & English” in their approach perhaps ?
I was too busy playing sport, keeping up grades & not getting caught misbehaving cos my dad was on the baord of governors & he was definitely a “do as I say, not as I did” kind of guy.
20 Jul 2007, 04:41 am
@ Michael
Here is another stat : City with highest boat /population ratio in the world – Auckland
20 Jul 2007, 04:45 am
Also has the most P labs and tagers while we’re at it!
20 Jul 2007, 04:48 am
Tomsta,
Not surprised with all that rain. Hopefully it stays away for tomorrow’s game though and just remember when you add altitude and rain you get the whitestuff. I noticed on previous post you are fond of boarding. Am off to Mt Hotham next weekend – 141 cm – can’t wait !!
20 Jul 2007, 04:49 am
So what happens e.g. due to an injury the tight head prop moves to loose head – does he swop jerseys as well so the ‘opponents don’t have a place to grip’ ?
Has Percy’s got a pouch for Up & Unders?
20 Jul 2007, 04:54 am
yup, it doesnt really ever stop raining in auckland. it is the strangest thing when we get water shortages???
the same way school like bishops etc scout promising kids, the auckland schools do it. after games when you at the after match function, i remember trying to hold conversations with players from other teams. the guys barely spoke english. i do know that some of them had only been in the country a matter of a year or 2.
that said, i dont agree with the poaching arguement, but i do think nzru could do more to help the islander rugby infrastructure.
20 Jul 2007, 04:55 am
michael
where is hotham?
i enjoy the boarding, its great escapism. going to try learn to ski this year.
20 Jul 2007, 04:57 am
270 percy needs a pouch,,,and nonu needs a makeup bag! lol
20 Jul 2007, 04:58 am
Tomsta, stick to the boarding mate. I went from skis to boarding to keep up with my sons. Would’nt go back to skis
20 Jul 2007, 04:59 am
268,,isnt P known as Tik in SA….wonder how many tik labs there are in sa??
20 Jul 2007, 05:00 am
#275 Jip, same thing by all accounts. I hear the Cape Flats is be riddled with it
20 Jul 2007, 05:01 am
whatever
i like learning new skills, and skiis, look a good challenge!
i can board, and have got it sussed. i grew up on ice skates and inline skates, and i reckon i could transfer some of the freestyle action onto the skiis
michael
i havent been to any good snow spots yet. only ruapehu,,,,turoa had a 2m base last year, that was great fun. long long rides to the car at the end of the day.
20 Jul 2007, 05:02 am
Schools like Bishops, Paarl Gim, Paul Roos etc poach but not from other countries. Have noticed more recently that plenty of rugby scholarships handed out by Hilton, Michaelhouse and Kearsney to promising talent at state schools but generally within KZN. It’s a bit different when you translocate a whole family to another country.
20 Jul 2007, 05:03 am
yeah man, the Tik is everywhere, its beyong epidemic proportions from the **** ive heard.
nz has an issue too. i cant believe it is still growing problem. with such a small and localised society it should be easier to control and bannish the stuff.
20 Jul 2007, 05:06 am
nz has a visa program with most of the islands, so families do have the option to move here. and the families who do have string drive for their kids, do like to come over here, and send them to nz schools. and of course some of those kids end up playing some decent rugger, or other sports along the way.
its a small country. and really nz wouldnt be where it is without all its immigrants over the past century, whereever they have come from.
20 Jul 2007, 05:07 am
Tomsta,
About half way between Sydney and Melbourne. Great steep terrain and easy to get away (backcountry). But that’s where skiers have it over boarders anyday. No long walkout at the bottom !!
20 Jul 2007, 05:09 am
cool. otherthan tazzy, i didnt know aussie had snow slopes
20 Jul 2007, 05:09 am
But if you stick to the lifts I can see why the younger ones go for boarding.
20 Jul 2007, 05:12 am
No ski resorts in Tassie. Not enough elevation. There would be at least 5 resorts in Aussie the size TC/Wanaka
20 Jul 2007, 05:17 am
real! a teacher who got me onto my first board was from taz. wasnt aware of the 5 places. all the more reason to travel to aussie
20 Jul 2007, 05:19 am
Back to rugby though I reckon the David Lyons v Jerry Collins clash will be inetresting.
20 Jul 2007, 05:21 am
lyons is out injured….deep vein thrombosis in calf!
hoiles is starting, with chisholm on bench
Both fired up with something to prove.
20 Jul 2007, 05:25 am
Just realised, sorry. Well, be that as it may the Bled games are always interesting.
