Sleek kit to provide Bok edge
20 Jul 2007
Canterbury has unveiled the revolutionary new Bok kit designed to give the team every advantage at the World Cup.
The new kit is the result of three years of development and testing by Canterbury designers in conjunction with Loughborough University in the United Kingdom.

“The jersey caters for the needs of different player positions,” said Canterbury MD Paul Zacks. “Design features include the placement of specific grips on the jersey to improve ball retention whilst running and to enhance binding in the scrum.
“The jersey features short and long sleeve options, as well as a cap sleeve version which has been developed specifically for the props to reduce manipulation by opposition props at the scrum. A new offset loop neck and slimfit design will help players evade collar and jersey tackles.”

Movement is also enhanced by an underarm stretch panel and a new super lightweight Temex fabric that significantly reduces moisture retention and the weight of the jersey. The fabric also wicks perspiration away from the skin to the jersey surface which prevents overheating and discomfort.
The William Webb Eliis Trophy with the legend 1995 are embroidered on the right arm sleeve, and this feature has been included for all previous World Cup winners. Incidentally, Canterbury are making new jerseys for Australia, Scotland, Ireland and Japan, but Zacks confirmed the Springbok jersey boasts the most features.
The shorts have grip panels for line-out jumpers to aid lifting technique and also feature a slim design to prevent opposition interference during the line-out. There are grip handles on the Boks’ shorts, a unique feature that improves binding at the scrum. The shorts’ lightweight material also provides greater agility.
The socks have an open weave structure that allows air and moisture to escape. In a break from tradition, the stripes have been dropped. The sock will be all green except for a gold panel at the back of the calf which is designed to manage the build up of lactic acid and thus reduce cramp.
All these changes have been made after a lengthy research process that also involved many of the Bok players themselves.
“It makes sense to test new developments with the athletes who are going to make use of the kit,” said Bok captain John Smit. “The innovations that are used in the new Canterbury kit are fantastic and the players are excited about putting them to good use during the World Cup.”

