Sleek kit to provide Bok edge

Canterbury has unveiled the revolutionary new Bok kit designed to give the team every advantage at the World Cup.

The new kit is the result of three years of development and testing by Canterbury designers in conjunction with Loughborough University in the United Kingdom.

nbj.jpg

“The jersey caters for the needs of different player positions,” said Canterbury MD Paul Zacks. “Design features include the placement of specific grips on the jersey to improve ball retention whilst running and to enhance binding in the scrum.

“The jersey features short and long sleeve options, as well as a cap sleeve version which has been developed specifically for the props to reduce manipulation by opposition props at the scrum. A new offset loop neck and slimfit design will help players evade collar and jersey tackles.”

nbj2.jpg

Movement is also enhanced by an underarm stretch panel and a new super lightweight Temex fabric that significantly reduces moisture retention and the weight of the jersey. The fabric also wicks perspiration away from the skin to the jersey surface which prevents overheating and discomfort.

The William Webb Eliis Trophy with the legend 1995 are embroidered on the right arm sleeve, and this feature has been included for all previous World Cup winners. Incidentally, Canterbury are making new jerseys for Australia, Scotland, Ireland and Japan, but Zacks confirmed the Springbok jersey boasts the most features.

The shorts have grip panels for line-out jumpers to aid lifting technique and also feature a slim design to prevent opposition interference during the line-out. There are grip handles on the Boks’ shorts, a unique feature that improves binding at the scrum. The shorts’ lightweight material also provides greater agility.

The socks have an open weave structure that allows air and moisture to escape. In a break from tradition, the stripes have been dropped. The sock will be all green except for a gold panel at the back of the calf which is designed to manage the build up of lactic acid and thus reduce cramp.

All these changes have been made after a lengthy research process that also involved many of the Bok players themselves.

“It makes sense to test new developments with the athletes who are going to make use of the kit,” said Bok captain John Smit. “The innovations that are used in the new Canterbury kit are fantastic and the players are excited about putting them to good use during the World Cup.”

480 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All

• 101.Flametop: Reply to this comment

Remember a guy on my team boasting about bending a players fingers backwards at the bottom of a ruck.
    His teammate with the strapping was not pleased.

• 102.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

SA boep pens the “ultimate” fashion statement, like Gurthro and CJ in these new Thorpedo outfits.

• 103.Flametop: Reply to this comment

Really need Castle back as sponsors to do the Boep justice

• 104.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

97 Jinx yeah like we been saying Those where the day’s man when real men played real rugby. Guess times like life and values have to move on, they say its called “progress”.

• 105.whatever: Reply to this comment

Howzit skop. You feeling a bit more positive today? …..or totally disinterested?

• 106.mongrel: Reply to this comment

Nike dropped the bokke after the last RWC, after this one it will be Mr Price.

• 107.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Skop # 104

We had better backlines.

• 108.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Yeah Castle lager and boep pens go real well together specially now with these skimpy tight shorts they’ll be wearing, expect plenty stoppages for shorts changing when SA plays, rippin shorts every time they go down for a tight scrum.

• 109.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Mongrel # 106

Classic!! I’ve fallen off my chair with laughter. Brilliant! What a lag.

• 110.KingPaul: Reply to this comment

Daar truie van die voorrye lyk maar taamlik ***!!! En wat is dit met die vas hou plekke aan die broeke?? Dit lyk ook kak, en gan dit net makliker maak vir iemand om ‘n ou te tackle. Die ouens raak te slim.

• 111.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

107 Jinx, since the dup brothers and Danie Gerber we havn’t had ANY backline, except for Henry Honiball lone ranger in between.

• 112.mongrel: Reply to this comment

It comes with the territory, but Smith and the boys don’t look comfortable at all.

• 113.BoerkieDean: Reply to this comment

Kp jy dink alles is ***!

• 114.BoerkieDean: Reply to this comment

(gaan Bokke gaan) hehehe

• 115.mongrel: Reply to this comment

oh the backline have an all in one lycra version.

• 116.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

105 whatever howdy.. Tackler ever so politely corrected me in saying I am uninterested and not disinterested, I’m still trying to work out which it is, but nevertheless yeah all the sideshows are surely taking the hyped up spin into another whole dimension, jeez I’m really wondering if its all fashion and war dances in September or are some people going to be playing some rugby?

• 117.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Skop # 111

Absolutely.

Not even a Peter Whipp and Johann Oosthuizen at centre. Eish, der cupboard is bare.

The day we anihilated the no 12 role of play maker was the day we started going backwards with our back play.

• 118.whatever: Reply to this comment

#116 skop, some decent rugby in the end I hope. The next side show is the squad announcement on Sat

• 119.Flametop: Reply to this comment

Bet the ANC can’t wait.

• 120.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

117 Jinx, funny thing is JdV USED to be one hell of a creative playmaker in his youth maybe till he broke his leg in France or maybe till Jake White succeeded in coaching all that youthful natural flair right OUT of him, biff bash crash just like the rest of em.

• 121.Durban Poison: Reply to this comment

Pimp my rugby jersey?!