20 Jul 2007, 05:26 am
Tasmania got world class skiers due to the fact that they got much more grip on there ski poles. The two extra thumbs helps alot
20 Jul 2007, 05:28 am
@291 Lol
20 Jul 2007, 05:29 am
ive been trying to think like a kiwi this week, and get a grasp of the importance of the sloe trophy.
my kiwi mates tell me its a big thing. the games from memory have always been spectacles, and since there is so much on the line for saturday, its gonna be a firecracker of a game.
will the aussis steal it with a late mortlock penalty, causing widespread heartache across nz. or will AB’s start producing what they have been promising for the last few months.
ill be on my seat edge for the 80minutes. hope nigel owens handles the game ok.
20 Jul 2007, 05:30 am
really? is there a inter family ritual thing going on there?
20 Jul 2007, 05:32 am
I think the Kiwis are going to show us this weekend why they are favourites to win the WC and beat the Aussie by 15 points
20 Jul 2007, 05:33 am
As an ex-saffa myself I find the Bled games to have an intensity that is hard to match. Probably like Bok AB clashes of the 50′s through 81.
20 Jul 2007, 05:34 am
Ye Tasmania is the Boksburg of Australia.
With all due respect to our Boksburg friends on this blog, hey without you guys the 3 litre Ford bakkie wouldve never sold over 1 million
20 Jul 2007, 05:42 am
cheers folks
enjoy the rugby this weekend.
the weekend has begun!
20 Jul 2007, 05:53 am
256# aussiejoe
G’day.
As I said above, I don’t fancy it much, too ‘science fiction’, and not enough gold. Those socks look awful.
20 Jul 2007, 05:56 am
WOW. looks a bit *** though..
20 Jul 2007, 06:48 am
#299,Dagse Pietman,
Maybe the new socks are to prevent supporters from telling them to “pull up their socks”
20 Jul 2007, 06:48 am
looks ok, but how do we fix smitty’s legs then?
20 Jul 2007, 07:11 am
Socks, which ones are the new ones, the ones only in green or the orange and green ones?
20 Jul 2007, 07:15 am
If you look at Smits left leg its the spitting image of Kobus vd Merwe
20 Jul 2007, 07:18 am
Very similar to the OZ jersey, well obviously same manufacturer. Now what does the AB RWC jersey will look like?
20 Jul 2007, 07:24 am
305 CSI,
It has 3/4th place playoff already embroidered on it,theyre just waiting to find out which one.HeHe
20 Jul 2007, 07:28 am
@ manlybok
I don’t think so – Black is still ahead of u on the curve …
Cannot believe you copied the crims – Expected more originality from a group of Saffas …
20 Jul 2007, 07:35 am
Hehe Princess,did that one make your tiara slip ?
Its still one WC each.
I was only joking,couldnt resist it,its just jealousy cos we have no game this weekend.
20 Jul 2007, 07:38 am
Es, Tiara slipped a bit @ that & it is already past Vodka-Clock here too
Sure you have a game on – Don’t you cheer for the Boks & in their abscence anyone playing the Wallabies ?
20 Jul 2007, 07:41 am
309 Yes.
But we want that No1 spot back.
20 Jul 2007, 07:43 am
Well, come & get it then
But you might want to change your jersey, it is hard to take you seriously when you look like you are lactating …
20 Jul 2007, 07:45 am
Last night I had a dream that WP beat the Bulls 58-0 and McCaw, Carter, Larkham, Giteau and Mortlock all got injured for 4 months! Then I woke up…
20 Jul 2007, 07:45 am
steveqld funny how nobody has commented on your posts. I looked at the van den Burg trasgressions and it must have been an optical illusion to the ref like Ritchie McCaw ruck time. These professionals should be accountable but they are sacred cows. For years Darryl Hare got away with murder and look at him now. AfterShane Warne he was the top wicket taker for Australia.
20 Jul 2007, 07:47 am
I’m that first picture is what our tight 5 is gonna look like? Looks the best to me.
20 Jul 2007, 07:48 am
#311,
Were trying to keep “abreast” of the times and “milk” the sponsorship for all its worth
Just hope we dont end up looking like tits.
20 Jul 2007, 07:50 am
Back again! Bloody meeting Princess I have a creditcard will that do? Someone here mentioned Tasmania. A great place.Great scenery and great sea food. Crayfish the size of rabbits. King Island Cheese….yummy
Pietman you should import for your pub!And by the way, the Wallabies will win the Cup tomorrow; Australia will beat Japan inthe Asian Cup, the Demons will beat the Kangaroos and I will get rogered by Princes as promised…but still waiting.
20 Jul 2007, 07:53 am
Hey aussiejoe,just make sure you dont get princessed by Roger!
