Sleek kit to provide Bok edge
20 Jul 2007
Canterbury has unveiled the revolutionary new Bok kit designed to give the team every advantage at the World Cup.
The new kit is the result of three years of development and testing by Canterbury designers in conjunction with Loughborough University in the United Kingdom.

“The jersey caters for the needs of different player positions,” said Canterbury MD Paul Zacks. “Design features include the placement of specific grips on the jersey to improve ball retention whilst running and to enhance binding in the scrum.
“The jersey features short and long sleeve options, as well as a cap sleeve version which has been developed specifically for the props to reduce manipulation by opposition props at the scrum. A new offset loop neck and slimfit design will help players evade collar and jersey tackles.”

Movement is also enhanced by an underarm stretch panel and a new super lightweight Temex fabric that significantly reduces moisture retention and the weight of the jersey. The fabric also wicks perspiration away from the skin to the jersey surface which prevents overheating and discomfort.
The William Webb Eliis Trophy with the legend 1995 are embroidered on the right arm sleeve, and this feature has been included for all previous World Cup winners. Incidentally, Canterbury are making new jerseys for Australia, Scotland, Ireland and Japan, but Zacks confirmed the Springbok jersey boasts the most features.
The shorts have grip panels for line-out jumpers to aid lifting technique and also feature a slim design to prevent opposition interference during the line-out. There are grip handles on the Boks’ shorts, a unique feature that improves binding at the scrum. The shorts’ lightweight material also provides greater agility.
The socks have an open weave structure that allows air and moisture to escape. In a break from tradition, the stripes have been dropped. The sock will be all green except for a gold panel at the back of the calf which is designed to manage the build up of lactic acid and thus reduce cramp.
All these changes have been made after a lengthy research process that also involved many of the Bok players themselves.
“It makes sense to test new developments with the athletes who are going to make use of the kit,” said Bok captain John Smit. “The innovations that are used in the new Canterbury kit are fantastic and the players are excited about putting them to good use during the World Cup.”

480 Comments
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All
20 Jul 2007, 01:24 am
anyone else notice the binding in that scrum pic???
why has vic bound through onto smit?
20 Jul 2007, 01:26 am
#198 On the money buds,
The new kit is okay but not so lekker for the supporters unless cantabury has made a beer gut freindly version. Actually if they could put little pockets on the back like a cycle jumper I can store my Billies and even a small flask of klippies.
20 Jul 2007, 01:39 am
ESPN’s all time RWC team:
1) Tom Smith – Scotland
2) Sean Fitzpatrick – NZ
3) Jason Leonard – Eng
4) Martin Johnson – Eng
5) John Eales – Aus
6) Francios Pienaar – SA
7) Michael Jones – NZ
8) Zinzan Brooke – NZ
9) Joost van der Westhuizen – SA
10) Jonny Wilkinson – Eng
11) Jonah Lomu – NZ
12) Tim Horan – Aus
13) Philiipe Sella – Fra
14) David Campeze – Aus
15) Serge Blanco – Fra
20 Jul 2007, 01:43 am
Everybody – why is it that if the All Blacks lose, we choke, and if other teams lose against us, we cheated.
Either you thought/expected/bet your house on us that we were going to win, or you didnt, which one is it?
20 Jul 2007, 01:45 am
Tomsta – I noticed that, having played 2 most of my life, thought it looked a bit odd,
which means if Vic and Bakkies were not binding, where was Bakkies’ other hand?
20 Jul 2007, 01:46 am
Because you have superior individual players drawn from four different countries.
20 Jul 2007, 01:48 am
Drawn from what, where BH, we’re all immigrants down here chap, or did you just come down in the last rain shower?
20 Jul 2007, 01:49 am
Jason Leonard – WTF?? guy was a loosehead!!
Olo Brown was way better.
Francois Pienaar – OVERRATED AS A PLAYER
Ruben Kruger, Olivier Magne, Willie O, were
better players.
rest of team is pretty spot on though
20 Jul 2007, 01:50 am
Big Hit – you ever heard Mils speak, he as an Invercargill accent.
Why the cheap shots BH, you run out of real ammo?
Oh, there was none, I see……
20 Jul 2007, 01:51 am
kiakaha
mate, i played blind, 8, open, and sometimes covered at lock. the lock bind with their inside arms around each others backs, anchoring the grip on the others opposite side waist.
what this bind could be, is for vic to get more of a direct push through the 2 channel. ill definitely be havign a closer look at the nxt game they play.
anyways,,off to lunch now.