• 122.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Well whatever goes down Saturday, I’m sitting on the fence and saying to the whole lot of em, you’re all to blame, coach, admin, management, the whole bleeding lot of you can’t get your idiot acts together, and what goes around will always be coming round, no matter who the original instigator is.

• 123.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Skop # 120

Exactly. But Mallet started that **** with Pieter Muller at N0 12. He could break your neck like early days De Wet Barry but was 2 chops short of a braai when it came to the skills of a playmaker. No Peter Whipp, Michael Dup and Hennie Le Roux kop.

To Jake, No 12 is your fetcher. Hence Jake’s idea of three ball carrier loosies.

• 124.Jinx: Reply to this comment

Must zzzzzzzzzzz…

Goodnight…

• 125.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

To Jake everybody in the whole 15 from 6 through to 15 are loosies, 6,7,8,9,10,12,13 all extra loose forwards, no playmakers whatsoever anywhere near any of those positions, oh where have all the rugby brains gone? Way down south and all the way north but far from the madding clueless fraternity round here.

• 126.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Morning Whatever – Hey, no making fun of the car is allowed & those dents were then when I borrowed it !

Morning Skopy – still not a happy camper then ?

A “gold” marker pen could finish the face someone started drawing on that new jersey …

• 127.KiaKahaNZ: Reply to this comment

Like the Scots, and Aussies jersey, what a bloody mess.

Why **** around with these things.

Where are the stripes on the socks, and whats with the moob lines, at least soccer shirts still have a sense of style about them, these are just a joke, gone wrong.

And its not because its SA either, I would have hated if they had done something similar to the NZ jersey – thank fark Canterbury are not involved with the All Blacks anymore.

• 128.footy: Reply to this comment

whers the flying saucer they just got out of haha…Lets hope they zap the opposition at the world cup hehe

• 129.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Howdy Princess I already greeted you on the other thread but guess you havn’t seen it, happy? unhappy? no just getting less interested in all the sideshow hype, they losing track of what this competition or sport is meant to be, its all fashion and showmanship these days.

• 130.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Howdy Skopy

No, missed it. Weather here is foul, stormed all night & forecast for Saturday is for more “foul” & 2 degrees colder than was forecast just 2 days ago … Think only MARGINALLY warmer than Christchurch then add rain, lots of rain – going to be a mud bath.

• 131.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Pity so its going to cancel out all the advantages slippery sliding stuff, not gonna be too pretty I reckon the Aussies are probably happy to have a canceled out slow track to play on, they can get into all their slowing down MO and nullify AB’s pace.

• 132.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

ur right. They’re all back row forwards.

A team like France will probably turn on the style throw the ball around and beat them

• 133.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Will get those pretty jerseys all dirty too – I think the ABs jerseys were orginally designed by somebody’s mum who had to wash them …

Slippery & slidy … Hhhmmm … Tony Woodcock might slip, slide & fall on Gregan and Carl Hayman could fall on Woodcock …

• 134.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Big Hit – how did you get out of your straight jacket again ?

• 135.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

or he might just get in the way of his teammate again

• 136.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

sacked anyone today?

• 137.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

BH – No, but you haven’t gone into work yet have you :)

• 138.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

133 Yeah I know thats all you’re hoping for in the first loose maul that GG lands at the bottom of a Carl Hayman, Tony Woodcock melee and doesn’t get back up again.

• 139.Tomsta: Reply to this comment

the kit is good. the AB’s play in a skin tight jersey, and hence we find it difficult to hold their jerseis in the tackle.

• 140.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Its 10:51pm and I’ve done more work 2day than you’ll do in a week. My work is too complicated for you.

• 141.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Collins running into Woodcock – moment of the year!! :)

• 142.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

So amongst other things mz Bond you’re also a sacker huh?

Howdy BH your boys still building nicely for crunch day pool game, I know Jonny’s just itching to get a chance at a come back against SA.

• 143.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

@ Skopy

Don’t tease !

@ Big Hit

This from the man who slept fr 24 hours ?
    “Yeah, right” as the Tui add says …

• 144.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Daniel Ward-Smith has been declared fit so, its gonna be a strong back-row with him and Dally.

I was disappointed they left Gerachty behind. He is electric.

• 145.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Sorry Princess angel

• 146.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Not all of us work regular hours. Some of us are special.

You don’t have the brains to take on my work. The inferior Kiwi brain would explode.

• 147.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

@ skopy

No, merely an advisor. Big Hit is just a wee bit obsessive … I have a simple rule, contribute or step aside for someone who will. Got a problem with that ?

• 148.skopskiet: Reply to this comment

Or is it s’pose to be angel Princess? Sorry whichever.

144 I don’t really know much about your new young forwards or loosies or any of your guys except those I’ve seen in last 6N, I havn’t followed the Heineken or any club games at all.

• 149.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

@ Big Hit

For once you are absolutely correct – You are VERY ****ing special !

What kind of work do they let you do in a “locked ward” ?

• 150.Big Hit: Reply to this comment

Princess rules with an iron fist. She lays the smackdown on the slackers

Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.