20 Jul 2007, 07:57 am
AJ I like your spirit
However I believe history does not favour you – when was the last time Wobblies won there ? More likely it will bw “assume the positon” …
20 Jul 2007, 07:58 am
Oohh & never said I wud be doing the rogering – just said you would get one …
20 Jul 2007, 07:59 am
@ manlybok
Too funny – both 315 & 319
20 Jul 2007, 08:01 am
#317 oh ****
20 Jul 2007, 08:10 am
Oohh there is a terrible thought – Too much drowing your sorrows tomorrow night & you could end up knackered as well as rogered
Fair warning – I won’t know the result until 90 mins after you. So should birds fall from the sky while God is watching I am not being a coward, I am waiting for the delayed feed on Prime TV. The house I am “sitting” has a 50 inch flat screen TV in the upstairs lounge but no Sky TV – go figure !
20 Jul 2007, 08:11 am
One problem, must get rid of the white pants!! Bluedy refs always see springboks when off-side in rugs and malls, I blame the white pants, maybe dark green will be better, why offside king richi moenie so bichi and mates always get away being offside, black pants with camo tattoos!! Other than that, think heaps of woman will now start to watch rugby as well, fashion show and all. Fashion TV here we come!!
20 Jul 2007, 08:15 am
Bospomp, we should wear cammo gear.
20 Jul 2007, 08:15 am
I really think it’s a shame they couldn’t come up with soemthing that ‘looked’ different to the Aussie jersey… for the big bucks they earned Canterbury could have individualised the jerseys…
two questions…
1. when they previewed them on B&A last night… Naas asks “How come one long sleeve and one short sleeve…?” To which Smit says… “We need no sleeve on the one arm to prevent the opposition from getting a good grip…”
Which is rather obvious and rugby players have had short sleeves for how long now…?
But the questions is WTF the other ‘long’ fairy-looking sleeve…? It seems they put that there just to make sure that people didn’t miss the fact that the other one is short short…?
Now what happenes when Smit plays prop…?
2. “The fabric also wicks perspiration away from the skin to the jersey surface which prevents overheating…”
Physiology 101 says that the body cools down as sweat evaporates from the skin… That’s why we sweat… So if the sweat is wicked away from the skin… HTF are they gonna stay cool…? Or can we expect more cramps and stuff…?
Wicking in clothing is normally so you don’t get too cold… normally in outdoor sports where the sweat on the skin will reduce the body temp too much…
Doesn’t make sense to me…
20 Jul 2007, 08:18 am
Cammo will be good, brownies with green camo stripes. Regarding the one arm sleaves, won’t work, have you seen the bush on the arms of Os, heaps of grip there man!
20 Jul 2007, 08:20 am
Princess if its bad news Ill phone you before you start watching,if you dont hear from me,its all good.
Bospomp,where’d your nick come from?
Is that an old Datsun bakkie engine or a farmgirl?
20 Jul 2007, 08:20 am
The yello patches on the back of the socks Is a Canteburry allblack plot to spot sprinbok legs trying to slow the ball! They should not ware this, is a plot!
20 Jul 2007, 08:21 am
I hear Jake is likely to get the boot in the next week because he has presented his WC team to saru and saru is very unhappy.
They(saru) want to introduce the 10 transformed player quota for the WC…starting line up!
Have fun saffas!
20 Jul 2007, 08:22 am
Farmgirl in need of lots of water!
20 Jul 2007, 08:23 am
Or a big Bos bread fist in the scrum!
20 Jul 2007, 08:29 am
@ Manlybok
Nuh-uh … All commnciations into the facility will be terminated @ 7:34pm at which point I go into the gym with the iPod until 9:15pm – permitting just enough time to prepare the requsiste Voddie & nibbles.
Communications will be restored once post match interviews have been viewed … at which time, if need be (God forbid !), I will front to take my medicine
20 Jul 2007, 08:32 am
& suffer the attention of AussieJoe etc …
Clearly just the mentioning of “not-victory” was enough to send my spelling into a tail spin !
20 Jul 2007, 08:41 am
Jeez – between Australia and the Bokke, we look a hell of a lot like the Power Rangers!! LOL
20 Jul 2007, 08:43 am
anyone got the early edition of the M&G newspaper today ??
20 Jul 2007, 08:44 am
The jersey can later be used to make a lekker Naartjie kettie for the boys!!
20 Jul 2007, 08:48 am
Id love to know who gagged the paper – its a big story
20 Jul 2007, 08:49 am
Ok folks I am off to the pub for some solace and inspiration. Lets have a great game. Have a great weekend-including you Princess.
20 Jul 2007, 08:50 am
I’ll reserve my opinion until i see Richard Bands in the kit … 2003 was a shocker
20 Jul 2007, 08:51 am
It cant be that revolutionary when the Aussies have the same thing.
They unveiled theirs a week ago already.
20 Jul 2007, 08:53 am
#325 the wick effect is to remove moisture/sweat before it freezes in cold conditions. In sport it generally allows the body to control temp as if you were natural (naked), but still offers protection from the elements. Part of the supplies branding is that their garments are recognisable and I don’t think the bokke play squat for them, remember, Nike withdrew their bokke sponsorship deal?