20 Jul 2007, 01:52 am
Greatest13gerber: Was that the best XV picked from all time games, or just RWC appearances?
20 Jul 2007, 01:54 am
@ Skopy – Stiletto driven corporate a*rse kicking done & dusted & it is not even lunchtime
@ Big Hit – Envy is such a terrible brudern to bear, just let it go.
20 Jul 2007, 01:55 am
RWC appearances.
Leaving the poaching debate out of it. You get accused of choking because you get beaten by teams who are inferior man for man.
Man for man you were better than France in 99 and Australia in 2003 and arguably SA in 95
20 Jul 2007, 01:55 am
Tomsta – me too – on to Ponsonby Rd, Bollywood, yeah baby, its gonna be a very long lunch.
Mate, I know the way locks bind, but for the photo shoot, it looked like something else might be going on, hahaha, just a little joke
See ya fellas,
Big Hit, use the internet for some research, you’ll find its quite useful.
20 Jul 2007, 01:56 am
What envy? haha, we’re WORLD CHAMPIONS!
Remember how that feels? thought not
20 Jul 2007, 01:58 am
The jumper comes complete with Manzier or Bro to accomodate the man boobs of even the most svelte front row forward, sies! There are more panels than a panel van and the top is as tight as TomJones’ pants
20 Jul 2007, 01:58 am
#219 you are right there about the bind..
#211 best from RWC.
20 Jul 2007, 01:59 am
@ Big Hit
Yeah envy … You won – A – tournament … We have been #1 for most of the last 100 years – Bigger, badder & longer than you ever dreamed of.
& Before you explode ina lather all over the page – Yes, we would like the big pineapple to come home.
20 Jul 2007, 01:59 am
I used the internet. 10 of your players were born in the pacific islands. True story.
20 Jul 2007, 02:00 am
Might be they don’t trust Bakkies with 2 hands in the scrum temptation for an eye gauge would just be to much.
20 Jul 2007, 02:00 am
Only in a locked ward where the “voices’ can’t get to you & maek you do “bad things …
20 Jul 2007, 02:01 am
The big pineapple? No wonder you never win it, you don’t even respect it.
100 years of poaching smh
20 Jul 2007, 02:03 am
No, that is the voices again – take your meds !
20 Jul 2007, 02:03 am
Nothing gets to me. I am the epitome of cool.
20 Jul 2007, 02:11 am
Maybe CCC can consider sowing on a handle of sorts to the front John Smith’s pants.
Then old Vic won’t have to hang on to his captain’s ******* like that.
The design maybe effective and what not, but it is too ‘Flash Gordon’ for my liking.
A Blue Bull supporter will never get into one of those, so they won’t be selling the jumpers at Loftus, I guess.
It would have looked kak with a khaki broek anyway…..
20 Jul 2007, 02:12 am
@ BH
You are bl**dy funny sometimes I will give you that … I am picturing u in the above outfit attmepting to look “cool”
Have u ever actually played ?
& I notice after bragging earlier about how clever u r at yr job you don’t actually say what it is …
20 Jul 2007, 02:15 am
225# “sewing on…”
Sorry Tackler!
And I agree with Kia, not enough gold.
Look at the socks.
20 Jul 2007, 02:19 am
I’m the best player that never made it. I have succumbed to an injury. I pray every night for recovery but physical redemption has not been forthcoming thus far. I am still hopeful.
My job is a special occupation. It would be too difficult for a mere mortal such as yourself to comprehend. Lets just say I am a James Bond type character and my occupation requires me to display both his heightened levels of instinct and quick-thinking combined with an unmistakeable suave manner which is bequeathed to only the greatest of individuals.
20 Jul 2007, 02:22 am
Another name for that would be “Armchair Enthusiast” …
As I said – bl**dy funny … a comedian.
You not really typing that with a straight face are you ? Cos I cannot read it that way.
Johnny English maye …
20 Jul 2007, 02:25 am
#228 Classic, so you are a Bellboy then?
20 Jul 2007, 02:25 am
I was destined for glory and was cut short before my prime. I was no front row hooker
Hmm, I’m not so sure you’re proficient at the ole reading malarky
20 Jul 2007, 02:27 am
Nah, come on, what would an individual with a unique level of intellect and insight such as myself be doing belling boys?
