Sleek kit to provide Bok edge

Canterbury has unveiled the revolutionary new Bok kit designed to give the team every advantage at the World Cup.

The new kit is the result of three years of development and testing by Canterbury designers in conjunction with Loughborough University in the United Kingdom.

nbj.jpg

“The jersey caters for the needs of different player positions,” said Canterbury MD Paul Zacks. “Design features include the placement of specific grips on the jersey to improve ball retention whilst running and to enhance binding in the scrum.

“The jersey features short and long sleeve options, as well as a cap sleeve version which has been developed specifically for the props to reduce manipulation by opposition props at the scrum. A new offset loop neck and slimfit design will help players evade collar and jersey tackles.”

nbj2.jpg

Movement is also enhanced by an underarm stretch panel and a new super lightweight Temex fabric that significantly reduces moisture retention and the weight of the jersey. The fabric also wicks perspiration away from the skin to the jersey surface which prevents overheating and discomfort.

The William Webb Eliis Trophy with the legend 1995 are embroidered on the right arm sleeve, and this feature has been included for all previous World Cup winners. Incidentally, Canterbury are making new jerseys for Australia, Scotland, Ireland and Japan, but Zacks confirmed the Springbok jersey boasts the most features.

The shorts have grip panels for line-out jumpers to aid lifting technique and also feature a slim design to prevent opposition interference during the line-out. There are grip handles on the Boks’ shorts, a unique feature that improves binding at the scrum. The shorts’ lightweight material also provides greater agility.

The socks have an open weave structure that allows air and moisture to escape. In a break from tradition, the stripes have been dropped. The sock will be all green except for a gold panel at the back of the calf which is designed to manage the build up of lactic acid and thus reduce cramp.

All these changes have been made after a lengthy research process that also involved many of the Bok players themselves.

“It makes sense to test new developments with the athletes who are going to make use of the kit,” said Bok captain John Smit. “The innovations that are used in the new Canterbury kit are fantastic and the players are excited about putting them to good use during the World Cup.”

480 Comments

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 » Show All

• 301.Manlybok: Reply to this comment

#299,Dagse Pietman,

Maybe the new socks are to prevent supporters from telling them to “pull up their socks”

• 302.Johannes Expatinus: Reply to this comment

looks ok, but how do we fix smitty’s legs then?

• 303.JL1: Reply to this comment

Socks, which ones are the new ones, the ones only in green or the orange and green ones?

• 304.Manlybok: Reply to this comment

If you look at Smits left leg its the spitting image of Kobus vd Merwe

• 305.CSI:Rugby: Reply to this comment

Very similar to the OZ jersey, well obviously same manufacturer. Now what does the AB RWC jersey will look like?

• 306.Manlybok: Reply to this comment

305 CSI,
    It has 3/4th place playoff already embroidered on it,theyre just waiting to find out which one.HeHe

• 307.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

@ manlybok

I don’t think so – Black is still ahead of u on the curve …

Cannot believe you copied the crims – Expected more originality from a group of Saffas …

• 308.Manlybok: Reply to this comment

Hehe Princess,did that one make your tiara slip ?
    Its still one WC each.
    I was only joking,couldnt resist it,its just jealousy cos we have no game this weekend.

• 309.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Es, Tiara slipped a bit @ that & it is already past Vodka-Clock here too :)

Sure you have a game on – Don’t you cheer for the Boks & in their abscence anyone playing the Wallabies ?

• 310.Manlybok: Reply to this comment

309 Yes.
    But we want that No1 spot back.

• 311.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Well, come & get it then :) But you might want to change your jersey, it is hard to take you seriously when you look like you are lactating …

• 312.Bagel: Reply to this comment

Last night I had a dream that WP beat the Bulls 58-0 and McCaw, Carter, Larkham, Giteau and Mortlock all got injured for 4 months! Then I woke up…

• 313.Staalburger: Reply to this comment

steveqld funny how nobody has commented on your posts. I looked at the van den Burg trasgressions and it must have been an optical illusion to the ref like Ritchie McCaw ruck time. These professionals should be accountable but they are sacred cows. For years Darryl Hare got away with murder and look at him now. AfterShane Warne he was the top wicket taker for Australia.