20 Jul 2007, 08:56 am
The Jersey is not too bad, its just that stupid green stripe on the shorts which stuffs the whole thing up.
Why lose the double stripes on the top of the socks as well??
20 Jul 2007, 08:58 am
thats a ugly jersey!!! damn they look like the powerrangers…
20 Jul 2007, 08:59 am
Vindicated
There is noearly edition of the M&G today. It had to be recalled on a court order to remove THAT story. Should be out a bit later
20 Jul 2007, 09:01 am
Only real difference with the Wallabies top is that the Aussies have two William Webb Ellis trophys on their sleve
20 Jul 2007, 09:03 am
John Smit slimmed down!
Should be marketed as a weight loss jersey.
20 Jul 2007, 09:06 am
Bod
I know that some slipped through and were delivered in JHB
20 Jul 2007, 09:07 am
Morning Auntie
20 Jul 2007, 09:08 am
This ain’t the M&G thread.
Please focus on the streamlined jersey.
20 Jul 2007, 09:11 am
I dont know which story is gonna be bigger – the naming of the SABC employee or the release of the Bok WC squad
But both are set to cause a stir
20 Jul 2007, 09:12 am
I actually quite like the Q in the collar.
20 Jul 2007, 09:12 am
It looks nice!!!
20 Jul 2007, 09:14 am
Oh yeah – the McBride case could also still be quite a revelation too
20 Jul 2007, 09:18 am
vindicated
Please go away and go stand in front of your local news agent for the next 8 hours.
20 Jul 2007, 09:19 am
to those that were laughing at the new wallaby strip last week..eat pie..cause this bok strip is KAK..
20 Jul 2007, 09:21 am
And while you’re at it, get your copy of that Harry Potter ****.
You seem like the type.
20 Jul 2007, 09:22 am
Auntie
“go stand in front of your local news agent”
what era are you from – news obviously travels slow to the flat lands – theres a thing called the internet now that provides the same service
20 Jul 2007, 09:24 am
Tour de France here we come!
20 Jul 2007, 09:24 am
Aussie in CT… (long arm short arm) they are the same strip!
20 Jul 2007, 09:26 am
Back to topic
I dont really like the new Bok strip – it makes the players look a little soft
but on the other hand, that will probably suit the modern day Bok player
20 Jul 2007, 09:26 am
#344 Bod
I am not in SA, could you tell me what THAT story is?
Thanks
20 Jul 2007, 09:27 am
AussieInCT
whick part of the Cape you in ?
20 Jul 2007, 09:28 am
So do you like the Aussie one then?
20 Jul 2007, 09:29 am
I want to get you away from this website, silly.
20 Jul 2007, 09:32 am
Stavos
Yes – i do like the Aussie one, it looks harder and tougher than the Boks Power Ranger suit
What I especially like on the Aussie top is the TWO little cup things on the sleve
20 Jul 2007, 09:36 am
#341…
They make money from selling the replica’s to fans… With rugby in Aus being the 23rd most important sport, they hardly make big numbers there… go to any Bok game and see how many Saffers buy the kit… They DO make big bucks out of it… they don’t do it for charity… Still think they coulda made the jerseys appreciably different…
thanks for the wicking expplanation… any take on the one long sleeve…?
20 Jul 2007, 09:37 am
And the two little cup things over their lactating breasts.
20 Jul 2007, 09:42 am
What about the socks ? Last time I saw socks like that was on a Japanese School-Girl Hooker …
20 Jul 2007, 09:42 am
vindicated .. the view outside my window is a close up of Table Mountain.
stavros..no not really..the bok one is just plain bland..but both look good with healthly pair of man-boobs under there…LOL
I did not hear Naas Botha eat his words for bagging the aussie strip on boots and all last night..and god I was looking forward to that!
20 Jul 2007, 09:48 am
I think we have our very own school girl hooker as a contributor to this site
20 Jul 2007, 09:49 am
AussieInCT
originally from perth, my view of the mountain is across the bay
20 Jul 2007, 09:51 am
ufo – the short sleave is so the oposition can’t grip, the long sleave is so that the props can bind to the hooker much better. my guess anyway.
why do they have gripping devices on the shorts? aren’t all players issued with that as standard equipment? maybe the roids are srinking the gripping devices?
20 Jul 2007, 09:51 am
i posted a while back saying that a screenshot from ea sports rugby 08 had us wearing this exact jersey… few weeks ago…
20 Jul 2007, 09:53 am
V – No, but lived in ***-land for a bit & have seen them in action … definitely looks like those legs above.
20 Jul 2007, 09:58 am
What story was recalled, guys? Care to mention?
20 Jul 2007, 10:00 am
Wat is die kanse van ‘n lys van spelers wat volgende jaar oorsee gaan speel ?