20 Jul 2007, 02:29 am
What about a tight fitting outfit for the netball girls now canterbury haha hehe
20 Jul 2007, 02:29 am
#232 lol Never know what you Poms get up to. Did you not invent the word “bugger”?
20 Jul 2007, 02:30 am
@ Whatever – mwahaahaaa !
@ BH – Come now, fess up your preferred postition & employemnt. Continued prevarication leads one to assume teh worst … a fluffer maybe ?
20 Jul 2007, 02:31 am
No, we invented ‘rugger’. ‘Bugger’ was invented when some ex-pats returned to the motherland professing to have discovered a new sexual practice.
They were duly executed.
20 Jul 2007, 02:32 am
#236 lol
20 Jul 2007, 02:38 am
I wonder if the short cater for a ball grab!Smith in the pic is being held by the jollies.Oh what a feeling!!
20 Jul 2007, 02:41 am
Hello AJ
Braced & assumed the postion ?
20 Jul 2007, 02:56 am
Hahaha,
An exact replica of the Aus jersey (except for the colour) that was pilloried on this site a few weeks ago. As they say, what goes around comes around!
20 Jul 2007, 03:07 am
Well I don’t see anything special. We look just like the lactating aussies do now. Stupid. A bunch of grown men running around with man boobs…
I mean, I’m all for technology and all that ****, but how is the design appearance going to help here? They could have put more effort into the “look” of this kit. Add a watermark assagai or something, but juggs? C’mon!
And BTW, this is not thanks to Sir Woodward. The skin tight jersey was in fact initiated by the ABs as early as 1995.
20 Jul 2007, 03:07 am
How could saru approve this? you guys know that ‘save the springbok petition’, maybe we should begin with a ‘save the springbok jersey’ petition!
They can say what they like, a jersey won’t win you the world cup. Especially a jersey that doesn’t inspire players nor fans. I really doubt the majority of the springbok squard prefer this jersey.
20 Jul 2007, 03:08 am
squad*
20 Jul 2007, 03:11 am
Big Hit:
10 of them were born overseas, is that all. Ultimately all New Zealanders were either born overseas, or were the result of the parental links being born oversees, I can not see why you draw this link to substantiate your desperate hatred of New Zealand.
And the point of that is what?
BTW – No, you’re not cool, and no you’re not even hot, you’re limp.
You have swelled up an internal prejudice that prevents you from seeing reason, logic, and common decency.
Like Paulse, you’re also a flea.
20 Jul 2007, 03:22 am
c’mon kiakaha
i think paulse is a good player. fair call he did have a bit of a mare this last game, but really what is a saffa wing to do when he never gets given the ball and wants to be involved in the play.
i think paulse tried a bit too hard, but he was looking to be busy, and get involved. he is a capable winger, with a good boot as well.
the opposition usually does hate guys, compare with gregan, when they are an irritation, compare with mccaw. sometimes the rules are infringed, sometimes not, but they still an irritation….i guess like a flea
i dont see how jake can leave paulse out. paulse has french experience, he has 60 something tests behind him. he knows percy’s game, he knows the bok game plan, and he can score tries.
remember jake like to count his test caps. with paulse, percy there with the others we looking at decent handful of tests.
20 Jul 2007, 03:24 am
@Big Hit
Thanks for the internet research mate. I had no idea how widespread the poaching thing was. I thought it was only JR and SS but 10 !!! Makes you wonder how strong the Pacific Island teams would be without the kiwis and aussies pilfering their talent.
20 Jul 2007, 03:29 am
I watched “Inside Rugby†in Australia last night.
They replayed the reversal of penalty of Albert VD Berg. A “diabolical†decision†according to Kaiff. (BTW, Kaiff should be our backline coach – no skop and charge with Kaiff, just very clever and insightful backline rugby). “Dickenson’s wrong decision (to reverse SA’s penalty) changed the changed the course of the match†Kaiff said. He asked Stewart Dickenson about this decision, his response was “I can only ref what I seeâ€.
Psychologically we often see what we want to see. What is it with Dickenson? If one has a bias against a certain nationality, one shouldn’t be allowed to ref.
20 Jul 2007, 03:33 am
heck i wonder how good the netherlands would be if all those dam dutchies never got poached to play for SA. heck, the netherlands would have won all the WC’s by now…
20 Jul 2007, 03:35 am
are you saying the A vd B didnt actually stand on the guy?
20 Jul 2007, 03:39 am
Why no pads like American football?????
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 » Show All