• 314.Bagel: Reply to this comment

I’m that first picture is what our tight 5 is gonna look like? Looks the best to me.

• 315.Manlybok: Reply to this comment

#311,

Were trying to keep “abreast” of the times and “milk” the sponsorship for all its worth

Just hope we dont end up looking like tits.

• 316.aussiejoe: Reply to this comment

Back again! Bloody meeting Princess I have a creditcard will that do? Someone here mentioned Tasmania. A great place.Great scenery and great sea food. Crayfish the size of rabbits. King Island Cheese….yummy
    Pietman you should import for your pub!And by the way, the Wallabies will win the Cup tomorrow; Australia will beat Japan inthe Asian Cup, the Demons will beat the Kangaroos and I will get rogered by Princes as promised…but still waiting.

• 317.Manlybok: Reply to this comment

Hey aussiejoe,just make sure you dont get princessed by Roger!

• 318.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

AJ I like your spirit

However I believe history does not favour you – when was the last time Wobblies won there ? More likely it will bw “assume the positon” …

• 319.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Oohh & never said I wud be doing the rogering – just said you would get one …

• 320.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

@ manlybok

Too funny – both 315 & 319 :)

• 321.aussiejoe: Reply to this comment

#317 oh ****

• 322.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

Oohh there is a terrible thought – Too much drowing your sorrows tomorrow night & you could end up knackered as well as rogered :(

Fair warning – I won’t know the result until 90 mins after you. So should birds fall from the sky while God is watching I am not being a coward, I am waiting for the delayed feed on Prime TV. The house I am “sitting” has a 50 inch flat screen TV in the upstairs lounge but no Sky TV – go figure !

• 323.Bospomp: Reply to this comment

One problem, must get rid of the white pants!! Bluedy refs always see springboks when off-side in rugs and malls, I blame the white pants, maybe dark green will be better, why offside king richi moenie so bichi and mates always get away being offside, black pants with camo tattoos!! Other than that, think heaps of woman will now start to watch rugby as well, fashion show and all. Fashion TV here we come!!

• 324.Knersboy: Reply to this comment

Bospomp, we should wear cammo gear.

• 325.ufo: Reply to this comment

I really think it’s a shame they couldn’t come up with soemthing that ‘looked’ different to the Aussie jersey… for the big bucks they earned Canterbury could have individualised the jerseys…

two questions…

1. when they previewed them on B&A last night… Naas asks “How come one long sleeve and one short sleeve…?” To which Smit says… “We need no sleeve on the one arm to prevent the opposition from getting a good grip…”

Which is rather obvious and rugby players have had short sleeves for how long now…?

But the questions is WTF the other ‘long’ fairy-looking sleeve…? It seems they put that there just to make sure that people didn’t miss the fact that the other one is short short…?

Now what happenes when Smit plays prop…?

2. “The fabric also wicks perspiration away from the skin to the jersey surface which prevents overheating…”

Physiology 101 says that the body cools down as sweat evaporates from the skin… That’s why we sweat… So if the sweat is wicked away from the skin… HTF are they gonna stay cool…? Or can we expect more cramps and stuff…?

Wicking in clothing is normally so you don’t get too cold… normally in outdoor sports where the sweat on the skin will reduce the body temp too much…

Doesn’t make sense to me…

• 326.Bospomp: Reply to this comment

Cammo will be good, brownies with green camo stripes. Regarding the one arm sleaves, won’t work, have you seen the bush on the arms of Os, heaps of grip there man!

• 327.Manlybok: Reply to this comment

Princess if its bad news Ill phone you before you start watching,if you dont hear from me,its all good.