20 Jul 2007, 10:02 am
Rugby911
see the mg.co.za site
20 Jul 2007, 10:03 am
vindicated .. I’m a brisbane boy .. you been here long? Coming up for 10 years for me.
20 Jul 2007, 10:07 am
the two little cup things on the aussie kit is for their tequila nips.
20 Jul 2007, 10:09 am
not that long for me, bout half that
20 Jul 2007, 10:10 am
How sweet.
Unfortunately, I killed Britney off a long time ago.
20 Jul 2007, 10:10 am
I think John Smith has the toughest job of all, Bakkies hanging on to him like that…………
20 Jul 2007, 10:13 am
378# AussieinCT
He is in SA, Blouberg.
20 Jul 2007, 10:16 am
thanks scrawl…
I find it crazy that they say these jerseys are skin tight with no collars etc… to make it hard for the opposition to tackle the player…
then they go and chuck hand-holds onto the shorts…
again… kinda defeats the object doesn’t it?
20 Jul 2007, 10:23 am
When are they gonna change the emblem on the kit from a Springbok to a Protea
I can just imagine you okes in the Pubs standing up and shouting for the “Amabloemebloeme”
20 Jul 2007, 10:27 am
vic has pulled
john’s knees into an x
with his grip
on john’s
nuts
20 Jul 2007, 10:32 am
Antidorcas marsupialis has a far more masculine sound to it don’t you agree vindicated.
20 Jul 2007, 10:33 am
Hideous!
20 Jul 2007, 10:34 am
vindicated
I think I should buy you a cup of coffee.
20 Jul 2007, 10:38 am
Jusst read on a other site that Rassie was named the new Stormers coach
20 Jul 2007, 10:38 am
Auntie
that will be fine but im not coming anywhere near that Hotel / Hospital of yours
20 Jul 2007, 10:42 am
OK Oom.
20 Jul 2007, 10:47 am
Pompies
which site?
How you doing – see you very popular this morning.
20 Jul 2007, 10:49 am
Rassie gets Stormers job
20/07/2007 09:31 – (SA)
Cape Town – Former Springbok rugby flanker and Cheetahs Super 14 coach, Rassie Erasmus, has landed the senior professional coaching job at Western Province Rugby.
This was announced on Friday and Erasmus will fill the newly created and dual role of WP director of rugby and Stormers head coach.
“The decision is a necessary and important one for WP Rugby as a whole. The process followed was thorough and the candidates assessed were of the highest quality. We are confident that the correct decision has been made to ensure that WP rugby attains its future goals,” said Tobie Titus, president of WPRFU.
Commenting on the appointment, Pat Kuhn, Chairperson of WP Rugby (Pty) Ltd said: “We are happy to welcome Rassie back to Newlands, this time in the capacity as senior professional coach. An accomplished player at the highest level and a successful coach, Rassie comes with a wealth of practical and technical rugby knowledge and the innovative flair, passion and skills set that we believe will ensure the future success of WP rugby at all levels.”
“I am very excited to be back at Newlands and am looking forward to this challenge,” said Erasmus.
“Coaching the Stormers is a fantastic opportunity. There is an enormous amount of talent in the region and I am confident I can, with the assistance of others, make a real difference to the franchise.
“It is my mission to help create a winning culture at WP rugby and to formulate and implement my vision for effective management and coaching at all levels in this great province, and I am relishing the opportunity.”
Erasmus will commence duties on August 1, so as to provide the best possible contracting and athlete preparation window. His contract extends until October 31 2010.
Dispelling recent market place rumours Kuhn added: “The player body is extremely positive about developments. Players do not have escape clauses in their contracts linked to specific individuals and we have certainly not faced a player exodus. WP Rugby remains on a firm financial footing and is convinced that changes made will produce results for all stakeholders, most importantly for our sponsors, partners, customers and fans.”
20 Jul 2007, 10:50 am
You know the saying – It is better to look bad and win then look good and lose.
Who gives a $hit what they wear, as long as the bring the trophy back.
20 Jul 2007, 10:53 am
Me? Popular? Never.
20 Jul 2007, 10:59 am
Sir Watson, where you got that info?
20 Jul 2007, 10:59 am
Aussie unveiled their WC jerseys a couple of weeks ago and has all the same features. Not sure of the cap version.
The Green looks so much more classy than that Canary Yellow Aussie ones.
And it even makes John Smit look fit.
20 Jul 2007, 11:07 am
397. SW
Obviously from some site that deals with breaking rugby news
20 Jul 2007, 11:12 am
What a **** Kit.Bakkies face in the pic says it all.
What’s with the boob straps ?
Might as well got ‘em all in Pink!
20 Jul 2007, 11:13 am
Anvil daai is nou baie offside!