480 Comments
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All
19 Jul 2007, 22:07 pm
Yep, that white neck ring is definitely a Q…
19 Jul 2007, 22:08 pm
wtf… Victor sure has quite a grip on Smits balls there…
19 Jul 2007, 22:15 pm
uninterested / disinterested same thing in my home grown lingo, in your impeccable educationally perfect lingo they might mean two different things but to me it says I am losing interest fast already with all the hyped up side shows going on, are they going to be playing any rugby at any stage?
19 Jul 2007, 22:18 pm
Hier Kom Die Boertjie!
Naand Skop ou maat! Hoe gaan dit
19 Jul 2007, 22:18 pm
OK Tackler I’m becoming uninterested, that make you feel better? Thanks for the new input.
19 Jul 2007, 22:19 pm
Lol Skop
Jy ‘n Afrikaner Skop?
Goed dankie en jy Boerkie man?
19 Jul 2007, 22:20 pm
Ja die lewe is goed dankie!
19 Jul 2007, 22:21 pm
nee jammer Boerkie, ek voel party keur soos een maar nee ek is nie n egter boerkie soos jy, jammer ou maat.
19 Jul 2007, 22:22 pm
I guess if you can’t have NZ players or coaches the next best thing is to get NZ clothes to wear at the RWC.
Who knows you might absorb a little kiwi mana in doing so.
…introducing the Springboks, dressed by Canterbury of New Zealand.
19 Jul 2007, 22:23 pm
The jerseys look positively naff.
They look like the Village People.
19 Jul 2007, 22:23 pm
Geez you guys have no taste , this is a kak jersey! I’ve never seen something sooo horrendous(sp)! I’m not playing devils advocate here but its bad boys.
Whats up with all these yellow lines? they are also drawn in all the wrong places. The only jersey worse than this one is the aussie jersey. Yes , we do not have the nicest colour scheme but we’ve had netter jerseys. Our previous white jersey was nice and the one we had in the last world cup(looked bad on the fat boys though, too tight).
When it comes to nice jerseys though , the pommies have really nice jerseys and the french! Cannot give the ABs too much credit because Black is always classy, it does’nt matter how its designed.
I do understand though why some of you think its kool. If my sense of style was tiny rugby shorts (that I probably used to wear at school), those multi coloured kakhi shirts, knee high socks and brown shoes, i would definately find it kool!
19 Jul 2007, 22:24 pm
Maybe the Q is for Question, like to get your neck outa that Q ring noose fast when the whole experiment starts slip sliding away.
19 Jul 2007, 22:24 pm
Should have added a black and yellow to divert focus from selected team?
19 Jul 2007, 22:25 pm
#61 Made in NZ? Thats a bit sad…
19 Jul 2007, 22:27 pm
Why want to even change the socks? No sense of style. Those two gold stripes were cool. What k*k. We need those GT stripes back!
19 Jul 2007, 22:28 pm
Jammer vir wat Skop?
19 Jul 2007, 22:28 pm
Canterbury has the contract for all the rugby gear and other gear for nearly all the rugby playing world teams as far as I am aware, they won the tender to provide I think most of the gear worldwide, I stand under correction.
19 Jul 2007, 22:31 pm
Dit maak nie saak nie Skop!
19 Jul 2007, 22:32 pm
Give me old Mannetjies Roux’s, Dawie de Villier’s, Frik du Preez and Jannie Engelbrecht’s traditional Springbok jersey over this lot any day, but then you might say I’m an old has been romanticist or heydey hero traditionalist, maybe so.
19 Jul 2007, 22:32 pm
Ironically except for NZ
A suzi style contact poison absorbed by the skin just before kick off?
19 Jul 2007, 22:33 pm
kak
19 Jul 2007, 22:33 pm
Ek gaan vir nou! Goei’enag almal! Lekker slaap hehehe!
19 Jul 2007, 22:35 pm
#69 The funny thing is that I think the ABs use addidas. Ai’nt that some sh@t? They are not even using their stuff!
19 Jul 2007, 22:35 pm
see post 72!
19 Jul 2007, 22:36 pm
Ja ek weet dit maak geen saak Boerkie ou maat ons het die selde waardes en gevoele teen voluit aanhoudende goeie spel en aanvallende rugby dis al wat hier saak maak ne ?
19 Jul 2007, 22:38 pm
Ja, jy is reg
Look pretty daft, but seeing other teams use similar tough to tackle jerseys, it’s obvious we needed one to level things out. BUT I wont be buying a replica!
Nag elkeen!
19 Jul 2007, 22:39 pm
#76 lol, getting me worried now!
why the crappy white hoop around the collar? Bloody ugly! Also it’s the exact same design and style as all other CCC sponsored teams, poor show.
I already have umbhoxo! Mine is on its way.
19 Jul 2007, 22:40 pm
75 / 72 aha I guess you’re right don’t want any subterfuge alien spray or “suzy mooti” getting anywhere near those AB jerseys, hence the AB’s opting for Addidas gear, that right?
19 Jul 2007, 22:41 pm
#61 Introducing New Zealand dressed by Adidas of Germany.
19 Jul 2007, 22:41 pm
Well I guess the RWC winner will be in a NZ jersey…. it might not be a black one though.
SA, OZ, Scotland, Ireland?
Predictions please
19 Jul 2007, 22:42 pm
Boerkie you’re gonna have to work on that beer boep bro.
nag Boerkie, sien jou weer maat.
When you see the package Adidas offered the All Blacks as sponsorship it’s not suprising.
Adidas is prepared to pay anything to get the Worlds top sporting brands in thier kit.
While we are talking fashion a campaign has started in NZ for all men (and sympathetic women) to throw down their razors until after the RWC.
The theory is that NZ’s rugby started going downhill as soon as Hayman shaved the shrubbery off his face!
19 Jul 2007, 22:43 pm
Who has the better beards over there?
If SA play Ireland who’s going to be wearing white?
85. I was waiting for that comeback!!
19 Jul 2007, 22:45 pm
Skopskiet # 71
Camera’s rolling…and action!
Geez, you sound like the late Tiny Naude with the corpse of Colin Meads over his left shoulder walking out of the storm and into the sunrise with a stetson hat, cigar and wearing his old Bok jersey with the sound of music like the old Gunston plain cigarette adds on Springbok Radio.
Nothing like old leather rugby supporters…
19 Jul 2007, 22:47 pm
They are more similar than ever now.
Home side usually changes.
Flip a coin?
19 Jul 2007, 22:48 pm
Thanks Jinx #93 yeah nothing like good ol’ days reminiscing, cos those where THE days my friend we thought they’d never end.
19 Jul 2007, 22:50 pm
#89 Do not put the word fashion and NZ in the same sentence. That phenomenon does’nt exist in that side of the world. Has anybody seen the “hairstyles” that some of these guys spot? Its like road kill! Bad! Bad! Bad!
At least one thing that saffas have is a sense of style (excluding the highveld brothers).
Later boys!
19 Jul 2007, 22:51 pm
Skopskiet # 95
Like Fergie McCormick giving Syd Nomis a stiff arm snotklap at Newlands in the test at Newlands in 1970. And Gerard Viviers gaaning aan. Hehehe.
Where is the gold? Too much white, otherwise looks good. It could rival princes’s DB9 for features.
We can have white tops with green Q’s and shorts, and Ireland can wear green tops with white Q’s and shorts, in the loose mauls we still won’t know who’s who unless they keep original socks.
19 Jul 2007, 22:53 pm
16 inch # 96
Lol!That’s a lot of brothers bru. Hehe.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All