Bospomp,where’d your nick come from?

Is that an old Datsun bakkie engine or a farmgirl?

• 328.Bospomp: Reply to this comment

The yello patches on the back of the socks Is a Canteburry allblack plot to spot sprinbok legs trying to slow the ball! They should not ware this, is a plot!

• 329.wallabie.: Reply to this comment

I hear Jake is likely to get the boot in the next week because he has presented his WC team to saru and saru is very unhappy.

They(saru) want to introduce the 10 transformed player quota for the WC…starting line up!

Have fun saffas!

• 330.Bospomp: Reply to this comment

Farmgirl in need of lots of water!

• 331.Bospomp: Reply to this comment

Or a big Bos bread fist in the scrum!

• 332.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

@ Manlybok

Nuh-uh … All commnciations into the facility will be terminated @ 7:34pm at which point I go into the gym with the iPod until 9:15pm – permitting just enough time to prepare the requsiste Voddie & nibbles.

Communications will be restored once post match interviews have been viewed … at which time, if need be (God forbid !), I will front to take my medicine :(

• 333.Rugby_Princess: Reply to this comment

& suffer the attention of AussieJoe etc …

Clearly just the mentioning of “not-victory” was enough to send my spelling into a tail spin !

• 334.Mr_Shark: Reply to this comment

Jeez – between Australia and the Bokke, we look a hell of a lot like the Power Rangers!! LOL

• 335.vindicated: Reply to this comment

anyone got the early edition of the M&G newspaper today ??

• 336.Bospomp: Reply to this comment

The jersey can later be used to make a lekker Naartjie kettie for the boys!!

• 337.vindicated: Reply to this comment

Id love to know who gagged the paper – its a big story

• 338.aussiejoe: Reply to this comment

Ok folks I am off to the pub for some solace and inspiration. Lets have a great game. Have a great weekend-including you Princess.

• 339.kevin w: Reply to this comment

I’ll reserve my opinion until i see Richard Bands in the kit … 2003 was a shocker

• 340.nicksteroonie: Reply to this comment

It cant be that revolutionary when the Aussies have the same thing.

They unveiled theirs a week ago already.

• 341.mongrel: Reply to this comment

#325 the wick effect is to remove moisture/sweat before it freezes in cold conditions. In sport it generally allows the body to control temp as if you were natural (naked), but still offers protection from the elements. Part of the supplies branding is that their garments are recognisable and I don’t think the bokke play squat for them, remember, Nike withdrew their bokke sponsorship deal?

• 342.Bod: Reply to this comment

The Jersey is not too bad, its just that stupid green stripe on the shorts which stuffs the whole thing up.

Why lose the double stripes on the top of the socks as well??

• 343.yoda: Reply to this comment

thats a ugly jersey!!! damn they look like the powerrangers…

• 344.Bod: Reply to this comment

Vindicated

There is noearly edition of the M&G today. It had to be recalled on a court order to remove THAT story. Should be out a bit later

• 345.vindicated: Reply to this comment

Only real difference with the Wallabies top is that the Aussies have two William Webb Ellis trophys on their sleve

• 346.Dawn: Reply to this comment

John Smit slimmed down!

Should be marketed as a weight loss jersey.

• 347.vindicated: Reply to this comment

Bod

I know that some slipped through and were delivered in JHB

• 348.vindicated: Reply to this comment

Morning Auntie

• 349.Dawn: Reply to this comment

This ain’t the M&G thread.

Please focus on the streamlined jersey.

• 350.vindicated: Reply to this comment

I dont know which story is gonna be bigger – the naming of the SABC employee or the release of the Bok WC squad

But both are set to cause a stir

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 » Show All

Keo.co.za has always promoted uncensored views, but has never tolerated racist or crass outbursts. Come on guys and girls. If you can't moderate yourselves or each other then I am going to be forced to regulate the posts and enforce a registration process for comments. The choice is yours.