20 Jul 2007, 11:14 am
Great Jerseys but it means nothing if they don’t win the World Cup
20 Jul 2007, 11:19 am
I’m sure Robbie Hunter wore something similar in the Tour de France last night.
From the sublime to the ridiculous.
Wonder if it comes wth a built in rugby brain to prevent knock on’s, forward passes, and a **** scrumming technique.
Wonder if Alistair Coetzee has had one made for him?
20 Jul 2007, 11:22 am
Well they could not of found an uglier bunch of players to model this **** kit! I was just waxing lyrical the other day saying how awesome it was that the Boks still played in cotten jersies and now this happens.. Guys kiss the world cup good bye! How can anyone play well when he is dressed like a Ninja Turtle!
20 Jul 2007, 11:27 am
Come on people.
It’s not that bad!
20 Jul 2007, 11:29 am
scrumdown @ 403
my thoughts exactly. we went from a team who built their gameplan around dominating scrums/ forwards to one that needs gadgets to hopefully give us an edge in that department. at the rate that we had to remove our prop forwards’ heads out of their asses the last few weeks, i doubt whether their jersey will serve any other purpose but to make them look ridiculous.
20 Jul 2007, 11:31 am
Negativita!
20 Jul 2007, 11:32 am
can one eat that?
20 Jul 2007, 11:33 am
The Aussies were playing in the same jersey three weeks ago.
20 Jul 2007, 11:36 am
Thanks Vin #377 – yet another expose of corruption snuffed out in the corridors of power..
20 Jul 2007, 11:42 am
Dawn, #405.
Yes it is! (The Kermit look, with man breasts)
20 Jul 2007, 11:44 am
The “Traditional” Bokke Jersey was perhaps the finest ever paraded.
20 Jul 2007, 11:50 am
Damn… there goes another R600… I’m a real sap….
20 Jul 2007, 11:52 am
But because it has the most ‘features’ it probably is worth R600. Can it make coffee in the mornings??? Any cup holders??? ABS, EBD???
20 Jul 2007, 11:57 am
Some people have more money than sense!
20 Jul 2007, 12:00 pm
Rugby is all about gripping !
If Nelius doesnt have a GF is he at least still gripping the odd dollie ?
There are alot of practicle elements to the new kit
But it was obvious to see that Guthro was uncomfortable
I think in that sense players could opt for a looser fit fo rthem specifically ie 1 size up form what would have been “perfect fit”
I for one was not happy to see little place on back or side of locks jersey for flank bind
Ideally for a tight scrum flanks should bind on side of opp lock a little handle there would have been nice
and of course for the irish a a protective pocket for whiskey tot packs
For the Aussies the pocket could contain caffiene pills
for Rassie , Fake blood capsules for tactical subs (No ihave never used them as a coach my self)
for The **** , cyanide in caseof loss
for the Kiwis mascara or scrap the pocket and have a Velco detachable hand bag
For the French , the shorts should have a tight fitting scrotum pocket and a set of false ballas to fool opp french club players
Ritchie Macraws jersey could have a Snap release Yellow card attached over the right chest , just incase he wants to do the right thing and card himself when ref’s “forget” to
20 Jul 2007, 12:02 pm
grrr
…. and take into account that most of this stuff like the grips on the jersey to help with the catch of the up and under, the jersey that takes sweat away from the body etc. were already in use 4 years ago and it gives you a better indication of the “breakthroughs” canterbury is claiming. i think they couldve done better.
oh, and whats the use you have a jersey for women with a very low cut and the girls who model it forgot their tits at home? they really couldve done a LOT better there!
20 Jul 2007, 12:07 pm
Dont forget next week is pay day , put some ammo aside for my trip to CT
20 Jul 2007, 12:09 pm
Asha1
He heh he heheheh eh
i said the same thing to my dollie when we watched it last night
20 Jul 2007, 12:10 pm
they look like aliens.
20 Jul 2007, 12:15 pm
Murph
In your dreams boet.
No gripping here.
20 Jul 2007, 12:16 pm
sorry murph
only us coloured okes, boet. so, dawn, when is it my turn?
20 Jul 2007, 12:18 pm
A beer to the ou who comes up with the best
What Innovation WP need in their new Kit
Murph
Lets start with
Fluffy hand cuffs to replace to Lock grips on Prop pants
20 Jul 2007, 12:21 pm
dawn
refer 422
i meant to say …. when is it my turn … again?
Jy Skuld my Nog 3 DBL Klippies en 3 Tequilas
Moenie weg kruip !
can’t this morons design some chips to be put on the head-gears of our forwards that tells them not to go to ground everytime they have the ball.
20 Jul 2007, 12:22 pm
asha1
First I have to sort out vindicated.
20 Jul 2007, 12:22 pm
asha1
First I have to sort out vindicated.
20 Jul 2007, 12:24 pm
Ek skuld jou vokkol.
20 Jul 2007, 12:28 pm
dawn @ 428
please dawn man, dont be like that man. i’m sure it mustve been my turn already. i promise, i wont be so quick this time.
20 Jul 2007, 12:30 pm
asha1
yes she is threatening to do all sorts of “kinky” things to me
in the basement of some cheap hotel / motel / laboratory / massage parlour / pay by the hour complex
20 Jul 2007, 12:45 pm
Why is ‘SASOL’ removed??? I don’t mind, hate corporate logos on the Bok jersey but I still find it strange.
20 Jul 2007, 12:52 pm
Vindicated,#431
To have one of Dawns, “Moderating and Discipline” Cessions. ……..is the experience of a lifetime, and worth even penny she charges.
20 Jul 2007, 12:59 pm
Lobotomies are free.
20 Jul 2007, 13:00 pm
#432 … RWC regs prevent ANY sponsors logo other than a small manufacturers’ logo (max. 1/2 size of team emblem) to appear anywhere on the jersey, and the team emblem/signage itself may not be bigger than the RWC logo on the right breast.
Those are the IRB rules for RWC.
20 Jul 2007, 13:02 pm
Looks like Victor is really enjoying cupping Smith!
Thanks Tackles, didn’t know that.
20 Jul 2007, 13:04 pm
Dawn,
To have a Lobotomy first we must have a brain. In my case this could present a problem.
20 Jul 2007, 13:07 pm
Of all the International Teams it seems to me that the SA Team wear the most padding. These Jersey’s will look really silly on a padded up Franz Steyn.
20 Jul 2007, 13:09 pm
whats your issue now ****-saps.
20 Jul 2007, 13:22 pm
Is this going to be a “World Cup only” kit, or are they going to keep it afterwards?
I suppose with the new features and all the grip strips it will just make it easier to hold on to the William Webb Ellis trophy whilst doing our victory laps.
20 Jul 2007, 13:25 pm
Vossie,
WAKE UP……….you’re dreaming again.
20 Jul 2007, 13:32 pm
Earth to Vossie, come-in, anyone home, hello !!!!
20 Jul 2007, 13:33 pm
I was dreaming too – but not about rugby
20 Jul 2007, 13:33 pm
I was dreaming too – but not about rugby
20 Jul 2007, 13:37 pm
Ja, Ja.
Just you wait and see Jake’s masterplan.
Phase two complete “New jersey launched”.
Phase one is also complete. “convince the rugby world SA is one dimensional and have only one gameplan”
20 Jul 2007, 13:43 pm
vossie @ 445
yeah, and at the wc in the buid-up to the england game we can tell the world we’ve got a plan A and a plan B (like our cricket team did earlier this year just before playing aus in the group matches in the wc). i’m sure thats what you mean, isnt it?
20 Jul 2007, 13:44 pm
It’s raining!
TV weather!
20 Jul 2007, 13:46 pm
dawn
ka ekkie ma’ venaand djou kaggeltjie deel nie?
20 Jul 2007, 13:47 pm
And blankie and horror movie and whisky and couch!
20 Jul 2007, 13:50 pm
asha1 moenie soos ‘n kleurling aangaan nie man.
When you in important company, speak English!
20 Jul 2007, 13:52 pm
dawn
449 sounds good. ek weet jou kaggeltjie is altyd lekker warm
20 Jul 2007, 13:57 pm
The two props look like they have rather skinny legs compared to john smit, whose scrumming prowess is always trumpeted. Not ever having played that position can anyone out there tell me (technique aside) if upper body/back strength or strong legs is more important/beneficial for the front row.
20 Jul 2007, 14:34 pm
They wore that same body-hugging nonsense in the 2003 WC. Thought it was kak then and still do
20 Jul 2007, 14:40 pm
Hopefully they are better than the 2003 NIKE WC jerseys, they werent the best. We also heard then what they could do, so lets see.
Personally, I dont like it, it looks more like a T-Shirt than a rugby jersey.
I am a collector, so will definately get one for my collection, but I prefer a rugby jersey that looks like a rugby jersey, not a T-Shirt.
The traditional gold collar has been ‘trimmed down’ after all the fuss Canterbury made that they have returned to the traditional mottle green jersey, with gold [Not yellow] collar. So why is there so much white around the collar then ? And why are there gold stripes all over, our colours are plain green, with a gold collar.
20 Jul 2007, 14:46 pm
everyone loves Canterbury
20 Jul 2007, 15:20 pm
Will Habana run faster with all those GT stripes?
20 Jul 2007, 15:24 pm
420# ethiger
On that we agree!…for once.
20 Jul 2007, 15:38 pm
I have learned from reliable sources that this is the Bok team for RWC 2007:
Utility Backs: Francois Steyn / Ruan Pienaar
15: Percival Montgomery
14: Akona Ndungane / Ashwin Willemse
13: Jaque Fourie / Waylon Murray
12: Jean de Villiers / Wynand Olivier
11: Bryan Habana
10: Derick Hougaardt / Butch James
9: Enrico Januarie / Fourie du Preez
8: Pierre Spies / Bobby Skinstad
7: Juan Smith / Pedrie Wannenburg
6: Luke Watson / Schalk Burger
5: Victor Matfield / Danie Rossouw
4: Bakkies Botha / Johann Muller
3: BJ Botha / Cobus Visagie
2: John Smit (c) / Bismarck du Plessis
1: Os du Randt / Guthro Steenkamp
Afrikaners: 18
English speaking whites: 5
Coloureds: 5
Blacks: 1
Ethnic Black: 1 (Luke Watson)
20 Jul 2007, 15:52 pm
tshwaneerder,
I count 19 Afrikaners, 4 English, 5 Coloureds, 1 Black and Luke Watson in your squad. The English are Percy, Butch, Bobby and Smit. Who did I miss that you counted?
20 Jul 2007, 16:00 pm
please could you have longer shorts made for john smit….his jelly legs look pathetic. only jake finds them attractive
20 Jul 2007, 17:28 pm
damn fools white is the same whether afrikaner or english.
20 Jul 2007, 18:15 pm
360. The players ARE soft, its 2007 not 1907.
20 Jul 2007, 18:19 pm
367. “lactating breastsâ€
That should get the boks salivating!
20 Jul 2007, 18:37 pm
2007′s team would tear 1907′s team apart.
Props were 14st back then. Now No.10′s are 14st
20 Jul 2007, 19:10 pm
Like the sleek/modern look – better than the current one’s which are pretty old fashion style…
Just a Q, is the official Bok colours now Green and White (Where is the Green and Gold)?
Also, the Canterbury logo is Gold, so why is the rest “Orange”?
Though the collar design could be more unique, to similar to the Oz Mates (ours is white and theirs is black, I think…)
20 Jul 2007, 22:04 pm
The All Blacks have never contaminated their classic black jersey with rubbish like boobtubes and/or thin white wobbly doodlings all over the front. Even outside a RWC year, they don’t tolerate a huge stomach logo like the Boks do. It would taint their proud history to let that happen.
20 Jul 2007, 22:21 pm
True, they’d never put a big silver X across the back.
20 Jul 2007, 22:31 pm
Not unless they also put a I II III IV etc on the back too
20 Jul 2007, 22:45 pm
Think they’re gonna win it?
If not who’s the biggest threat?
Who’s probably not going to beat them but might just surprise?
Who has no chance against them?
21 Jul 2007, 01:30 am
FT
The French and the Aussies are the only ones who will stand between NZ and WW Ellis.
They know they can beat us on a good day, SA can only do it at home (and know it) and noone else is capable at present.
Ireland may suprise and give us a big fright; you’ve got the best team you’ve ever had IMO, but I doubt they can win against the AB’s.
The Boks are going to need all the depth can can muster (and probably more than they have)to get past 1/4 and semi.
They are facing both Tonga and Samoa in their group:
neither of whom will prevent them from booking a 1/4 final berth,
but both will leave a few casualties in their wake with their boistrous style of play and leathal tackling.
21 Jul 2007, 01:47 am
sdsdsdsdsd
21 Jul 2007, 01:48 am
aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa
21 Jul 2007, 01:50 am
ok u are not allowed 2 say the f….k word in afrikaans
21 Jul 2007, 01:51 am
of engels klink my—moer ma julle ouens het slim geraak
21 Jul 2007, 01:54 am
ok kom ons probeer weer-,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,sal iemand my asb se(will someone pse explain)-sorry i dont speak the other 9 languages—waarvoor in die bkliksem in delete hulle die geel streeep van die kous af-is dit nou om die kalahari boesmans tevrede te stel?????????? of vir wie? watter politukus se *** is nou gesuig hiervoor?
21 Jul 2007, 01:56 am
SA RUGBY–jull is siek en maak dat ek opgooi-wat die moooooooooooooeeeeeeer het van rugby in die land geword,mmmmm nes die politiek -als in sy moooeer in,—-dis tyd om n pasporrt te kry-sal ons noord of oos kyk?
21 Jul 2007, 01:58 am
who the f–ck cares-ek gaan slaap-
waar is die manee met rug graat? het iemand die ligte afgeskakel?lol-nag julle lamsakkiges
21 Jul 2007, 02:54 am
Some of the comments on this thread had me in tears…’whats the Q stand for’ and varous Smit comments.
You guys can be really funny when you want to be.
21 Jul 2007, 03:58 am
I finally figured it out:
The Q stands for Quota!
21 Jul 2007, 04:02 am
Tjorts
Ja,wraggies! Dis nooit anders nie.